Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not more puns......

• 26-05-2010 6:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭

I went rowing for the 1st time recently and was a little nervous.
    Another guy boarded in front of me (it was an 8 man scull), it was his 1st time too and he was also a bit nervous.........
    Guess that put us in the same boat:pac::pac::pac:

do your worst, you know you want too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

Another guy boarded in front of me (it was an 8 man scull), it was his 1st time too and he was also a bit nervous.........

yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Walking down the street today I ran into my old friend Robert, who asked me if he could borrow €1000. As I handed over the money I felt like I was being robbed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Whats long, pink and has a helmet on the end.....
    My dick. Sorry, were you expecting a pun ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

There was a man who entered a local paper's pun contest. He sent in ten different puns, in the hope that at least one of the puns would win.
    Unfortunately, no pun in ten did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

My two dogs went missing for 3 days. Went they came back I got them some micro-chips. They looked starving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Were you punting down the Thames?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

Sitting on the bus minding my own business ,when a blind lady who had been talking to a friend ,gets up and presses the bell.

As the bus stopped the woman getting off the bus yelled ,I'll see ye next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Two Eskimos sitting in a kayak were chilly, but when they lit a fire in the craft it sank.

This proves once and for all that you can't have your kayak and heat it, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

There was a man who entered a local paper's pun contest. He sent in ten different puns, in the hope that at least one of the puns would win.
    Unfortunately, no pun in ten did.

Meta-puns FTW. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Suggested to my mates to go for a few pints out in the Guinness Storehouse but it didnt happen...........

............I literally couldnt organise a piss up in a brewery

True story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Anybody else suffering from pun performance anxiety? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭gollem_1975

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

stovelid wrote: »
    Anybody else suffering from pun performance anxiety? :o

Well there is a lot of stiff competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Kent Brockman

Rhyme wrote: »
    Well there is a lot of stiff competition.

There is Viagra for that sort of thing.
    Accidently got some in my eye the other day. Did nothing for the performance but I certainly looked hard...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

One egg is un oeuf for any Frenchman...

Seven days without a pun makes one weak...

The optician fell into the lens-making machine and made a spectacle of himself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

These puns hurt my head.

My friend got fired from the orange juice factory for a lack of concentration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

I worked in the woods as a lumberjack, but I just couldn't hack it, so they gave me the axe.
    After that I tried to be a tailor, but I just wasn't suited for it.
    The job was only so-so anyhow.
    Next I tried working in a muffler factory, but that was exhausting.
    I wanted to be a barber, but I just couldn't cut it.
    I attempted to be a deli worker, but any way I sliced it, I couldn't cut the mustard.
    My best job was being a musician, but eventually I found I wasn't note worthy.
    I studied a long time to become a doctor, but I didn't have any patience.
    Next was a job in a shoe factory; I tried, but I just didn't fit in.
    I became a professional fisherman, but discovered that I couldn't live on my net income.
    I thought about becoming a witch, so I tried that for a spell.
    I managed to get a good job working for a pool maintenance company, but the work was just too draining.
    My last job was working at Starbucks, but I had to quit, because it was always the same old grind.
    After many years of trying to find steady work, I finally got a job as a historian, until I realized there was no future in it.

Athiesm is a non-prophet organisation

Poloice were called to a creche where a 3 year old was resisting a rest

ok il stop...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

what d'ya call the money you spend on condoms??

............johny cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

was on an elevator the other day, and the operator kept calling me 'son.' I
    said, 'Why do you call me 'son'? You're not my father.' He said, 'I brought you
    up, didn't I?'

Without geometry, life is pointless

I quit my job in the helium factory. I refuse to be spoken to in that tone

Im a paronoid schizophrenic, but you know what they say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

A girl walked into a bar, spotted a waiter and asked him for a double entendre.
    So he gave her one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Kent Brockman

I bought a teddy for a tenner and called him Mohammed.
    I then sold him for eleven quid.
    Looks like i made a Profit..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

I wanted to open a bakery, but I couldn't raise the dough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Twin-go

Show me a piano falling down a mineshaft and I’ll show you A-flat minor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

He was probably worried about the cox at the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Macsimus

The Black Adder classic:

Life without you is like a broken pencil..........................................pointless

Edit: also like the old:

What did the fish say when he swam into a wall.............................Dam

And the timeless Groucho Marx classic:

Women should be obscene and not heard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭reallyrose

Any time we arrived home when I was a kid, my Dad would always say "recurrent dermatitis" Ar Ais Arís

This is actually true. D:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭McGarnagle92

My grandad would always let us know that his soup is 'super' :rolleyes:

I also remember something about Darina Allen's husband Tim Allen getting himself into a bit of a 'stew' ..God.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I invested all my money prudently.
    But Bernard Madoff with all of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Apologies but my example isn't a copy n paste from any pun site or the likes. :p

