Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

War On Wild Boar In Ireland

• 17-05-2010 4:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭

Lads, Just read this article today in the Irish Independent and found it online aswell, do any of ye think that there'll will be an organised cull of these animals or what way do ye reckon it will \ should be handled ?

Secondly, how big can these wild Irish boar get to and are they dangerous if stumbled upon ?

Thirdly, what do ye reckon should be the minimum calibre of rifle used to shoot these critters ?

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/wildlife-chiefs-declare-a-boar-war-in-countryside-2182565.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

I think theres lots of threads about calibres and such for boar have a search,might have the info your after

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

While as a farmer I can't escape the worry of the disease aspect I just can't get away from how tasty they are :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭EastTyrone

i contacted the irish deer society over a suspected boar sdighting and got no reply. how do i go about in reported suspected sightings in the north?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

EastTyrone wrote: »
    i contacted the irish deer society over a suspected boar sdighting and got no reply. how do i go about in reported suspected sightings in the north?

"suspected" ?.

jwshooter wrote: »
    "suspected" ?.
    well i only caught a glimpse of it for a few seconds and it didnt occur to me until the very last second that it could have been one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

well i only caught a glimpse of it for a few seconds and it didnt occur to me until the very last second that it could have been one

Alot of big, fat hairy fellows with gnarley teeth up around east tyrone
    from a kerry point of veiw:D

4gun wrote: »
    Alot of big, fat hairy fellows with gnarley teeth up around east tyrone
    from a kerry point of veiw:D
    hahahaha ye but lets hope the island doesnt declare war on us, or else kerry could be looking at a few more all ireland wins :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭A Country Voice

http://www.invasivespeciesireland.com/sighting/

Thats what I got when I googled.
    Im not sure about North and South.
    A Country Voice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Extinct since prehistoric times ? When did pre-history stop and history start ? A couple of hundred years ago ?

might have been a Shetland pony .

Extinct since prehistoric times ? When did pre-history stop and history start ? A couple of hundred years ago ?

With the usual Wikipedia accuracy warnings...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prehistory

might have been a Shetland pony .
    what i seen was small and jumping and walking fast, had pointy ears and strips plus spots, and brown with a pointy nose. The morning i seen it i thought it was a piglet, but no the more i think it could well have been a feral cat. But it was about 2 the size maybe 3 times the size of a cat

possibly a muntjac fawn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 379 ✭✭Dvs

I would say a panther cub,
    there were a lot of sightings a few years ago,
    they are probably breeding now.....................

Dvs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

vixdname wrote: »

Thirdly, what do ye reckon should be the minimum calibre of rifle used to shoot these critters ?

6.5 x 55 is considered the minimum in Germany but I've never used anything smaller than 7 x 64, and they can still run a long way after being nailed through the boilerhouse. My German friends use .338 Win Mag, 9.3 x 62, 8 x 57 and 45/70 (driven) - all on the restricted list over here:mad: I'd love to see the reaction from your local FO if you discovered boar on your patch and put in for a BAR chambered for .338 Win Mag for driven shooting;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭pedroeibar1

Coming back in the car I got the end of a bit about it broadcast on RTE 2 just before 11. Lucy Kennedy and the other gobdaw had Dr. Environmentalist on, he was OK, spoke about strong links with responsible hunters and blamed one or two irresponsible people who released them, not fully realising what they were doing. Also mentioned feral farm pigs. Said they had no natural predators here, they were not protected, no license required to shoot them, bang away provided you had permission to shoot. Nothing on calibre though. The RTE pair were total idiots, dumbass questions, kennedy even asked did it taste like chicken.:rolleyes:
    P.

Dvs wrote: »
    I would say a panther cub,
    there were a lot of sightings a few years ago,
    they are probably breeding now.....................

