Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

5 aside footy anyone?

• 17-05-2010 3:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭

Talking football with menoscemo last week on a run got me thinking about how many footballers would be on the ART forum and would they have any interest in a kick about, either every week, 2nd week or monthly, could be a laugh and because we're all terrified of injury we could ban the likes of sliding tackles and stuff. So what yous think, possible venue Tallaght astro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Woddle wrote: »
    Talking football with menoscemo last week on a run got me thinking about how many footballers would be on the ART forum and would they have any interest in a kick about, either every week, 2nd week or monthly, could be a laugh and because we're all terrified of injury we could ban the likes of sliding tackles and stuff. So what yous think, possible venue Tallaght astro

With all the taboo regarding training and five aside i rarely get to have a game but its something i would love to do (maybe on a monthly basis) and only down the road so no excuses really why not count me in :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

we could ban the likes of sliding tackles

You had me until that bit, as defender i just wouldnt be able to resist a good challenge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Sounds like fun, we could use DCM finisher's t-shirts as jerseys :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

I'd be up for it. Don't know if banning 'robust' tackles would work:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

Interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Yeah, sounds good. I can get a cheepo rate on the Astros in the school too (though the tallaght pitches are class).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Absolutely, at the risk of speaking on his behalf I think theboyblunder might well be up for something too.
    How about Ringsend astro - the pitches there are brilliant and it's a central location, as stated previously I try to avoid Tallaght whenever possible :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

^^^^^
    If we get a fair North/south Divide I second Sportsco in Ringsend.
    Also nice pitches in irishtown Stadium.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

christeb wrote: »
    I try to avoid Tallaght whenever possible :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Don't you live in Raheny? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

I know I'll probably regret this but count me in. Always up for a game of ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

woddle
    ecoli
    menoscemo
    Gerard65
    Rainbow kirby
    Dublinstiofán
    Christeb
    Kennyb3 ?
    Racoon queen ?
    Tungunska
    Chinguetti

Ringsend isn't too bad for me although a discount is always good, we could probably get this going quick enough aswell.

I think 14 would be the max amount of players for these 5 aside pitches, anymore and it gets very crowded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

I'ld be interested and would vote for Ringsend. 14 would be plenty as there'll be nights where 2 or 3 can't make it due to many different reasons.

So thats 9/11 so far, a couple more and we can move on to where and when

yeah id be in. can we have northside v southside teams too?

Yeah I'd be in depending on location.
    kennyb3 wrote: »
    yeah id be in. can we have northside v southside teams too?

Who do the Dublin based out of towners play for then? :pac:

Yeah I'd be in depending on location.

Who do the Dublin based out of towners play for then? :pac:

northside if any use

Don't you live in Raheny? :pac:

Raheny is like a pretty Northside flower which has grown out of a pot of dirt :p

Right let's get this going, 12 is the perfect number for SportsCo, we should have a bigger pool as inevitably everyone won't make every week. Friday evenings is always a good time, 6/7 onwards

I'd be up for a southside V northside but I reckon we'll end up changing the teams after 5 mins due to the thumping yous will be recieving :D

I can bring Leeds shirts for my team to wear. :cool:

I'll bring the Brazil shirts for mine :p

at least yous will look nice if nothing else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭another world

I´d be on for this as well :)

Damn here was me looking forward to producing my Honduras jersey. Ya have to support the little guys:p

I was thinking monday evenings would be good as most of us would be either on rest days or doing recovery miles that day? Yep, always thinking about running...

I used to be a handy winger when I played under-16s girls, wonder if I still have it. :pac:

Put me anywhere but in front of goal. Im a runner, i run whats all this shooting nonsense:rolleyes:

I was thinking monday evenings would be good as most of us would be either on rest days or doing recovery miles that day? Yep, always thinking about running...

