Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*GASPS* TABOO

• 20-05-2010 4:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭

Ok

Ok my new subject of today is Male sex toys and know I dont want to get info on them I can use google..
    What I want to know is why is this,

females tend to be quite open about them owning a rampint rabbit or a dolphin or some egg typ ething or some ogasmatron gaget thats the sise of a lip stick that vibrates something like 6.9 on the rictor scale.

Im not going to go to deep into it byut theres all sorts of, male gagets.

To be honest it doesnt suprise me from the answers I got, That it
    seems a little seedy maybe a little wierd for a single male
    to have a sex toy.

Yet women openly disscuss there gadgets with ease and tro be fair women are a more open then men and thats the way its is.

whats your opinion on the male sex toy and the taboo that goes with it?

FYI
    I'm not planing on buying one. I do not have one. It just came into mind ok more or lees i live above restauunt and there where to ladys out side disscussing such matter which left to my resulting thread....

Note to admin I felt it was a safe enough thread to start, as its more of
    soical thing then an actual issue hence why i started it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Trivarion

When it comes to sex toys I think the general attitude is that it's empowering for women but pathetic for men. It's seen as 'empowering' for women as they're taking charge of their own sexual pleasure whereas for men it indicates an inability to acquire sex and hence marks him as a failure. It's very unfair I believe. Sex toys for all I say.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

Trivarion wrote: »
    When it comes to sex toys I think the general attitude is that it's empowering for women but pathetic for men. It's seen as 'empowering' for women as they're taking charge of their own sexual pleasure whereas for men it indicates an inability to acquire sex and hence marks him as a failure. It's very unfair I believe. Sex toys for all I say.

Hmmm maybe or maybe it's just that we can shoot one off at the drop of a hat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Whatever floats your boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Even from your own hands though? That is pretty bad, in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Ok

Ok my new subject of today is Male sex toys and know I dont want to get info on them I can use google..
    What I want to know is why is this,

females tend to be quite open about them owning a rampint rabbit or a dolphin or some egg typ ething or some ogasmatron gaget thats the sise of a lip stick that vibrates something like 6.9 on the rictor scale.

Im not going to go to deep into it byut theres all sorts of, male gagets.
    *snigger* :pac:
    To be honest it doesnt suprise me from the answers I got, That it
    seems a little seedy maybe a little wierd for a single male
    to have a sex toy.

Yet women openly disscuss there gadgets with ease and tro be fair women are a more open then men and thats the way its is.

whats your opinion on the male sex toy and the taboo that goes with it?

Really? I wouldn't think like that at all. Do you mean coming from a man or a womans point of view?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Abigayle wrote: »
    *snigger* :pac:

Really? I wouldn't think like that at all. Do you mean coming from a man or a womans point of view?

I left that in on perpose :P

*honestly*
    well from a few women ive asked they've all said ewww...

then i recall seeing a program on sexcetera which isnt the best program to be watching but the dudes all appeared to be quite weird to say the least.

what are you view on it ? :)

*honestly*
    well from a few women ive asked they've all said ewww...
    Well, its a bit hypocritical I think, considering they probably own a power tool themselves.
    then i recall seeing a program on sexcetera which isnt the best program to be watching but the dudes all appeared to be quite weird to say the least.

what are you views on it ? :)

Well quite simply, I wouldn't have an issue with it if a guy said he had sex toys. A lot of women have some kind of toy, and I just think it would be very narrow-minded of them to critize a guy who owns one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

What are we talking about here? Never considered owning / buying one because beyond the "blow up doll" malarky, I don't really know what's available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

There could be a more practical side to this as well. Womens sex toys tend to be more reusable & simpler to clean and maintain. In contrast sex toys for men probably are a bit more cumbersome, require more maintenance and would be more disposable in nature. I think it just comes down to biology. Probably the only thing female sex toys would need on a recurring basis would be a new set of AA batteries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I dont have one of any discription but dont see what the problem is ,they are I gather tools to enhance your sex life and obiously of great benefit to single men / men without sexual partners . Our sometimes Macho male culture might make some men ( wrongly ) feel inadequate for using or wanting to experiment with them but just like so many women who have sex toys , others will just have no hang up about

Khannie wrote: »
    What are we talking about here? Never considered owning / buying one because beyond the "blow up doll" malarky, I don't really know what's available.

well i wanted to get an idea off whats availble to men so i went on a few sites and theres a range..

so there would be

Blow Job Imitators

Masterbators

vagina and anus, (what appears to be a mould..)

