Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, how will it end? (Possible Spoilers)

• 19-05-2010 12:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭

With the Season finale premiering this Sunday in the US and next Thursday in Ireland, how will it all end?

This thread will be an opportunity for everyone to post their predictions and we will see who comes the closest!

Preferably no one liners like "They all die" or "It will end with 'the credits'" please... :o

My own theory:

A catastrophic event is required to re-align the two timelines. I reckon the Electro-magnetic device will be used which will sink the island and kill everyone on it. This will allow the writers to have their cake and eat it. All the characters on the island will die, but their lives will continue on in the flash-sideways. I can imagine when they reach the concert and the event takes place on the island they will all pass out or something and then re-awake with the knowledge of what happened in another time and place - the island.

So, what is everybody's own predictions or theories?

P.S I have not ready any spoilers of the Finale, and I don't even know if some are available, but if everyone could avoid doing so when posting it would be great - as this thread is about theories; not the ACTUAL ending which may have leaked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,343 ✭✭✭Dull and Boring

At the end of season two one of my friends told us he'd read how lost ended (this was back when we didn't know how many series there would be) and proceeded to tell us a long story about purgatory explaining all the questions and all these elaborate details.....this all happened on a school trip and the story gradually spread throughout the bus until eventually after loads of people asking him about it he had to confess it was all a load of crap......if it ends up like that though it'd be pretty funny!:p

I think your probably right they will all die island wise and then just continue oblivious in the flash sideways!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭20goto10

ur probably right they will all die island wise and then just continue oblivious in the flash sideways!

It has to end with the smoke monster escaping. Locke in the flash sideways had a near death experience, which means he knows about the Island, but he hasn't let on to it. He even mumbled "push the button" in his sleep. I reckon he could turn out to be the smoke monster (that is in the flash sideways timeline). Maybe thats why Desmond try to kill him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭Amerika

It will end with them auctioning off Lost movie props. DHARMA Beer... yummmm. ;)
    http://www.profilesinhistory.com/lost-auction-preview/lost-auction-preview/page-3-5.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Jay Ru

20goto10 wrote: »
    It has to end with the smoke monster escaping. Locke in the flash sideways had a near death experience, which means he knows about the Island, but he hasn't let on to it. He even mumbled "push the button" in his sleep. I reckon he could turn out to be the smoke monster (that is in the flash sideways timeline). Maybe thats why Desmond try to kill him?

Desmond did not try to kill Locke, he knocked him over so Jack cud operate on him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭darrenh

Jay Ru wrote: »
    Desmond did not try to kill Locke, he knocked him over so Jack cud operate on him!

Some people dont know that yet though. The RTE crew aren't up to date!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Ye OP/Mod maybe make a note in the title spoilers if you arent up to date..i.e havent seen "How they died"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

I don't think Whitmore is dead, Ben took the walkie talkies and gave one to Miles as part of the plan(Miles probably got Desmond out of the well), he then hid Whitmore in the closet and probably gave him a bullet proof vest to save him when he got shot. What ever Whitmore said to Locke is probably a trap for the final so Ben is still a good guy.

Witmore will appear at the end to help Jack save the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

What I would have liked:
    If it had turned out that as opposed to the losties creating the alternate time-line it was the alternative time-line that created the losties. (If that makes sense.) Jacob and Mib would have been scientists working with Faraday that somehow (which the finale would have shown) get stranded 2000 years ago in an alternate timeline (the regular time-line that we're all so fond of).
    All the ghosts, psychics and mysterious events could then have been explained as being consequences of actions that occurred in the other time-line. For example everyone close by when <insert big event here> occurs would have unusual abilities in the other time-line.

What I think will happen:
    Desmond will get fecked in the magic cave but he won't turn into a smoke monster because he's immune to electromagnetism. Then in the cave he'll combine the two time-lines. Sawyer or Ben will turn into a smoke monster and we'll see a smoke-off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Hopefully we find out why Faraday has a different name to his mother and father!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭dudeitshurley

I think something like this : both timelines will survive. Jack as protector of the island in the original timeline, possibly everyone else dead. And in the FST they all become aware of the true timeline and their true selves and it becomes a happily ever after thing. Jack gets with Kate, Sawyer with Juliette, Hurley and Libby, Charlie and Claire, Rose and Bernard, Shannon and Sayid etc. they all find their true love. So we'd have 1 timeline where there is a melancholy end, possibly more death and sacrifice, and the other with a happy ending.

