Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mondello Park racing school

• 25-05-2010 9:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭

Me and my mate have realised that we're not going to make it to a GP this year, so we've decided to treat ourselves to a bit of track time. We're looking at doing the Start Line course at Mondello. Does anyone know if it's worth it? Neither of us have any racing experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Certainly worth it. Lightning who is a mod here is an instructor there so e will have lots of info.
    I did it years ago & it was good although alittle too short & too many people who I feel got the course as a present and turned up hungover & not too interested. Great experience though & they do have the more advanced courses if ya really like. I have done a few different days around mondello & now have a race licence too.
    I believe they can now record your laps via onboard camera too which is cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Dutchie

I did the start line course earlier this month.
    By and large it was really professionally run, my instructor was very informative and encouraged me to drive on and not hold back. He also showed me the best lines and shorter braking points.

The only real down sides were the amount of waiting around and the lack of track time in the single-seater.

Also there were some people on the circuit who basically couldn't drive. They ruined some of mine and others laps. I was lapping in 55-56 seconds. Others were lapping in 1.04-1.10. Many of my laps were ruined as you are only allowed pass in one specified arean (racing excuse already ;)).

i enjoyed it that much i bought the chequered flag course.

Best of luck with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭deadbloke

Thanks for the replies. Is there certain days/dates that the school is held on, like is it weekdays or weekends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭stevemc01

Lightening/Ficus

I'd be interested in doing the start line course also although it will be a few months down the line.

Is the procedure that you book the course online first and then ring up to confirm/choose a date for your course?

steve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭smokingman

To the OP, go for it!
    I did it in 2009 and had the time of my life - best pressie ever from the other half. I'd also recommend getting the usb key with your laps (mine below).
    It's 50 squid but well worth it! :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yIF88vPhi-4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Dane Bramage

smokingman wrote: »
    To the OP, go for it!
    I did it in 2009 and had the time of my life - best pressie ever from the other half. I'd also recommend getting the usb key with your laps (mine below).

Jaysus, this reminds me of driving miss daisy!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭gigabit

I did the clubman course 2 or 3 years ago when you had the rovers. Great fun, yeah you will get slow drivers ruining your lap, but that should make you go for the intermediate course, higher rev's and longer track and fewer learners.

Bring mates with you but check the weather before. Our 1st day was cancelled on the day 20 mins before the session, it had been a lovely sunny day up until 1:30pm, the excitement was building, we watched the morning class zooming around, then the rain hammered down, our session cancelled which was very disappointing for all of us.

Such is life.

Cannot recommend it highly enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭gigabit

smokingman wrote: »
    To the OP, go for it!

You keep taking the same line in the last corner that I did

Will I need to book well in advance? Like stevemc01 I'd be looking at a month or two down the line. What kind of track/tuition/overall time does the course last?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

I did the clubman a couple of years ago. Absolutely fantastic. The Rovers were awesome...way better than I expected. Driving the single seater really opened my eyes as to how these guys, especially F1 driver, have to work. I was b*******ed by the end of it.

My years of playing Grand Prix Legends payed off, the instructer was a bit shocked at my second lap before I got stuck behind other cars. As mentioned above go for the intermediate course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Could you book this with a few of yer mates?

I didn't know you could learn this motor racing stuff. I'm definitely gonna look into it soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

Doing the startline course on the 13th June :) I've been to Rally School Ireland before so I'm looking forward to a different type of track, and car! Will let ye know how it goes

Sorry, just one more question about the start line course. It says "The 'Start Line' course is suitable for first time race school participants and those with experience" on the webpage.

Should that say, little experience? Cos I'd love to do this but I've no experience of track driving at all.

Ficus wrote: »
    It means its suitable for everyone!!
    Dont worry if you have no experience, as long as you can drive a car normally and are willing to learn, then you will have a great time.

That's good to know! Has there been any incidents of people crashing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

How strict are yous on the whole having a driving licence thing? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Very.

Was just takin the piss, wouldn't dream of tryin to do it til I get my licence sorted. Should really get the theory test out of the way first. :pac:

It means its suitable for everyone!!
    Dont worry if you have no experience, as long as you can drive a car normally and are willing to learn, then you will have a great time.

Cheers for the reply Ficus. Think I'll book this as soon as I get some cash together!

Was up today. Had a great time. It started pouring rain halfway through so we weren't sure if we'd even get out but after some time waiting around we did get on the track.

The Mazdas are great little things. Very quick and stable so any first time nerves are taken.

The Formula Sheanes are a bit more difficult. Gears are awkward but you get used to them after a lap or two. The slipperly track made things a bit more fun too I think! My best lap time was 1:03 which I know I could have gotton down if there wasn't a bit of traffic in front of me that I couldn't overtake towards the end :P Still delighted though as the track wasn't exactly bone dry! Was one of the quickest of the day too which was an added bonus.

Instructor I had was fierce nice too and was very happy with my lap time :)

Would definitely recommend it!

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    It was an awful day weather wise yesterday, I had to drive a single seater back in the soaking rain halfway through the day and got soaked. Who was your instructor? A 1:03 in the poor conditions is a respectable lap and you should be happy with it!

Patrick was my instructor. Very nice guy! Delighted with my lap alright seeing as my buddy who was up with me got 1:18 as his best :p

Hope car no. 2 is alright after yesterday too :D