Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fired for Calling His Boss A "Little Prick"

• 01-06-2010 1:36am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭

Air Force Commandant Niall Donoghue gets the sack from his job. Ouch.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0531/donoghuen.html

I'm sure they'll still give him an aul silence pension. Mind you, I don't think Ryanair can quite match the Irish Air Force's salary and benefits package.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Comdt Donoghue, who is married with two young children, had pleaded not guilty and claimed his comments had been misheard.

He actually said that he was a "lovely man with a generous disposition & had great hair".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

I love the way he tried to claim that he only said 'you're a little prickly.' Nice try, Niall.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Hehe small penis.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Depending on the full military court decision/degree of his sacking, he might lose any additional benefits too he had amassed.

Biggins wrote: »
    Depending on the full military court decision/degree of his sacking, he might lose any additional benefits too he had amassed.

And in other news... :D

...the naked rambler was acquitted!
    A Swiss court on Friday acquitted a rambler who had been fined for hiking nude, local news agency ATS reported. The 47 year old went to the court in eastern Switzerland's Appenzell Ausserrhoden canton to defend his right to hike naked, after he refused to pay a fine of 100 francs imposed following a complaint from a woman who saw him.
    The woman had complained to the authorities about his "indecent behaviour."
    The nudist's lawyer argued however that his client was not behaving in an indecent manner, and that the woman must have followed him to observe his actions.
    In addition, the lawyer noted that the canton's penal code did not prohibit hiking naked.
    The hiker said he has been rambling nude over the past two years, and that he always sticks to little used tracks.
    The court waived the 100 franc-fine on the nudist and instead ordered the state to cover legal costs of 2,000 francs.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/afp/20100528/od_afp/switzerlandcourtnudityoffbeat_20100528175650

When I clicked on this thread, I have to admit that I was just a little bit dissapointed to find out that it wasn't about Ryanair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

naplian syndrome boss perhaps ?

Is that what happens when a small man mixes up some napalm?

Its what i call very angry chefs who are challanged bye gravitity ;)

That could make for a very interesting episode of "ready steady cook"

And on today's epdisode we have

Napolean Boneparte

Adolf Hitler

and

Mao Tse Tung

Ready, steady (with that highly vilotile chemical)... cook!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

We have an army?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Good for him.

That could make for a very interesting episode of "ready steady cook"

And on today's epdisode we have

Napolean Boneparte

Adolf Hitler

and

Mao Tse Tung

Ready, steady (with that highly vilotile chemical)... cook!

id like to say my above spelling was a mistake i just wanted to lead you on :pac:

But it still sounds like fun to watch maybe a death match...:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Biggins wrote: »

He was dishonourably discharged so he'll lose all benefits afforded to a retiring member, including his pension.

As well as that he can never be employed in a public/civil service job.

But thats all assuming he doesn't appeal the findings of the court martial & providing the appeal fails.

Then because he's a commissioned officer his appeal must be upheld by the dail, then signed off by the president. It'll take awhile no matter if he appeals or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

...after he had been given a negative appraisal of his performance at Baldonnel

I think there might be more to this which we will never hear about. An incident like this would hardly ever get as far as a court marshal. I think he had done something else or a series of things which were wrong hence the negative appraisal. When he called his superior a prick it was the perfect opportunity to get rid of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

syklops wrote: »
    I think there might be more to this which we will never hear about. An incident like this would hardly ever get as far as a court marshal. I think he had done something else or a series of things which were wrong hence the negative appraisal. When he called his superior a prick it was the perfect opportunity to get rid of him.

Apparently he made something like a 130 complaints before this. Something seems strange about this. Like the fact a cadet was ordered to carry away a safe because somebody wanted a letter inside, or that they couldn't find the milatary police it's not like baldonnel is huge.

He was dishonourably discharged so he'll lose all benefits afforded to a retiring member, including his pension.
    But thats all assuming he doesn't appeal the findings of the court martial & providing the appeal fails.
    Then because he's a commissioned officer his appeal must be upheld by the dail, then signed off by the president. It'll take awhile no matter if he appeals or not.
    Thats what I felt too would happen.
    There might have been some leniency show to him regarding his benefits if there was some form of justification but as a standard practise for being dishonourably discharged, he would lose the lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

bluto63 wrote: »
    We have an army?

A one man army. It used to be a two man army, but sh1t happened.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Do we have any evidence to prove that the officer in question was not in fact a little prick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭thecornflake

it was his word against the officers , they had to prick someone.

perhaps it was a call sign like iceman or maverick ? , yeah prick inbound, prick dropping my load now . . . . . .

(gift)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

What happens if we get invaded by "Ze Germans" some day and our army are standing in foxholes calling each other 'little pricks'. We'd be massacred! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭dublinguy2004

You speak with such authority on these matters. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Thank God my boss isn't such a pussy , I'd be fired daily

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

According to news last night he could have gone to prison for saying that. That's crazy.

