Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Creme de la Creme of Irish Producers / Meetup?

• 26-05-2010 9:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭

I'll start by saying in my best Bernard Manning voice

''It's a f***ing disgrace!''

While Tripod and 515 in particular weren't doing the best in the last year, the one night that they have some serious homegrown talent at half the price of their normal tickets, the gig ends up getting moved into the bloody POD due to what I presume is lack of ticket sales.

I'm talking in particular about the gig this Friday - Donnacha Costello, Chymera and Sunil Sharpe all on the same night.

(Haha, allowed into the main room when supporting Dave Clarke alright :rolleyes:)

These are all people who play 10,000+ venues and festival to rapturous applause and critical appeal. Costello in particular should be a brandname in Ireland, but instead we have Frank bloody Jez's name up in lights outside the Academy on Middle Abbey Street.

So now they're relegated to the joke room of the complex, beloved of a plethora of student nights, for what should be a triumphant homecoming gig. Costello has just launched a new album for gods sake!

If any of them were from Berlin, you wouldn't be able to move I can guarantee that. Luciano named the Chymera track above as his track of the year and finished all of his sets with it. I was there in Tripod when it dropped and I don't think I've ever had a better single moment out in Dublin.

So here's a suggestion if anybody's up for it - Dance forum class trip? It'd be a brilliant show of solidarity and is guaranteed to be a good night out with a very clued-in crew - I know Costello uses both boards and adverts as well (I nearly bought his MPC off him a couple years back).

Most of us are DJs here, a lot of us are producers. The music is varied enough to offer something for everyone and it'd be nice to put some faces to names.

[caveat]. A friend from college and someone I've DJ'd with is doing a bit of work in Tripod over the summer and said whenever I'd a group we'd be able to put together a cheaplist. I'm not trying to sidestep people; I'd need to get 20/25+ names to even get free in myself AFAIK - and I've every intention of paying for my ticket. I certainly won't be putting up a thread like this ever again, I'm no shill - just clearing it up in the interests of transparency because a few people would know me in real life and might take umbrage[/caveat]

If you want the cheaplist (think its 12e in as opposed to 15e) then feel free to PM me with your real name. If you've any moral dilemma with that, I'm pretty sure some of the 515 boys do much the same thing in the clubbing forum so you can eMail them. If you're anyway cool you won't even need it :D

So yeah, put a post down if you're up for going and meeting a few faces. There's been talk of a ''clubbing group'' and all this for quite some time, but now I think that a very accessible and cheap night has come up with an all-Irish lineup while people don't have exams and such, nevermind one which is criminally underrepresented, we might as well **** or get off the pot.

Mods: If there's ANY issue at all or people PMing complaining just delete from the [caveat] tags down to the beginning of the last paragraph

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

It's on tomorrow night.

No one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭c_o_ck p_i_ss chillage

I'm going. If you want to meet Chymera and Sunil they charge a €15 fan meeting fee. I can introduce you to both but I'll be taking 15% off the top :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭brianc27

why would you want to see these in a big soulless main room like tripod, i remember on one of my very few excursions to tripod sunil was finishing up and he played a great set of dark industrial techno and the atmosphere was non existent bar 4 or 5 people, the music was completely lost on the crowd, and besides isnt joey beltram on in tripod tonight

to be honest anywhere in the pod complex isnt the ideal place to see these lads nowadays, if it was on in twisted pepper you'd probably get a good crowd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

amazingly, the headline act didn't even know about the move...

http://twitter.com/donnachatweets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

It appears the big clubs like Tripod are only interested in International acts in the main room thesedays, i can remember years ago homegrown acts like the superb Sound Crowd, Liquid Wheel and Decal amongst others would be the highlight of the night in places like The Ormond Multimedia Centre and even the old Red Box,etc, it is shameful that homegrown acts are now confined to the back rooms of the POD which is a pale shadow of what it was (was never my preferred club but had some great nites there) Costello has been going years and deserves more recognition and Sunil Sharpe is probaby the best Techno DJ in the country the last few years.

If i was living in Dublin id head along to this, hope it goes well anyway.

brianc27 wrote: »
    to be honest anywhere in the pod complex isnt the ideal place to see these lads nowadays, if it was on in twisted pepper you'd probably get a good crowd

Costello launched the album in TP and AFAIK it wasn't great.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Jimi I totally agree that it's a disgrace this gig is not getting way more exposure, but I have to side with Brian - I think Tripod is a horrible club - I'd much rather see them in a smaller more intimate venue. I'm sure it will be a fantastic gig I really wish I could make it

Zascar wrote: »
    Jimi I totally agree that it's a disgrace this gig is not getting way more exposure, but I have to side with Brian - I think Tripod is a horrible club - I'd much rather see them in a smaller more intimate venue. I'm sure it will be a fantastic gig I really wish I could make it

I don't mind Tripod purely because you've a bit of space and you don't run the risk of hitting your head off the ceiling or eejits tearing down strips of fabric off the ceiling a la Twisted Pepper.

