Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you support both codes?

• 31-05-2010 8:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭

Just general question, do boards.ie memebers support there county in both Hurling and football or just one of them?

I am Corkman and support both equally personally maybe more footballers just cause been so long since they won Sam. I never really noticed it growing up but especially in last few years I notice that you get many supporters who only maybe go and support the hurling team or football team, most will support both but surprised at amount who dont care about other code if they support one or other.

I know most counties are generally much better at one code then other so most time there will be bias towards them but just wondering your overall support for both codes or do you just support one of either football or hurling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

No, I'm from Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Support both codes but would be more of a football man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

I'm from Cavan ...

What's hurling?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,970 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I'm from Cork therefore I can chose from Hurling, Football, Soccer, Rugby, Camoige, Ladies football, Basketball..... the list is endless.... I do my best to support them all!
    Hurling is my favourite, love the football, grew up between Musgrave Park and the Coss...I try to go to as many matches as I can but the wife and kids keep getting in the way:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭shockframe

I would be more of a hurling fan myself but i would not be a hurling snob.

Im from a dual club so i would always have an interest in both codes.I was in cork yeseterday and what i couldnt get over was that when players profiled in the programme were asked what was their favourite other sports nearly everyone of them said rugby.

Thats what i dont understand about the hurling fans.they seem to be outdoing each other as to say how many times we hate football but they prefer what i would class a much more boring sport ahead of football.

I know gaelic football can be bad i admit but i just dont know how rugby gets all the praise it does.

one player mentioned his favourite sports were american football and basketball and another mentioned snooker.how anyone could favour these is beyond me.

im not a gaa dinousaur either.i love watching darts and soccer during the winter but that aside every other sport just bores me.

im probably going off tangent here but it baffles me how so many hate football.i wonder of all the hurling people who said they love rugby watch games that dont involve munster or leinster.

One great thing about hurling snobs is their entertainment value.i travelled with a massive football fan and a hurling snob.we picked out sevaral instances of hurling folk knocking football.tony considine in the kerry examiner a great example.he said he was disgusted a few years ago when the cork double header was on in croke park that he would have to watch a football match before the hurling.ignorant as it was loughnane and o flynn were at it aswell over the weekend.we all got a laugh out of it - even the hurling snob saw the funny side of it.

I would class myself as a gaa man.if i was to mark myself out of 10 i would say

9/10 - hurling

7/10 - football. up to 8/9 during the latter stages though

10/10 - overall interest and going to matches.

just enjoy the games regardless.the gaa has a lot of faults but it is wonderful to have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Yeah I would very much support both teams equally. Go to all the home games of each and any away games that are within a reasonable distance.

When it comes to championship will go anywhere to see them...as I did last year up to Donegal to see footballers in qualifiers...despite knowing we hadn't a hope!! Ah we made a good weekend out of it tho!! :)

Carlow despite being so bad is very much a football county, a football co final here will get 5 times the crowd of a hurling final. Same thing transfers to co teams, footballers will get about same crowd for a Div 4 game as Hurlers will get for a Div 2 game v Laois or Down etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

baalthor wrote: »
    I'm from Cavan ...

What's hurling?

haha good one lad.

well I do understand people from counties where hurling is not very strong to come out and say that really do.

I suppose one thing I should mentioned is club games too does not have be county games but county would be more interesting I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,258 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

have played and loved both hurling and football but as a lily white we seem somewhere lacking in the hurling stakes!

love the game though great to see dublin playing so well hurling too:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Yes. Been to more Dublin hurling games than football, even when Dublin were awful at hurling.

Ray, Kildare hurling is going places. Dublin always beat them at underage but find it hard, generally beating them by 4-7 points. Kildare is were Dublin was 8 years ago, the work is going in at underage but wont bear fruit for a while at senior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Played both and have always followed/supported both, but then I suppose it's a bit easier to do that when you're from a county like Galway where both teams are fairly strong (most of the time anyway). I can certainly understand how a lad from Cavan or Leitrim mightn't have a whole lot of interest in the hurlers.

Coming from the football part of Galway I'm probably marginally more a football than hurling man, but that said I'd rather the hurlers won it next as it's been too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Hurling only.......won't even watch football on the box.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,191 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I do not support both, Hurliing is way superior, football is oulling and dragging and not much else, very unpleasing on the eye and I have no interest in it what so ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭portumna

I'm from a dual county but i cannot stand football. I'm sure that stems from being brought up in hurling country in Galway. I'm living in Kildare and it's such a culture shock to see how badly hurling is treated in this part of the world. Talk about the poor relation!

My missus is from Leitrim and her family always get this big rivalry thing going when Galway play Leitrim in football but i couldn't care less if they won or lost and they can't understand it. I believe it's all about what you're brought up on wether it be football, hurling or both. AS for me it's hurling all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

I'd support both.

I like both equally actually when watching Limerick. Like if you asked me to decide between a hurling or football match, t'wud be fair difficult like.

But when it comes to watching matches where other teams participate, I'd rather hurling.

If that makes any sense atal......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I'm from Cork therefore I can chose from Hurling, Football, Soccer, Rugby, Camoige, Ladies football, Basketball..... the list is endless.... I do my best to support them all!
    Hurling is my favourite, love the football, grew up between Musgrave Park and the Coss...I try to go to as many matches as I can but the wife and kids keep getting in the way:D

You forgot Road Bowling

I support both along rugby Association Football Rugby League & Cricket

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭msbrightside

Being from Sligo football is a lot more popular than hurling.
    But saying that, the hurlers done well a couple of years ago winning the Nicky Rackard cup.
    I support the Galway hurlers mostly though, but having to decide between Sligo football or Galway hurling I'd choose football every time!

