Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

That sky+ add with yer man off newstalk..

• 21-05-2010 9:55pm

Is it just me, or at one point in the add, does he say his grandkids can come in and gamble on his knee, and he's not particularly concerned about missing whats on tv..ok, i realise that this man has spent his life talking about sport, so tis probably important to him, but regardless, if his grandkids can sit on his knee and gamble, well, either a)he has an unusual relationship with his over 18 grandchildren, or, b) he's more concerned about missing the football than his grandchildren, who are obviously young enough to sit on his knee, but are apparently into gambling?..i wont go into the adverse effects gambling in general can have on people's lives, but letting your grandchildren gamble when they're at the stage where they can sit on you're knee and not attract strange looks, just seems odd...regardless of whats on the box..

(or perhaps this is just a subtle reinforcement of the gambling culture perpetrated by rupert mudrdoch..??)

is it just me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

Gambol

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

he hasnt been involved in talking about sports all his life...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

I can't tell if you're serious or not

The 'gambling' he means is moving his legs up and down so it's like his grandchildern are riding a horse

Plus he's a cnut anyway

Nice thread.

I thought so..

No, he was drunk for the first two thirds of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

Well unless there gambling as to wether he will piss himself or not on account of his old age

I thought so..

Sorry about that - I'm a grumpy old git this evening - removed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Its not real life op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Who ever posts after me is ghey......

Well, in fairness..i obviously dont know the mans name off the top of my head, chances are in not that up to date on his complete life story..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Vain, you are soooo fabulous

in

I'm...i meant I'm..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Vain wrote: »
    Who ever posts after me is ghey......

First

....... damn! :mad:

Hehehe - they're all ghey

Doh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

EH's paid to watch matches and write bout them, if the grandkids climb all over him he'll miss whats happened in the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭H1tmonlii

he sounds so fake haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

He re-scheduled his wedding with a few days notice so he could play in a rugby match so I wouldn't be surprised if he told the grand kids to take a hike if a big match was on the TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I like George Hook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Is it just me, or at one point in the add, does he say his grandkids can come in and gamble on his knee, and he's not particularly concerned about missing whats on tv..ok, i realise that this man has spent his life talking about sport, so tis probably important to him, but regardless, if his grandkids can sit on his knee and gamble, well, either a)he has an unusual relationship with his over 18 grandchildren, or, b) he's more concerned about missing the football than his grandchildren, who are obviously young enough to sit on his knee, but are apparently into gambling?..i wont go into the adverse effects gambling in general can have on people's lives, but letting your grandchildren gamble when they're at the stage where they can sit on you're knee and not attract strange looks, just seems odd...regardless of whats on the box..

(or perhaps this is just a subtle reinforcement of the gambling culture perpetrated by rupert mudrdoch..??)

is it just me?

Gambol (noun) - a running and jumping about in dancing or play; a frolic

In other words, it doesn't matter if they distract him from what he is watching because he can watch it back on Sky+.

Television Forum, OP.