But yeah, the whole Andy Weatherhall thing has applied more these days then ever.

As I said, I'll be knocking around tonight anyway - If any of yee see a fella with longish hair and a patchy neckbeard in the smoking area give us a shout!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

lol - photos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭acman

Yeah, I'll be heading in tonight if anybody wants to meetup!

It's a crying shame that some of our best producers have been demoted to the Pod but fu/k it, I'll enjoy what I can take! I just got back from sunny Spain and while there I saw Donnacha's name all over huge posters for some big event in Sevilla earlier this month...it's quite sad when a legend like Donnacha gets more support in the south of Spain than in Ireland's capital!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

jonnny68 wrote: »
    It appears the big clubs like Tripod are only interested in International acts in the main room thesedays, i can remember years ago homegrown acts like the superb Sound Crowd, Liquid Wheel and Decal amongst others would be the highlight of the night in places like The Ormond Multimedia Centre and even the old Red Box,etc, it is shameful that homegrown acts are now confined to the back rooms of the POD which is a pale shadow of what it was (was never my preferred club but had some great nites there) Costello has been going years and deserves more recognition and Sunil Sharpe is probaby the best Techno DJ in the country the last few years.

If i was living in Dublin id head along to this, hope it goes well anyway.
    acman wrote: »

It's a crying shame that some of our best producers have been demoted to the Pod but fu/k it, I'll enjoy what I can take! I just got back from sunny Spain and while there I saw Donnacha's name all over huge posters for some big event in Sevilla earlier this month...it's quite sad when a legend like Donnacha gets more support in the south of Spain than in Ireland's capital!

I know from first hand information that they can't afford to open Tripod anymore unless there's a guaranteed big crowd. They said it takes something like 300 people in just to cover costs, and considering 300 is about what the Button Factory get on a good night then you can understand why they don't open it for smaller nights.

That's why they have a lot more people in Pod now. To be fair, I think Pod is one of the nicest club rooms in Dublin. It's a lovely size, there's a lovely big screen for people with visuals, and it's a really nice place to DJ too. I'd prefer to see a DJ in Pod than in Tripod.

I know from first hand information that they can't afford to open Tripod anymore unless there's a guaranteed big crowd.

I've the figures straight from the horses mouth meself as well, and also what they're doing in terms of the equipment for the summer. It really shouldn't have happened imo, but tbh I suppose its a different ballgame at that level.

If they had promoted it better I don't think it'd be much of an issue tbh. Exposure is the biggest risk with gigs like this. Pygmallion tends to get 200 odd people nearly every friday night. Even for its paid gigs it gets like 100+
    That's why they have a lot more people in Pod now. To be fair, I think Pod is one of the nicest club rooms in Dublin. It's a lovely size, there's a lovely big screen for people with visuals, and it's a really nice place to DJ too.

Fair enough, I just think its a disgrace that the three greatest Irish DJs (and some of the most respected names in Europe) are relegated to the smaller venue after being promised the main room for what should be a triumphant homecoming.

acman wrote: »

I'm heading in with a couple of mates at this stage due to complete lack of interest here, but sure PM us your digits or something if you want to say hi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

jimi_t2 wrote: »
    Fair enough, I just think its a disgrace that the three greatest Irish DJs (and some of the most respected names in Europe) are relegated to the smaller venue after being promised the main room for what should be a triumphant homecoming.

It is a disgrace, it's happened to a loada people, even me! My band had a residency playing Tripod every month, and then one night they just told us we were in Crawdaddy for the foreseeable future instead. It's shit, but if they can't afford it then that's that.

Brilliant gig. As there was so little interest here I ended up throwing together a mix-mash of people on the promise of a good night and 11 of us ended up going in - all of them loved it.

Nice sized crowd at it and not a bit of hassle; some absolutely hilarious conversations going on in the upstairs jacks and a fairly friendly bunch all-round at it. Chymera in particular was pretty damn good, finished the set with Arabesque which was a nice touch and I ended up having a chat with him as he got straight off the decks and onto the dancefloor - absolutely lovely bloke.

That said, they all ended up playing in the ****ty room on the far right and the sound was way too low for most of the gig. Also, a number of people were selling wristbands inside the bloody club at 15e a pop for some ''rave'' on either in Smithfield or Long Mile Road depending on who you were talking to - what the hell was that all about?

