Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FYI. Mosney Show Sunday 13th June 2010

• 26-05-2010 10:08am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 282 ✭✭

Just a reminder that one of the Biggest Classic and Vintage Car Shows and Autojumble in Ireland is on SUNDAY JUNE 13th 2010 at MOSNEY Co. MEATH.
    Visit www.nevcc.net for more details. Exhibitors Entry Fee on the day is €20/£20. Mosney is 7 Miles south of Drogheda on N1 approx. 2 Miles from the New M1 Motorway and 3 Miles from Juction 7 [Julianstown Juction] off the M1 Motorway. Be there or be Square!
    Caddyman:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Miklos

It says entry is closed from May 7th.. you can still show up on the day with your car before 12 and get in, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

€20 to get in? on top of €100 petrol ....jeez....it would want to be a special show...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

corktina wrote: »
    €20 to get in? on top of €100 petrol ....jeez....it would want to be a special show...

Same as that - I know it's been done before but I don't like paying into a show as an exhibitor. You spend all day Saturday polishing your pride and joy, spend €50+ on a return journey plus you have to pay €20 so spectators can come along and PAY SOMEONE ELSE to see YOUR CAR!!!! I'll put up with €5, €10 is stretching it but €20? No friggin' way!

These shows are nothing without us, the exhibitors.

i was going, probably wont now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Rust or Weld

well my posts were removed from this previous topic about the rip off price to show your car

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055868200

btw really looking forward to meeting you on the day mr rovercraft as i have pre booked just for that alone, so i am really looking to meet you mate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

well my posts were removed from this previous topic about the rip off price to show your car

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055868200
    !

Let's stick to the facts, shall we? I removed one of your posts and one of my own posts from that thread because neither of our posts were helpful

I do strongly agree though that an entry fee of €20 is a major mistake. Doubling prices when the state of the economy and many of our personal financial situations are dire :rolleyes:

If the organisers copped on a bit more, they would have provided free entry and if you want food / drink, you'll pay for it.

jeez who wants creppy trophys anyway? i dont usually bother collecting mine!

organisers need to cop on that our cars ARE the show and they should be giving us inducements to attend not charging us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭lepoatnam

Well anyone that wants to exhibit, it is free to exhibit at the Shrule & District Vintage Club show in Galway on the 13th June, http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055911232
    All exhibitors will get a free meal voucher and a momento of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭turbocab

I have being going to the mosney show for years.Always prebooked and it has been 10 euros for years,Whats more its probably the biggest show in the country with loads of cars from Northern Ireland there as well.

lepoatnam wrote: »
    Well anyone that wants to exhibit, it is free to exhibit at the Shrule & District Vintage Club show in Galway on the 13th June, http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055911232
    All exhibitors will get a free meal voucher and a momento of the day.

thats more like it...:D

turbocab wrote: »
    I have being going to the mosney show for years.Always prebooked and it has been 10 euros for years,Whats more its probably the biggest show in the country with loads of cars from Northern Ireland there as well.

registered specially to say so did you? NEVCC member perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

take a pill, people.

For the record, it's €10 if you pay in advance, it's only €20 on the day. As I'm bringing 4 people, that's 2.50 each. Less than the price of a glass of Coke, I'd wager.........

And having organised more vintage rallies (timed, that is...) than is good for me :p I can only assume this is probably a tactic to have people register in advance - which is a good idea. There's nothing more stressful than having people queued up at 5-minutes-to-go and looking for change of a 50............:rolleyes:......when you should be out marshaling traffic, or just enjoying the day.

True, local shows such as Shrule are great - and Moutnbellew too - and the dinner was fan-tastic (apologies to Derek Mooney :p ).

The trophy wasn't crap, either, btw.

And the free-exhibitor model is a great idea - so long as there are more visitors than exhibitors - it's not always the case, remember.........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭NEVCC

Where do I start again..... Its €10 if you pre-book its €20 to discourage you from turning up on the. For that you get as many people as you can fit in the car, refreshments and the “creppy trophys” We don’t give out trophies as finishers awards its usually something usefully this year it’s a flask there were sockets sets, torches, cool bags, umbrellas and so on. We also have over 50 crystal prizes for winners in class select by the public.

As I said before we could degrade this show to a load of cars in a field with nothing, but how long would that last, and there would be over 10 charities that would suffer as a consequence.

You get far more for your money as an exhibitor than if you went to any other show as a member for the public…….

This row has been had here many times and everyone's got their own opinion.

I have my own tools, I have tens of trophies, medals, plates, etc from all the shows I have attended. I can bring or buy my own food. I can bring or buy my own coffee / water.

Don't ask me to pay in to an event that would be nothing without me and every other driver being there.

And before anyone says that if I don't like it, don't go - there's no need because I wont be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Whats it cost to get in as a spectator on the day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭acmatman

The Military Vehicle Club of Ireland will be there with a selection of jeeps weapons and maybe a large piece of wheeled armour

Whats it cost to get in as a spectator on the day?

fiver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

fiver
    I know the reasons why,but its a good one that it costs 150% more to exibit than spectate!:p

acmatman wrote: »
    The Military Vehicle Club of Ireland will be there with a selection of jeeps weapons and maybe a large piece of wheeled armour

Will ye be at the gate!?! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭turbocab

registered specially to say so did you? NEVCC member perhaps?
    No i did not register to say so, and no im not a member of the NEVCC whatever that has got to do with anything, Well i woulgd love to go to one of your free shows and see over 1000 cars,maybe you could let me know of any?

Mosney is a great show all right, the 20 in on the day is a bloody liberty, & also it hard to get to see all the other cars cos there are so many, but hopefully the weather will be kind & everyone enjoys their day, not saying anymore about the bloody hand in the pocket 20 euro in lads its way too much people are fed up of the rip off & this counrty is fecked with no work so might not be so good next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭ikb

Hi All,
    I have never been to the Mosney gig.( you just cannot get to them all).
    As said by MCMLXXV...I do not object to pay five or even ten yo,yos into any show. The whole idea is to support the people/club who have organised the event, and meet up with like minded people, shoot the breeze, enjoy the day and admire other entheusiasts Rusty nuts.:)
    Most Shows have a charity they support/contribute to, Or its to send someone to Lourdes, or maby have an operation or somesuch.
    You would hope the idea would be reciprocal (ie: When you/your club run an event, fellow enthusiasts would come and support it).
    Usually there is an oul plaque (or other souvenir) and maby a bit of a sambo or whatever (whether you choose to avail of them or not). Its a token of appreciation.
    I have been attending shows as an exhibitor and spectator for years now.
    Personally, I like the smaller gigs. There are not so many people about and guys have more time to chat,and seem to appreciate you better.
    I bring my son along, hes nine- he seems to have the bug now. If there was no shows to go to- he would probably be exterminating aliens or vampyres on some far off planet. (@ kilbeggan people were admiring zoe, He was straight in telling all about her).
    I agree with all said E20 is alot (too much,maby) to display your vehicle, I also think E10 a head at the gate is alot in these times (for spectators).Thats fourty quid if you bring the kids(well probably e30).
    We , As enthusiasts, should support each other, make it more attractive for the general public (in order to generate interest ) to appreciate our hobby.
    If we dont,Interest will wane, add gradually numbers will dwindle and, as all us ould rusty nuts die off, there will be no one to perpetuate our hobby, (its already getting more difficult with taxes and NCTs and changing law).
    What goes around comes round!

The Terenure show is ten in advance twenty at the gate (10 a head to spectate).
    I am not a member of any Club. (at the moment).

Thanks for all the interest.. I am not going to post anymore on this as I think it has been flogged to death at this stage. I look forward to seeing however turns up, there are over 600 cars pre booked and over 40 auto-jumble stalls.

I will take all comments back to the committee, as the club\committee look at the cost & pricing of the show each year so it may change.

Thanks again
    Eamonn Clinton

NEVCC wrote: »
    Thanks for all the interest.. I am not going to post anymore on this as I think it has been flogged to death at this stage.

Agreed. I've closed this thread and stickied it until the start of the show. I hope it's gonna be a good one!

Best of luck with the show today!

As always pics are more than welcome. All of us who couldn't make it really appreciate your efforts taking the pics and putting them on line. Thank you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bookerboy

Good show today,well organised,very plesant stewarts.
    In general we had a great day.Great value for a tenner.
    Thank you organisers for a job very well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

Good show overall.

€20 IMO is really steep just to get 2 cups of tea and 2 sandwiches and then to get put as the last priority when it was time to leave! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Kevin_Herron

I drove up and parked in the carpark.
    €10 entry, I was happy with that!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

millington wrote: »
    Good show overall.

€20 IMO is really steep just to get 2 cups of tea and 2 sandwiches and then to get put as the last priority when it was time to leave! :mad:

Did you not get your flask?

Good show overall.

have to agree there....bit of a Durrow problem.....solved in our case by several cars sounding the horn continously until they let us out....it really isnt acceptable to be leaving the car park people out en masse at the expense of the people who ARE the show, whose cars dont take kindly to sitting in a queue for an hour....as many (not me) did...

ps WHY did the guy at the head of the queue stop? I would not have done...

We had a nightmare when the rain came down and everyone wanted to leave at once. It is, as you and imagine hard to get several thousand cars out the one gate at the same time.
    The reason the public cars were given more time to get out is that there were 4 times more of them trying to get out…. I know it was frustrating for everyone but we did try our best under the circumstances, we can plan for everything but the weather..
    We will look at other options for next year like if permitted opening another gate for exhibitors only, or if we could may be get another field completely for public cars.
    All I can say is sorry for any delay caused by the adverse weather and I hope it didn’t put people off the show.
    Eamonn

sorry but i left about two hours after the rain came...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭okistag

unkel wrote: »
    Best of luck with the show today!

As always pics are more than welcome. All of us who couldn't make it really appreciate your efforts taking the pics and putting them on line. Thank you!

Sorry i posted the photos I took in the other thread today i saw a classic ..., I should have posted them in this thread maybe, but here is a link to the thread they are in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭okistag

We had a nightmare when the rain came down and everyone wanted to leave at once. It is, as you and imagine hard to get several thousand cars out the one gate at the same time.
    The reason the public cars were given more time to get out is that there were 4 times more of them trying to get out…. I know it was frustrating for everyone but we did try our best under the circumstances, we can plan for everything but the weather..
    We will look at other options for next year like if permitted opening another gate for exhibitors only, or if we could may be get another field completely for public cars.
    All I can say is sorry for any delay caused by the adverse weather and I hope it didn’t put people off the show.
    Eamonn

Hi Eamonn

Super show as always, if only we could count on the weather :D but nope we cant. There is very little that would me or I am sure many others off a super show like Mosney. Well done to all who were involved in putting it together. Getting out can be a problem at times, what you are sugesting above could be ease it alright and would be nice but the numbers that attend is large and a narrow lane to the main road will always cause a bottle neck. Maybe if people left in a order like block A first, B 2nd etc, but dont think that would work too well. For those like in a previous year I saw a fellow with a car that was heating up or just didnt like sitting in traffic, well then wait till it clears out first or TURN OFF the engine ETC.
    So guys take your time leaving and enjoy the view and sounds of those lovely classics around you.
    Well thats my pennies worth anyhow

SUPER SHOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Ballykine43

Yes Eamonn
    Another super show. Very difficult when almost everyone headed for the gate at the same time. I got out in about half an hour. Sitting with the engine off for a fair bit of the time. Lots of banter.
    What frustrated us? Queue jumpers and idiots who wouldn't accept that the marshalls, standing in the pouring rain, were helping everyone, and not just them.
    A job well done.

the other thing that needs looking at was the sending of southbound traffic via a potholed boreen. I realise that the sign sending cars that way may not have been a NEVCC sign, but i assumed it was and followed it.

Good show overall.

Well, it was actually €10 if you did it online, like most did, so the extra 10-er is down to yourself......
    have to agree there....bit of a Durrow problem.....solved in our case by several cars sounding the horn continously until they let us out....it really isnt acceptable to be leaving the car park people out en masse at the expense of the people who ARE the show, whose cars dont take kindly to sitting in a queue for an hour....as many (not me) did...

ps WHY did the guy at the head of the queue stop? I would not have done...
    I think the horn-blowing is nothing short of rude, actually. Volunteers marshalling 1000(or whatever) cars, in the rain - would you do it ? and if you did/do, what's your take in having all those guys honk at you ? And that's before you realise that horns don't move cars. At the exit to Julianstown, the Gardai were making everyone turn left, even if they needed to go right, so take up the long queue there with the GTC, tbh........and, as pointed out, you can actually knock the car off, if for no other reason that petrol costs €1.32 a litre....hey: if you can leave it running for an hour like that, then, hey, why moan about the entry fee, either ?
    Eamonn

Eamonn - I made the trip from Galway with fully loaded Porsche - me, SO, and the 2 x Enfants Terribles, and I thought it was worth it. And, for €10, even looking at the rates the various stalls were selling food at (like all shows), that fact I got tea & sandwiches for us, in the €10, makes it a bargain, tbh. When it rained, I knew what was going to happen, so we just waited for the big crowd to pass, and then moved out, leaving just after 16:00. Imho, the weather was more a pain to the guys with the stalls and the organisers of the show, than visitors like me. I did, after all, bring a coat, and 2 x umbrella's.......
    I spent less than 10 minutes getting out of the showground at 16:10, and I'd say spent more time in the queue down where the GTC were doing the directions at the road to Julianstown nothing NEVCC can do about that.