Dvs.

i wonder what would they taste like :rolleyes: ye i was thinking about panthers and all the big cat stories a few years ago when that article said about a lack of predators for boar :D

possibly a muntjac fawn
    i checked muntjac fawns up on google images and it looks vrery like that, except the head wasnt as narrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭iwsf

everytime i go back to Poland i threat myself to some boar's meat :p, it is simply delicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭sfakiaman

Great how the media always blame hunters/shooters. Now which of ye fe*%$rs smuggled the piggies in on Ryanair from Poland!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Yeah,yeah,the evil hunters are to blame again!! FUK U!!!!! Dr,proffessor, whatever the Hell you are..head up the arse,overqualified sub intelligent pencil neck!
    Sorry.Am I the ONLY one yet again to feel pi$%ED off at being the cause of all evil in the world again????Sure,we are to blame for the banking crisis and the oil spill in thr Gulf as well.:rolleyes:Not to mind guncrime,animal cruelty,and whatever else the antis now choose to sling against us.:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:.
    I would love to know what PROOF this Gobdaw has for this OUTRAGEOUS statement!!!Obviously this idiot hasnt heard or considerd the following either.
    Feral pigs,as it is known that they revert back within a generation to looking like wild boar.
    Escaped farmed wild boar,by either people who did not know how to rear or contain them properly,or were released by Animal liberation terrorist squads .
    PROOF please that it was hunters that did this.Not some crappy,a fellow anti hunter bloke,who heard it from his third cousin who shoots in the pub type.But serious court evidence.
    Then the BS about them spreading diseases to spook the sheeple abit more out there.
    YES they can carry foot and mouth,blue tounge,rabies,and any other known disease that affects cleft hooved domestic animals.BUT the big problem is SO CAN DEER.Not to mind we are FMJ free here,and all the rest of the diseases have been here before,and funnily enough didnt spread to the Irish deer pouplation either.So more media and eco idiot scaremongering.Just because there are wild pigs in Ireland doesnt mean we are about to be infested by all sorts of diseases.
    Instead of us sitting here discussing what to use to hunt these down.We would be better off kicking in the door so to speak, of Des Crofton & Co in the NARGC,to DEMAND a retraction and apology from that A%%HOLE on his/her sweeping general slanderous statements.:mad::mad::mad::mad:
    THIS is what the NARGC should be countering ASAP.
    I am amazed that I am the only one who feels outgaged by this here!:mad::mad:
    In disgust.
    Grizzly.

Right,that rant over. Bare minimum calibre in Germany would be a 308.You could drop the piglets or yearlings with a .243 if you know what you are about.A fully mature boar or sow will need stronger medicine like 7mm upwards.Or of course,our old favourite the 12GA shotgun slug! Which would be proably the best for us around here as there plenty of 12 Ga shotguns,unfortuneatly our brilliant piece of gun legislation makes 12 ga shotgun slug ammo restricted.More rocket scientists at work.:rolleyes:
    Best guns are the Drilling,SXS 12 GA with a big cal rifle barrel under slung.
    Loaded with 12GA slugs and a 9.3 cal rifle ,it is ideal.Or the new trend is SEMI AUTO RIFLES in big calibres.Sauer,Merkel and Blaser now make these kind of rifles in 9.3,30 06 etc.Not to mind the big US lever actions in .444 Marlin,45/70 etc are now becoming a de rigur piece of kit for boar hunting.
    However it does leave open the possibility of now a new extreme sport developing here,and one that will test your mettle,courage and stamina.Boar spear hunting.Get a pack of dogs to corner and hold the boar,and if it is aggressive enough it will charge you.Your job is to stand your ground and let it run onto the spear.Not to mind the possibility of bow hunting them as well.

Are they aggressive?In the mating season YES VERY! Especially the boars.And the sows with their farrow will certainly defend them,and there have been enough German hunters,foresters,woodmen and people out for a stroll in the woods to confirm that!Otherwise,they are extremly shy of human contact,and will avoid at all costs.Like most wild critters.

Will you find them in a field near you soon?Doubtful! They prefer forest and especially heavy undergrown forest, with deep mud puddles for wallows.to come out at night to forage in corn, turnip or potato fields.
    Irelands terrain isnt really like that.Europes farmland is more like that.Vast fields interspaced with forest blocks.

