Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Royal Ascot

• 26-05-2010 12:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭

Lots to look forward to at the Royal meeting again this year (weirdly, i accidentally typed "yeat" in the last word!!)

Budapest Bullet, Aussies coming over in Nicconi who has form win Starspangledbanner. Rip van Winkles probable return in the Queen Anne. And a plethora of others.

Ugh....I just opened a ToteSport account so I could get the 16/1 about Starspangledbanner in the Golden Jubilee. As soon as I open it, they suspend the betting and revise the prices to 12/1 :mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

My selections:
    King stand: Borderlescott e/w 16/1
    St James':Dick Turpin e/w 5/1
    Queen Anne :Rip Van Winkle 9/4 with Boyles is huge
    Gold Cup: Kite Wood e/w 8/1. I like Manifest but think 1m 6 is optimum for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Nicconi

Golden Slipper
    (Richest Juvenile Race in the World)
    Galaxy Stakes
    Lightening Stakes (Starspangledbanner runs 4th with Weekend Hussler making return)

greetings wrote: »
    My selections:
    King stand: Borderlescott e/w 16/1
    St James':Dick Turpin e/w 5/1
    QE II :Rip Van Winkle 9/4 with Boyles is huge
    Gold Cup: Kite Wood e/w 8/1. I like Manifest but think 1m 6 is optimum for him

QEII isn't at the Royal meeting...Queen Anne

Apologies,I should have known seen as Rip won it.

What do YOU think?

Will Rip Van Winkle return in the 8f Queen Anne or the 12f 10f Prince of Wales? :confused:

I didn't realise I said 1m4f - I meant 1m2f

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭smartaform

RVW will re-appear in the Queen Anne..... Miler division is not that strong at all and i thought Rip was better suited over 8f - 10f...

Rip van Winkle is 3's in Lads for the Queen Anne but he's not guarantee to appear there. Prince of Wales is an option and Ballydoyle haven't made any suggestion of where he might go. Probably know more after this weekend

Starspangledbanner into best price 10's

Overdose to miss the festival due to fitness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Shove the Pigs Foot

smartaform wrote: »
    RVW will re-appear in the Queen Anne..... Miler division is not that strong at all and i thought Rip was better suited over 8f - 10f...

???
    Aren't Paco Boy and Goldikova slated to run in the Queen Anne?
    Throw in RVW and you have the race of the year so far.

That's only 3 horses.... and they are yards ahead of the other pretenders.

Personally i feel it's only 2 horses who are TRUE MILERS - RVW and GOLDIKOVA.

Rip would destroy Paco Boy.
    Goldikova could take Rip,I think she will. I said earlier for him to win,didn't think of her running.

I said it last year and I'll say it again this year.
    I think Rip is better than Goldikova. The only issue for the Queen Anne is that Goldikova has had a run already and Rips gonna be fresh.

Is going to be interesting alright, but i think Rip will do it. RVW and Goldikova will be about 2-3 in front of Paco Boy

Goldikova in form of life as cut for Queen Anne
    By Tom Kerr and Desmond Stoneham 6:52PM 7 JUN 2010

GOLDIKOVA was on Monday cut to 2-1 favourite (from 9-4) by William Hill for the Queen Anne Stakes at Royal Ascot next Tuesday, as trainer Freddie Head reported the multiple Group 1 winner in the form of her life for the clash with Paco Boy and Rip Van Winkle.

Victor Chandler made the same price cut for the dual Breeders' Cup Mile winner, although Paco Boy is their joint-favourite.

VC’s Neal Wilkins stated: “The Queen Anne could be described as the race of the meeting and Paco Boy will have to take another step up after his easy success in the Lockinge.

"Goldikova is a fantastic racemare and Rip Van Winkle’s victories in the QEII and Sussex Stakes proved he is up there with the best. It is certainly a race to savour and racegoers should ensure they arrive in time to watch it!”

As Head enthused over the well-being of Goldikova, Richard Hannon jnr, assistant trainer of Paco Boy, said there was still an outside chance he would run in the Golden Jubilee Stakes instead, although the Queen Anne remained the much more likely prospect.

Goldikova would be bidding for her ninth Group/Grade 1 victory and was last seen landing the Group 1 Prix d'Ispahan last month. Head told the Racing Post: "She is in very good form; I do not think I have ever had her better."

RipVan Winkle has not been seen since disappointing as 2-1 favourite for the Breeders' Cup Classic, in which he could finish only tenth.

However, he is a dual Group 1 winner, including at Ascot and in the BGC Sussex Stakes, in which he beat Paco Boy by over two lengths. He retains plenty of supporters, as evidenced by Hills' decision to trim the Aidan O'Brien-trained colt to 11-4 (from 3) on Monday.

Goldikova's fellow French raider Dalghar, from the stable of Alain de Royer-Dupre, was also supported on Monday for the Queen Anne, with Victor Chandler going 10-1 (from 12).

Hawkeyethenoo, who finished like a bullet when runner-up in the Investec Entrepreneurial Class Dash on Derby day at Epsom, has been backed to go one better in the Wokingham at Royal Ascot on June 19.

