Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone look over this weight programme?

• 24-05-2010 12:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭

hi guys,

Been at the gym for 4 months now, mainly doing core exercises like sit-ups, pull-ups, tri-dips, squats etc. and cardio. Doing this (and sorting out my diet) has got me down from 11st 2 to 9st 8, but the problem is I'm 6ft and I reckon I'm now a bit underweight and skinny, so it's time to up the carbs and start weightlifting.

I know next to nothing about weights really but I got this programme from a guy on another forum (who got it from a PT).
    EXERCISES

Mon exercise sets reps rest
    A1 back squat 4 15/12/10/8 45
    A2 romanian deadlift 4 15/12/10/08 120
    B1 bench press 4 15/12/10/8 45
    B2 seated rowing 4 15/12/10/08 120
    C1 military press 4 15/12/10/08 45
    C2 lat pull down 4 15/12/10/08 120

Tues exercise sets reps rest

A1 Serratus crunch 4 15/12/10/8 45 secs
    A2 kneeling cable crunch 4 15/12/10/08 120 secs
    A3 swiss ball crunch 4 15/12/10/8 45 secs

Weds exercise sets reps rest

A Bulgarian squat 5 15/12/10/12/15 90
    B leg curl 5 15/12/10/12/15 60
    C incline DB press 5 12/10/8/10/12 90
    D straight arm pull down 5 12/10/8/10/12 60
    E barbell curl 3 10 TO 12 45
    F cable triceps extension 3 10 TO 12 45
    G lateral raises 3 10 TO 12 30
    H bent over lateral 3 10 TO12 30

Friday exercise sets reps rest

A leg press 4 12/12/15/15 120
    B good morning 4 12/12/15/15 90
    C incline bench press 4 10/10/12/12 90
    D bent over bar bell row 4 10/10/12/12 90
    E seated DB row 4 12/12/15/15 90
    F upright rowing (ez bar) 4 12/12/15/15 60

Saturday exercise sets reps rest

A weighted crunch 3 10 to 12 60
    B side bend 3 10 to 12 per side 60
    C pullover crunch 3 12 to 15 45

Started today and it felt good, I also started on whey protein shakes in order to start adding some pounds back on.

What do people think of this plan?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,899 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

It seems overly complicated to me. There's an awful lot of time taken up with isolation excercises. The reps are too high as well.

Why not try starting strength, stronglifts 5x5 or something similar.

If you want to put on lean muscle, squats and deadlifts are your best friends. Train to get stronger first and worry about aesthetics later.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

It seems overly complicated to me. There's an awful lot of time taken up with isolation excercises. The reps are too high as well.

Why not try starting strength, stronglifts 5x5 or something similar.

If you want to put on lean muscle, squats and deadlifts are your best friends. Train to get stronger first and worry about aesthetics later.

I'd second this. Either Starting Strength or Stronglifts are excellent programs, and will work if you follow them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭J-Fit

hi guys,

Been at the gym for 4 months now, mainly doing core exercises like sit-ups, pull-ups, tri-dips, squats etc. and cardio. Doing this (and sorting out my diet) has got me down from 11st 2 to 9st 8, but the problem is I'm 6ft and I reckon I'm now a bit underweight and skinny, so it's time to up the carbs and start weightlifting.

I know next to nothing about weights really but I got this programme from a guy on another forum (who got it from a PT).

Started today and it felt good, I also started on whey protein shakes in order to start adding some pounds back on.

What do people think of this plan?

Seen hell of a lot worse but it's classic bodybuilding and to be honest, will actually get you the increased mass you're looking for given the sets/reps/rest scheme if combined with proper nutrition. It's not necessarily true that you need to get strong before you get the body you're looking for and the reps are definately not too high for that, but as the lads said you could probably do better. The two are generally synonymous and you're looking at a chicken and egg scenario. I think this is a fine generalist programme for a beginner, it works through all the major muscle groups and also places decent emphasis on the posterior chain, something many bodybuilding programmes simply don't do. As a beginner you've no need to be hitting low reps on the big exercises and you'd be much better served with a higher rep, full body programme that will prepare you for a time when you want to begin doing such a thing. Just don't like all those crunches! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Thanks for the replies guys. I think I'm gonna stick with this programme for a few weeks and see how I get on with it. I've been strengthening myself through the core exercises (at least I think so!).

On the subject of protein shakes, how many should I be taking? One each gym day, or more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭J-Fit

Thanks for the replies guys. I think I'm gonna stick with this programme for a few weeks and see how I get on with it. I've been strengthening myself through the core exercises (at least I think so!).

On the subject of protein shakes, how many should I be taking? One each gym day, or more?

Assuming the rest of your nutrition is in check, just post-workout or as a convenience when real foods aren't available.

Cool thanks! Yeah I think my diet is pretty solid, seeing the amount of weight I lost!

Cheers again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Doug Cartel

Cool thanks! Yeah I think my diet is pretty solid, seeing the amount of weight I lost!

If you're over 6 foot tall and under 10 stone, then your diet probably isn't all that solid at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

stronglifts 5x5 is an excellent programm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Apip99

stronglifts 5x5 all the way.

I'm 5 weeks in and the difference in appearance and more importantly what I can now lift is quite startling.

One of the best things I have found is that due to the increase in lift weight every session, it keep you focused. Then when you hit the big targets, its feels great, and let you know that you are accomplishing so much.

I managed my 5x5 100 kg squat on Friday. Being from the skinny camp, it was something I never thought I would be able to do.

