Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When to have 'the chat'

• 17-05-2010 9:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭

Just wondering at what stage people think is a good time to have 'the chat' at the start of the relationship to make things official?

I know some people who were official after 2 weeks, others were a few months. What is considered the norm??

At what stage do you have 'the chat' at the start of a new relationship? 47 votes

Less than 1 month
    0% 0 votes
    About a month
    12% 6 votes
    2 months
    61% 29 votes
    Over 2 months
    25% 12 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

maybe 3 months, subjective topic tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

I have never had to have "the chat" everything just fell into place (unless we didn't like each other).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

WHAT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭skepticalone

well, im gonna presume you are a female here ...and the one piece of advice i can give you is this ......say feck all ....cos if ya do , he be gone quicker than he run the opposite direction ....seriously 2 weeks??? wtf ....id be thinking glenn close in that movie where she is a bunny boiler tbh .... enjoy what ya have without making it too serious too soon , thats a huge turn off .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭sarmer

Personally I think 2 weeks is very soon too!! But I know 2 couples who were official after 2 weeks and they are still together years later!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

well, im gonna presume you are a female here ...and the one piece of advice i can give you is this ......say feck all ....cos if ya do , he be gone quicker than he run the opposite direction ....seriously 2 weeks??? wtf ....id be thinking glenn close in that movie where she is a bunny boiler tbh .... enjoy what ya have without making it too serious too soon , thats a huge turn off .

Come again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭kiwi123

friend of mine asked this guy out after four dates and she asked him to be her boyfriend. He hasn't text her yet and this is a week later.

I'd say about a between a month and a half and two of like being exclusive. Depends on the couple really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

After hours is full of horny teenage boys and bitter middle aged women. Why don't they just solve each others problems?

Fremen wrote: »
    Come again?

thats what she said

BOOM!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Probably before the wedding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It should happen naturally as the relationship progresses.. up until you want to get engaged there shouldn't be any talk of getting serious, imo

I'm single btw, so obviously my advice is foolproof

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭sarmer

I don't really mean a chat to make things really serious, just the chat to go from casually dating to actually calling someone a boyfriend/girlfriend..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

chat about what??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

You mean like "Will you be my boyfriend"?

People still do that in adulthood??

Haven't asked that since i was a kid!

SugarHigh wrote: »
    After hours is full of horny teenage boys and bitter middle aged women. Why don't they just solve each others problems?

presume you are referring to me there ......im not bitter and i wouldnt screw a teenager ... by the way , did you get up on the wrong side of the bed today? moody ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

You can have it anytime (as long as you're stocious drunk and can deny all memory of it the next morning)

(Anything less than 2 months and she gets the blankety blank cheque book and pen....... didnt she do well........nice to see you, to see you nice....whats a hot spot not............and so on)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

From the title, I thought you meant this chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

The the baby is due.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Go to a pub. They'll chat you up right away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

This thread had the potential for hilariousness with a title like "The Chat". Instead it's a shitey relationship question. Pah, thread fail: be gone to Relationship Issues and never come back! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Jaysus thought this was going to be about her taking it up the chocolate hallway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

presume you are referring to me there ......im not bitter and i wouldnt screw a teenager ... by the way , did you get up on the wrong side of the bed today? moody ass.
    I bet your husbands new GF doesn't have that attitude.:D

maybe too far:pac:

RonMexico wrote: »
    Jaysus thought this was going to be about her taking it up the chocolate hallway.

o m g ....... you mean not ALL women are familiar with that??? tsk tsk , this is how i get around that one ..... i have a 12 inch dildo and ....if you expect me to take it , you will need to know how it feels first !!! problem solved ....usually .:D

SugarHigh wrote: »
    I bet your husbands new GF doesn't have that attitude.:D

maybe too far:pac:

ha ha !!! that cow is welcome to him , im well rid over 3 years now . nice to meet ya .

o m g ....... you mean not ALL women are familiar with that??? tsk tsk , this is how i get around that one ..... i have a 12 inch dildo and ....if you expect me to take it , you will need to know how it feels first !!! problem solved ....usually .:D

wow
    are you related to Abi?

Are you busy Friday night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

Didn't think the patrons of AH would be so willing to take 12 inches of rubber up their arse just so they could return the favour. But hey, there is no level of decency in here so I shouldn't be surprised. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Where's the option for "Before you start anything"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

About 1 and a half to 2 months?

Usually...so you have then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

we have become so americanised, back in the day, *COUGH* it was,
    Him - Are ya dancing,
    Her - are ya asking,
    Him - im asking
    Her - im dancing
    few drinks, quick fumble, pregnancy, marriage, jobs oxo.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Yeah, them Oxo are gonna come in handy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Is it just me, or am I the only one who's never had 'the chat'? I never even knew that 'the chat' existed. The last time I asked a youngwan if she'd 'go out with me', I was around 13 years old. :confused:

But that's because it was the last time you went out with somebody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

bazmaiden wrote: »
    wow
    are you related to Abi?

Emm. I think thats We'llallhavetea you're thinking of :pac:

That girl would leave ya catchin' flies :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

we have become so americanised, back in the day, *COUGH* it was,
    Him - Are ya dancing,
    Her - are ya asking,
    Him - im asking
    Her - im dancing

An Irish girl once told me a story about a co-worker who went on a date one-on-one with an American guy, and assumed that because they went out alone without other friends that it signified they were boyfriend and girlfriend. She saw him a week later in a bar with another girl and freaked out, calling him everything but a child of god in the middle of the pub.

The Irish are something all right when to comes to dating, but Americanized isn't it. :P

(or this girl was just a lunatic)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

When shagging someone else would cause him/her to get upset, then it's probably time to have the chat...

... and tell them you are seeing someone else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭xoixo

Delighted reading through this thread!

I've never had the talk and past two boyfriends it was just a matter of falling into place, we both just knew. And all my friends thought it was bizarre and I should "have the talk" to make sure I wasn't be messed about.

Knew I was right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

xoixo wrote: »
    Delighted reading through this thread!

I've never had the talk and past two boyfriends it was just a matter of falling into place, we both just knew. And all my friends thought it was bizarre and I should "have the talk" to make sure I wasn't be messed about.

Knew I was right!

Are you really sure you are right???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

Abigayle wrote: »
    Emm. I think thats We'llallhavetea you're thinking of :pac:

That girl would leave ya catchin' flies :D

the perfect opportunity to lob my "12 inch dildo" in your gob :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

RonMexico wrote: »
    But that's because it was the last time you went out with somebody.

Yep - and me & youre ma have been happy ever since. ;)

I apologise Abi, you were quite right indeed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

If you and Abi ever cross paths, I wanna be involved.

Fago! wrote: »

And throw skepticalone into the mix and its a hoe-down!!!

YE HA!!! *cracks whip

Ever see Requiem for a Dream?

you may want to take personal accident cover

Ever see Requiem for a Dream?

durty ;)

you bring the coke fago :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭mail4liam

After the leg-over and a cigarette?

so....when are we all going to have "the chat" ...i come armed with a bag of 12 inchers .....lol:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

bazmaiden wrote: »
    I apologise Abi, you were quite right indeed

Ahh. there we go.. all is right with the world again :pac:

Only just recently... I asked her out ;)