Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When an Astra meets the Nurburging

• 19-05-2010 8:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭

Just caught a glimpse of this on Pistonheads

Ouch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

Poor guy! but that's the ring for you..... good to see the guy in the first car on the scene follow the correct proceedure,i thought he was going to drive off for a second!

Edit i'd hate to see the bill he got!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭mcauley

Having watched it again, the 3 guys seem to walk away from it thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

mcauley wrote: »
    Having watched it again, the 3 guys seem to walk away from it thankfully.

They don't normally bring in the heli for nothing ...there may have been a 4th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

peasant wrote: »
    They don't normally bring in the heli for nothing ...there may have been a 4th?

Looks like 3, they got out both sides of the car pretty sharpish too so I'd say a good dose of shock, maybe whiplash is all they got thankfully. Germans get helicopters out for very little, either way its expensive (heli, track team, repair of armco) and the insurance won't cough up either.

Drove the Ring many times in the early 90's. Great fun but the dodgiest track I've ever been on, all sorts of surfaces, dips, different weather in different sections, different track temperatures everywhere because of the amount of shade on the track but a mad day out all the same.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

bijapos wrote: »
    Drove the Ring many times in the early 90's. Great fun but the dodgiest track I've ever been on, all sorts of surfaces, dips, different weather in different sections, different track temperatures everywhere because of the amount of shade on the track but a mad day out all the same.

Like a road race.

Definitely gonna bike it sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Germans get helicopters out for very little,

No, they don't. That heli is an air ambulance with a dedicated first response doctor on board. It gets called only when the ambulance personell on the scene deems it necessary and the case is so urgent that the patient might not survive normal road transport.

Calling the heli also triggers an emergency team on standby in the dedicated air ambulance receiving hospital ...they really don't do all that just for the fun of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

did a guy with a flag jump out of the first car that passes them and pulls in on the right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Reading up on the track and the more you read about it the scarier the prospect becomes.

The cost is the main thing, any sort of a crash would have the potential to bankrupt me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

Did it in a rental and no, not a track rental. 100K worth of rental with 3,000 miles on it! Took it handy enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

I heard of someone who done 10k worth of damage to his evo and got a bill for 20k from the track.. nnnnooooo..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Theres a GTI you can rent for a couple of laps I think, might be the best option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Jaysus they don't hang about, garda chopper an all. Hope driver was alright after that smash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I wonder do they explain the concept of understeer to Ring newbies? Not their job admittedly, but it might help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Crazy stuff. He did hit that corner at some speed though. The car held up surprisingly well considering! Well asides from the door opening when it rolled.

30706_390910472419_507127419_3977316_159338_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

he went too fast into it. The bend tightens in very quick after a nice run into it.

I am very impressed by air ambulance response. under 1 min to touch down. I know the air ambulance is at the course but to get it flying and then to the location and touched down in under one min is impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

chris85 wrote: »
    he went too fast into it. The bend tightens in very quick after a nice run into it.

I am very impressed by air ambulance response. under 1 min to touch down. I know the air ambulance is at the course but to get it flying and then to the location and touched down in under one min is impressive.

The recording is split, one second the astra is on its own and the next its surrounded by vehicles and the helicopter is flying, I doubt it was under a minute ;)

Absurdum wrote: »
    did a guy with a flag jump out of the first car that passes them and pulls in on the right?

Its not a flag but a hi viz vest by the looks of it,thats the rule first on the scene has the responsibility of warning on coming traffic.
    chris85 wrote: »

There is an edit in the recording at around 46 secs.

The ring bites lads,seen a few cars on flatbeds in a worse state than the astra still didn't stop me driving it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Would I be right in saying that that is the special Nurburging edition of the Astra VXR/OPC too? Slightly ironic if that is the case.

http://beta.finance-on.net/galerije/54/opel_astra_opc_nurburgring_aja.jpg

http://www.car-vs-car.de/images/autos/galerie/galerieOpel-Astra-Opc-N-FCrburgring-Edition-osxH.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Was meant to be his first ever lap aswell, he was aiming at doing it in under 10min.

Idiot.

Well spotted. Looks like it alright, alloys and chequered decals match up.

Was meant to be his first ever lap aswell, he was aiming at doing it in under 10min.

Idiot.

