Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golf TV Coverage

• 21-05-2010 9:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭

A mini rant here.

Where do I start?

Commentators - A player is taking a shot from the rough and it goes about 10 feet past the whole. "That's the best he could have done from there" No it's ****ing not..he could have gone 9 feet past the hole...or maybe he could have knocked it in the hole. Stop talking nonsense.

Also, when a player knocks it into a bunker or some rough - "Oh that's nasty..he'll have some problems with his next shot. And then he just chips in for a birdie or something. You're commentating on professionals for christ sake...stop trying to make things more exciting than they actually are.

Wayne Riley. What a ****ing dick head. No more to say about that.

The coverage itself...

The leader is on -8. Stop showing people that are +2 etc...I don't care about woods or any fcuking english players...show me the leaders...they deserve to be on telly.

In america when they show an unknown player on +3...you know he's about to hole a miracle shot.

Frustrating watching the coverage now cause they're only showing the english players. The only one of which in contention is Luke Donald and he hasn't a hope of winning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

You need to chill a bit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Woodgate

Hate when people give out about golf and do not even know the difference between hole and whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Gophur wrote: »
    You need to chill a bit!

Either that or flick to channel 900 and work your way up from there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Jaysus lads...a light hearted rant is all it was.

And pointing out typos is something I'd expect to see on AH, not here.

Seems like I've stumbled into beige country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

I must agree with you here. When someone lays up on a par 5 to , I dunno, maybe 115 yards and he says that he is left with "a horrible yardage" it just annoys me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭jimjo

denisoc16 wrote: »
    maybe 115 yards and he says that he is left with "a horrible yardage"
    115 yards out, ooh that’s a horrible distance alright… but is that to the front or back cause the green is 35 yards to the very back. Wedge or 9, more comfortable with a full swing with a wedge but that might not get to the back over those dodgy looking bunkers with a slight wind against or will I put the hands down the shaft a bit and hit a soft 9, don’t want to be too big tho….

Moral of the story… if only I left myself 125 yards…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭NapoleonInRags

jimjo wrote: »
    115 yards out, ooh that’s a horrible distance alright… but is that to the front or back cause the green is 35 yards to the very back. Wedge or 9, more comfortable with a full swing with a wedge but that might not get to the back over those dodgy looking bunkers with a slight wind against or will I put the hands down the shaft a bit and hit a soft 9, don’t want to be too big tho….

Moral of the story… if only I left myself 125 yards…..

I've no problem milling the wedge 115 myself...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

I don't really mind Wayne Riley. As Australians go, he's a good egg in my book. Adds a bit of character to the coverage.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

The sky coverage for most events on the first two days of a tournament is based around the pairings. The draw for tee times is done with tv and spectators in mind.
    There will always be groups that they will focus on for the day... one set in the morning coverage and another for the afternoon. When you are at one of these events, you will see the tv towers with no cameras or cameramen because they are not going to have a cameraman there all day in case Johnny Journeyman has the round of his life to lead on a Thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,952 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Have found myself watching less and less golf on tv over the last few years due to the numerous programming changes.
    One of the most recent ideas is the concept of concentrating on a few particular groups and showing nearly all their shots and showing very little of the rest of the field.
    If Tiger Woods is playing then you can be sure you will see every one of his shots as well as his practice swings,his walking between shots,him eating a mars bar etc etc.
    Interspersed with this you will see multiple ad breaks and shots of a lake while US networks are on an ad break.
    The Golf Network in the US are the worst,their commentators are unsufferable bores and they give very little technical insight.
    30 mins golf in one sitting is about all I can take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Good point. Easily the worst golf commentator on TV. Just explain what is going on Wayne. We don't need your horrible attempts at humour.
    I also despise Bruce Critchley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭scout353

Have to agree with the coverage - it is so poor now, especially from the US. When Sky had it before they used their own commentators and the global feed. Now that they have it back after the Setanta mess they obviously have cut it back to taking the Golf Channel US feed with their commentators. They might be poor but its the incessant breaks and pictures of trees and flowers that infuriates me! Your are seeing so little golf, particularly as it heads to the final few holes on Sunday.

Sometimes I think I'm watching the gardening channel with all the flowers!

As for the commentators, they have a few poor ones but Ken Brown is excellent while I think Riley has brought a bit of humour to the coverage!