I would think though, that an extra exit would be a help, but the lack of it was more an inconvenience than anything else: look at it this way, I spent a lot more time in the car going back to Galway with the tired, small people. Who had homework to do for school in the a.m., btw........:rolleyes:
    okistag wrote: »
    Hi Eamonn

Super show as always, if only we could count on the weather :D but nope we cant. There is very little that would me or I am sure many others off a super show like Mosney. Well done to all who were involved in putting it together. Getting out can be a problem at times, what you are sugesting above could be ease it alright and would be nice but the numbers that attend is large and a narrow lane to the main road will always cause a bottle neck. Maybe if people left in a order like block A first, B 2nd etc, but dont think that would work too well. For those like in a previous year I saw a fellow with a car that was heating up or just didnt like sitting in traffic, well then wait till it clears out first or TURN OFF the engine ETC.
    So guys take your time leaving and enjoy the view and sounds of those lovely classics around you.
    Well thats my pennies worth anyhow

SUPER SHOW

Yes Eamonn
    Another super show. Very difficult when almost everyone headed for the gate at the same time. I got out in about half an hour. Sitting with the engine off for a fair bit of the time. Lots of banter.
    What frustrated us? Queue jumpers and idiots who wouldn't accept that the marshalls, standing in the pouring rain, were helping everyone, and not just them.
    A job well done.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

i prebooked by cheque & snail mail didnt realise you could do it on line, was there not a cut off date galwaytt?
    great show as usual nothing the club could do about the weather & it was no where near as bad as the durrow farce!

i prebooked by cheque & snail mail didnt realise you could do it on line, was there not a cut off date galwaytt?
    ..gosh, no idea, maybe there was: I signed up as soon as I heard about it, so not sure.
    Sorry, for clarity, I need to correct something: I pre-registered by using the form online, which I printed and posted the €10 for - sorry for the confusion. What I should have said was pre-registering is the key....:o

Btw, my pics now up here: Galwaytt's Mosney pics

Ode To The Motorist

Yes Eamonn
    A job well done.
    Queue jumpers :mad: The amount of ignorant ****ers coming out of that show yesterday! Some old Rover or something made such a race to get in front of us that it missed the car by millimetres!

sorry to be picky, but was it not possible to have considered what would happen if it rained? Surely not an unusual happening in Ireland!

Ive every sympathy with marshalls stood in the rain, but I monitored what was moving where before I even got in my car, and there was considerable priority being given to cars from the car park. They would perhaps have been better off to have left common sense prevail and the drivers merge in turn

Making everyone turn left is actually a good idea..it would seem to me a sensible way to speed everyones exit ...I didnt go that way, as Ive said, having been diverted up a boreen...

Ive every sympathy with marshalls stood in the rain, but I monitored what was moving where before I even got in my car, and there was considerable priority being given to cars from the car park. They would perhaps have been better off to have left common sense prevail and the drivers merge in turn
    Sure it was called out that the public were being let out first and we just had to wait!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

I enjoyed the event despite the rain. It's only water.

Left at 6pm and rattled down the road and home for 6.35pm.

I was thinking €20 is a bit steep, but on reflection:

1) I could have done it for €10 on a pre-book, so it must be dear to encourage pre-booking.
    2) There were two coupons for tea and sandwiches for exhibitors - which at the going rate of the sandwiches and tea was a fair deal.
    3) I got a flask which is more useful to me than a plate. (But the organisers will have to think of something else good for next year!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭deckie27

I was there till nearly 5 happy out under our club gazebo.
    Shortly after it started to rain proper heavy myself and one of the lads were at the edge getting wet and he said this is our gazebo and were the only club members here and were being pushed out. LOL

Thankfully the rain easied a few minutes later and we were able to regain our castle

great show lots of stall and shoit to look through
    Thought it was funny even a place selling curtains and cushions.

Pshhhh don't tell anyone about turning right to get out handier

yes sshhh about that ok!! lol

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Christ the condition of that 924 Turbo`s engine bay :eek: I thought mine was pretty clean but its not a patch on that one.

Yeah, I know, but he was asking mad money for it: 5k Sterling, which when you add VRT, makes my 968 a fuggin' bargain......see here for another comparo for a 924t currently for sale in PCI - http://forum.porsche-club-ireland.com/index.php?topic=988.0

Did you see this black 924GT there ? - stunning.
    mos06.jpg

Ode To The Motorist