Where you most likely WILL find them will be on the outskirts of our major cities!!! Berlins[+/- 8 million pouplation ] suburbia is invaded at the moment with wild pigs.The pigs are like us humans,are omnivores Anything we can eat[bar raw acorns] a wild pig will eat.So the swine have decided there are good pickings from garbage dumps,correctly recycled orderly German bins,domestic gardens and apple trees in Autumn.
    So I'm sure the Dub 4 Greens will be quite happy when a Rotte [German hunting word for a herd of wild pigs] munch their way thru their eco friendly,non GM organically grown spud patch one night. They will be able to thank their ALF idiot friends for letting loose all the cute and cuddly wild pigs.What we sow we reap.;)

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

Keep it quite:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

There are panthers breeding with muntjac fawns.........

Chinese whispers, ya got to love em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

Just a thought, but if wild boar establish themselves here, will the powers that be legislate for a minimum calibre for shooting them? Should a hunting license be required? Do we really want people trying to shoot them with rimfires and shot? While there will be an argument that they be eradicated as an alien species, this should be done with due regard for animal welfare - use of humane methods including suitable firearms. What do people think? I certainly wouldn't tackle anything bigger than a 3-4 month old piglet with my .22-250. A 1 year old wild pig can reach 50kg and they are a lot tougher than deer.

Do they need a license elsewhere to shoot them? I would agree with a minimum standard of calibre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 379 ✭✭Dvs

homerhop wrote: »
    There are panthers breeding with muntjac fawns.........

Chinese whispers, ya got to love em

No it is a fact!
    I have third hand anecdotal evidence of it.

They are called either Panjac or Munthers
    Depending on the dominant gene.

Dvs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

nothing mentioned about the tree huggers, yep they were definitely hunters that let them out, ......wild boar are very smart,the ultimate escape artist

Of course they wouldnt be anything likethat...However a trawl of their websites have reports of sucessful operations all over the UK on doing this.So it isnt too far a leap to take that likewise has been done here??
    Not to mind ,I cant see somone walking a boar and sow easily onto Irish ferries or Ryanir.:rolleyes:
    Andagain what PROOF is ther of this???
    They are coverd by your hunting liscense in Europe,and are pretty much the only annual huntable game over there.IE total open season.
    TBH we DO have the minimum cal here and the ammo to do it sucessfully and safely.OO buck and 12 Ga slugs are ideal,and proably lot safer and efficent in the areas you will have to shoot them in.Dont think deer stalking ranges here at all. Think forest,and heavy brush,with snap shooting. Short barrels,fast reloading,aimpoint or open sights.Think tree stands at 30 meters max to the wallow or feed or crop. Even driven shoots where I would be very reluctant to use rifle calibres due to the saftey aspect of misplaced shots carrying out of the shooting area.
    Just need Dermo to de restrict slugs:(

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Coming back in the car I got the end of a bit about it broadcast on RTE 2 just before 11. Lucy Kennedy and the other gobdaw had Dr. Environmentalist on, he was OK, spoke about strong links with responsible hunters and blamed one or two irresponsible people who released them, not fully realising what they were doing. Also mentioned feral farm pigs. Said they had no natural predators here, they were not protected, no license required to shoot them, bang away provided you had permission to shoot. Nothing on calibre though. The RTE pair were total idiots, dumbass questions, kennedy even asked did it taste like chicken.:rolleyes:
    P.

I thought my comments above were / are a fair comment on what the Doc said "on air". The Doc could only be as good as two supposed "Professionals" (one of whom thought boar tasted of chicken) could get him to be; how good would any here be if a radioshow rang them out of the blue and asked them to go live on air? I thought he was fair, and he did mention the bit about shooting permissions.

