Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phoenix park runners 5k series

• 27-05-2010 8:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭

Hi, has anyone got any info on the 5k off road races that are gonna take place in the Phoenix Park over the Summer........ saw it in the irish runner and on the phoenix park runners/civil service harriers ac website.........but there is very little info..... are these races just for club members??? or open to all?? and are they on grass or over something like the circuit that was used for the army all terrain race last summer??? any info would be appreciated...thanks in advance

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Athmosphere, Value, Organisation 1 vote

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    100%
    Stark 1 vote
    3 stars (average)
    0%
    2 star (poor)
    0%
    1 star (terrible)
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭The Hammer

Hi, has anyone got any info on the 5k off road races that are gonna take place in the Phoenix Park over the Summer........ saw it in the irish runner and on the phoenix park runners/civil service harriers ac website.........but there is very little info..... are these races just for club members??? or open to all?? and are they on grass or over something like the circuit that was used for the army all terrain race last summer??? any info would be appreciated...thanks in advance

everything you need contact numbers, dates and times are here on this website
    http://www.phoenixparkrunners.ie/index.html

the races are not just for club members anyone can do it, most of the Civil Services Harriers Marshall the race.

its in the general area of the army race but not on the same course. its a 2 lap course around the back of the club house. its all off road on trail and grass. really nice little race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Any details on how to enter, do you just turn up with a fee and register ?

just turn up 40 minutes before the race and register in the club house.
    refreshments served after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭bewleys berry

Ok thanks for that The Hammer, sounds like an interesting little race....didn't want to just jump in if it was a club race only...... looks like gonna be a nice evening too......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

Can't recommend these races highly enough. Very small and friendly field. For one of the races a lad I know came second with a 20:xx time but the next time there were about ten people under 20 minutes. Winner might have been around 17:xx.

Just good fun and tea and buns afterwards. Spot prizes tend to be of the nature of Adidas 10 mile t-shirts from 2007 and the like which I think is brilliant. Technical t-shirt and a 5k race for a fiver? Score. Well it was a fiver last year I'm pretty sure.

bewleys berry best of luck tonight. lets us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭The Wexican

For a 24/25 minute man like myself in a small field, would it be worth taking part?

The Wexican. Every race is worth taking part in. It beats training.
    But to answer your question, you will be fine with a 25 minute time. dont worry. its aimed at all levels. go and enjoy the race.

Just back from this ....... grand little race..... very informal but well run and well marshalled..... nice course too.... u have to do a good bit of dodging of tree roots underfoot but that makes it interesting..... fin 2nd so was happy with that as it was a very good blowout and is great to do another different race to all the road races we do :) cheers for the info the hammer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 The_Train

New to the whole boards thing and pretty much the running side of life to, but when is the next one of these 5km runs on in the Phoneix Park, or are they every Friday.

Thanks for the help.

firstly bewley Berry, fair play to you on a second place finish friday night.

the train. there next race is on 25th June and the final race of the series is 23rd of July. all the same distance and time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

Well done BB. Podium finish! What time did you do?

How many people entered? Hopefully I'll be able to make the next two.

here are the results from Friday night

http://www.phoenixparkrunners.ie/news.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 The_Train

Thanks for that Hammer, hoprfully make it over for a few of them before the summer's end.

I'd recommend anyone that can get along to do the next one of these.... nice to race off the road for a change and the course (apart from the few roots of trees) is good running and very flat (there is a dip on each of the two laps but ur into and out of it very quickly...

unfortunately the next one is the night before Dunshaughlin so won't get to do it but will do my best to make the third one....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

I like the sound of this run, may try to do the next one myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

I was worried about being last at my recent first race, but there were quite a few behind me - Go Run Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Just quick question in relation to Phoenix park.

I run from Parkgate street gate to castleknock gate. Does anyone know the length from gate to gate. I heard its around the 4.5-5k mark is that true?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Check out [URL="URL for this route is: http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/?r=3848135"]this route[/URL] on gmap-pedometer. Measures it as about 2.6 miles (4.2km) from gate to gate.