Commandant: €58k to €73k, plus allowances. He's probably got a pre-2004 pension too. Ouch.

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    According to news last night he could have gone to prison for saying that. That's crazy.

Imagine if he went nuts up in the Cessna and told the air traffic control that he's a "little prick" and flew the thing into Liberty Hall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

What kind of pussy military do we have when you cant use a bit of an aul expletive?

orourkeda wrote: »
    What kind of pussy military do we have when you cant use a bit of an aul expletive?

The vernacular of the Baldonnel officers' mess must be something. I'd say they sit around talking about daisies and their pets all day. Maybe a bit of soggy biscuit over Fighter Aircraft Magazine later on in the night when the soldiers have gone off to bed and nobody's looking...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

orourkeda wrote: »

And his superior officer runs off crying like a big girl and 'tells' on him. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

I'm SORRY your honour (tic) but I ARSE forgot MY fcuking TOURETTES medication you BOLLIX (tic) that morning.

Reg'stoy wrote: »
    I'm SORRY your honour (tic) but I ARSE forgot MY fcuking TOURETTES medication you BOLLIX (tic) that morning.

You don't refer to an Irish judge as "your Honour".

He was probably put flying in this for a while (yes, it's still used for "surveillence missions") before he snapped.

cessna1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

He hasn't been in front of a judge, this was a military dismissal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Goes to show that the Irish media will pick up on even the most trivial incident to make the DF, who by extension are public servants, look bad. :rolleyes: That said, he had a fair few complaints this might have been the nail in the coffin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

in reply to OP
    its not fair
    his wife had told him his boss had a little prick
    he just couldn't keep it to himself
    indiscreet:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

bluto63 wrote: »
    We have an army?

I know we have an army, more often than not on UN peacekeeping, but I wasn't aware that we had an air force. What sort of planes do they have? Airfix? Meccano?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

There must be allot more to this I'm assuming the military don't like letting go long serving soldiers that they've probably invested thousands and thousands in over the years,

There better be more to it, it's a complete waste of money dismissing a trained professional because of one offhand remark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

He was probably put flying in this for a while (yes, it's still used for "surveillence missions") before he snapped.

cessna1.jpg

Whats wrong with a Cessna? Many of countries still use the Cessna for such missions.

OT, It looked like a the Air Corp were fed up with him,I read somewhere he is awaiting a hearing on 11 other charges.

But it will be interesting to see if he appeals it,because it has to be heard in front of a civilian judge then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

If you have tourettes its usually your bollix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Thomas828 wrote: »
    I know we have an army, more often than not on UN peacekeeping, but I wasn't aware that we had an air force. What sort of planes do they have? Airfix? Meccano?

Planes(of various quantities)
    Casa CN235
    Cessna 172
    Pilatus PC-9M
    PBN Defender
    Beech Craft*
    Gulfstream IV*
    LearJet 45*

Helicopters(of various quantities)
    EC135 T2
    Squirrel 2
    AW139
    EC135 P2

*Ministerial planes.

Not bad for a neutral country I'd think :p

Whats wrong with a Cessna? Many of countries still use the Cessna for such missions.

Don't you get it?
    If it doesn't look like some of the big jets like the RAF and USAF use then it's a piece of shít! :eek:

He was court martialled. Look it up. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

I know it was a mistype but google naplian and and you are really insulting someone!
    url too long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

SV wrote: »
    Planes(of various quantities)
    Casa CN235
    Cessna 172
    Pilatus PC-9M
    PBN Defender
    Beech Craft*
    Gulfstream IV*
    LearJet 45*

Helicopters(of various quantities)
    EC135 T2
    Squirrel 2
    AW139
    EC135 P2

*Ministerial planes.

Not bad for a neutral country I'd think :p
    Yeah, it's grand until someone attacks us, What are we going to do send two up, one to fly the plane and another to hang out the window with a shotgun?

ScumLord wrote: »
    Yeah, it's grand until someone attacks us, What are we going to do send two up, one to fly the plane and another to hang out the window with a shotgun?

The PC-9Ms are equipped with rocket pods and machine gun pods.

besides, it'd be only temporary until another country comes in to help us. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

ScumLord wrote: »

I actually lol'd at that :D

Seriously though, I've been following this in the indo, and it seems that there was some bad blood between these two anyway.

Rothmans wrote: »
    I actually lol'd at that :D

Seriously though, I've been following this in the indo, and it seems that there was some bad blood between these two anyway.

Nothing like airing your dirty laundry in public.

The ex-Commdt should do an interview with the Daily Mail and really spill the beans.

attachment.php?attachmentid=73946&d=1258509413

Goes to show that the Irish media will pick up on even the most trivial incident to make the DF, who by extension are public servants, look bad. :rolleyes:

Don't worry. The overpaid suckling brats at UCC have been doing a good job at toy soldiers building little empires for themselves too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭davetherave

We have a military judge ;)