Blow up dolls

Rings

So theres a range out there I dont wanan go to grapphically to what evh does but if Im allowed il post more information if one of the admin will give the go ahead i will but im not going to go to far into the ins and outs.( couldnt resist)

Mrmoe wrote: »
    There could be a more practical side to this as well. Womens sex toys tend to be more reusable & simpler to clean and maintain. In contrast sex toys for men probably are a bit more cumbersome, require more maintenance and would be more disposable in nature. I think it just comes down to biology. Probably the only thing female sex toys would need on a recurring basis would be a new set of AA batteries.

A Fleshlight is reusable, but all toys require some element of maintenance. You don't think we just throw it back in the naughty drawer when we're done, do you? :pac:

Well unless one has bad hygeine habits the flashlight masturbator looks like it would need a regular clean out as well as a regular set of AA batteries to keep the Action going :pac:

Article in the METRO on male sex toys

http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=http://img.metro.co.uk/i/pix/2008/10/mandollCBS_450x300.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.metro.co.uk/lifestyle/342994-male-sex-toys-mans-new-best-friend&usg=__oz0NqzDhKJiLOhILiBAKV5us6XA=&h=300&w=450&sz=31&hl=en&start=5&um=1&itbs=1&tbnid=lEoBfZ5z7xLlVM:&tbnh=85&tbnw=127&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dmale%2Bsex%2Btoys%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26safe%3Doff%26sa%3DN%26rlz%3D1W1RNWN_en%26prmdo%3D1%26tbs%3Disch:1

A Fleshlight is reusable, but all toys require some element of maintenance. You don't think we just throw it back in the naughty drawer when we're done, do you? :pac:
    Straight to wash and onto recharge I would think ? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Men and sex = pervy, women and sex = empowering.

I don't have one because I don't need one, I'd imagine I'd spend longer looking for it than using it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Masterbators

**** man, do blokes pay for those?
    Feck if I was given that as a dirty present I would be pretty dissapointed.
    I have two already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Latchy wrote: »
    Well unless one has bad hygeine habits the flashlight masturbator looks like it would need a regular clean out as well as a regular set of AA batteries to keep the Action going :pac:

Well I would imagine a phallic shaped object would be a lot easier to clean than a hollowed out container but I suppose I've never carried out a rigourous comparison between the two:D.

I came across these thing called tenga eggs before in an article, they are pretty much disposable and cheap, although I can't vouch for them as I've never tried one of those yokes before.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Tenga also do a range like a fleshlight which has a hard case and an inner soft silicon insert which can be easily opened for cleaning and drying, there is a range to choose from and a range of lubes to go with them.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tenga_%28masturbation_toy%29
    http://www.tenga.co.jp/e/products.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Whatever floats yout both, theres double standards for men and women all the time when it comes to sex eg he gets laid every week=stud, she gets laid every week=slut. so sex toys isnt going to be any different. In most peoples eyes a guy who cant find a woman and has to use a sex toy is pathetic and sad, whereas a woman who doesnt need a man is empowering and you go girl and all that rubbish.

Well I would imagine a phallic shaped object would be a lot easier to clean than a hollowed out container but I suppose I've never carried out a rigourous comparison between the two:D.

I came across these thing called tenga eggs before in an article, they are pretty much disposable and cheap, although I can't vouch for them as I've never tried one of those yokes before.;)

I would guess the main thing would be to make sure no soapy water gets into the working parts (battery / charger dept ) :pac:
    Thaedydal wrote: »
    Tenga also do a range like a fleshlight which has a hard case and an inner soft silicon insert which can be easily opened for cleaning and drying, there is a range to choose from and a range of lubes to go with them.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tenga_%28masturbation_toy%29
    http://www.tenga.co.jp/e/products.html

2 million sales in Japan and also with the option of using a condom for further use
    krudler wrote: »
    Whatever floats yout both, theres double standards for men and women all the time when it comes to sex eg he gets laid every week=stud, she gets laid every week=slut. so sex toys isnt going to be any different. In most peoples eyes a guy who cant find a woman and has to use a sex toy is pathetic and sad, whereas a woman who doesnt need a man is empowering and you go girl and all that rubbish.