Mondays sound good, there won't really be positions in 5 aside you kind of just go anywhere, thats what makes it fun.
    Being a bit more serious how will we select even teams, I think this will be our problem for the first couple of games till we know what each other is about, am I right in thinking that tungunska and christeb were still playing competitive till recently?
    If so they need seperating and we can take it from there, seperate the 2 women rk and rq, seperate the oul lads gerard65 and menoscemo :D
    Only messing meno

I agree that earlier in the week is better. Don't fancy playing football the evening before an LSR.

woddle
    ecoli
    menoscemo
    Gerard65
    Rainbow kirby
    Dublinstiofán
    Christeb
    Kennyb3
    Racoon queen
    Tungunska
    Chinguetti
    Another world

So we've got 12 confirmed, just a couple more spots and we're good to go.

seperate the oul lads gerard65 and menoscemo :D
    Only messing meno

Grrrrrr don't let the grey hair fool you. I'm not really that oul. I reckon chiguetti is a lot ouler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Ah young Menoscemo, one should not offend the older people as one may never know when one is challenging them and their zimmer frame in a 50-50 ball and the old are wise folk :D

Also, am i right in saying you're doing the second leg in Cork? That tunnel is Cork has strange powers i hear my friends, the old people say.;)

On a serious note, do we have any takers for a Friday night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Should all have good running stats after the game of football guys. If the footballers on TV can have stats on their kilometers run, why can't ye - if you all wear your garmins.

I'd be interested but being stuck in south Wicklow somewhat restricts my options :(

chinguetti wrote: »
    Also, am i right in saying you're doing the second leg in Cork? That tunnel is Cork has strange powers i hear my friends, the old people say.;)

What?? Tunnel :eek: frantically goes to check cork mara website

I would play friday if the majority want it but would prefer earlier in the week from a running point of view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

menoscemo wrote: »
    I would play friday if the majority want it but would prefer earlier in the week from a running point of view.
    LOL I thought he meant Friday night pints.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭tempo

you will need a seperate post on how many runners get injured after this lol:D

gerard65 wrote: »
    LOL I thought he meant Friday night pints.:D

The pints would be after the football obviously :rolleyes:
    while enjoying said pints we can discuss how much ground we have all covereed according to our garmins and laugh at woddle for being a lazy prima donna

Actually Friday nights are starting to sound good...

menoscemo wrote: »
    y :rolleyes:
    while enjoying said pints we can discuss how much ground we have all covereed according to our garmins and laugh at woddle for being a lazy prima donna

Like this idea maybe an extra goal for every mile covered to add an incentive to work?:D

We'll all end up just doing laps of the pitch if you make it a distance covered competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

I really would love to play but I'm probably just a bit too far out for it to be practical unfortunately.

token56 wrote: »
    I really would love to play but I'm probably just a bit too far out for it to be practical unfortunately.

We're not too sure how frequent it would become but if it was once a month or sth it might make you reconsider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Count me in as well, especially if its in ringsend. I like the no tackle rule, played it last nov a week after the DCM with Gaa lads and i was in agony the next day.

We're not too sure how frequent it would become but if it was once a month or sth it might make you reconsider

Thats a good point, if it was monthly or something I'm sure I could make the trip in and out, I suppose put me down as a tentative yes.

I like the no tackle rule, played it last nov a week after the DCM with Gaa lads and i was in agony the next day.

Football without tackling? I've heard it all now.....:eek::eek::eek:

It was more the no slide tackle rule and anyone who has played astro before would probably consider it a good one for both tackler and tacklee :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Maybe you should consider "TAG FOOTIE".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭flying_scotsman

If there's still room I'd like to give this a lash.

woddle
    ecoli
    menoscemo
    Gerard65
    Rainbow kirby
    Dublinstiofán
    Christeb
    Kennyb3
    Racoon queen
    Tungunska
    Chinguetti
    Another world
    Flyin scotsman
    Brianderunner
    Token56

Right we got 15, so now we need to know when and where, I think most are in favour of ringsend so maybe its just the when. I think I'd still prefer Monday night, the weekends are kind of for the family.

Also anyone want to take a crack at picking teams :D if it helps I would just about consider myself a better footballer than runner so thats not saying alot :D

Not sure what the best way would be to decide teams, probably best to agree on a date and place first, see who can go and decide on teams then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Right let's get this going, 12 is the perfect number for SportsCo, we should have a bigger pool as inevitably everyone won't make every week. Friday evenings is always a good time, 6/7 onwards

+1 for Fridays, that'd be perfect.