This or a vague ending where we're not certain if both timeslines survive. Or maybe something creepy like the FST survives but smokie or whatever evil is lurking. Meh i dunno!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I think something like this : both timelines will survive. Jack as protector of the island in the original timeline, possibly everyone else dead. And in the FST they all become aware of the true timeline and their true selves and it becomes a happily ever after thing. Jack gets with Kate, Sawyer with Juliette, Hurley and Libby, Charlie and Claire, Rose and Bernard, Shannon and Sayid etc. they all find their true love. So we'd have 1 timeline where there is a melancholy end, possibly more death and sacrifice, and the other with a happy ending.

Dude, I wish you were writing the ending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Hopefully we find out why Faraday has a different name to his mother and father!

I would say he probably changed it himself to distance himself from his ol' pair or he was adopted out as a child. Ethan had a different name to his parents. As does Miles etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭Marcaiocht_Tonn

I'm still holding out for some epic twist - I think the writers might pull something that people will talk about for ages, which will also serve to distract us from unsolved mysteries etc.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

There's been a strong theme of repetition, and the writers have mentioned it too. So I think the whole situation will resolve itself one way or the other, and then in the closing few seconds we will see Jack and Locke sitting on the beach and another ship arriving or a plane crash or something to indicate that it's all going to happen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Lawstud

I hope we don't have a... "they all lived happily ever after" ending. I have a bad feeling that we have already seen the last scene of lost i.e. the island under the water.

What i think will happen is that they will all become aware in the FST of the orginal island timeline. This will happen at the concert. They will all live happily ever after in the FST.

Back on the island the big face off insues between MIB and the losties. We know that the MIB hates water. The only way he can be stopped is to sink the island. The MIB will then be sufficently "corked" so to speak.

All the island losties die. But hey they all live happliy ever after in the FST.

Not a cool ending at all. Hope it doesn't end anything like this. I hope there is one final big twist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Lawstud wrote: »
    I hope we don't have a... "they all lived happily ever after" ending. I have a bad feeling that we have already seen the last scene of lost i.e. the island under the water.

What i think will happen is that they will all become aware in the FST of the orginal island timeline. This will happen at the concert. They will all live happily ever after in the FST.

Back on the island the big face off insues between MIB and the losties. We know that the MIB hates water. The only way he can be stopped is to sink the island. The MIB will then be sufficently "corked" so to speak.

All the island losties die. But hey they all live happliy ever after in the FST.

Not a cool ending at all. Hope it doesn't end anything like this. I hope there is one final big twist.

I hope it doesn't end like this too, but I am afraid thats pretty much it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

I'm fairly certain that's how it will end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭coconut5

Haven't they claimed since the end of season 2 or 3 that they always knew what the final scenes would be? But then when the show kept getting renewed, they had to keep pushing the resolution back.

I would love if that is true, but I doubt it at this late stage. We definitely need a good twist though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

It'll end with Jack mumbling latin prayers/spells over some water, and giving the water to a polar bear, who will then be like him, and will go off and eat FLocke/Cecil...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭seadnamac

In typical Lost fashion, it won't end with some big revelation or dramatic event but instead will focus on a 'character development'. The final scene will revolve around Kate being torn over whether to stay with Jack or leave with Sawyer, finally deciding on who is the one for her, her true beau.

All the while an epic battle will be underway between Cecil, Widmore, Desmond, Ben and all the other surviving characters who don't really have any purpose anymore but they might aswell give something to do. This however will be off camera, as it isn't as important as Kate's little dilemma.

They will cut to this just in time to see Cecil emerge victorious. He will then kill both Jack (cue celebrations in living rooms around the world) and Sawyer. Kate, always one for the bad boy, will be so impressed with this total badass that she will swoon all over him and declare her undieing love for Cecil. Cecil wins the day, finally getting to leave the island and with a smoking hot chick to boot.

END CREDITS

PROMO FOR UPCOMING SPIN OFF SERIES - Kate....and the Bad Man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭Tragamin2k2

seadnamac wrote: »

END CREDITS

PROMO FOR UPCOMING SPIN OFF SERIES - Kate....and the Bald Man.

heh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

What I would think would be pretty cool (and I have always said that this will be how it ends) will be Jack and another character (prob MIB) sitting on the beach about 200 years into the future and a plane breaks up in the air and crashes and Jack saws to MIB "Here we go again".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Lawstud

There is a problem with this. If the island is sunk in the original island timeline it doesn't mean that it sunk in the FST. Therefore, Jacob MIB and the island may all still exist in the 2004 FST.

Whatever happened to the Universe Course Correcting itself i.e. whats done is done etc. Remember Desmond couldn't save Charlie no matter how many times he saved him. Eloise advised Desmond that the universe has a way of course correcting itself. So with that in mind, if the orginal island timeline is ultimately doomed. So too must the 2004 FST.