We’re back into the land of crap & speculation again. The press cutting is clear – it names two possible sources of wild boar, release and escape. I have no problem with what the Doc said,he was correct. What I would like to know is (a) has one been shot and (b) has any DNA/genetic test been done? It would be very easy to do both, and would settle the score. Surely that is a question for the hunting bodies to ask? (Maybe it has, and we are being spared the headlines of "Gunmen introduce alien species" )
    If muntjac got in, what is to stop a few boar?
    P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭sfakiaman

Pedro
    The press cutting states

"WILD boars are considered the latest threat to the Irish countryside after a number were released into the wild by irresponsible shooting enthusiasts."

I didn't hear the radio broadcast but am sure your comments are fair and accurate. It is the Indo article people are taking exception to.

I thought my comments above were / are a fair comment on what the Doc said "on air". The Doc could only be as good as two supposed "Professionals" (one of whom thought boar tasted of chicken) could get him to be;
    how good would any here be if a radioshow rang them out of the blue and asked them to go live on air? I thought he was fair, and he did mention the bit about shooting

Has happened to me on occasion re my work.However at least if you are qualified in a paticular field you should be able to talk about it no problem.I cant belive some "expert"said wild pig tastes like chicken!!!So with such a glaring clanger,I would question, as would any 10year old.WTF the rest of their expert opinion.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

We’re back into the land of crap & speculation again. The press cutting is clear – it names two possible sources of wild boar, release and escape
    Emphasis on the release by hunters!
    . I have no problem with what the Doc said,he was correct. What I would like to know is (a) has one been shot and (b) has any DNA/genetic test been done?
    One shot about 12 months ago in Tipp.Wonder why it wasnt done then??
    It would be very easy to do both, and would settle the score. Surely that is a question for the hunting bodies to ask? (Maybe it has, and we are being spared the headlines of "Gunmen introduce alien species" )
    Yeah!! We are still waiting the resuls of the Donegal black cat/Puma ****e to be examined by the Dept of Agriculture and a pronouncement on the fecal matter.Thats three years ago!!!:rolleyes::rolleyes:Wonder how long this would take???
    If muntjac got in, what is to stop a few boar?
    Grand total shot offically sofar....One!

Wild boar farms in ROI in the year 1990 to present day, one known,one publisized on Ear to the Ground TV programme.
    Closed down appx a yer later.Wild pigs sighted in the same area,appx 24 months later.Reported in national press[Indo I belive],apprently there was a hush hush attempted cull by Army within 12 months of said herd.
    Now two years later wild boar are national threat to the foundation of the state and other hysterical nonsense headlines. [Guess the Army was outsmarted by a herd of wild boar then].Blame hunters the easier option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Deerhunter2

anybody that knows anything about the hunting scene in ireland knows where these boar are coming from and who is releasing them, you don't need to have concrete proof from the court to say where they are coming from. they were released in several places around the country in coillte forests and in places where there was no wildboar farms. you don't have to import them yourself, they were for sale on the buy and sell, barry coad in coillte has killed up to a dozen at this stage and all he needed was to rattle a feed bucket, tame as f^^k, so not feral pigs then. call a spade a spade it was hunters, the reason nobody else is freaking out about hunters being blamed is because we all know that some hunters did release them and all the evidence points in that direction. sure some might have escaped but how come the ones shot had no tags or identifiying marks?

sfakiaman wrote: »
    Pedro
    The press cutting states

"WILD boars are considered the latest threat to the Irish countryside after a number were released into the wild by irresponsible shooting enthusiasts."

I didn't hear the radio broadcast but am sure your comments are fair and accurate. It is the Indo article people are taking exception to.

Sfakia,
    The Indo also states "Other suspected sources of the problem are farmed wild boars which have either escaped or were released" - I agree that there was bias in the press, the emphasis was on shooters (but at least it did say "irresponsible" ) but what is to be expected when the final product is written by a journalist (often with no idea about shooting/hunting) and mangled by subeditor. That is why there should be a united front by shooters organizations to EDUCATE the journalists/media. Last season I invited George Hook to come shooting, no response. Will do the same next season;).
    If only one muntjac was shot, it is proof that at least one was brought in.
    P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭tiny-nioclas

Do deer and Wild Boar generally get along with eachother? like would deer move out of an area if boar were released or vice versa, id like to hunt boar, but not if they upset the deer!

