Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Memorial Tournament Betting

• 01-06-2010 5:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭

To anyone who followed my tips last week, sorry. that's all I can say. Cabrera just didn't perform so well in the end.

This week's golf betting tips are for the Memorial Tournament. Tiger is in the field and I'm keeping it plain and simple. He has question marks over his form but the price of 15/2 is good enough to compensate me for the risk involved. If Tiger says he's ready to play then I'm going to take him at his word. He's won here 4 times.

My other horse this week is Ryan Moore. I like the cut of this guy. Nice simple swing and he doesn't seem to get phased. Has 2nd and 10th place finishes here so some course form. Was 100/1 with PP and Bet365 yesterday when i struck my bet but best priced 90/1 now.

Tips:
    Tiger Woods @ 15/2
    Ryan Moore e/w @ 90/1

Who are you lads on this week?

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Lucas Glover @ 70/1 (Bet365)

Vijay Singh @ 110/1 (Stan James)

Only a few quid e/w for interest. Not much of a golf punter, I just enjoy watching and playing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭In_tuition

x PyRo wrote: »
    Vijay Singh @ 110/1 (Stan James)

Only a few quid e/w for interest. Not much of a golf punter, I just enjoy watching and playing it.

Singh is only 100/1 with SJ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Never backed golf in my life before lads,do ye get on alright betting on it?

I know he is 110/1 in the enhanced win only betting market.

You said you placed e/w bets though.

In_tuition wrote: »
    I know he is 110/1 in the enhanced win only betting market.

You said you placed e/w bets though.

Apologies, Clicked the wrong market. Haven't placed them yet.

He's actually 125/1 with Skybet. Going to have to open an account with them now.

Every time I back him he misses the cut though! Heard he had a back problem and he's getting over it now apparently.

Apologies, Clicked the wrong market. Haven't placed them yet.

He's actually 125/1 with Skybet. Going to have to open an account with them now.

Every time I back him he misses the cut though! Heard he had a back problem and he's getting over it now apparently.

Fancied him myself 2 week's ago but he missed the cut.

He has 6 top 10 finishes here including a win but has missed the cut in 2 of his last 4 starts in the event.

Bounced back well though last week shooting 3 rounds of 67.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭eldrickwoods

greetings wrote: »
    Never backed golf in my life before lads,do ye get on alright betting on it?

when you win you tend to win fairly big as the odds on tourney outrights are usually high. Can go a long time between wins but in the big picture i tend to do quite well on golf.

you can match bet on golf too which is often an advisable way to go.

can be hard earned money too as the tournament is drawn out over 4 days. The trick is to avoid the shottracker on pgatour.com. it'll take years off you.

Fancied him myself 2 week's ago but he missed the cut.

He has 6 top 10 finishes here including a win but has missed the cut in 2 of his last 4 starts in the event.

Bounced back well though last week shooting 3 rounds of 67.

Cheers IT, I never know where to go to find the stats. Will have a go on him anyways, No doubt the one week I don't back him he'll win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭ValueSeeker

Havn't done this week's betting preview yet but my headline pick will be Geoff Ogilvy E/W. Can still be had at 33's in some books. Ogilvy has a top record at this course. Last year he shot a 63 in one round, something even Tiger Woods couldn't believe when he was told about it on the day in question. He is 1 of the best putters on thecircuit on fast greens and greens this week are expected to be running at 13 on the stimp. Great player from the rough and warmed up nicely last week at Colonial.

Another course specialist is multiple winner here, Kenny Perry E/W. Great in total driving of the golf ball and a very intelligent player. He knows where to aim for on these greens and will not risk short siding himself. In decent form at the moment and still 35/1 on Bet365.

Cheers IT, I never know where to go to find the stats. Will have a go on him anyways, No doubt the one week I don't back him he'll win!

He's worth siding with for the coming months.

His accuracy might halt his progress this week though. The fairways are tight (some people regard them as generous due to their slope but in general they are tight and uneven lies) and his accuracy last week won't set the world alight. Plus it's going to rain (maybe substanially) for parts of the tournament so if you find yourself in the thick rough it's going to a stuggle. Given his latest injury he could end up doing a bit more damage this week if the forecast rain turns up.