So, basically what I'm saying is I love both sports but I prefer football!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Pappy o' daniel

Support both equally(Cork), but much prefer watching hurling over football if neutral teams playing.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Support hurling, football, camogie and ladies football, rounders and handball! (I'm from Cork!) Involved more and would go to more camogie and ladies football games than hurling and football, but will watch any GAA game on telly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I will support any Wexford team. If I had to choose between hurling and football it would be football, although Wexford is a hurling county my club focuses more on football than hurling, so played more football growing up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

I support both. I personally prefer Football but I will still go and watch the hurlers play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

Follow both teams but would not watch football if there wasn't some significance for Galway (e.g might watch Connacht football matches - but probably not any others). On the other hand I go to as many club and intercounty hurling matches as I can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 mac85

From a dual club and follow both codes equally. I'd watch or go to any gaa match and have an overall interest in both codes.
    I do prefer hurling..as in when you get a cracking game of hurling in my mind it can't really be beaten.

It's disappointing with how ref's are implementing rules handing out yellow and red cards (sometimes) for little or nothing, almost non stop blowing whistle for silly things. like sending a man off who's been training towards a match in the hail, rain and snow and to go for something small.. (not talking about any specific incident, just general).
    What I'm getting at is it's all slowing up the games which I find frustrating. On top of that these negative (defensive) tactics. Yes, I know it's a results business at the end of the day..but from a spectators point of view it's destroying the game.
    Sorry guys..rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭deisedude

I have an interest in both but much prefer watching hurling. I actually prefer playing football though. I'm what you'd call a border case, live on the Cork Waterford border and support teams in Cork and Waterford championships. Football is definately the poor relation in both. I definately go to a lot more hurling games than football overall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭madheaded

I follow both codes inter county and at local level as well but gave up hurling a few years ago because i couldnt hack it. I prefer football probably because its the sport that i play but i have the utmost respect for hurlers for the ability that they have and the training they put in to reach the levels they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

I'd always have been more a Limerick hurling fan as a young fella but when Kearns came along I started going to the footballers. Felt they deserved a bit of support and they always put their heart and soul into it. Always was devastated they could never beat Kerry those times but havn't stopped following them since, incase they actually go and win something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

As a handball player I think "Family of Sports" is more accurate without wanting to be pedantic. Just like 'GAA' is not a fecking sport.... *grumble* *grumble*

Dublin Handball, Hurling, and Football are all supported by myself :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

portumna wrote: »
    I'm from a dual county but i cannot stand football. I'm sure that stems from being brought up in hurling country in Galway.

This is exactly the way it is in most dual counties I would say. The football men would follow and support the hurling to a certain extent. The hurling men would generally have no interest in the football.

It is certainly that way in Galway. Its surprising then to learn that the footballers still have a better following here than the hurlers. Probably because there is so much more history, success and togetherness attatched to the footballers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭cremeegg

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    This is exactly the way it is in most dual counties I would say. The football men would follow and support the hurling to a certain extent. The hurling men would generally have no interest in the football.

It is certainly that way in Galway. Its surprising then to learn that the footballers still have a better following here than the hurlers. Probably because there is so much more history, success and togetherness attatched to the footballers.

thats a incitement to civil war comment their hulk hands... we have won more all irelands then the footballers since 1970's ... pre this fair enough... galway footballers had a strong team in 1960's. In fairness galway always had a connacht championship to play in first and a reasonable chance of success every year. whereas the hurlers were handicapped in this respect.

im a hurling man obviously but would follow the footballers with keen interest ..that said ..football bar the rare occasion is an awfull crock of dung.. especially up north... jaysus... attempted to watch down donegal last sunday..draw match .. didnt keep my attention for more then 2 mins... a game of fouls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭kildare9

Being from Kildare I will always turn to football first, but I love hurling. As some Dublin lad said a few comments back, Kildare hurling is on the way up. We are at the stage where Dublin were 6/7 years ago. 2021 will be the year Kildare win Liam :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

kildare9 wrote: »
    Being from Kildare I will always turn to football first, but I love hurling. As some Dublin lad said a few comments back, Kildare hurling is on the way up. We are at the stage where Dublin were 6/7 years ago. 2021 will be the year Kildare win Liam :D

And I would welcome that (once ye dont become too good:D;))

Be great to see someone like Kildare or Carlow come along and make progress like they have had underage level would be great for the game. Hence why I always liked Antrim, they only country up north to keep the game some bit alive. If they had won on Sunday would have helped some bit too, but they being going downhill quiet fast in past 10-15 years which is sad to see. Hurling needs counties like them.

Going back to the main topic, I do find it hard to watch a game of football right after I have watched a hurling match. Hurling really is that much more faster and exciting that when you watch a football game after it it can look so much slower and well less exciting in many respects. Still support both all same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

cremeegg wrote: »
    thats a incitement to civil war comment their hulk hands... we have won more all irelands then the footballers since 1970's ... pre this fair enough... galway footballers had a strong team in 1960's. In fairness galway always had a connacht championship to play in first and a reasonable chance of success every year. whereas the hurlers were handicapped in this respect.

im a hurling man obviously but would follow the footballers with keen interest ..that said ..football bar the rare occasion is an awfull crock of dung.. especially up north... jaysus... attempted to watch down donegal last sunday..draw match .. didnt keep my attention for more then 2 mins... a game of fouls.

More All Irelands because there are less teams to challenge in hurling. The problem with the hurling is that there is way too much rivalry at club level. People cant get over this rivalry when it comes to the senior team.

Fair play to ya for following the footballers, you are one of the only hurling ones. I could imagine someone from portumna/gort trying to organise a bus to a connacht final etc would get maybe 2/3 responses. Visa versa, from tuam and a big hurling match, you would probably fill the bus.