A fuuny possible ending could be that Jack attends the concert with his black haired son. (Dont think we have been told his name yet). They meet Jacks wife. Who turns out to be "Mother". She has a blond haired boy with her. They greet each other. The two boys look at each other their eyes narrow with sinister intent... Hello Jacob...Hello Cecil:D

Potential Last line: Desmond: "See you in another life brother"
    Jack: "We have to go back. WE HAVE TO GO BACK!"

There is a problem with this. If the island is sunk in the original island timeline it doesn't mean that it sunk in the FST. Therefore, Jacob MIB and the island may all still exist in the 2004 FST.

Ah, but the island IS sunken in the 2004 FST, and not in the original timeline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Grr that's exactly what's going to happen isn't it :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭Marcaiocht_Tonn

gazzer wrote: »
    What I would think would be pretty cool (and I have always said that this will be how it ends) will be Jack and another character (prob MIB) sitting on the beach about 200 years into the future and a plane breaks up in the air and crashes and Jack saws to MIB "Here we go again".

If it's 200 years in the future, it'll probably be some form of sub-orbital hoverpod. Same plot of course, but when it crashes the new Losties will have built-in nano-implants and mind-uplinks so they can communicate with each other in 101001010110 binary. So Jack and MIB will be f*cked and totally out-of-date. When MIB tries to then smoke them out of it, they'll beat him back with a Tachyon-inverted forcefield and just teleport away using their Verteron mind-spasms. Jack will be forced to choose the next candiate from the indigenous wildlife (Vincent?? Come on the dog HAS to become the new Jacob at some point. Woof)

Hey, gotta wonder how current Jacob reacted when he saw his first jet crashing on the island?? Bit of a change from the Black Rock. I guess we can infer that on a grand timescale, there were regular enough strandings that he was incrementally introduced to advances in human technology.

I think about this sh1t way too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Hey, gotta wonder how current Jacob reacted when he saw his first jet crashing on the island?? Bit of a change from the Black Rock. I guess we can infer that on a grand timescale, there were regular enough strandings that he was incrementally introduced to advances in human technology.

This was explained in the temple when Jacob asked Hurley to "go and get Jack....and cancel my FHM subscription....because I'm dead now".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Here is a theory.
    Wasnt Desmond a holy man for awhile. Can envisage a scene in a monastery at the start. Five knives will be revealed to him. These will be used in attempt to kill Locke.
    I think he will have to be immersed in water otherwise.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

gazzer wrote: »

Actually Sawyer is probably the most likely. As part of killing MiB, Sawyer will probably fall into the light and come out as the new smoke monster. He's the one who wants off the island the most so there'd be a strong parallel there with MiB.

I'd say there's a chance that one or two of the remaining 'candidates' will offer to stay or to help Jack from off the island... As head of Mittelos Bioscience for example?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 MickCue

I it will end with jack waking up in his bed and it was all just a big random dream.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

It will end with the letters LOST and underneath -to be continued.
    Movie on its way is my hunch. They said it wasnt about purgatory and it pretty much was. Dont believe everything the producers tell you in other words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Is Matthew Fox still bigging up the fact that he always knew what the end is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

I haven't read anyone else's theories so apologies if this has similar elements.
    • Hurley is dead. He's going to fill the Charlie role for this finale as the tear-jerking death. I can see something like an accidental shooting happening, Hurley saying "Dude...", then keeling over before Sawyer yells "HUGO!" and we have to come to terms with what's happened.
    • Ditto Kate. And Jack's going to cause it. During a scene where he is torn between having to save her or the island, he picks the island. He has come full circle. And now the era of people dying under Jack's command, like they did under Jacob, has begun. Kate also dies to save Claire...who Jack will allow home to mother Aaron again.
    • Personally, I think we need to actually SEE the devastation that unleashing MIB on the world can cause. We need to appreciate what's so bad if he DOES get off the island. The electromagnetic event causes him to be unleashed on the FST and destroy them once and for all.
    • Ben is going to sacrifice himself to save the Losties and ultimately die a hero.
    • Sawyer goes to war with Jack after the latter causes Kate's death. Sawyer vs Jack has been creeping back in to the main consciousness of the show since the start of this season. Now it's time to pay it off once-and-for-all. A fight between the pair sees Jack throw Sawyer into the heart of the island, ala Jacob/MIB. Remember, Jacob never explained to Jack HOW he made his brother that way.
    • I've always LOVED the theory that the final scene will be Sawyer approaching Jack on the beach and saying "Do you have any idea how much I want to kill you?" then cut to the LOST logo. It all begins again. So I'm going to go with that for my final prediction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Bobby Ewing will wake up and realise it was only a dream and JR wasn't shot after all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭ibFoxer

This or a vague ending where we're not certain if both timeslines survive.

Not a million miles away!!