My main selection this week is K.J. Choi.

He is impossible to overlook.

Past champion who has also recorded four other top 15 finishes in this event. He is excellent scrambling from both the sand and rough. From 12 starts on the 2010 PGA Tour he has finished no worse than T-41. Choi's accuracy from the tee is decent. His par 5 performance is impeccable. His game of hitting it straight and hitting a lot of greens is perfect for Memorial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Juwwi

My main selection this week is K.J. Choi.

He is impossible to overlook.

Past champion who has also recorded four other top 15 finishes in this event. He is excellent scrambling from both the sand and rough. From 12 starts on the 2010 PGA Tour he has finished no worse than T-41. Choi's accuracy from the tee is decent. His par 5 performance is impeccable. His game of hitting it straight and hitting a lot of greens is perfect for Memorial.

his putting under presure is also very good.

l'l be doing him aswell

My second and final selection is Hunter Mahan.

Mahan is a long, accurate driver of a golf ball. He is also a fantastic ball-striker who has the putting technique to rack up a birdie spree. His par 5 performance on the 2010 PGA Tour is exceptional. Mahan lacks the scrambling ability to be a major winner but he is always a contender on the PGA Tour and this kind of course should suit him. It's not to different from Augusta where he tied 8th recently.

Good luck everyone with your bets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Juwwi

lm gona do nick watney 40/1 aswell as choi 25/1.

robbie1977 wrote: »
    lm gona do nick watney 40/1 aswell as choi 25/1.

I can't have Watney this week. His accuracy off the tee is just average and although his stats from the rough are quite good this is really thick stuff and with the heavy rain forecast it will make it tougher. Any waywardness off the tee will be well punished.

Watney was also very poor from the bunkers at Colonial last week, 4 from 9 just. There is over 70 bunkers in play here this week.

His putting still isn't up to scratch, let's face it it's not. I've mouthed off about him fairly regularly this year and last, about how his putting is improving, it is but only gradually. He is way off (putting) at the moment and I think he could struggle this week.

Just my tuppence worth.

One final bet for Memorial.

Lucas Glover (80/1)

Bounced back to form at the recent Players Championship where he finished 3rd and recorded some excellent statistics. Played in Fort Worth last week after a break and struggled in the opening round but again bounced back in round 2 to shoot 65 and continued that form with a final round 66. His driving accuracy, sand saves and putting were outstanding during his final round last week. He is out of his slump and although this isn't a course where he has great success, with his game coming round he cound force himself into contention this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭ValueSeeker

Full Betting Preview now live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

To anyone who followed my tips last week, sorry. that's all I can say. Cabrera just didn't perform so well in the end.

My other horse this week is Ryan Moore. I like the cut of this guy. Nice simple swing

firstly never apologise for your golfers performance,you'll have good and bad weeks,just like the golfers
    secondly have a look at ryan moore's swing again as it may be easy on the eye and has a lovely rhythem to it,it certainly isn't simple,it's very unique,he re-route's the club big style on the downswing
    (btw not having a go,i'm just watch a lot of swings as i do a bt of gof coachin myself)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭frat

One final bet for Memorial.

Lucas Glover (80/1)

Bounced back to form at the recent Players Championship where he finished 3rd and recorded some excellent statistics. Played in Fort Worth last week after a break and struggled in the opening round but again bounced back in round 2 to shoot 65 and continued that form with a final round 66. His driving accuracy, sand saves and putting were outstanding during his final round last week. He is out of his slump and although this isn't a course where he has great success, with his game coming round he cound force himself into contention this weekend.

Fancy him to come good this week as well, especially with the US Open around the corner.

Where did you get 80's, best I can see is 70's with BS

frat wrote: »
    Where did you get 80's, best I can see is 70's with BS

Laddies.

Added one further bet.

Fredrik Jacobson (80/1 Boylesports)

Missed the cut on his last two starts at Memorial but previous to that he shot 3 rounds of 68 in 2007 and finished T-5. In his last 12 competitive rounds on the PGA Tour he has shot under par in each of them. He T-10 at the recent Players Championship and backed that up with an impressive 2nd place finish at the Valero Texas Open. He only made two bogeys in that event. His accuracy statistics from the tee are superb and his ball-striking and putting capabilites are equally impressive

Laddies.

