Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prizefighter 29-May

• 29-05-2010 8:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭

Surprised there hasnt been a thread on this already. Willie casey from limerick in with a BIGGGGGG upset by destroying mark moran. Not the most gifted technically but he will stand and trade, exciting to watch!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

yeah , just caught the end of it bro .

Havent got sky , but found it online .

Who's he got in the semi's ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,366 ✭✭✭✭walshb

What a great win and scrap that was for Casey. Little terror, full of fight and hitting quite hard. Looking forward to his semi and hopefully his final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

dogger where u watching it???

i got it at http://www.soulssports.net/ but im hoping u got a better stream.

Pickering just proving that he should have retired 2 years ago!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Thought it wasn't starting until 10. :mad::mad::mad:

Delighted Casey won though. :D:D:D

Link anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Vintagekits

whirlwind start - go on the big bang!!!

note Frampton and McGuigan in the front row checking out the competition in the SBW division!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Willie Casey is 1 of 22 children...jesus christ..and did ye see the women there with him?? :D haha..I assume he is from Moyross?

I think Casey will fight Wale next, that should be a cracker....

Pickering is putting up a great display here, albeit a losing one.
    Wale now cut....

callaway92 wrote: »
    Willie Casey is 1 of 22 children...jesus christ..and did ye see the women there with him?? :D haha..I assume he is from Moyross?

Southill.

Did Casey take much punishment? Will he be in good shape for round two? ****ing ragin I missed it. Looking forward to it all day.

Casey took a fair deal, what a scrap, you should get to see it

Sickener if Wale is ruled out, and unfair on Casey, as he will meet
    a fresh opponent in the semis

fcuk, willie cud win this. not surprised pickering was beaten but wale is definately beatable, cmon big bang :)

Wale has been cleared to fight Casey. Game on!

anyone got a fresh link, both the above are gone tits up

http://soulssports.net/Channel2.html for anyone interested

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

Ya i'd love to see this prizefighter have no links either :(

digme wrote: »
    Ya i'd love to see this prizefighter have no links either :(

Wild dogger's link works :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭venividivici

I'd be very surprised if Casey doesn't win the rest of this in an absolute canter. Infact I'll be surprised if he doesn't stop whoever he fights.
    It's not a great quality Prizefighter but Casey has shown he's a good fighter in just that one fight already..

thanks for the link, for the record where did u find it - for future reference....

wow what a great rd2 between owen and reid

I'd be very surprised if Casey doesn't win the rest of this in an absolute canter. Infact I'll be surprised if he doesn't stop whoever he fights.
    It's not a great quality Prizefighter but Casey has shown he's a good fighter in just that one fight already..

It's been the most entertaining one I have seen. Owen Reid is a cracker.

alanceltic wrote: »
    wow what a great rd2 between owen and reid

excellent, but i still think Casey is a class above these and the rest..

totally agree about the entertainment, it's absolutely great to watch..

Casey deserves the nod here in another great fight.

Wayne can count himself luck he was injured. He would have gotten
    busted up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

Close win for Willie

I love Caseys accent :)

I used to have an accent like that, but no more:(

Ricky Owen is out (eye) and Paul McIllheney (spelling) is in to face Casey now...

Wild card thru to meet Casey

I used to have an accent like that, but no more:(
    haha christ what happened to it?

Paul McIllheney ?

whats he like ?

haha christ what happened to it?
    It got beat out of me:mad:

Is she married to you now by any chance? :D

I'll get Willie to give ya a few slaps in da back of the forehead for dat comment:mad:

God help us!!!! :p

I'll get Willie to give ya a few slaps in da back of the forehead for dat comment:mad:

what like, inside his skull?

Ah now vintage ya have to follow through with your shots like :D

Jaysus Vintage, ya don't know the Limerick lingo. We used to say that when we were young. To kick someone in the back of the forehead: you kick someone in the back of the head so hard, your boot drives thro' the skull and brain and ends up hitting the back of the forehead:cool:

Jaysus Vintage, ya don't know the Limerick lingo. We used to say that when we were young. To kick someone in the back of the forehead: you kick someone in the back of the head so hard, your boot drives thro' the skull and brain and ends up hitting the back of the forehead:cool: Never could master the whole exact move:(

Jaysus Vintage, ya don't know the Limerick lingo. We used to say that when we were young. To kick someone in the back of the forehead: you kick someone in the back of the head so hard, your boot drives thro' the skull and brain and ends up hitting the back of the forehead:cool:

sounds nice down there! ;)

In Sligo town we used to say "I'll give him a dose a sidekicks to the head" - for some reason that has become a very popular saying in Sligo.

Anyway, I digress, Casey, his 22 siblings, ASDA shorts and minion of female follows - all did Limerick proud last night!

Get Paulie Hyland in the ring with Willie for the Irish SuperBantam weight title. That's a fight I'd like to see:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭cppromotions

Well done Willie Casey delighted for him, however i wouldnt go around making big fights for him just yet the prizefighter is very similar to fighting in the Amatuers 3 rounds it suited Willie he has such an aggressive southpaw style that it would take 3 rounds just to figure him out now put him in over 10 rounds with some of those fighters and its a different story they are seasoned to go 10 and 12 rounds Willie isnt, I know and like Willie and i believe he now is a name in boxing but he should be guided carefully allowing him to pick up good experience and when the time is right step him up he can have a big future as far as Paulie Hyland is concerned Willie isnt near ready for a fight like that.
    Once again well done Willie and well done Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Im delighted for Willy, he fought hard and showed the heart of a fighter which really reminded me of the Rogan fights-i agree with cprpromotions though, he needs to be moved up slowly as the technical type of boxer will not suit willy especially over more rounds..

i really enjoyed the whole event, prizefighter is really a cool format, the only change id make is that the fighter who takes over from an injured fighter is 1 that has already fought if possible.

Even if the 2 wild cards fought to see who got the place.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

To the point with the wild card getting in fresh? Could this be a disadvantage?
    I mean, warming up, adrenaline and muscles in full flow? Maybe the man who has had 3 or 6 rds under the belt would be simply in the zone and fully alert?

I know if the warmed up fighter has had too tough a scrap(s) it could be a disadvantage, but you never know...The fresh fighter may need a couple of minutes and even a rd or two to get to full flight, and by then he is out of it.

I have to say that the the two Casey ,QF and S,F were two of the most enjoyable
    3 rds scraps I have seen in a very long time. Reminded me why this sport
    is a cut above so many others, gives you goosebumps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

callaway92 wrote: »

Ha no he is from O'Malley Park, one if 22 kids and three sets of twins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭mushykeogh

walshb wrote: »
    To the point with the wild card getting in fresh? Could this be a disadvantage?
    I see what your getting at here but it depends on how hard the previous fights were. On sat night you could see caseys work and power drop in the semi finals. I think the wildcards fighting off for the place is a great idea as mentioned earlier. As there wildcards its just tough luck if they have a short rest before the final, at least they get to fight on a televised show. Great format this prizefighter, good action on saturday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Rob113

That was the best prize fighter yet. A few good scraps in it. McCullough would have been slaughtered I reckon. Delighted to see Casey win out. Didn't like a fresh fighter coming in for the final. Think whoever said the 2 wildcards should fight to see who gets in hit the nail on the head. It's unfair the other way.