You have to remember there are many who for one reason or another cant form loving / sexual relationships with others ,who would not be comfortable going to a prostitute, people with disabilitys ,widows ,widowers , shy people so at the end of the day using sex toys to fill that gap in their lifes is ok .

I would not class anybody using sex toys as sad .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Hahahahahahahaha, Fleshlight!!!!!

Its funny cos it looks like a "Flash light", get it?

Oh man thats the funniest thing Ive ever seen, no way have they sold any of those.

Hahaha, fleshlight!! Thats classic.

EDIT: Im still laughing at that but this really sent me over the edge: They have a "sex in a can" product called O'Doyles Irish Stout!!!

Looks like a can of Guinness with an arse and this is its description (sfw)

For generations, O'Doyle's Stout has been brewed to the same satisfying recipie that Mr. O'Doyle himself created in the Irish countryside all those years ago. Let the luck of the Irish guide your hand to experience all the forbidden pleasures of this rare backdoor stout. Give O'Doyle's Stout your best shot, and you'll understand why this unmistakably lifelike feel has withstood the test of time.

Bahahhahahahahahahahahahahhahahahhahahahah!!!!!

Link: http://www.fleshlight.com/sex-in-a-can/gold/ (NSFW, I think, though Im not sure, its seems too rediclous tbh)

Fleshlights are one of the worlds best selling sex toys for men.
    It was created and designed to looking like a flashlight to be descrete and was created by a man who's wife was undergoing a very risky pregnancy and didn't want to go outside his marriage despite thier lack of sex life.

http://www.wired.com/culture/lifestyle/commentary/sexdrive/2008/02/sexdrive_0215
    The SWAT team isn't always the first thing that comes to mind when you think about masturbation. On the other hand, they do have cool gear, and when they're doing what they do best, who's going to question that huge flashlight dangling from the tool belt?

Former SWAT officer Steve Shubin was about 40 when he and his wife discovered they were in a high-risk pregnancy with identical twins. No sexual intercourse, said the doctors; you could lose the babies.

"I asked my wife 'would you think I was a pervert if I told you there was something that I could use, sexually?'" Shubin says. "But the adult store had only junk. Just crap. I thought, I can make something better, and took $50,000 of our savings to start working on it."

Despite resistance from friends and colleagues who worried that developing sex toys would "hurt our reputation as a family," Shubin developed what has become one of the most popular sexual devices for men: the Fleshlight (NSFW). It has now sold more than a million units and comes in a number of configurations to suit various orientations, goals and preferences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

FYI
    I'm not planing on buying one. I do not have one. It just came into mind ok more or lees i live above restauunt and there where to ladys out side disscussing such matter which left to my resulting thread....

Note to admin I felt it was a safe enough thread to start, as its more of
    soical thing then an actual issue hence why i started it

I reckon if you can tell us why you felt the need to add the disclaimer, you've answered your own question :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Oh man, you're killing me.

I have tears in my eyes, that is seriously the funniest thing Ive ever seen.

Genius!!

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Kooli

krudler wrote: »

I think that's too simple a way to look at it.

I think the double standard exists because of a perception that women use sex toys in order to masturbate and orgasm effectively, but that men can do that fairly easily without any assistance, which leads to a conclusion that maybe they are using sex aids as some sort of 'woman substitute' which makes it seem more pathetic. I don't agree that it is, but I wonder if that's where the perception comes from. Like if a woman had sex with a life size man-doll it would be seen as equally pathetic. Maybe?

And yes, I realise that lots of female sex toys are shaped like penises, which may negate my point...

Kooli wrote: »
    I think that's too simple a way to look at it.

I think the double standard exists because of a perception that women use sex toys in order to masturbate and orgasm effectively, but that men can do that fairly easily without any assistance, which leads to a conclusion that maybe they are using sex aids as some sort of 'woman substitute' which makes it seem more pathetic. I don't agree that it is, but I wonder if that's where the perception comes from.
    My take on it to
    Like if a woman had sex with a life size man-doll it would be seen as equally pathetic. Maybe?