Probably the worst is RTE's Shane O Donohue when he works for the BBC - he is asinine in his questioning and always seems to be licking their h*les and dropping hints that he is their best friend off the course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Osgoodisgood

I don't really mind Wayne Riley. As Australians go, he's a good egg in my book. Adds a bit of character to the coverage.

Ahem.......excuse me? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

Jaysus lads...a light hearted rant is all it was.

And pointing out typos is something I'd expect to see on AH, not here.

Seems like I've stumbled into beige country.

I would hate to see a full blown rant so !!

Think your being a bit harsh, if they were to just state the obvious and not try speak it up with humour you would be on giving out about how boring they were and that they had no interest in their jobs etc !!
    I like Riley think he is funny !! maybe I have no taste in humour though:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭stebed

Any coverage is good coverage in my book when I moved here (from the UK) I had no TV for about a month, try it then complain about golf on TV.

I must admit I do enjoy the BBC coverage, Peter Allis is the best. I watched the final round of the BMW on sunday and he was talking about 2 of the PGA comissioners and was trying to describe them as "good cop bad cop" and it came out as "soft cop hard cop" you can guess how that sounded.

Saying all that I do watch a lot of golf with the sound off.

Aliss is the exception. He's a joy to listen to.

A legend.
    Was watching the BMW at the weekend and the camera showed some guy vigorously rubbing sunscreen on his wifes legs while she was lying on the ground.
    Aliss says "Steady on now,steady on now ,you see all sorts on a golf course these days" Priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Agree with ye Aliss is class.

Knows what he is talking about and never sides with any players and praises good Golf rather then just praise everybody.

Ken Brown is excellent too.

Other then that im afraid we dont have much to enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭youcrazyjesus!

He is one of the most irritating people on the planet. He never shuts up and I despise him.

Who? Peter aliss??

Most inoffensive man on the planet. You must have deep unresolved issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭Speak Now

He is one of the most irritating people on the planet. He never shuts up and I despise him.

you crazy jesus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Golf isn't a televisual sport at all though.
    Camera one, player hits his shot.
    Camera two, shows the ball landing.

It is getting a lot better and more investment in the tracer
    camera's will give people a better idea of the game and the types of shots being played (and mis-hits!). At the moment TV fails to capture this.

As for commentators, you can't wrong with the BBC* but Sam Torrance just doesn't cut it. Makes too many mistakes. "Now woods for par" ehh no it's for birdie?? etc

* turned on the tv during the open last year and they were having a retrospective of Seve with a sombre sounding, sour faced Lineker.
    For 15 minutes I thought poor Seve had passed only for Lineker to say
    "And now live from Spain...it's Seve" :rolleyes:

I was trying to watch some of the US golf on Sky tonight.
    Mother of God it was excruciating.
    I watched for 30 minutes and I'd say I saw 20 shots at most.
    They would show 3 shots in a row ,then cut to a shot of a lake,then a shot of a tree,then an aerial view of the course from the blimp.
    After that the commentators would have a gormless chat ,then there would be a 2-3 minute recorded segment on a specific golfer about his life and then another shot of the lake,the tree and the blimp.
    Then Sky would go back to the studio and technically analyse a mundane shot before taking an ad.
    Then back to the tree ,the lake,the blimp again.
    Absolute farce .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,984 ✭✭✭Trampas

I was trying to watch some of the US golf on Sky tonight.
    Mother of God it was excruciating.
    I watched for 30 minutes and I'd say I saw 20 shots at most.
    They would show 3 shots in a row ,then cut to a shot of a lake,then a shot of a tree,then an aerial view of the course from the blimp.
    After that the commentators would have a gormless chat ,then there would be a 2-3 minute recorded segment on a specific golfer about his life and then another shot of the lake,the tree and the blimp.
    Then Sky would go back to the studio and technically analyse a mundane shot before taking an ad.
    Then back to the tree ,the lake,the blimp again.
    Absolute farce .

And you got Faldo and rest of the us commentators who try to be funny when they are not (feherty and mccord)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Trampas wrote: »
    And you got Faldo and rest of the us commentators who try to be funny when they are not (feherty and mccord)

I've actually gotten quite fond of Nick Faldo lately, he is quite funny. Although I did squirm last night when the chick introduced him as Sir Nick Faldo.

Trampas wrote: »

Yes,they think that they are on some sort of comedy show or childrens tv instead of a golf show.
    McCord is the worst,a complete buffoon.Loves to hear his own voice.
    The occasional joke, preferably a good one, is just nice, but these muppets try to squeeze in one every time their microphone is on.

McCord is the US equivalent of Wayne Riley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

re:commentary,find Rob Lee a bit annoyin but the lads on sky at the mo are my favs,Holmes and Mark Roe,talk a lot of sence,
    I don't know who Holmes coaches but he's bang on technically,the worst of the lot when it comes to a technical issue is without question Faldo,he hasn't a clue
    i also like crazy eye for the u.s open coverage

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Roe and Holmes are enjoyable to listen to especially the former.

I cannot stand Rob Lee. Anyone remember his commentary after McIlroy won the Quail Hollow Championship? OTT is putting it lightly in regards to his comments about Tiger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭BiffoGooner

Aidric wrote: »
    McCord is the US equivalent of Wayne Riley.

McCord is far, far worse.

Speaking of coverage, where is Sky's live coverage of Memorial tonight?It's not a weather delay because they're still going on shotracker.They're showing highlights of The Players at the moment :confused:

Edit : Nevermind, it's back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭irishtoffee

I think they are having trouble with the satelite.

I think they might have been waiting till 8 o clock for the CBS feed.
    McIlroy has missed two short putts for birdie on 9 & 11, could come back to haunt him on the run in.

Faldo has tried the same joke 3 times so far in tonight's coverage.

"Just in case you're wondering...Ricky Fowler is the one with the white glove"

Please stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭irishtoffee

Ye he is driving me crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

The usual really high standard of golf broadcasting by the americans today.
    Why would anybody want to watch anybody else outside the top 3 and Phil Mickleson.
    Havent seen Rory hit one shot over the whole week and hes T6 at the moment.
    Madness :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭BiffoGooner

dvemail wrote: »
    Why would anybody want to watch anybody else outside the top 3 and Phil Mickleson.

Amazing how quickly things change.After Quail Hollow they were all about Rory, the next Tiger and all that.Today, and he doesn't get a minute of air time despite being in contention earlier in the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

there was a classic last night,
    Feherty said,along the lines of
    'Jack,would i be right to say those branches have crept out a bit'
    After a pause Jack says'That's the funny thing about trees,they have a tendancy to grow'
    Taxi for Feherty!

dvemail wrote: »
    It's always the same. Why are people still surprised? The European Tour is much the same.
    Amazing how quickly things change.After Quail Hollow they were all about Rory, the next Tiger and all that.Today, and he doesn't get a minute of air time despite being in contention earlier in the day.
    He was never in contention tbf. Closest he came was six shots off the lead I think.
    heavyballs wrote: »
    there was a classic last night,
    Feherty said,along the lines of
    'Jack,would i be right to say those branches have crept out a bit'
    After a pause Jack says'That's the funny thing about trees,they have a tendancy to grow'
    Taxi for Feherty!
    Haha. Pwned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Have to say I cant think of any golf commentator that annoys me, unlike football where most of them do :p

A bit annoying right now, they seem to be showing every single Mickelson shot and the tournament is basically a shootout between Justin Rose and Rickie Fowler. I really like Phil but but he's been out of this since early in the back 9. Seems he's taken over from Tiger as the guy they constantly show whether hes 10 under or 10 over :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Like Feherty personally. Heard a great story about him years ago. Had a little accident on course but had to make his way cross course to Woods who was making a move. As feherty stood close by Woods turned around to his Stevie Williams and asked him did he fart? Feherty just answered, no, I just shat myself back on 15!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Aidric wrote: »
    It's always the same. Why are people still surprised? The European Tour is much the same.

Im not suprised by it, im well used to it by now, but i can always hope for that one magical day.

Some really terrible coverage today by Sky. They're showing drives and approach shots but then not going back to watch the guys putt out. They showed jacquelin knock it into the water on the 17th and then went off to a break. When they came back they showed some either guys and then came back to see Jacquelin make his final putt "And Jacquelin will tap that in for his 5" - it was in fact a 7...he hit it in the water again. Some terrible direction.

That 17th hole is going to cause carnage...so much more dangerous than harbour town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭DH2K9

I do think Ewen Murray and David Fherrity are two exceptions to the bad commentators book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Ewen Murray has never seen a bad tournament in his life

Everything is splendid, fantastic, a day never to forget,greatest championship...he drives me nuts hen he says it.