Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taste of Dublin

• 17-05-2010 2:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭

I never quite got this.
    Please charge me money so that I can go into a place where I can then buy food while being surrounded by the type of cnut that talks about food.

No thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

what does Dublin taste like?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

At least it isnt the African Taste of Dublin AM I RITE guys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

skag mostly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

brool story co

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Johnny Blue and awesome.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

Bottle of coddle and a batch loaf north of the Liffey.

Pack of Proscuttio and a sundried tomota panini south of the Liffey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

When are they having a taste of go back to Dublin day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

blue waffle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

jimi_t2 wrote: »

Pack of Proscuttio and a sundried tomota panini south of the Liffey.

Coddle & a slice of batch loaf.. yummy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

jimi_t2 wrote: »

Pack of Proscuttio and a sundried tomota panini their own children south of the Liffey.

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Taste of Dublin sounds like someone was so far up their own behind to come with the idea, it must taste like.......shicken???????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Min wrote: »
    Taste of Dublin sounds like someone was so far up their own behind to come with the idea, it must taste like.......shicken???????

A culchie version was mooted but the tastes on offer were too biiter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Pot Noodle =

Yeah if you pay in food should be complimentary not chargeable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Pot wrote:

You pay into a niteclub.... doesn't mean all drinks are free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I'm with the OP. Obviously a night club is different, but all these exhibitions in the RDS. You pay for a ticket to go in and look at advertisements and maybe buy some stuff. Toys 4 Big Boys is the worst. You think you're paying for your ticket to see loads of cool exhibitions and shows, instead you may aswell have gone to an airsoft shop and looked in the window for free.

I assume it's the same with the wedding & travel events. Why do people pay in to look at advertising. Surely the money should be made from the vendors paying for a slot to sell/advertise their wares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭gollem_1975

prinz wrote: »
    You pay into a niteclub.... doesn't mean all drinks are free.

though in a niteclub you don't pay to sample the food.. at least you get a full sized drink

at taste of dublin restaraunts sell a sample of their signature dishes ( about 3 or 4 mouthfulls ) for 7 or 8 euro.

on the other hand people are paying for a day or evening out, few drinks , a bit of people watching, something to talk about at the next dinner party/around the watercooler etc.

weather is a big factor in whether this alfresco experience is enjoyable.. but at that stage you will have already bought your ticket ( though the OP is not the target audience of this event so its unlikely he or she will be buying a ticket )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Pot Noodle =

Greedy Organisers trying to make a Buck the Farmers Markets are great and free in too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

weather is a big factor in whether this alfresco experience is enjoyable.. but at that stage you will have already bought your ticket ( though the OP is not the target audience of this event so its unlikely he or she will be buying a ticket )

I'm not a fúckwit, if that's what you're getting at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Pot wrote:

That's not completely the issue......the issue is that you get a "taste".....i.e. tiny portions - and get charged handsomely for the "privilege".

Was at it once and wouldn't go back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

I have been to very few restaurants in Dublin that I would pay to go back to for a sit-down meal, much less pay for the privilege of paying again to get a "taste" of something that I have to eat standing up in the middle of a park while trying to balance my drink and umbrella at the same time.

The Kebab munchers of AH clearly dont like ToD

I'm not a fúckwit, if that's what you're getting at.

I don't know you so I'll have to take your word for it :)
    I never quite got this.
    Please charge me money so that I can go into a place where I can then buy food while being surrounded by the type of cnut that talks about food.

some people don't get bulletin boards either...

If its not for you so don't go.

the main demographic at this event..is typically female , from mid 20's yuppie girls to 50's ladies that lunch.

the same group that seems to be keeping restaurants in business.

I went the first year in Dublin Castle with the company Sports and Social, lovely weather, nice vibe , free wine tasting sessions

2nd year.. much larger crowd based on word of mouth from the first year..the new venue( the iveagh gardens ) was poorly laid out. the weather was awful..the portions smaller and more expensive , less free stuff.

for me the 2nd year was poor value and I haven't been since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I went the first year in Dublin Castle with the company Sports and Social, lovely weather, nice vibe , free wine tasting sessions

2nd year.. much larger crowd based on word of mouth from the first year..the new venue( the iveagh gardens ) was poorly laid out. the weather was awful..the portions smaller and more expensive , less free stuff.

for me the 2nd year was poor value and I haven't been since.

That could be a description of how Dublin itself has changed over the last 15 years, so perhaps the event is truly a "Taste of Dublin" in more ways than one!

excellent! I applaud you sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭mail4liam

Mr Brennan's sliced pan as yea make yer self a nice corned beef sandwich, walking past O'keefe's the knackers yard in the Coombe, get the tast of that place on your sambo...what memories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

rovert wrote: »
    At least it isnt the African Taste of Dublin AM I RITE guys

Well... I guess it depends on what you mean by a Taste of Africa :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

I have been to very few restaurants in Dublin that I would pay to go back to for a sit-down meal

Abra?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

In before the Sharpshooter locks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Jev/N wrote: »
    Abra?

*sings* Abra Abrakebra... where people reach out and stab ya..... :D

*gets coat*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Always something to moan about... :rolleyes:

If you don't like it, don't go. Nobodies forcing you to do anything...

Always something to moan about... :rolleyes:

If you don't like it, don't go. Nobodies forcing you to do anything...

I take it you've never heard of LLS principle of boards.ie?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Sh1te. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

It tastes of jobs, public transport, culture and women you're not related to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

spent 4 hours at the taste of dublin last year, then 2 hours in the jacks after it. Good times had by all. Except maybe the toilet cleaner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

WindSock wrote: »
    When are they having a taste of go back to Dublin day?

When are they having a go fuck your Dublin day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Earthhorse wrote: »
    When are they having a go fuck your Dublin day?

Bagsy the Spire! :pac:

You can have the Hags with the Bags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

I can see the attraction of the event - you pay in, sure, but it allows you to sample stuff from all kinds of restaurants in the city. Eating out at five or six places could set you back a lot, but getting to 'try before you buy' is an advantage. More to the point, it's a bit of a day out with a few exhibitions from chefs and live music. Also, if you're part of a group with varied tastes, everyone can find something they like.

In practice I didn't find it as enjoyable. Having heard rave reviews about the Dublin Castle event, I went to the Iveagh Gardens last year with the family. Leaving aside the weather and issues with the layout (it was a bugger to find anything and some more maps wouldn't have gone amiss) I found that the individual restaurants were taking the mick a bit price-wise. Even restaurants that were reasonably cheap were offering small portions and/or lower-quality stuff. For example, L'Ecrivain (IIRC) did a BBQ with what was essentially a posh hot dog for €7. Not completely ott, but nobody goes to L'Ecrivain for Derry Clarke's signature hot dogs. I think a lot of places basically looked on it as a way to gouge out money to make up the losses from the previous six months, and I ended up spending more of my money on beer and sweets than on 'real' food.

Perhaps the restaurants at the event will cop themselves on a bit this year, but I don't plan on going again until I hear what it's like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 slackerdude

I just won a pair of tickets to the event and wouldn't go otherwise as the entry fee is a real ripoff especially in recession era Ireland. I wonder how many people attending are actually paying in as there seem to be quite a few competitions offering free tickets. Also the VIP area last year appeared to be populated with journalists like Brendan O'Connor so I guess the media are given lots of VIP tickets. Last year I also attended with competition winning tickets and found that you can still spend quite a lot between drinks and food if you're not careful. I have to say that I enjoyed the event but only because I didn't have to pay in as to do so would have made the day ridiculously expensive.