Doesnt bother them in the slightest.I've seen wild boar and Red deer contendly munching together thru a field of corn:D.
    What neither likes around them is domesticated cattle and sheep.

QUOTE=Deerhunter2;65952201]anybody that knows anything about the hunting scene in ireland knows where these boar are coming from and who is releasing them, you don't need to have concrete proof from the court to say where they are coming from[/QUOTE]

Err not trying to be a PITA here Deerhunter ,but if YOU or anyone else here knows this as a fact and havent reported this to the revelant authorthies,you realise you are aiding and abetting a crime by witholding knowledge of it???
    Sorry ,courts DO work on proof,concrete or otherwise,but proof all the same is required to convict people,otherwise we would be back in medival times burning each other at the stake,because "she looks like a witch" type evidence.

they were released in several places around the country in coillte forests and in places where there was no wildboar farms.

UH huh.Cars and Trucks are great inventions for moving things about the country,including wild swine.
    you don't have to import them yourself, they were for sale on the buy and sell, b
    Really???THAT opens a whole new can of worms!Who was selling them??Where did they get them from..And to whom??After all they would then fall under then pig rearing/breeding legislation which is the Dept of Ag and they would be MOST intrested in that if I remember from my Ag college days.As it is illegal to have free ranging pigs not properly fenced in,to prevent them free ranging further,or unregisterd herds or breeding swine for commercial gain.Same as cattle.
    Barry coad in coillte has killed up to a dozen at this stage and all he needed was to rattle a feed bucket, tame as f^^k, so not feral pigs then
    Well,from that description and from what you said about the Buy and Sell ads.
    How about this;People who had NO clue about these animals bought them as pets when they are cute little piglets in their "racing stripes",that suddenly grew up quickly into big tusked hairy, extremely smelly [overpoweringly of liqurioce is what they smell to me]
    very strong and destructive to home and yard wild pigs!!Forget anything that will stop normal domestic swine from escaping.A wild boar is a different critter.They will go thru under or over fencing that you or me would have trouble with.And they do not like to be enclosed either.
    Soo it is quite possible,that these are dumped pets,or somones brilliant get rich quick scheme that went arwy and was dumped in the wild??

call a spade a spade it was hunters, the reason nobody else is freaking out about hunters being blamed is because we all know that some hunters did release them and all the evidence points in that direction.

Sorry ,until somone is prosecuted and convicted in a court of law.I will call it a manual powerd earth invertin horticultural impliment.:p
    People in the shooting community here "KNOW" lots of things and what is going on and "WHO" is being naughty or nice.But when it comes to step up to the plate and swing.EVERYBODY suddenly has an excuse not to!
    Simply put a crime has been comitted here under Irish law.We all go on about how law abiding we are as shooters or gunowners,and now is a good chance to prove this point.If you know who did it do your civic duty and report it and testify about it.If it is just because you want to nail somone or some sector of the hunting community for whatever reason,dont be surprised if another sector bites back on you some day.

Or are we still imbued with the "Snitch and Tout " culture when it comes to crimes here?Say nothing if a crime is happening,unless it is to your benefit to rat out somone of course??And then we wonder why it is lawless here ???:rolleyes:
    We have enough BSTDS out there who would hang us for being hunters and gunowners.Last thing we need is to give these people more ammo by a minority of stupids in our own ranks.They comitted a crime,let them do the time for it.Simple.But let them be proven guilty by evidence,not heresay,rumour,or bad blood or gain.

sure some might have escaped but how come the ones shot had no tags or identifiying marks?

Simple,2nd or 3rd generation born wild farrows.They breed like rabbitts.:pac:

Last season I invited George Hook to come shooting, no response. Will do the same next season;).
    If only one muntjac was shot, it is proof that at least one was brought in.

Good man yourself! ;)Will you try to take Dermo and Deasy as well.?? And just leave them out there??.Like a deep swamp or island in a large lough with no boat.Or the Outer Skelligs???:D:D:D.

