Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crowne Plaza Invitational Golf Betting

• 25-05-2010 9:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭

That time of the week again lads. I've had a look and come up with my golf betting tips for this week.

Cabrera at 66/1 (or 90 on betfair)
    Rod Pampling e/w at 100/1 with most bookies (125/1 with tote)

Cabrera is playing well this season without being brilliant. He has never played at Colonial before but it should be a course that suits his game. He opted out of Wentworth last week which was surprising. He'll be well rested and keen to do well here.

Pampling is a course expert. Last 5 years , from 2009 back, finished 68th, 2nd, 12th, 3rd and 6th. Pretty consistent and, despite being an Aussie, he is based in Texas. He's a bit of a journeyman but he course suits his game okay.

Obviously Phil is a big danger but I'm plumping for El Pato this week.

Let me hear your tuppence worth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

That time of the week again lads. I've had a look and come up with my golf betting tips for this week.

Cabrera at 66/1 (or 90 on betfair)

Let me hear your tuppence worth.

best of luck,the fact it's a par 70 won't play into Cabrera's hands me thinks,also,you need to be pretty straight off the tee which he hasn't been this year.
    In sayin that best of luck,it is a very fair price

I' on Steve Marino @50/1 e/w,par 4 performance is really good,does better on par 70's and has decent course form
    Main bet however is the in form Ben Crane @33/1 e/w,put him up as my selection last week and he came 7th,he's going in full of confidence which is just what you need on a track where he will need a lot of birdies to compete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭ValueSeeker

Tim Clark (E/W 22/1) owns this course. I had him backed here last year only for a horrendous piece of bad luck (hitting the pin and spinning back 20 yards when he would have been within tap in range) and eventually ending in playoff defeat. He hasn't played since his win at the Players but it's a course that suits him down to the ground with his straight tee shots, brilliant short iron/wedge play and the fact that if you miss the greens, you can use you putter(chipping is his only weakness).

Steve Marino (E/W 50/1) has been off the radar too which is the only reason not to back him. I will be backing him though as there is a Marino family home practically on the course and I'd say he's been doing a lot of practising. His record here speaks for itself. Marino was in that playoff I alluded to, as was Stricker.

Ryan Palmer (150/1 E/W) It's also a home tournament for Ryan Palmer who provided me with a 150/1 winner a couple of years back. Maybe he can do it again. He finished with a blistering course record 2 weeks ago but missed the cut last week. He really doesn't like the course at the Byron Nelson though. Experience is key here to plot your way around and Palmer, being a member obviously has an advantage.

Full preview and picks will be on my blog later today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭eldrickwoods

some good points there chaps. I think that Crane could do well but 33/1 is just too short in my eyes up against this field. didn't realise that Ryan Palmer is a local lad.

Brian Gay grew up in the area so he'll have some local knowledge which is always handy. finished well last week but again the price is just a bit too short to catch my eye.

early starters should have a bit of an advantage this week as the winds should pick up in the avo,
    for that reason i've backed one of my picks Marino to be leading after R1 @50/1 with powers,just a friendly 5r e/w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭stooge

what do you all think of david duvall 200/1 e/w bet?

stooge wrote: »
    what do you all think of david duvall 200/1 e/w bet?
    no chance imo,

i just backed Kevin Na at 55/1 with powers €10 win

great start by Phil,-2 after 2

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

I'm on Imada @ 125/1 and Laird @ 200/1. First time in a while I've seen both my selections with a - beside there score at the same time!

In Tuition's bets from PP(that he gets paid for btw)
    Just to keep people informed on how in tuition's tips are goin
    YE Yang +3
    K Perry -2
    M Kucher -1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

This bitching is getting stale ffs

Collie D wrote: »
    This bitching is getting stale ffs

ur right Collie,as and from now he's on my ignore list for good and that's a promise,he said a few weeks ago that i was on his but that turned out to be bs,he's the only one on this forum that i've had a problem with

the same can't be said for In Tuition,that's my final comment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

hey lads! just found the usual thread had been locked? thanks to the gob****e! well! heavyballs was right bout duval in his earlier post, turned out to be a lemon again this weekend! for my sins, i still reckon he'll win at some point this year, i know everyone's been saying that each year now, but i reckon he'l get it goin one of these weeks. stuck E5 on brian davis this morn, 10/1( see'in how my 2 gob's missed the cut yesterday). need something to look at over the weekend! its either that or the eurovision!!!!!!:(:(:(:(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

jaysus! just noticed a message from boards in my inbox sayin my above comment is a no! no!, towards another member! ha! ha! wat a joke!

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

You called someone a "Godshi*te". That doesn't go down well dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

I had a bet on KJ Choi at 33-1 the other day when he was -4, he then went on a rampage and got as far as -16 or -15, unfortunately on the 18th he shot a quadruple bogey and he went from 5-1 favourite to 80-1 lol. Ah well, hopefully he comes good in the US Open.