And yes, I realise that lots of female sex toys are shaped like penises, which may negate my point...

It's not pathetic in the sense that both sexs use the replica part's of the male / female body for pleasure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Forget buying toys, just get a few ice cubes out of the freezer and you're sorted. Oh wait......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Kooli

It's not pathetic in the sense that both sexs use the replica part's of the male / female body for pleasure

Yes but I suppose the reason I see it as different is that although a lot of women's sex toys are shaped like a penis, that's almost a side note and not really necessary or 'the point', and in fact others that aren't that shape are probably increasing in popularity.

But for the men's sex toys, I imagine the whole point is that it replicates a part of a woman's body. Am I wrong?

(I may very well be wrong, but what I'm saying may still be the 'perception' out there that leads to the double standard).

Lube is the best basic sex toy there is, (thread on that in the S&S forum).
    Yes but I suppose the reason I see it as different is that although a lot of women's sex toys are shaped like a penis, that's almost a side note and not really necessary or 'the point', and in fact others that aren't that shape are probably increasing in popularity.

A lot of them aren't, in some places it's illegal if they are and honestly there are lots of weird and wonderful shapes which aren't phallic like at all.
    But for the men's sex toys, I imagine the whole point is that it replicates a part of a woman's body. Am I wrong?

(I may very well be wrong, but what I'm saying may still be the 'perception' out there that leads to the double standard).

Yes if the guy is gay or bi so there is the fleshjack which features male anatomy for that verison of the fleshlight.

I think the idea of the old horrible blow up doll is part of why male sex toys are so frowned upon.
    The tenga designs are pretty classy and don't look like badly simulated female parts.

Nope ,that's the whole idea were I imagine the image of the female body plays as much part in the sex act as the actual physical use of the toy

I think it is the perception for the reasons you state so we have what might be called a status quo out there as to what's acceptable re sex toys .

On a side note - Jokes about sheep and the use of jars of liver have being around long before sex toys :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

PK2008 wrote: »
    Hahahahahahahaha, Fleshlight!!!!!

Its funny cos it looks like a "Flash light", get it?

Oh man thats the funniest thing Ive ever seen, no way have they sold any of those.

Hahaha, fleshlight!! Thats classic.

EDIT: Im still laughing at that but this really sent me over the edge: They have a "sex in a can" product called O'Doyles Irish Stout!!!

Looks like a can of Guinness with an arse and this is its description (sfw)

For generations, O'Doyle's Stout has been brewed to the same satisfying recipie that Mr. O'Doyle himself created in the Irish countryside all those years ago. Let the luck of the Irish guide your hand to experience all the forbidden pleasures of this rare backdoor stout. Give O'Doyle's Stout your best shot, and you'll understand why this unmistakably lifelike feel has withstood the test of time.

Bahahhahahahahahahahahahahhahahahhahahahah!!!!!

Link: http://www.fleshlight.com/sex-in-a-can/gold/ (NSFW, I think, though Im not sure, its seems too rediclous tbh)

This is your first time hearing about the fleshlight? you do have email right? I get mails trying to sell me one every other day, not quite sure what they're trying to tell me :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭Smallbit

...the use of jars of liver have being around long before sex toys :D

I'm going green just considering the possible use of liver during masturbation :eek:

My own twopence worth is that male masturbation is judged harshly by both sexes. Men see it as a failure to 'get the real thing' and women see it as either slightly 'dirty' or threatening to our, ahem, market monopoly :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

Snowey cracking thread.

No harm for asking.

I was at a party years back and a doctor from James Hospital Casualty said that she had to deal with people who used stuff from around the house that got stuck, like utensils and stuff.

