Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A novel way to deal with thugs

• 27-05-2010 11:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/northern_ireland/10170966.stm
    Police 'cool' Belfast trouble with ice-cream van music

Police in NI have said it was "inappropriate" for an officer to play "ice-cream van" music in an attempt to calm youths attacking a vehicle.
    Young people were throwing bottles at a Land Rover vehicle in Lisburn last Saturday when the officer used the tannoy to play the tunes.
    A police spokesperson said an officer had used humour to defuse the situation and the trouble had stopped.
    However, senior officers are believed to have spoken to the officer involved.
    Police were called to Glasvey Drive in Twinbrook on 22 May where they passed a group of about 15 youths who began throwing bottles at their vehicle.
    A spokesperson for the Police Service of Northern Ireland said: "An officer used the vehicle's tannoy system to play music to the youths in an effort to use humour to defuse the situation.
    "The youths stopped throwing the bottles. However, police accept that this was not an appropriate action.
    "The officer has been spoken to by a senior officer in order to establish the circumstances of the incident."
    Sinn Fein councillor Angela Nelson told the Andersonstown News that the officer's actions "beggared belief".
    "The PSNI are put on the streets to do a serious job and that is to keep order on the streets and face down anti-social elements. This is like a sick joke.
    "It goes against everything we are trying to solve and eradicate in the area."

"This is like a sick joke" - wtf is that silly tart's problem? If it works, it works. It's better that tear gas surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

That is something that the gardaí here would do. I agree, if it works, it works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

m@cc@ wrote: »

"This is like a sick joke" - wtf is that silly tart's problem? If it works, it works. It's better that tear gas surely.

No need for tear gas, just wait until the fat ones realise its the police not an actual ice cream van :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

wtf is that silly tart's problem?

Apart from being a shinner, you mean?

At least they'll probably get a few grand of the brits for traumatic non-materialization of promised community-quota ice-cream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Yeh but she's Sinn Fein and the PSNI is a tool of British Imperialism...:rolleyes: It's ridiculous, Jesus, beating and shooting them hasn't worked, humour doesn't seem to work. It reminds me of Patch Adams.:pac:

Seems to have solved the problem... Don't see the issue to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Maybe if Angela Nelson was clattered into the mouth with a few rocks she might hum a different Ice Cream Van Hymn.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Sounds a bit mad alright but if it's a means to an end...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

stovelid wrote: »
    Apart from being a shinner, you mean?

At least they'll probably get a few grand of the brits for traumatic non-materialization of promised community-quota ice-cream.

I love how she doesn't mention anything about throwing stuff at a police Land Rover. Fair game if your SF I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

I'm not a law student or lawyer and I've very little knowledge of Irish law, never mind UK law, but I've a feeling that legally if a police officer respond with anything other than a reprimand of some description (anything from a stern word and saying ''stop it, it's illegal'' to an arrest) then they are, in effect, condoning the action by proxy.

But yeah, bloody brilliant idea. Makes those sort of thugs out to be the idiots that they are - it also humanises the police force to a degree. They're there as a community support, not as a government owned security force.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Sinn Fein councillor Angela Nelson told the Andersonstown News that the officer's actions "beggared belief".
    "The PSNI are put on the streets to do a serious job and that is to keep order on the streets and face down anti-social elements. This is like a sick joke.
    "It goes against everything we are trying to solve and eradicate in the area."

Back in the day the shinners would have dealt with this in the appropriate manner. None of yer nansy pansy ice-cream van music - A gunshot to the back of the knee caps would've sorted them out sharpish.

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

They should at least defend their own for God's sake. Stupid Policemen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

I don't care whether or not it worked, that's no waifer the police to behave.

Give god the glory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

Would the better idea not to be to eliminate the reasons why youths would throw objects at police?

davrho wrote: »
    Would the better idea not to be to eliminate the reasons why youths would throw objects at police?

Why do they have to be mutually exclusive?

They don't. Sorry for generalising. The reasons for anyone throwing objects at police should be looked at.

Because they are cunts who know no better. And when you have local councillors who prefer to criticise the police, there is little chance of that changing.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Better yet, eliminate the youths.

There's no 'rationality' behind a lot of it. What rationality is there behind the decision for youths to attack an air ambulance this week?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1281486/Teenage-yobs-attack-pilot-air-ambulance-called-help-scorched-baby.html
    An air ambulance was put out of operation for almost a day after two teenage yobs attacked its pilot when he was called to help an injured baby.
    The pair, aged 17 and 19, turned on the pilot when he told them to stop swinging on the aircraft's tail fin and door. One grabbed him by the throat.
    As a result, the baby had to be rushed to hospital in a road ambulance - increasing the journey time four-fold. The baby had sustained scalding injuries in an accident

A lot of times, they do it because they can. Or because it gets street cred. Or whatever.

I'd be hard pressed to think of a situation in Northern Ireland right now where throwing rocks at a police car is justified.

NTM

Because they are cunts who know no better. And when you have local councillors who prefer to criticise the police, there is little chance of that changing.

Exactly. We have to eliminate the reasons why folk would throw objects at police.

F**k me, that's a big conundrum to try to work out. How to eliminate scumbags and thugs from society?
    I'd be hard pressed to think of a situation in Northern Ireland right now where throwing rocks at a police car is justified.

Only people with a disregard for law and order could justify it.

F**k me, that's a big conundrum to try to work out. How to eliminate scumbags and thugs from society

Thats what i am saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Bodhisopha wrote: »
    I don't care whether or not it worked, that's no waifer the police to behave.

Give god the glory.

A tenner to the first Boardsie who manages to get wibblywobblywonder into a pun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

there once was a N.I.P.S called Wanda..
    her belly was envied in Rwanda..
    she wobbled away..
    and wibbled all day..
    she was knowns as wibblywobblewonder!!!

thanks!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Maybe the ice cream van was selling Ben and Jerry's Black 'n Tan flavoured ice cream.:pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

The tosser of a super sided with the fcukwits who complained.

Youths acting disorderly, cops take an action, youths behave.

What I see here is a result. But I guess what that beatch in the article wants is for the police to get out and batton the living shíte out of them, and we all know how that works. It doesn't.

Fair play to ya copper for using your brain and trying something different, your boss is a tosser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

the Gardaì should go the whole hog and start handing out 99's to the hoodies from the police van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

I agree. The officer should have convened a focus group instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

LOL reminds me of a time when myself and a large group of friends were in some backarse pub in longford one night having great craic. the locals were get a bit fed up and things were getting tense with the lads of the group telling the crounty folk were to go and vise versa.

It was about to turn into a bar room brawl but then one of the girls stuck the Ghostbuster theme on the juke box. It completly diffused the situation, ha it was gas everyone invloved just snapped out of it. bizare, ive never seen anything like it. Still laugh about it now :D

So yes silly music does work

Also playing classical music in shopping centres has been proven to calm down teenagers as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Next time, stick on some brown noise.

It's a good thing they didn't play this...