True , obviously one was brought in.But it doesnt add up to the hordes of muntjac that were supposed to overwhelm us by now.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Good man yourself! ;)Will you try to take Dermo and Deasy as well.?? And just leave them out there??.Like a deep swamp or island in a large lough with no boat.Or the Outer Skelligs???:D:D:D.

True , obviously one was brought in.But it doesnt add up to the hordes of muntjac that were supposed to overwhelm us by now.;)

Urban Legends, We live in a world that picture can be all over the world in a second, Yet I have still to see a pic of a munty, or a boar shot in Ireland

Although I shoot deer that were introduced to my area about 17 years ago and have now a healthy population.

I ate wild boar a while ago, very tasty! Just point me where they are, Get me permission from land owner and ok from NPWS and I'll make Smokey bacon burgers ;)

There was an article in the ISD last year with pics of a wild boar shot in Co Tip,by a well known deer stalker from the Tip county.;)
    Anyone still have that article.???

Ditto,I'll be joining you.Must get the old German boar spear out of the attic.Always knew that would be handy here one day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,903 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I certainly wouldn't tackle anything bigger than a 3-4 month old piglet with my .22-250. A 1 year old wild pig can reach 50kg and they are a lot tougher than deer.
    And a lot more likely to run towards than away
    OO buck and 12 Ga slugs are ideal,and proably lot safer and efficent in the areas you will have to shoot them in........

Just need Dermo to de restrict slugs:(
    Agree Griz. Buck shot and slugs all the way. Trying to set up a safe shot quickly with a c.303 caliber would be pretty hard I imagine.

As for slugs being restricted.
    Surely if evidence of boar in the area can be established, that's enough for ownership, restricted or not.
    Doesnt bother them in the slightest.I've seen wild boar and Red deer contendly munching together thru a field of corn:D.
    What neither likes around them is domesticated cattle and sheep.
    I seen a wild boar once walking along, beside a lion cub with a mere-cat on its back. That was years ago, I was very young at the time. :P

I
    seen a wild boar once walking along, beside a lion cub with a mere-cat on its back. That was years ago, I was very young at the time. :P

Yeah,the Sun and not enough water can make us see funny old things allright..:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Deerhunter2

anybody that knows anything about the hunting scene in ireland knows where these boar are coming from and who is releasing them, you don't need to have concrete proof from the court to say where they are coming from

Err not trying to be a PITA here Deerhunter ,but if YOU or anyone else here knows this as a fact and havent reported this to the revelant authorthies,you realise you are aiding and abetting a crime by witholding knowledge of it???
    Sorry ,courts DO work on proof,concrete or otherwise,but proof all the same is required to convict people,otherwise we would be back in medival times burning each other at the stake,because "she looks like a witch" type evidence.

UH huh.Cars and Trucks are great inventions for moving things about the country,including wild swine.

Really???THAT opens a whole new can of worms!Who was selling them??Where did they get them from..And to whom??After all they would then fall under then pig rearing/breeding legislation which is the Dept of Ag and they would be MOST intrested in that if I remember from my Ag college days.As it is illegal to have free ranging pigs not properly fenced in,to prevent them free ranging further,or unregisterd herds or breeding swine for commercial gain.Same as cattle.

Well,from that description and from what you said about the Buy and Sell ads.
    How about this;People who had NO clue about these animals bought them as pets when they are cute little piglets in their "racing stripes",that suddenly grew up quickly into big tusked hairy, extremely smelly [overpoweringly of liqurioce is what they smell to me]
    very strong and destructive to home and yard wild pigs!!Forget anything that will stop normal domestic swine from escaping.A wild boar is a different critter.They will go thru under or over fencing that you or me would have trouble with.And they do not like to be enclosed either.
    Soo it is quite possible,that these are dumped pets,or somones brilliant get rich quick scheme that went arwy and was dumped in the wild??