The Jim Goldie-trained sprinter is 8-1 favourite with Paddy Power (from 10) and Hills (from 9).

http://www.racingpost.com/news/horse-racing/rip-van-winkle-paco-boy-royal-ascot-goldikova-now-favourite-for-big-ascot-clash/726220/top/
    'Paco Boy faces tough task against Goldikova'
    By Peter Scargill 1:32PM 7 JUN 2010

CONNECTIONS of Paco Boy are raring to take Goldikova on in the Queen Anne at Royal Ascot but acknowledge that the great mare will prove a particularly tough nut to crack, despite Paco Boy having "improved".

Paco Boy was an impressive winner of the first race of the royal meeting last year and comes into the race having barely come off the bridle in taking the Group 1 Totesport.com Lockinge Stakes.

The 1m Group 1 is also the intended target of Rip Van Winkle, who defeated Paco Boy the only time they met in last season's BGC Sussex Stakes at Goodwood.

Speaking on At The Races, assistant trainer Richard Hannon Jnr said: "The [Queen Anne] is the plan and it's looking like the race of the week. Hopefully they all turn up and it will be a great race and Paco will win by six wickets.

"Paco will have to run to his best to win but he's definitely improved, however Goldikova will be very hard to beat and is a champion."

Paco Boy also holds an entry in the Golden Jubilee at Royal Ascot but Hannon jnr confirmed he is an unlikely starter in the 6f contest.

"There's still a very small chance we will have a look at that race but he's more likely to run in the Queen Anne and that will be thebest for everybody.

"He's in super form and he looks better this year than ever."

http://www.racingpost.com/news/horse-racing/royal-ascot-paco-boy-has-tough-task-to-beat-goldikova-hannon-jnr/726067/top/

Race Cards

Click "day" for cards and "race" for odds

Tuesday - Queen Anne, Kings Stand, St. James Palace, Coventry

Wednesday - Windsor Forest, Prince of Wales, Royal Hunt Cup

Thursday - Ribblesdale, Gold Cup

Friday - King Edward IIV, Coronation

Saturday - Hardwicke, Golden Jubilee, Wokingham

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Whyno

All the talk about Goldikova and Paco Boy...Pffft

If the real Rip Van Winkle turns up (which i truly hope he does even though its his first run of the year) he will destroy both. Goldi is a superstar and possibly paco on the verge of being one. I think paco will be 3rd if both Goldi and RVW are performing to full potential.

Allow me to repeat my self -

Rip van Winkle may not go to the Queen Anne!

I think it will depend on how Fame and Glory comes out of the Coronation Cup. If he's ready for Ascot, Rip goes to the Queen Anne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

I think Manifest is a rediculous price for the Gold Cup,it's 6f beyond anything he's tried before, and will likely be found out against seasoned stayers (I've backed Kasbah Bliss btw)

I'd have Kite Wood before Kasbah. Beat him in France a few weeks ago and I think he can repeat it over the longer trip.

Kite Wood does look to be some value .... :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

right people take note GOLDIKOVA will destroy paco and STRONG SUIT WONT BE BEATEN

Paco Boy won't get near Goldikova. Goldikova will also take Rip,I fancied him earlier but didn't realise she was running. I don't think Paco Boy is a superstar,any race he goes into as short price favourite I consider it to be weak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Two Tips for Ascot,

Eqiano 10/1 EW Tuesday, really looks between this and Kingsgate Native, cant have the Aussies this year.

Ask Gold Cup, 7/1, Class might just out here and he looks the value..

aidankkk wrote: »
    Two Tips for Ascot,

Eqiano 10/1 EW Tuesday, really looks between this and Kingsgate Native, cant have the Aussies this year.

How can a 5 furlong sprint that includes other group 1 winners be between two horses.

I cannot fcuking believe it! I just spent AGES typing out a preview of the Kings Stand and my browser just wiped everything. :mad:

Any way, Gold trail will be competitive. Will hopefully go pillar to post with Total Gallery improving with the weight off his back.

Two horse race my arse.

Only in my opinion, im just not convinced with the aussies, and both horses were very impressive last time. Really there just my selections

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Whyno

Rite of passage goes for the gold cup. Deffo has a great chance imo. Garunteed stayer and has plenty of class.

A word of warning from Jamie Spencer:
    While that makes it less easy to predict a potential draw bias on the straight track from one day to the next, what you don't want is a low draw in big fields on the round course, especially over 1m 2f because it's a short run to the first bend.

When you're starting from a wide stall you have to use up a lot of speed to get a prominent position or you take a pull and then have to sit and suffer behind a wall of horses. In that instance you've only really got a chance if the pacesetters go off too fast, otherwise you've got too much ground to make up and, remember, it's still a relatively short straight despite the changes they made a few years ago.