Thats why i never worried about laptimes when i was there and never will.He was clearly carrying too much speed into that corner,i witnessed the new land rover sport in the hands of a professional nearly get totalled through those 2 bends.

The bend before is a descent and that bend is an ascent,you can carry some serious speed into it after coming down hill!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

/this video scares me :(

I still wanna do the nurburgring but..jesus christ =/

If you do crash at the Ring heres an idea of prices to pay:

Got it off www.vxronline.co.uk

Optional extras available at additional cost include armco repairs, safety car attendance, vehicle recovery, track closure, hospital stays and helicopter rides. I recommend avoiding these. If you can't, then the following price-list may help:

Base fee for attendance of armco truck: €150
    Removing damaged armco: €10/metre (x2 or x3 or x4 for multiple-height sections)
    Replacement armco: €31/metre (x2 or x3 for double/triple height)
    Removing damaged armco posts: €5.10 each
    Replacing armco post: €39 each
    Safety car attendance: €82 per 30 mins (car + 2 people)
    Circuit closure: €1,350 per hour
    Recovery truck: €190 (inc VAT)
    Hospital stay & air ambulance: Let's just say, do NOT go there without travel insurance! (Though a European Health Card - which replaced the E111 - may cover the hospital bit.)
    Everything except the recovery truck is then subject to 19% VAT.

The record armco bill I'm aware of is €15,000. That was a car that managed to flatten a very impressive length of armco between the Quiddlebacher Hohe bridge and the crest on the approach to Flugplatz. But even a minor bump can turn into a surprisingly expensive day out.

E46 M3 if i remember correctly! Thats the other side of tihe ring,you can drive it handy yourself and not push it too hard but there is the risk of getting taken out by some other idiot,i was nearly taken out over 2 successive laps by a brand new M3 and an EVO,the M3 driver was a proper idiot who instead of going around me (i had seen him pulled over and was indicating to the right) he decided to stay on my line and gain on my back bumper as we both appoached a left hander at speed,before pulling out at the last minute and missing me by about a foot,at this stage i was running out of track and was going to be forced into taking the left hander,another couple of feet and i would have been pulling out into the line he took,another idiot after a lap time!

Driver seems to have escaped serious injury:

http://www.vxronline.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=91829&highlight=NURBURGRING&page=18
    guys,

i thank most of u who are concerned about the well being of all involved in the crash, it was indeed me, i was driving my car on the ring,as u can see in the video i was entering the corner to fast so driver error is to blame.i got airlifted as precaution as they suspected a broken neck,even tho i walked out they sed shock could hav made the body respond with panick! however,im fine,cuple scratches on my head,bits of glass decided to move into my skin,n a savage case of whiplash. my friends are also fine,alex has whiplash to.

car is as u can see a write off, shes in a bad state, im awaitin a date to be able to collect her. its 300kms from me.

Got his first bill too, the big one is in the post.
    http://www.vxronline.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=92495&page=5
    I received my first invoice yday from the ring.

70 safety car deployment,
    232 for four personnel,
    63 for something,
    25 admin fee,
    = 390 euros from the ring.

this doesnt hav track closure and damage,that will be on the next invoice from nett-metallbau.de

thats going to be the one to worry about!!

ill update as more info in received!
    the next invoice will be the big one, as its something like 2500 euros per hour the ring is closed.

i know that its 1350 per hour its shut, im wondering if they will charge extra shutting time when they fix/change any damaged armco,hmmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭mcauley

That's eye watering!! :eek:

If you do crash at the Ring heres an idea of prices to pay:

Got it off www.vxronline.co.uk

Optional extras available at additional cost include armco repairs, safety car attendance, vehicle recovery, track closure, hospital stays and helicopter rides. I recommend avoiding these. If you can't, then the following price-list may help:

Base fee for attendance of armco truck: €150
    Removing damaged armco: €10/metre (x2 or x3 or x4 for multiple-height sections)
    Replacement armco: €31/metre (x2 or x3 for double/triple height)
    Removing damaged armco posts: €5.10 each
    Replacing armco post: €39 each
    Safety car attendance: €82 per 30 mins (car + 2 people)
    Circuit closure: €1,350 per hour
    Recovery truck: €190 (inc VAT)
    Hospital stay & air ambulance: Let's just say, do NOT go there without travel insurance! (Though a European Health Card - which replaced the E111 - may cover the hospital bit.)
    Everything except the recovery truck is then subject to 19% VAT.