Sorry ,until somone is prosecuted and convicted in a court of law.I will call it a manual powerd earth invertin horticultural impliment.:p
    People in the shooting community here "KNOW" lots of things and what is going on and "WHO" is being naughty or nice.But when it comes to step up to the plate and swing.EVERYBODY suddenly has an excuse not to!
    Simply put a crime has been comitted here under Irish law.We all go on about how law abiding we are as shooters or gunowners,and now is a good chance to prove this point.If you know who did it do your civic duty and report it and testify about it.If it is just because you want to nail somone or some sector of the hunting community for whatever reason,dont be surprised if another sector bites back on you some day.

Or are we still imbued with the "Snitch and Tout " culture when it comes to crimes here?Say nothing if a crime is happening,unless it is to your benefit to rat out somone of course??And then we wonder why it is lawless here ???:rolleyes:
    We have enough BSTDS out there who would hang us for being hunters and gunowners.Last thing we need is to give these people more ammo by a minority of stupids in our own ranks.They comitted a crime,let them do the time for it.Simple.But let them be proven guilty by evidence,not heresay,rumour,or bad blood or gain.

Simple,2nd or 3rd generation born wild farrows.They breed like rabbitts.:pac:

your some lad to rant;):) second and third generation wild born pigs don't associate a bucket being rattled with food and come running to it. i have reported what i know but the level of proof to convict somebody of releasing these animals will never be achieved unless you have video evidence or a number of witnesses willing to testify to a trailor being opened by x and a family of boar ran out of it. these lads know this and will openly admit to releasing boar. all the arrows are pointing at a small group of hunters and they will admit it too in the right circumstances and they have recieved alot of back slapping for it. because if the truth be known most hunters would be delighted to find wildboar in their area. i have shot plenty wildboar abroad over the years and look forward to shooting them here in the future. as for muntjac there's loads of them in collections around the country and they can be bought too. if it's proof you want, you'll have to find that for yourself. there is nothing wrong with saying that an irresponsible hunter released the boar, nobody has being named and there is plenty of evidence to suggest it was an irresponsible hunter. unless you are the irresponsible hunter i wouldn't worry about it. when irresponsible parents break the law and it's reported as such should all parents become irrate because they are parents too?:rolleyes:
    do you think anybody is going to be too worried about the dept of ag and their rules/laws, seriously:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭DavyDee

Well possible lads are releasing them cant be too hard to get your hands on them:
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/livestock/1199481
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/livestock/1203432

DavyDee wrote: »
    Well possible lads are releasing them cant be too hard to get your hands on them:
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/livestock/1203432

I'll just grab the trailer and my checkbook, Ideal pet to have in the garden!
    Root up all the weeds and fertilize the soil

your some lad to rant;):) second and third generation wild born pigs don't associate a bucket being rattled with food and come running to it.

Well,I tried reasonableness once...Didnt like it much..:)
    True,they shouldnt,but they are very adaptive and are opportunistic...er ..swine.Although 90% of the time they are human shy,there have been cases of people being accepted into the herds trust by literally what you forester friend is doing.There was once a brillant documentary of this on German TV in the 1980s of a wildlife biologist literally living on a day to day basis with a herd of wild boar.I'll see if I can dig it out for you ,might be on Youtube.
    i have reported what i know but the level of proof to convict somebody of releasing these animals will never be achieved unless you have video evidence or a number of witnesses willing to testify to a trailor being opened by x and a family of boar ran out of it. these lads know this and will openly admit to releasing boar.

Hmmm,and if it so happens that the antis film this one day.Will that be ok too when our reputation as gaurdians of the countryside is dragged thru the ****e???
    all the arrows are pointing at a small group of hunters and they will admit it too in the right circumstances and they have recieved alot of back slapping for it.
    Great! So much for our law abiding moral high ground stance as shooters.:mad:
    CNUTS like these do more harm and damage to our image than they realise.
    because if the truth be known most hunters would be delighted to find wildboar in their area. i have shot plenty wildboar abroad over the years and look forward to shooting them here in the future.