Link:
    http://www.attheraces.com/ascot/article.aspx?hlid=509497&raceid=&title=Jamie+Spencer%27s+Ascot+Blog&lid=&ref=Ascot+-+LHS+Navigation&nav=&sub=&day=Tue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Nulty wrote: »
    A word of warning from Jamie Spencer:

Link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Cheers mate.

Two Tips for Ascot,

:D:D:D:D Superb performance

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Aidan's never wrong. ;)

I feel ill after today...there were fortunes to be made if I just believed my eyes. Over complicating the situation has led to losses lately (gambling forum ->>>>> I know) but even just handicapping the runners it has been a disaster. Goldikova I knew was a standout bet and foolishly went else where.

Tomorrow ought to be different...Byword for the Prince of Wales. Has to be

I feel ill after today...there were fortunes to be made if I just believed my eyes. Over complicating the situation has led to losses lately (gambling forum ->>>>> I know) but even just handicapping the runners it has been a disaster. Goldikova I knew was a standout bet and foolishly went else where.

What's with everyone jumping at Byword? Has he just had one run or is that irishracing.com being ****e with French information

Just saw it on racingpost actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Ive had nice bets on Dandy Boy in the Hunt Cup and Twice Over in the Prince of Wales today so fingers crossed..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Al Muheer @40/1 has a cracking chance,loves fast going and very well drawn.50e [EMAIL="win.Mudaarah@14/1.50ewin"]win.Mudaarah@14/1.50ewin[/EMAIL] and 50e/w double.my bets done for today.

I agree I had a fiver each way on him last year when he won some big handicap at 40/1,might stick a few on Al Muheer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭k_d

2.30 quarril 16/1
    3.05 spacious 13/2

5 e/w double

Going with Meezan, looks perfect trip and seems to have best form. 5/1

Specious 8/1, looks to have the bext form and in ultra consistent, very good value EW.

Presvis, this looks a poor g1 and he is has top class form, might be value 9/1 EW

Going with Nobel Citizan 40/1 EW, loks to have great form and of a good mark also well drawn. And Smokey Oakey 66/1, very decent form, altough would prefer softer is well drawn ..

Both of the above with pp paying 12345 places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

bywords form reads very well and ive had a small bet on him
    the problem i have is that i havent seen some of the others run
    so im not sure what im up against but the run behind goldikova
    last time looks like good form

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Neberkenezer

put a nice bet on pervis in the next .... looks good value

mailburner wrote: »
    bywords form reads very well and ive had a small bet on him
    the problem i have is that i havent seen some of the others run
    so im not sure what im up against but the run behind goldikova
    last time looks like good form

sweet
    good animal

Jaysus, that saved me from yersterday anyway..

great minds think alike :)

ill call it a day i think
    a lousy euro ew on fareer at 11s and the same on lolly for dolly 12s
    and an ew double
    impossible races to be betting on though

My Picks are

1pt Wins

Norfolk - Dubawi Gold
    Big fan of the Dubawis and can see why anyone wouldn't be. I like this fella and think that he's a little over priced because he has a 2 beside his name. Genuine excuses for that and not beaten by far or by a slouch. Should put in a bold show on a flatter track.

Ribblesdale - Pipette
    3rd to Snow Fairy last start and Baldings decision to step her up to the 12f will see her improve again. Shes got a high draw which is not ideal but showed a sounder surface gave her no problems. Enough experience to cope and a reasonable price to take.

Gold Cup - Aklaam
    Horse tends to be ridden prominantly and Richard Hills is one of the best at doing that. Pulled out more to see of challenger over 16f and though stamina is a worry, he has an excellent record on firmer surfaces and makes him harder to catch. If he gets the trip he might suprise.

Hampton Court - Afsare
    He's been impressive on all his starts and I've backed him on them all. He was a guaranteed winner off his debut and his last performance was most impressive. I'll take him to defy the 3lbs penalty and keep progressing. The fact he's another Dubawi makes it even more attractive.

Course and distance winner Zebedee for me. Hannon and Hughes are flying and it's unbeaten after 2 runs

My Picks are

1pt Wins

Norfolk - Dubawi Gold
    Big fan of the Dubawis and can see why anyone wouldn't be. I like this fella and think that he's a little over priced because he has a 2 beside his name. Genuine excuses for that and not beaten by far or by a slouch. Should put in a bold show on a flatter track.

Ribblesdale - Pipette
    3rd to Snow Fairy last start and Baldings decision to step her up to the 12f will see her improve again. Shes got a high draw which is not ideal but showed a sounder surface gave her no problems. Enough experience to cope and a reasonable price to take.

Gold Cup - Aklaam
    Horse tends to be ridden prominantly and Richard Hills is one of the best at doing that. Pulled out more to see of challenger over 16f and though stamina is a worry, he has an excellent record on firmer surfaces and makes him harder to catch. If he gets the trip he might suprise.

Hampton Court - Afsare
    He's been impressive on all his starts and I've backed him on them all. He was a guaranteed winner off his debut and his last performance was most impressive. I'll take him to defy the 3lbs penalty and keep progressing. The fact he's another Dubawi makes it even more attractive.

Just saw that Pipette is a non runner Nulty