Just a question, but considering you asked whether the program is worth doing, and only one person has said it's suitable (compared to four who recommended Stronglifts/Starting Strength).... why did you ask for advice and then ignore it to keep going with your own? I'm not giving out, I'm genuinely just curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭colman1212

Just a question, but considering you asked whether the program is worth doing, and only one person has said it's suitable (compared to four who recommended Stronglifts/Starting Strength).... why did you ask for advice and then ignore it to keep going with your own? I'm not giving out, I'm genuinely just curious.

I think generally people who come on with here with their own custom workouts generally only learn the hard way that they should use something thats tried and trusted such as starting strength, 5/3/1 or stronglifts.

I know that originally I came on here with my own workout and people told me the exaxt same thing. I don't know why but I continued with it anyway until eventually I realised I wasn't getting the results. Changed over to starting strength and now 5/3/1 and can't believe how much progress I have made.

OP you should really listen to the people who have gone have the experience, been where you are, and realised the tried and trusted programs are there for a reason, because they actually deliver real results.
    At the weight you are currently at, its all about eating loads and lifting heavy on the big four squats, press, bench and deadlift.

Well no-one here has said, it's bad for me. So, seeing as how I have the programme to hand and have already started it, why not give it a try for a few weeks?

If it doesn't get me the results I want I can change to stronglifts or whatever.

Don't get me wrong I appreciate the opinion of you guys, ye know a hell of a lot more than me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Armedocr

Seems like a crazy amount of volume to me.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,899 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Well no-one here has said, it's bad for me. So, seeing as how I have the programme to hand and have already started it, why not give it a try for a few weeks?

If it doesn't get me the results I want I can change to stronglifts or whatever.

Don't get me wrong I appreciate the opinion of you guys, ye know a hell of a lot more than me.

It's up to you whether you follow the advie you've been given or not dropping that program and doing starting strength is the way to go. Its not as if the program is complicated or you need to learn any new lifts:

Workout A
    3x5 Squat
    3x5 Bench Press
    1x5 Deadlift

Workout B
    3x5 Squat
    3x5 Press
    5x3 Power cleans

Workouts A and B alternate on 3 non-consecutive days per week.

What could be simpler? Its certainly more straight forward than what you're doing now!

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭kodute

Its not a program for you though is it? Its some randomers program with no verification if it works or not. It wasn't designed with you in mind.

The general consensus is that you should do the tried and trusted strength programs that have worked for many on here and beyond, for a long time. (Including myself)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭carl456

If you're over 6 foot tall and under 10 stone, then your diet probably isn't all that solid at all.

^^^This, Did you intentionally try to lose weight when you started? That;s a very low bodyweight for your height. Agree with doing starting strength or a similiar program, and eat a hell of a lot more food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Jesus why did you ask for any advice at all if you do not like the replies?

At just over 11st i would have said you were too skinny then for someone who is 6 ft.

i have no issue with the volume just the exercise selection is a little all over the place - having a day just to work on core exercises could be better spent doing a nice hard 10mins metcon.

Finally, two last points - NO DEADLIFTS AND NO CHIN UPS/PULL UPS!!!

Yet you can fit in a leg press and a total wasteful exercise of upright rowing.

Change the latter two and do the former two instead.

its an ok program but there is no possible way you even need a whey protein drink as you are under 10stone at 6foot tall - eat whatever is in sight!!

I wish I could thank my own posts :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Apip99 wrote: »
    stronglifts 5x5 all the way.

I'm 5 weeks in and the difference in appearance and more importantly what I can now lift is quite startling.

One of the best things I have found is that due to the increase in lift weight every session, it keep you focused. Then when you hit the big targets, its feels great, and let you know that you are accomplishing so much.

I managed my 5x5 100 kg squat on Friday. Being from the skinny camp, it was something I never thought I would be able to do.

I just did that today as well myself. The only drawback is the fact none of your clothes fit anymore and you walk like an oddball because your thighs are chafing to absolute death.

Being massive has it's few downfalls :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

FTA69 wrote: »
    I just did that today as well myself. The only drawback is the fact none of your clothes fit anymore and you walk like an oddball because your thighs are chafing to absolute death.

Talcum powder brah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Apip99

FTA69 wrote: »

Nice one FTA69:

My wife is p*ssed as at Christmas we hit the sales hard for a new wardrobe for me, and now nothing fits!!! All of my shirts are half way up my arms and jeans are some what hugging. A great look in the 80's I'm sure....

The best so far though is that we have a wedding next week. I got the suite out for the dry cleaners and though best try on...... Not a chance!

So OP. If its bulk and muscel you want. Hit the 5x5. I know that you say you could try a couple of weeks of your own work out, but what's the point in wasting two weeks, when you could be bulking up in that time.
    Like previous poster said. You asked advice, and numerously you've been advised... Think about it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

My wife is p*ssed as at Christmas we hit the sales hard for a new wardrobe for me, and now nothing fits!!! All of my shirts are half way up my arms and jeans are some what hugging. A great look in the 80's I'm sure....

Stop, I've been accused of being "all about the guns" due to the fact my t-shirts no longer fit! And to cap it off I'm too broke to go out and buy new clothes (why buy new clothes when you can buy industrial amounts of chicken breasts and whey protein?)
    So OP. If its bulk and muscel you want. Hit the 5x5. I know that you say you could try a couple of weeks of your own work out, but what's the point in wasting two weeks, when you could be bulking up in that time.
    Like previous poster said. You asked advice, and numerously you've been advised... Think about it..

Indeed. I stuck to my own program for a while and to be honest it wasn't absolutely shocking like, I did increase in size and strength, however it was out of proportion due to benching three times a week and only squatting twice. Stronglifts is perfect to be honest, and I've now surpassed many previous records in a little under a month. For instance a couple of weeks ago I couldn't bench 75kg for 3x5, yesterday I did it handily enough for 5x5.

As has been said, take the advice and switch to something like that and you'll be amazed at the results.