So would I,but I would like to do it legally and without damaging our general reputation as hunters which is bad enough as it is,and prefably without giving our enemies more ammo to shoot at us.

as for muntjac there's loads of them in collections around the country and they can be bought too.

Great.So long as they are not released into the wild by idiot hunters for the craic,I'll be happy enough.

if it's proof you want, you'll have to find that for yourself.
    Going by the sound of it,it wont be too hard for me or anyone else in a Govt dept or anti organisation to find it out either.All they would have to do is listen to them in a pub obviously gobbing off to all and sundry.:rolleyes:
    there is nothing wrong with saying that an irresponsible hunter released the boar, nobody has being named and there is plenty of evidence to suggest it was an irresponsible hunter. unless you are the irresponsible hunter i wouldn't worry about it.

Now there is a contradiction in terms in that statement! We as hunters want to be seen as law abiding and being put upon by the law.Yet,we sheild and support the lawbreaker in our ranks,as you say yourself you will be looking forward to shooting wild boar here.[So benefitting, in the laws eyes, from a proceeds of a crime.]The "evidence" which of course no one will bring forth or support...AKA Irish evidence.:rolleyes:
    You cant have it both ways.
    when irresponsible parents break the law and it's reported as such should all parents become irrate because they are parents too?:rolleyes:
    If I was living in an area were a bunch of hooligans wre runing amuck an tarring the whole area with a bad name,because of a bunch of shiftless irresponsible parents who wont control their Brats.Damn right they should.

do you think anybody is going to be too worried about the dept of ag and their rules/laws, seriously:rolleyes:

Well maybe you should have a chat with farmers who thought it was smart to buy cheep sheep in NI and imported foot and mouth into the Republic?
    Or the smart asses who decided to feed plastc and rubbish to their pigs in Dec 08? Or the numerous wiseguys who thought buying a few cheap cows was a good deal until they were discoverd to be TB reactors and their entire herd was shut down by the Dept of Ag inspectors?
    As a farmer or stock breedeer.You are VERY WORRIED if those boys lad on your yard.They are a crowd not to be messed with.

The first lot are the oddest looking Wild boar I've ever seen.:eek:
    They are more like feral domestic pigs.The Ears on the parent in the first pic are not what a wild pig has.Parent looks more like a Gloster old Spot that needs a shave.2nd and third pic.The coloring of the litter is very odd for wild boar,at that size and age,they are going silvery grey with rough hair.

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/livestock/1203432[/QUOTE]
    Apart from the odd blue stripe on the piglets back.They look more like the real Mc Coy.At least the parents do look it.

A few of them in your garden Tack,you will be able to rent it out as a film set for the battle of the Somme trenches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭SpringerF

Urban Legends, We live in a world that picture can be all over the world in a second, Yet I have still to see a pic of a munty, or a boar shot in Ireland ;)

I am this minute looking at a picture of a Reeves muntjac deer shot near Avoca Co.Wiclow during 2007.

I am unsure whether the deer was shot by the gentleman too, he did take the photograph though.
    That gentlemans reputation is impeccable, so there can be no doubt as to the authenticity of the photograph.

I am unable to reproduce the photograph here because it is copyright material.

SpringerF wrote: »
    I am this minute looking at a picture of a Reeves muntjac deer shot near Avoca Co.Wiclow during 2007.

I am unsure whether the deer was shot by the gentleman too, he did take the photograph though.
    That gentlemans reputation is impeccable, so there can be no doubt as to the authenticity of the photograph.

That still only accounts for 1?
    They have been on my deer hunting licence several years now yet I have not seen anything later than 2007. There is an open season on them so the probability of getting one is much higher.

Anywhere there is deer there is tracks, damage from browsing, hair caught in barbed wire etc.

I have not seen a photograph other than the famous one before or since.
    is this another Hogzilla?

SpringerF wrote: »

shot with a 223 under a lamp .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Sika98k

shot with a 223 under a lamp .
    A fairly typical way for a deer to be shot in this country !:cool: