Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eurovision 2011

• 01-06-2010 3:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭

In this year's Eurovision, ballads kinda got slaughtered, probably because there were so many of them. So, many countries will enter boppy mid-tempo numbers next year to emulate Lena's success this year.

If we are serious about trying to win this, then I think we should enter another ballad on the basis that most other countries won't and their mid-tempo boppy numbers will cancel each other out in the same way as ballads did this year.

The last few winners have stood out because they were different. Debate about Lena's accent is a waste of time. It helped the song to stand out from the rest.

Nobody criticised Phil Lynott's accent. Mind you, nobody would have dared ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

All that is required is a bit of common sense. Nobody in RTE knows enough about music to be involved. The year Lordi won it for example, an irish folk metal band put their name in the hat and were laughed out the door, told to come back and sing an Abba song ffs....

Everything about the selection process is wrong. It's unfair, it's filled with foreign journeymen who are rejects in their own countries chancing their arm in Ireland mixed with the likes of Ronan keating (who's actual hits were written by others inc Gregg Alexander anyway). Also Dana is a dinosaur and should not be allowed near it. One only has to watch that other abomination the all-ireland talent show to see the woman actually hasn't a clue other then vocals.

THe competition needs to be open, and the jury needs to be a mix of eurovision enthusiasts, producers, musicians and the general public. We have already seen mass public votes cannot be trusted, although I would argue that Dustin was actually was better than anything else on offer that year.

Another reason we fail is we try too hard to send a certain type of act every year, why not not try at all...let's just have a listen to our own homegrown talents who have been slugging it out all over Europe and send them over, surely an Irish hard rock band such as Glyder,the answer or ham sandwich or lafaro would blow the roof off a tame event like the Eurovision....so what if they don't win....THEY WOULD DO US PROUD AND DO A HELL OF LOT BETTER THAN THIS YEAR!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

I am afraid that the thoughts of Ireland winning send a shiver through the director general of RTE's spine. RTE cannot afford to host it ever again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Nobody in RTE knows enough about music to be involved.

RTÉ don't want to win it. What would they pay for the competition with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Don't the the public anywhere near voting on the winner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Could we not just send Jedward? They'll be happy for the work by this time next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭.SONIC.

bonerm wrote: »
    Could we not just send Jedward? They'll be happy for the work by this time next year.

jedward for eurovision 2011!!! :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

That would suit RTÉ alright. A guaranteed no hoper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭exaisle

Jedward? Who/what is Jedward?

There's a relatively broad line between sending a decent entry and sending a pair of talentless dorks OR a turkey impersonator.

The additional tourism generated by the publicity of hosting Eurovision is inestimable. You cannot put a value on the amount of publicity gained although the cost, ie. the cost of hosting Eurovision would be just a fraction of that value.

In short, if the country won and hosted Eurovision, we would ultimately make a profit. RTE could justifiably seek funds from Failte Ireland, or whatever they're called this week.

Jedward for Eurovision? FFS cop yourself on. I wouldn't watch them if they doused themselves in petrol and played with an angle grinder.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 speedster

Anybody know when applications start and what the application process is for Eurovision 2011?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 nijel

this years submissions appear to be done internally with five bigshots in the music business deciding who will go forward, so unless you are well in with one of them i dont think there will be muc poit smitting songs... heres a link about it: http://allkindsofeverything.ie/Latest%20News01.htm
    I think I will keep an open mind when it comes to jedward... so long as they 1.dont go the same root as dustin, mocking the eurovision and all the countries that takepart 2. take it serious and 3 get a good song, they could work !?! although someone like Mary Byrne would be better...

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

nijel wrote: »
    this years submissions appear to be done internally with five bigshots in the music business deciding who will go forward, so unless you are well in with one of them i dont think there will be muc poit smitting songs... heres a link about it: http://allkindsofeverything.ie/Latest%20News01.htm
    I think I will keep an open mind when it comes to jedward... so long as they 1.dont go the same root as dustin, mocking the eurovision and all the countries that takepart 2. take it serious and 3 get a good song, they could work !?! although someone like Mary Byrne would be better...

Tbh Jedward can be underestimated. They are pretty popular with some people. They have that marmite effect. A bit like Lordi did!
    I don't know if they could win the competition though! They have the entertainment value for sure, it just depends on that marmite issue! Will Europe love them or hate them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Tbh Jedward can be underestimated. They are pretty popular with some people. They have that marmite effect. A bit like Lordi did!
    I don't know if they could win the competition though! They have the entertainment value for sure, it just depends on that marmite issue! Will Europe love them or hate them?

Not so much a marmite effect as a laxative effect.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 304 ✭✭smares

I heard Crystal Swing want to enter :o, I think i would prefer Dustin to represent Ireland again before Crystal Swing.

I would vote for Crystal Swing. They are not pretentious arseholes like jedward

Yes Jedward are underestimated! Many kids like them, they could stand out. But it might be too early to predicit yet if they could win. If all the countries are too poor to put something decent in perhaps we could do well :P

I like laxatives! perhaps marmite is a better analogy...

Can crystal swing even sing?? Either way i think hes a little outdated and far more irratating than the twins.

At the end of the day though why are we settling for the **** at the bottom of the irish music market. Why not some one like Andrea Corr.

Would the Europeans care about Jedward? I think not. They are only popular here because they were on that X Factor programme. Without it nobody would look at them twice.

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Would the Europeans care about Jedward? I think not. They are only popular here because they were on that X Factor programme. Without it nobody would look at them twice.

It's their energy and confidence that could make them popular though. Not whether they were on Xfactor or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

With the exception of ABBA, has there ever been an artist of any real merit produced by eurovision?

I feel the money spent by RTE on its coverage would be better off burned or possibly gobbled live on air by Derek Davis.

....Celine Dion fans don't even think about it.

Don't forget Johnny Logan who's fairly successful in Scandinavia. Or Jade Ewen who's now in the sugar babes or Micheal Flatley :P . it all depends on what you see to be "of real merit" many artists have plenty of market in eastern Europe. At the end of the day is that the point of eurovision? I just see it at as an entertainment show not a xfactor wannabee finder.

And how would it be a waste of money for rte, the eurovision gets three nights of high ratings they wouldnt dream off otherwise.

If my sources are right it looks like crystal swing and jedward will be in our national final! :O

""By today, the five mentors had to have chosen the acts and songs that will be performing in "Eurosong 2011" in February. Given the holiday season, it is unlikely that the entries will be made public before the end of the year, but one act appears to have gone public last week. The Cork based family group Crystal Swing became an international internet sensation in early 2010 and last week Mary Murray-Burke stated that she and her teenage children Dervla and Derek Burke were working on a Eurovision entry. Whether this converts to one of the five finalists, will take a little time to be confirmed, but following on the already announced participation of Jedward, it appears that we could be shaping up for one of the most interesting Irish selections in many years.""

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Its only a matter of time before someone predictably suggests the Rubber Bandits for the Eurovision, so lets just get it out of the way now.

RUBBER BANDITS FOR THE EUROTHING

There - Job done. Carry on :)

haha ya rubber bandits can we think of anything worse now... Podge and Rodge aswel why not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Skulduggery

Getting back the original poster. I'm going to enter a song this year and I am in the same dilemma that you're in as to what type of song would work best. I think considering the odd ball winners over the last few years, the Eurovision formula that we all grew to love:) is offically dead. I'm working on a Bublé type song with a swing/jazz vibe to it. He's very topical musically wise at the moment and if you can get a good melody and a well produced song, you MIGHT have a chance of making the final but the reality is, who knows what type of song will work.

I agree with one of the previous posters that if you dont have someone in RTE, you're not in with much of a chance unless you can write a stonker of a song. When you look at some of finalists last year, there is NO doubt in my mind that connections in RTE are essential.

nijel wrote: »
    Don't forget Johnny Logan who's fairly successful in Scandinavia.

'Nuff said.

I just believe anyone who values their artistic integrity must realise that a dalliance with eurovision will result in a life on the cabaret circuit or sailing the seven seas with Cunard lines.

The fact that Donna and Joe, Dustin, Crystal Swing and Jedward are in the mix merely reinforces the fact that we've come a long way since Benny and Bjorn won that show, on a downward spiral for sure.

Not sure what the viewing figures are to be honest but i'm sure were RTE to replace it with quality TV the figures would be solid.

It's not a contest about the best song it's a freak show and if that does it for you fair enough.

'Nuff said.

I just believe anyone who values their artistic integrity must realise that a dalliance with eurovision will result in a life on the cabaret circuit or sailing the seven seas with Cunard lines.

The fact that Donna and Joe, Dustin, Crystal Swing and Jedward are in the mix merely reinforces the fact that we've come a long way since Benny and Bjorn won that show, on a downward spiral for sure.

Not sure what the viewing figures are to be honest but i'm sure were RTE to replace it with quality TV the figures would be solid.

It's not a contest about the best song it's a freak show and if that does it for you fair enough.

I love the eurovision! It's entertaining TV! And clearly a good chunk of Europe agree with me going by it's popularity.

The contest is about the most entertaining act, the one who the Europeans like most. Just like any of the other reality tv shows, although Eurovision doesn't feel the need extend the contest so much or bring in the stupid sob stories.

Eurovision is a tradition for me. Every year we insist that my dad gives up the remote for the one night and we all watch and have a laugh. Last year I even made it part of my Birthday party! It's fun to watch, there are always the funny acts, the awful acts, the talented acts, a bit of everything!

And people can give out about the voting all they want but if you look at the winners every year they have always been one of the best in the competition. Obviously there is politics involved but normally the winner did deserve it

The contest is about the most entertaining act, the one who the Europeans like most.

How is it then that Greece always find Cyprus most entertaining? Germany (with millions of Turkish immigrants) always find Turkey most entertaining, the former composite parts of Yugoslavia all find eachother most entertaining etc. etc.

It's clearly not a search for the best song, nor as demonstrated by cross border mutual appreciation a search for the most entertaining act.

It is a circus of forgettable euro-pap and high camp, a musical black hole of unfathomable depth and a huge waste of time, money and effort in a celebration of utterly meaningless mediocrity.

I'm not a fan as you might guess:D

I get that it's a tradition and a laugh but I'd rather RTE never spent another penny on it and you could watch it on the Beeb.

How is it then that Greece always find Cyprus most entertaining? Germany (with millions of Turkish immigrants) always find Turkey most entertaining, the former composite parts of Yugoslavia all find eachother most entertaining etc. etc.

It's clearly not a search for the best song, nor as demonstrated by cross border mutual appreciation a search for the most entertaining act.

It is a circus of forgettable euro-pap and high camp, a musical black hole of unfathomable depth and a huge waste of time, money and effort in a celebration of utterly meaningless mediocrity.

I'm not a fan as you might guess:D

I get that it's a tradition and a laugh but I'd rather RTE never spent another penny on it and you could watch it on the Beeb.

Close countries would have closer cultural likes and dislikes. I'm not denying that there is probably a political link in it but certain countries would have more cultural aspects in common with others. Just like if it was worldwide the African countries may enjoy a different type song to the Europeans, and Ireland, the UK and America would probably have the same tastes too. There is a cultural aspect to it.

And if you had seen the last part of my post i did mention that one of the best songs still tends to win no matter where they are from!

it doesn't matter who wins anyway.It is still about the entertainment value. And I do watch it on BBC anyway! Better commentary! :P

Heres the 2010 vrs the 2009 ratings... costing 200k. to ship and feed the irish act :P its possibly down to personal opinion if this is a waist, perhaps someone could find a comparison.
    • Semi final 1 - 139.000 (In 2009: 208,000)
    • Semi final 2 - 397,000 (In 2009: 438,000)
    • Grand Final - 719,000 (In 2009: 438,000)
    They have put juries in which dilute the dispora voting! however this is completly natural as they do have similar tastes in music as we like the Brits.... but never forget the right song always pulls through.. it is a mutual European winner I like to think.

thats shocking id say our 1916 rebels are turning in their graves preferring bbc to rte :eek::D

If the best song usually wins then, sweet Jesus, it's actually worse than I thought.

A succession of cheesy Butlins red coat castoffs and eh..Lordi.

Anyhoo, having a pop at eurovisions like shooting fish in a barrel, I'll desist.

I thought Lordi was a very credible winner. So sometimes it is the best song that actually wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

http://www.rte.ie/ten/2011/0113/eurovision.html
    Media reports say that the five acts that will compete to represent Ireland in this year's Eurovision Song Contest have been finalised. The Star says that Nikki Kavanagh, a backing singer for Niamh Kavanagh at last year's Eurovision, Jedward, the Vard Sisters, Don Mescall and "a new boy-girl band" signed to EMI Records are believed to be the acts taking part in Eurosong on 'The Late Late Show' on 11 February.

As in 2010, the winning entry will be selected by a combination of public vote and regional jury.

The winner will then represent Ireland in the 56th Eurovision Song Contest Semi-Final in Düsseldorf, Germany in May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

I hate to say it, because they make my skin crawl, but Jedward would probably do well in Eurovision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I hate to say it, because they make my skin crawl, but Jedward would probably do well in Eurovision.
    yeah i actually agree...

i can even picture the competition (irish) in my head....4 drab boring pop songs sung by boring wannabees, and the two lads jumping around having a laugh...i'd vote for the lads having the craic!

I wouldn't say so. I'd say it would be another Dustin situation - people expecting the rest of Europe to find it hilarious but it will actually result in a cringeworthy effort that will have the rest of Europe looking at us like we're morons.

It's becoming a sad state of affairs when we are the ones sending the goofy Eurotrash entries but I guess RTE is making doubly sure that we don't have to host the thing. I just wish they'd do this without making a show of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,338 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

If the best song usually wins then, sweet Jesus, it's actually worse than I thought.

A succession of cheesy Butlins red coat castoffs and eh..Lordi.

Anyhoo, having a pop at eurovisions like shooting fish in a barrel, I'll desist.

You call this...

"cheesy Butlins redcoat standoffs"?

I actually liked most of the songs that won in the last 10 years :o
    The one that won last year (the German one) was a bit, meh, to be honest, but at least it wasn't a ballad.

I do think Jedward could end up doing a bit better than Dustin faired, anyway. They already have the publicity from X Factor. They could end up being the "goofy" act that gets through every year, the slot usually filled by Ukraine or Latvia.

No, that's more Fossetts than Butlins to be fair:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭Amik

I'll be vote for Nikki (fantastic tune) but the stage spectacle is important at EV, so see Jedward going through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Lamph

My thoughts:

Vards song is very forgettable and old fashioned. We sent a better version of this song last year, and it tanked.

Bling is a terrible name for that group. U expect raunchy pop or hip hop, but we get a lame dated S Club b side. Terrible. The worst of the bunch...

Don Mescall writes MOR late night radio fare. this is an ok song, but very forgettable. would come last in the ESC semi.

Jedward's is pretty contemporary. Personally, I don't like at that Rhianna / Ke$ha ****e... but this could do well at ESC (assuming they can stay in tune these days)

Nikki Kavanagh's 'Falling' is head and shoulders above the rest of the field... Unfortunately, due to the neighbourly voting of ESC it could struggle to make it to the final... depending on staging, tuning, confidence, and draw position.
    I do think it is unfair that for the 3rd year in a row the Swedish songwriting team will get to close the Eurosong show. A plumb draw for the 3rd year running... A little unfair.

My prediction:-
    it is a no-brainer that Jedward wins the public vote.
    But now that the juries have 2/3 of the power... it is possible they could force an upset.

I predict the juries will push Nikki Kavanagh to victory.

The Nikki Kavanagh one is the only one remotely decent imo. Not my type of thing but I could see it doing OK. The rest are poor and the Jedward sh*t is awful. The people of this country will vote Jedward to win. It's not like the public votes well in this country. Remember a turkey won before - Bertie Ahern I think his name was. Ba dum dish.

Anyways if Jedward win and make a show of us perhaps the embarrassment and anger that will result will take those two nobodies out of the spotlight once and for all. Just trying to put a positive spin on this shambles.

WOW! Nikki just knocked my socks off! She's getting 3 votes from me tomorrow. :)))

If we can just get her past Jedward, we really do have a chance to placing high this year, if not winning (have listened to a few of the winners from other countries, so far nothing has caught my ear).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

I put a massive €15 on Nikki Kavanagh at 3/1 on Paddy Power after hearing the songs on Mooney today. Jedward will be a mess live and the public only get 1/3 of the vote.

She's 5/2 at Boyle Sports. Gonna place 10 EUR on her. :D

Actually Nikki's song sounds like an improvement of last year's favourite "Drip Drop" by Safura. I enjoyed that song too but thought Lena deserved to win...

Got the link below from a fan page on Facebook. She actually has a great stage presence and is quite the lassie! ;)

http://www.vimeo.com/17432566