Great price.

Gone for him e/w and have also done an e/w double with him and Rhys Davies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭ghosttown

Bets for me are €40 Tiger top 5 finish at 6/4,
    €10 Thongchai Jaidee top 10 finish at 18/1,
    and €10 Henrik Stenson top european at 7/1..
    All prices from PP.
    Best of luck all.
    (Also doing a €2.50 each way double Kjeldsen in Europe at 40/1, Allenby in USA at 40/1) - don't know why, but i have to get a double bet each week, if it ever comes in I'll pick myself off the floor. This is my little treat to myself !!

Good luck.

(I've gone with Bourdy, Jacquelin, Kjeldsen & Donaldson in Wales)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Went for Tiger in the Us of A think he's gonna explode into this like a man possessed :D Unleash the Demons Tiger ! and Ignaccio Garrido in the Welsh open >

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

E5 ew on K.J. 22/1, E5 n woods o/r 7/1, E2 each way n duval 200/1,although he'l prob miss the cut!:eek: i see calcavecchia is finishing up on the pga tour this week! whats the story with the champs tour? do they have to start playing on that once they hit 50 r sumtin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭Speak Now

E5 ew on K.J. 22/1, E5 n woods o/r 7/1, E2 each way n duval 200/1,although he'l prob miss the cut!:eek: i see calcavecchia is finishing up on the pga tour this week! whats the story with the champs tour? do they have to start playing on that once they hit 50 r sumtin?

No you can play both if your eligible, sure didn't Pavin miss the Senior PGA last week to play in one of his favourites on the main PGA tour.

oh rite! tanks! wats all the fuss bout so? swear his was die'n r sumtin!

Well most don't bother with the PGA tour when they hit 50 as they dont feel competitve enough anymore. You're right though, lot of fuss about nothing. Then again i'm sure he will play The Open at St.Andrews. He had a good showing last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭eldrickwoods

heavyballs wrote: »
    firstly never apologise for your golfers performance,you'll have good and bad weeks,just like the golfers
    secondly have a look at ryan moore's swing again as it may be easy on the eye and has a lovely rhythem to it,it certainly isn't simple,it's very unique,he re-route's the club big style on the downswing
    (btw not having a go,i'm just watch a lot of swings as i do a bt of gof coachin myself)

fair shout. i'll watch the swing again this weekend. could do with some coaching myself. played for 1st time in 10 months last week and hit more trees than fairways.

My bets

U.S
    J.Rose e/w @66/1
    S O Heir win @50/1
    Euro
    R.Ramsey e/w @80/1

Will probably do another on Sat morn

didn't go mad as i hope Tiger does it but can't see that happening tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

I have gone wit KJ (win) and Ricky Barnes ew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭deewhy

First time for me on golf bets forum (one of my biggest wins on all sports) was Zach Johnston at 350/1 for the Masters! That was a long time ago so for this week....

Jeff Overton @ 70's
    Ricky Barnes @ 120

deewhy wrote: »

Jeff Overton @ 70's
    Ricky Barnes @ 120

bol
    how come it's 70's and 120,why does 120 not get an apostrophe:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭SirDelboy18

In Wales, Ollie Wilson at 45/1 will be keen to impress Monty.
    Also have some on the place at 10/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭deewhy

heavyballs wrote: »
    bol
    how come it's 70's and 120,why does 120 not get an apostrophe:D

It's all part of the betting strategy - allows room for another zero if he shoots a crap first round!:rolleyes:

deewhy wrote: »
    First time for me on golf bets forum (one of my biggest wins on all sports) was Zach Johnston at 350/1 for the Masters! That was a long time ago so for this week....

Jeff Overton @ 70's
    Ricky Barnes @ 120
    jaysus! 350/1? u jammy [EMAIL="sh@@e"]sh@@e[/EMAIL]!! actually, that brings up an interesting question. whats the most ne1 on here has won, with betting on golf? f no1 minds me askin, that is. best year i had was 2008, darren clarke 28/1 klm dutch open E100 n davis love at disney 28/1 E100! u wouldnt catch me bettiing E100 these days though! not a fcukin hope! all small wins other than that! not worth mention'n!! come on lads! entertain me!:eek::eek::P

actually, that brings up an interesting question. whats the most ne1 on here has won, with betting on golf?

we had this couple of months back,mine was back a good few years ago,€5 e/w double S.Cink (Harbout Town) 22/1 and Cristie Kerr(some womens event in u.s)16/1
    mad thing about it was Kerr won on the Saturday night in a 4 hole playoff

Cink was 9 shots behind goin into Sunday,he won on the 5th(i think)play off hole,netted nearly 2 k

Open at Birkdale i had Norman at 1000 on betfair and Harrington at 80 (injury scare). I was in trading heaven that Sunday. The only fly in the ointment was when Dorothy Perkins made a run but Harrington soon put an end to her with his second shot on 17th :D
    Been lucky down the years in majors, i've had Daly,Curtis and Ogilivy as well at prices. Unfortunatley i give most of it back in the regular events :mad:

Had €10 on Mickleson after the first round of last years Tour Championship @ 250/1 on BF. Saw highlights of the Thursday and he took an 8 on a par 4 when he should have taken 4 max and was only 8 shots off the lead after the first round (cant remember exactly who was leading after R1 but it was not a big name) so thought 250 was too big. I told my brother who also put €10 on at 250. He let the bet ride but I layed quite a bit during the final 9 holes. Still came out with just over €1,600 after commission. Brother got €2,375 though!!

Has all been given back at this stage!

frat wrote: »
    Had €10 on Mickleson after the first round of last years Tour Championship @ 250/1 on BF. Saw highlights of the Thursday and he took an 8 on a par 4 when he should have taken 4 max and was only 8 shots off the lead after the first round (cant remember exactly who was leading after R1 but it was not a big name) so thought 250 was too big. I told my brother who also put €10 on at 250. He let the bet ride but I layed quite a bit during the final 9 holes. Still came out with just over €1,600 after commission. Brother got €2,375 though!!

Has all been given back at this stage!

and the following day i put €10 on a scorecast (Tevez and Man City to beat West Ham 3-1) @ 60/1 which came in. best 2 gambling days i've ever had! Have come nowhere even close since

Bradley Dredge!! (-5)

Made these comments about him this week

Out of sorts in recent events and retired from the PGA Championship last week. He may not win but I feel there is a good performance in him and he’s overdue getting his game into shape again and contending on the European Tour

Had a fantastic opening round last week but struggled a bit from then onwards. Should of stuck by the lad in his home event :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭SirDelboy18

Chris Wood was tipped by the Racing Post

I can't have Watney this week. His accuracy off the tee is just average and although his stats from the rough are quite good this is really thick stuff and with the heavy rain forecast it will make it tougher. Any waywardness off the tee will be well punished.

Watney was also very poor from the bunkers at Colonial last week, 4 from 9 just. There is over 70 bunkers in play here this week.

His putting still isn't up to scratch, let's face it it's not. I've mouthed off about him fairly regularly this year and last, about how his putting is improving, it is but only gradually. He is way off (putting) at the moment and I think he could struggle this week.

Just my tuppence worth.

+5 thru 9 holes.

19 putts for 9 holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Verance

Hey, quit the gloating, I've him for a top 10 :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

I have just deleted a few posts here to tidy up the thread

Given that I am new here people are going to start off with a clean stale (provided there are no previous bans or infractions)

From what I can see some people need to stop hopping on posts and assuming people are gloating and also stop needling if they think they are

If someone is doing well it is only natural for them to be happy and want to promote it, conversely they are not going to trumpet their failures, maybe they should but we can't force them too

Can't we all just get along :)

Just my tuppence worth.

82 (+10) for R2.

+12 for the tournament.

Hopefully you swerved him robbie ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Rory McIlroy priced up @ 5/4 (Hills) in group betting for today. Looks attractive, as recommended in the RP this morning.
    fwjcqh.jpg

Well done to Rose and especially to the Ricky Barnes backers.

Must have threw away the dockets after R2!