Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2000 Guineas

• 22-05-2010 12:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭

Have doubts over the top two in the market for various reasons...I'll be backing Xtension.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Denners

Cliffs absolutely cantered that, Richie did well to get him a nice line 1 1/2 f out aswell :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Sprouts

Can't believe Canford touched 10/3 today, credit goes to the experts saying he doesnt get a mile, like Paco, keep up the good work lads :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

What a performance today by Canford Cliffs. As i stated in the English 2000 guineas thread on here i thought he was the the horse to take out of that race. R.H. settled the horse much better today as they went a good gallop,the horse travelled great through the race and was only ridden out hands and heels to win comfortably. Interesting to see where they go next with the horse St James's Palace? Maybe even the Eclipse?

Am I right in saying that was Rich Hughes first classic? Amazing if so that he hasn't til now.

Richie is some jockey, did so well to move Cliffs out to the left to get the clear lane and off he went.

Next big one for me is Paco Boy at Ascot in 3/4 weeks, same race he won last year. 7/4 at the moment, it will take a very very special horse to beat him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Goldcupfav wrote: »
    What a performance today by Canford Cliffs. As i stated in the English 2000 guineas thread on here i thought he was the the horse to take out of that race. R.H. settled the horse much better today as they went a good gallop,the horse travelled great through the race and was only ridden out hands and heels to win comfortably. Interesting to see where they go next with the horse St James's Palace? Maybe even the Eclipse?

Judging by the performance today...I'd say you were right about him being better than Dick Turpin...actually Richard Hannon was right but you were too:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

What about the 1000 Guineas today lads??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

only1stevo wrote: »
    What about the 1000 Guineas today lads??

Totally wide open I think,doubt I'll have a bet in it.But if I did I'd say Anna Salai. She beat Rosanara 13 and a half lengths into third last time,she was a group 1 winner herself,and third in the group 1 that Jan Vermeer won in France in October,taking on the boys. 5/1 looks alright each way to at least get your money back I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Sprouts wrote: »
    Can't believe Canford touched 10/3 today, credit goes to the experts saying he doesnt get a mile, like Paco, keep up the good work lads :D

Hannon must be sick of people telling him his horses wont stay a mile
    Goldcupfav wrote: »
    Interesting to see where they go next with the horse St James's Palace? Maybe even the Eclipse?

He just about gets a mile well, the Eclipse is 1/4 mile further, he wont be turning up there
    Am I right in saying that was Rich Hughes first classic? Amazing if so that he hasn't til now.

Its his 1st classic in Britain or ireland, hes won one somewhere before

Canford Cliffs is going to the St.James's Palace Stakes along with Dick Turpin and Mafki

Denners wrote: »
    Canford Cliffs is going to the St.James's Palace Stakes along with Dick Turpin and Mafki

Hope Canford cliffs is a price, he will defo turn over Makfi, have to srt saving for this :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Hope Canford cliffs is a price, he will defo turn over Makfi, have to srt saving for this :D

Ya I can see him beating Makfi, main danger would be Steinbeck I feel.

Why are ye so sure he'd beat Makfi? Because he's French is he being underestimated again?

greetings wrote: »
    Why are ye so sure he'd beat Makfi? Because he's French is he being underestimated again?

It seems Makfi will never get the repect he deserves. Everything points to him being a top class horse. If you look at Dubawis first crop, he's got bags of winners. Anna Salai nearly won the Irish 1,000! Nearly two classic winners in his first crop!

I'll be keeping a close eye on his progeny this year! BTW, 1/4 win on the all-weather (so far!).

Nulty wrote: »
    It seems Makfi will never get the repect he deserves. Everything points to him being a top class horse. If you look at Dubawis first crop, he's got bags of winners. Anna Salai nearly won the Irish 1,000! Nearly two classic winners in his first crop!

I'll be keeping a close eye on his progeny this year! BTW, 1/4 win on the all-weather (so far!).

You bet if he was trained by O'Brien
    1.He would have been about 8/1 for the Guineas
    2.People wouldn't be talking about Canford Cliffs beating him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

Coral have priced up the race ! http://www.oddschecker.com/horse-racing/ante-post-racing/royal-ascot/st-james-palace-stakes

Nulty wrote: »

First race of the day!! Dubawi has a maiden winner :p

Monterosso wins for Dubawi yesterday and only other runner 4th at 14/1

Today he has 2 runners in the same race - 1st at 10/3 and 3rd at 18/1

Manterosso scores again in the Ascot Derby. Afsare won the Hampton Court. Dubawi Gold obviously needs further than the 5f in the Norfolk and Makfi also just didn't perform on the day in the St James Palace.

Anna Salai in the Coronation for a very good Ascot for Dubawi.

Not to turn this into the Dubawi thread - he had a 100/1 placer at Newmarket on the 11 June.