I havent felt safe in Argos since :p

I would never ever use anyones electric toothbrush never ever ever

Smallbit wrote: »
    I'm going green just considering the possible use of liver during masturbation :eek:

Think I first saw the mention of jar of liver as a sex tool in a similar thread about a year ago . I think he was joking :p
    My own twopence worth is that male masturbation is judged harshly by both sexes. Men see it as a failure to 'get the real thing' and women see it as either slightly 'dirty' or threatening to our, ahem, market monopoly :pac:

Thousends of teeange boys and young men may not have the luxury of ' getting the real thing ' ( yet ) and nothing to do with being seen as a failure so masturbation is the option , not forgetting some with girlfriends who while not going the full way , will be happy to ... ahem ' lend them a hand ' :pac:

CDfm wrote: »
    Snowey cracking thread.

No harm for asking.

I was at a party years back and a doctor from James Hospital Casualty said that she had to deal with people who used stuff from around the house that got stuck, like utensils and stuff.

And dont even go there with the Cucumbers :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭Monkeybonkers

I would never use anyones toothbrush anyway, electric or not :p

isnt it odd -you go into tGC and there is a sex toy thread and if i am not mistaken its the women posters who have all the answers

Aha 10,000 spoons and all you need is a knife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭Monkeybonkers

isnt it odd -you go into tGC and there is a sex toy thread and if i am not mistaken its the women posters who have all the answers

Aha 10,000 spoons and all you need is a knife

Careful, a knife for a sex toy could get messy

Snowey cracking thread.

No harm for asking.

Some people just have an avid interested in human sexuality and are happy to point people in the right direction, I don't get why gender is an issue.

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Some people just have an avid interested in human sexuality and are happy to point people in the right direction, I don't get why gender is an issue.

Isn't it ironic, dont you think :p

Well don't let it be good advice you just didn't take cos who ever tought it figured.

But the OP made it clear that he wasnt looking for advice just had a passing interest in a thought for the day way.

So I instantly thought ...............

<H1>British dwarf's penis gets stuck in vacuum cleaner

</H1>05:55 AEST Tue Aug 21 2007

A dwarf performer at the Edinburgh fringe festival had to be rushed to hospital after his penis got stuck to a vacuum cleaner during an act that went horribly awry.

Daniel Blackner, or "Captain Dan the Demon Dwarf", was due to perform at the Circus of Horrors at the festival known for its oddball, offbeat performances.
    The main part of his act saw him appear on stage with a vacuum cleaner attached to his member through a special attachment.
    The attachment broke before the performance and Blackner tried to fix it using extra-strong glue, but unfortunately only let it dry for 20 seconds instead of the 20 minutes required.
    He then joined it directly to his organ. The end result? A solid attachment, laughter, mortification and ... hospitalisation.
    "It was the most embarrassing moment of my life when I got wheeled into a packed A&E with a vacuum attached to me," Blackner said.
    "I just wished the ground could swallow me up. Luckily, they saw me quickly so the embarrassment was short-lived."

Or will any of the lads come back and give experiences or whatever -there is always a chance some guy will drunkenly post about getting his pecker caught in a coke bottle when he was 5.

He did make a point that ladies tend to be more open to toys ,probably for anatomical reasons.

The japenese take things to an extreme level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Luckily, they saw me quickly so the embarrassment was short-lived.

How punning of the dwarf ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

Thousends of teeange boys and young men may not have the luxury of ' getting the real thing '

getting the real thing does not stop us masturbating. Unless the partner is really active.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Will never pick anything up, but curious to know what they are like. It's ok lefty and righty, you are safe though.

i wonder if fruitbats improvise :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Would love to give the fleshlights a go, but seeing as I have a hand I couldn't be bothered buying one.

But the OP made it clear that he wasnt looking for advice just had a passing interest in a thought for the day way.

prcisley Ive no interest, in buying one dout i could afford it. besides you can use an arm band with a bit of lube is just as good :eek: :pac:

LOL :D

Ya have just put fleshlight out of business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Pittens wrote: »
    getting the real thing does not stop us masturbating. Unless the partner is really active.

TBH that doesn't even matter really,

for instance was sitting in a restaurant with a friend today when he announced that he's after going mad looking at porn hub lately.

Poor bastard only just discovered the internet, his OH is a cracker and they have a very active sex life, but it hasn't stopped him.

And Sometimes you just crack one out 'cause you're bored and well it's hangin' there. :pac:

I know of at least two of my friends that have those little silver bullet things... they are both gay which i suppose makes a difference.. in that they would have slightly different sexual practices.