About 6-7 years back myself and a few mates were playing a game of poker before hitting town, and the TV was on in the background. One of the lads stepped out for a fag so the rest of us had a look to see what was on. It seemed to be some sort of WWII film, as the current scene was in Auschwitz or at least some form of concentration camp. All of a sudden a train appeared and was carrying more victims into the camp. At that point I decided to make the sound of a train but with a topical slur "Jeeeeeewwwwwww jeeeeeeeewwwww".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Fizman wrote: »
    Apologies but my example isn't a copy n paste from any pun site or the likes. :p

About 6-7 years back myself and a few mates were playing a game of poker before hitting town, and the TV was on in the background. One of the lads stepped out for a fag so the rest of us had a look to see what was on. It seemed to be some sort of WWII film, as the current scene was in Auschwitz or at least some form of concentration camp. All of a sudden a train appeared and was carrying more victims into the camp. At that point I decided to make the sound of a train but with a topical slur "Jeeeeeewwwwwww jeeeeeeeewwwww".

"You sir, are worse than Hitler"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

One day while lost out in the ocean, I contacted the coastguard and tried to relay my position, they said i wasnt being pacific enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

The Count and the Baron were fueding over an item of treasure. The Count had stolen it and hidden it somewhere in the castle. The Baron raised himself an army and after a long, ardous (and very tedious) campaigh he managed to capture the castle and the Count.
    The Count was taken to the dungeons for interrigation. "Where is the treasure?", "I ain't telling". The Count steadfastly refused to give up any information. This fustrated the Baron no end. After hours and hours of threats the Count remained close-lipped. The Barons fustration grew untill he eventually picked up an axe and swung it towards the captive Count. The Count, seeing the madness in the Barons eye cried out in despiration "It's in the at...." but alas he was too late and he was decapated by the Barons axe.
    And the moral is...
    Never hatchet your Count before he chickens.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

A group of chess enthusiasts checked into a hotel and were standing in the lobby discussing their recent tournament victories. After about an hour, the manager came out of the office and asked them to disperse.

"But why?" they asked, as th ey moved off. "Because", he said, "I can't stand chess-nuts boasting in an open foyer."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭CorsetIsTight

After many years I am delighted that I have finally perfected my recipe for macaroni cheese.

My life is so much better now that I have my own personal cheese sauce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

just read the post about the guys playing poker there, and i was reminded of the time well, at least ten years ago now like myself and a couple of guys were playing 21 in the snug of our local bar. so the barman anyway had basically an arm that was permanently bent at the elbow, 90 degrees (he crashed his car while driving and getting a bj from his gf! :eek:), but he could still pull a good guiness!

so anyway we're playing cards and next thing the little snug door to the bar pops open, barman pops in his head, rests his arm on the counter, and goes:

"deal us in a hand lads!"...

we all looked at each other in the way that "first guy that laughs is an evil baxtard!" :o

I worked in the woods as a lumberjack, but I just couldn't hack it, so they gave me the axe.
    After that I tried to be a tailor, but I just wasn't suited for it.
    The job was only so-so anyhow.
    Next I tried working in a muffler factory, but that was exhausting.
    I wanted to be a barber, but I just couldn't cut it.
    I attempted to be a deli worker, but any way I sliced it, I couldn't cut the mustard.
    My best job was being a musician, but eventually I found I wasn't note worthy.
    I studied a long time to become a doctor, but I didn't have any patience.
    Next was a job in a shoe factory; I tried, but I just didn't fit in.
    I became a professional fisherman, but discovered that I couldn't live on my net income.
    I thought about becoming a witch, so I tried that for a spell.
    I managed to get a good job working for a pool maintenance company, but the work was just too draining.
    My last job was working at Starbucks, but I had to quit, because it was always the same old grind.
    After many years of trying to find steady work, I finally got a job as a historian, until I realized there was no future in it.

Jesus man how are you holding up :pac:

mathie wrote: »
    A group of chess enthusiasts checked into a hotel and were standing in the lobby discussing their recent tournament victories. After about an hour, the manager came out of the office and asked them to disperse.

"But why?" they asked, as th ey moved off. "Because", he said, "I can't stand chess-nuts boasting in an open foyer."

So contrived- i love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Isobar

Fizman wrote: »

I hate it when people joke about WWII, Anne Frankly, I won't stand for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

This thread stinks. One could say that it's pungent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

I know! How much more of this punishment must we endure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I have a controverisal one :o

Don't know if I should post it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

IvySlayer wrote: »
    I have a controverisal one :o

Don't know if I should post it!

Don't make me beg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Don't make me beg.

You know what pizza they ordered in the Twin Towers?....

2 large plains :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

IvySlayer wrote: »
    You know what pizza they ordered in the Twin Towers?....

2 large plains :o

Awh, just awh.

You are just winging it now.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.