@acman and jtsuited - Lovely to meet you guys and put some faces to names!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Eddie Ere

Sounds like a good night, makes me wish I lived closer to Dublin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭acman

Brilliant gig. As there was so little interest here I ended up throwing together a mix-mash of people on the promise of a good night and 11 of us ended up going in - all of them loved it.

Nice sized crowd at it and not a bit of hassle; some absolutely hilarious conversations going on in the upstairs jacks and a fairly friendly bunch all-round at it. Chymera in particular was pretty damn good, finished the set with Arabesque which was a nice touch and I ended up having a chat with him as he got straight off the decks and onto the dancefloor - absolutely lovely bloke.

That said, they all ended up playing in the ****ty room on the far right and the sound was way too low for most of the gig. Also, a number of people were selling wristbands inside the bloody club at 15e a pop for some ''rave'' on either in Smithfield or Long Mile Road depending on who you were talking to - what the hell was that all about?

I thought Donnacha's live set was amazing...it did end a bit abruptly though and think it would have made more sense to put him last; certainly not to finish at 2am! I loved that non 4x4 track he dropped, it was totally unexpected and people went nuts for it (even the techno snobs, haha!). Chymera was okay, he got going towards the end but overall I thought his set was a bit "tame" for my liking.

As for the Pod, I quite like to room itself and think it has great potential if it were equipped in the right way. The light setup in there is truly appalling and would be better off than on! In addition, one projector / screen looks very lonely in there IMO. I too thought the volume was low, at least until DC came on anyway.

All in all it was a good night with an excellent lineup and a strange but cheerful crowd. There was some messing about with the lineup and play order of the DJ's I think (DC finishing abruptly etc.) but other than that, a great night!

@acman and jtsuited - Lovely to meet you guys and put some faces to names!

Yeah, cool to meet you too jimi! What happened to the rest of you guys from here :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

I'm going. If you want to meet Chymera and Sunil they charge a €15 fan meeting fee. I can introduce you to both but I'll be taking 15% off the top :cool:

Is this a piss take?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Disco2Disco

To be honest OP.....

You sound pretty clueless! If there was no hype and few ticket sales for this gig what is the problem moving it to smaller, more intimate venue?

Is it the Tripod's/515 fault these guys don't create the hype or draw the crowds? They do a good bit of promotion because I certainly notice it.

Can you suggest better ways in getting these creme de la creme guys more exposure for their gigs such as the gigs in Tripod? I dont think there is....you can only be soo creative!

Would you suggest they open the Tripod for 400 people because its a few of local DJs who are semi succeasfull at what they do?

Did you ask whichever of the DJs you where talking with (so happy for you BTW:rolleyes: ) if they would prefer to play an empty room or a busy room?

Do you not understand that night club is operated as business and not a charity for people who are into their tunes?

You sound like the typical clubbing nerd who actually knows f8ck all of how things work other than being able to call people on what you perceive to be wrong.

Cop onto yourself and bring positive things to the table. Enough of the negatory attitudes forum heads!

(In fairness, the last comment doesnt relate to boards as much)

You sound pretty clueless! If there was no hype and few ticket sales for this gig what is the problem moving it to smaller, more intimate venue?

Nothing at all. I just think that the recognition these guys get in Ireland is nowhere near in proportion to how big some of them are abroad. Its indicative of the whole attitude that has some of our best and brightest almost completely unknown in their home country.
    Is it the Tripod's/515 fault these guys don't create the hype or draw the crowds? They do a good bit of promotion because I certainly notice it.

As did I. And I even tried to promote it myself and get people in there. There was 12 of us altogether IIRC and we made up like maybe 5% of the total crowd there.

Also, in no way criticising them, but something is seriously wrong when the headline act didn't know the venue had changed on the day of the gig. And yeah, it was one of the ''clubbing nerds'' and producers on this forum who gave him the heads up.

http://twitter.com/donnachatweets
    Would you suggest they open the Tripod for 400 people because its a few of local DJs who are semi succeasfull at what they do?

No, and I never did. You're attributing statements to me to suit your own agenda.

Also, ''semi-successful''? Donnacha Costello is definitely the most critically acclaimed producer to come out of Ireland.

http://www.discogs.com/artist/Donnacha+Costello
    Did you ask whichever of the DJs you where talking with (so happy for you BTW:rolleyes: ) if they would prefer to play an empty room or a busy room?

Do you not understand that night club is operated as business and not a charity for people who are into their tunes?

You sound like the typical clubbing nerd who actually knows f8ck all of how things work other than being able to call people on what you perceive to be wrong.

