Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ways to spoil the boyfriend.......

• 25-05-2010 7:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭

My boyfriend is repeating part of his Leaving Cert as a mature student [over 10 years on!] and we are spending a few days together this week. What I'm wondering is, how can I spoil him for the few days we have as I probably won't see him much before the exams are over? We don't live together, and the sex side of things is problematic at the moment so please don't suggest I dress in skimpy lingerie and take him by surprise!

I'm looking for activities/things to do together or that I can do/prepare for him to help him destress and show him how much he means to me.

Thanks in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

As a male you kno whtat id love if i was under that kinda stress. I's persoannly enjoy going to some where like the japenase gardenss. Its a relaxing place and a nice place...bit of tranquility is always good..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭stripysocks85

Good idea but bit far. I'm in Balbriggan and he lives that direction & don't want him to be spending loadsa time in the car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

it really depends on the person. i get beer or treats for mine or try and pick up a dvd i think he might like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

Cook a really nice dinner:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Steak.
    Always steak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Steak.
    Always steak

..especially on March 14th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Steak, beer, zombie films - nice and easy on the brain. Or replace zombie film with good comedy, definitely don't start reading Wuthering Heights or Othello to him....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

How about the zoo? Everyone always has good memories of the zoo, so it's good for de-stressing. :) Also it won't take up more than a couple of hours, so you're not taking him away from the study for too long.

Also, just keep him well stocked up with whatever his favourite comfort foods are for when he's studying.

Maybe send him a wee card in the post, a nice soppy lovey-dovey one, that he'll get either the morning of his first exam or the day before. Or - even better - hide it in his car or somewhere else that he'll get it just on his way into the exam. (My boyfriend's a carpenter, so I'm always hiding cards and notes etc in his toolbox!) (No, toolbox is not a euphemism for anything! :rolleyes: And I've been spending way too much time with dirty-minded boys when I actually feel the need to clarify that! :D)

Apart from that ... walks on the beach, massages, maybe make a compilation CD for him if he's into music ... anything really that'll let him know you care. It'll probably mean more to him to see you making the effort, than whatever it is that you actually do for him. If that makes sense. :confused:

And, by the way, fair play to him for going back and doing the Leaving Cert again. Seriously, I have friends who have thought about doing it to improve their career options, but they would never actually have the perseverance or determination to go through with it. He should be really proud of himself. :) I hope it goes really well for him!

Thanks for that, great ideas.
    Doesn't eat steak so that's out me thinks! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Man card confiscated I thinks :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

Thanks for that, great ideas.

dont buy him a yorkie !!! (doesnt deserve it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭ocokev

Bring him down to Newgrange or somewhere like that for the day if its a good day. A bit of culture, imagination and fresh air is good for brain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

iMax wrote: »
    Invite a friend. Both swallow. De-stress guaranteed.

I'm guessing I'm out of here for a month or so after that, so see ya !!

I was just going to give you an infraction, but since you knew exactly what you were doing, I decided to ban you for three months.

see ya!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭kiwi123

my boyfriend loves nights in with a few drinks, he thinks it's like being at the pub but he doesn't have to wear a shirt :rolleyes:

One time he came over and we had a few drinks and went for sleeps and there were candles all over the room and fairy lights and love heart confetti and massage oil and he was genuinely shocked at the effort. Granted now i fell asleep as soon as i hopped into bed, but that's not the point, the point is an effort was made :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭i.need.a.job

plenty cuddles,favrite junk food,... make him a home made card with pics of ye two in it etc .. a day spent lyin in the sun out the back yard could be jus as good as any ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

In Balbriggan? Go up to Bells field with a small picnic and go over to the cliffs and watch the sun set over the sea and have some cuddles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭kiwi123

oh oh oh go to howth, lovely in the evening and you can go for a meal and a walk along the pier..or a walk down by the seafron in clontarf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Dinkie

He mightn't like this but what about a stress massage? You could have a nice breakfast, walk along a beach, lunch and massage... maybe you could even have a couples massage? Depending on where you go, you could use the pool and jaccuzzi after the massage and have a really nice chilled afternoon. It wouldn't have to cost much - there are some great deals at the moment.

Else what about a days sailing from Howth or Malahide?

For my sister I made her up a leaving cert kit. I decorated a shoebox by hand and put in some fancy pens (perhaps a football pen), a shot bottle of vodka, some chocolate, etc.... she loved it! Perhaps a present like that, but with perhaps some added love notes/promise notes - like I promise to cook your favourite meal, etc that he can cash in after the exam. My sis still has the box and often refers to how she loved the idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭GirlOfGlass

Go Karting and a hand shandy, says my bf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Cian! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭darrenon

dont no if you drive but,

I love going for a drive up the wicklow mountains,bring a picnic an chill in the sun.
    its gorgeous up there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭miss5

If he is interested in sports, perhaps you could get tickets to a match.
    I think he would really appreciate it if you cooked him his favourite meal,
    you could also go see a show/movie.

Thanks for all the great ideas. Much appreciated and taken onboard :)