It would be cheaper to rig your car with c4 explosives and blow it up if you crashed to destroy the evidence as you leg it through the forest!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

In happier news, Gran Turismo 5 is coming, and is supposed to have the most detailed ring track yet. Now, to sell the 360 and buy a PS3.

http://www.autoblog.com/2010/05/18/gran-turismo-5-releases-new-nurburgring-shots-complete-with-ten/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

Must show this to the brother-in-law.

We're planning on doing the 'Ring next year and he is on about getting an M3 or some other sports car to race around it.....it'll be the first time any of us will be there so I'll only be cruising slowly in my own car.....still debating wether to take my 1st car (micra) for the craic or the Laguna! To me its just getting to drive on it....mabey in a few years when I've the money (and hopefully time) I'll take it more serious but for next year I plan to take the Taxi around for proper thrills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

Im booking my trip in july.

Didnt need to see this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

In happier news, Gran Turismo 5 is coming, and is supposed to have the most detailed ring track yet. Now, to sell the 360 and buy a PS3.

http://www.autoblog.com/2010/05/18/gran-turismo-5-releases-new-nurburgring-shots-complete-with-ten/

0o0o0o0 I spy a McLaren F1
    gp005wa.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Great day out then

1-Wreck and write of an Astra.
    2-Cough up for repair work to arm co barriers and damage to track (if damaged).
    3-Pay for the revovery from the track of wrecked car
    4-Long walk/hitch hike back to your home/homeland.................minus a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Pique

Not as lucky as this guy !!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Flesh Gorden

When I first saw the video I taught the car might have belonged to that guy VXRMarc from detailing world,

different reg though, besides I'd say his one will is only used as a demo car for his business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Pique wrote: »

well that all happened quite quick!
    got verrrrrry lucky..was entertaining to listen to though :D

"don't hit the armco don't hit the armco!!"

wow,nice save me hole they were all passengers,just got lucky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭high horse

Was the Citroen ZX in that video a diesel? Those guys were very, very lucky!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

high horse wrote: »
    Was the Citroen ZX in that video a diesel? Those guys were very, very lucky!

What the hell happened there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Confab wrote: »
    What the hell happened there?

The guy was driving like a tool and exceeding the limits of the cars abilities.

Don't drive the Ring if you don't have the money in the bank !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Was chatting to a mate about this over the weekend as he has an Astra OPC. He was aware of it as he is a member of a VXR forum and this guy had posted there too.

What is interesting, and I didn't see it mentioned here.........whatever about the state of the car directly after the crash, look at the state of it once he got it back from the recovery crowd!!!!! The bonnet is completely mangled whatever they managed to do to it.

http://s855.photobucket.com/albums/ab118/darch70/crash%20at%20the%20ring%2009%2005%2010/

Thats a shame as it was totally salvageable until they went and did that to the bonnet,do these people have no respect!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

Wtf did they do to it?!

Looks like they recovered the car with a tin opener.

I would think 'twas fairly fecked after the crash regardless of how they salvaged it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Well I dont know how the do it at the Nurburging but at most tracks I know if you have a bad crash they will cut whatever they need in order to get the driver out of the car.

This has resulted in some quite funny incidents including drivers of singles seaters jumping out of their race cars after a bad crash and falling over just to stop them from cutting their car in half :)

Lol, yeah I'd probably do the same!

But I doubt the driver had any issues getting out by the looks of the photos.

The doors looked in working order and I doubt the recovery team were trying to get driver/passengers out via the bonnet/engine bay!

Hard to say if it was a write off after the accident. But lifting it by putting the strap throughthe doorway and lifting it by the roof doesn't help and probably caused the roof to deform.

Bonnet was probably bent up as the garage might have been trying to nick stuff out of the engine bay. Nothing unusual in this.

Guy I worked for in Frankfurt years ago crashed a 1 year old 740i. We were at the scene of the accident, saw the car being loaded onto a transporter, went to the yard 3 hours later, alloys and cd player, speakers and cd changer were already gone. Next day the insurance guy came to have a look and the leather interior was half taken out, 2 days later the engine and gearbox were gone! Thieving *****.