Cop onto yourself and bring positive things to the table. Enough of the negatory attitudes forum heads!

Nice rant.

Don't suppose you're eh... connected with the venue or 515 in any way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Disco2Disco

First up...I am not associated with Tripod however I do understand the difficulties in running venues in this day and age!
    Nothing at all. I just think that the recognition these guys get in Ireland is nowhere near in proportion to how big some of them are abroad. Its indicative of the whole attitude that has some of our best and brightest almost completely unknown in their home country.

You sounded very like it was the venue's fault the DJs didn't pull a crowd! Your thread sounds like a rant to the venue and not that its a shame the DJs aren't more known in their home country.

Bad booking maybe? Would you agree on that?

Just to clear it up too....in no way am i attacking the DJs that played at the night. Each of them are great at what they do.

I am however having a go at you, Jim!
    Also, in no way criticising them, but something is seriously wrong when the headline act didn't know the venue had changed on the day of the gig. And yeah, it was one of the ''clubbing nerds'' and producers on this forum who gave him the heads up.

I was calling you a clubbing nerd and no one else in this thread. You started the thread..... however I will agree that its a bit of a joke the DJ didnt know of the venue change.
    No, and I never did. You're attributing statements to me to suit your own agenda.

Also, ''semi-successful''? Donnacha Costello is definitely the most critically acclaimed producer to come out of Ireland.

http://www.discogs.com/artist/Donnacha+Costello

I will agree that he is in Ireland but I dont think this line-up was ever going to fill the Tripod...semi-succesful was related to his/their ability to do this. MmmmKay?
    Nice rant.

No more so than you buddy :D

You sounded very like it was the venue's fault the DJs didn't pull a crowd! Your thread sounds like a rant to the venue and not that its a shame the DJs aren't more known in their home country.

500+ views and you're the first person to make reference to that. But fine, infer what you want from it - I've made my position clear.
    Bad booking maybe? Would you agree on that?

No. Just bad timing for Irish/UK promoters and venues. Spy/Wax closed down, Matter/Farbic gone into administration last week, The Gallery on the way out from what I'm hearing. AIB will probably be doing warehouse raves shortly given how much capital they'll be getting from clubs going under.
    I am however having a go at you, Jim!

So I've noticed. I think my crime here was to try and get people going to a gig with some Irish producers and by proxy help out both a venue and a set of promoters. Won't be happening again, don't you worry.
    I was calling you a clubbing nerd and no one else in this thread.

Thanks I suppose.
    You started the thread.....

Yeah, to get people to go to a gig that I thought was going to be half empty. And which was half empty.

Why was the gig itself not promoted more/better? I only heard about it a few days before and had my weekend planned already so could not go. I would have tought that they would maybe have made more noise about it and got a bit of hype going or something considering it a fantasatic collection of talent

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

I would have loved to have been able to get to this - love Donnacha Costellos latest album and I've heard lots of good things about Sunil, don't know anything about Chymera however bar what has been said here!

Two reasons why I didn't - number one, didn't notice they were playing - I didn't actually look at this thread till over the weekend, when I saw the title the other day I assumed a group of ye producers were planning to meet up and that you thought quite highly of yourselves in the 'creme de la creme' bit :D

Number two, couldn't have gone anyway as I was minding the kids!

Shame to hear of the lack of people there.

feck it I had a much better night than if it had been in tripod. pretty weird seeing someone like chymera playing to a half empty floor mainly populated by girls in circles who clearly were new to nightclubs not playing beyonce etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Hate the tripod so prob wouldn't have gone if it was there, but couldn't go out this weekend anyway as it was the other half's 30th.

I knew about the gig alright, but yea it didn't seem to be promoted a whole lot which was a bit odd. I think with Donnacha having his album launch so recently in TP, prob took a small bit of the crowd away. And not being funny - but he's kind of off the scene here - I know he used to play in Switch regularly when D1 had it's heyday there with Bassbin, but am I wrong or has he not been playing here much the last few years?

And Chymera - yea have heard the name and a couple of tracks, but again correct me if I'm wrong I think he would have a pretty low profile in Dublin - more for the anorak techno head - and would not be instantly recognisable to your average weekend clubber. Actually come to think of it, sad as it is, I'd say if you surveyed the average crowd in Tripod most weekends they would never have heard either name.

That's my take on it

bren (chymera) hasn't been based in ireland for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭ianuss

jtsuited wrote: »
    bren (chymera) hasn't been based in ireland for years.

shamelss name-dropping

haha. don't know him tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭DUB33

Only found out yesterday i cud of got on the guestlist for this :(