Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parasites wasting our taxes-again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

They should be building bridges, not feckin' tunnels.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

They should be building bridges, not feckin' tunnels.

No,they should be building gallows.

Degsy wrote: »

They should, but knowing anything about stuff built with taxpayers money, it would probably take 25 years longer than scheduled & then bankrupt the country completely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭theboxer

For themselves?:)

They have hung the bollix out of the ordinary taxpayer already.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Why isnt there some one with a fúcking clue in power. Like accountants managing the money, doctors running as health ministers and Judges running as justice ministers. Politics is a seperate career path and they're allowed to fúck with the running of the country directly, morons!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

i love the comment at the end, it's time for the celtic jackass indeed.

dj, not too sure about judges running the justice system yet, maybe a senior garda who can't complain about the short/suspended sentences that the judges give out against garda advice. if judge john neilan had his way we'd be in for some craic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

What a waste of money.

Can people in this bloody country get with the ****ing metric system. I have no idea about yards, miles or stones.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

msg11 wrote: »
    What a waste of money.

Can people in this bloody country get with the ****ing metric system. I have no idea about yards, miles or stones.

Its a self-inflicted irish thing...we can estimate if there's pride at stake..and estimate very accurately if there's money at stake!

What a waste of money.

I bet you know what a pint is though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

What a waste of money.

100 yards = the length of 1 American Football field.

Hope that helps. Probably not. Heehee

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Isn't it obvious why they are doing it?
    They don't want to show their faces in public whenever possible (such is the shame of some!) - and when it's not convenient to their benefit only!
    ...that and if they fall out of one of the two bars and restaurants at the Leinster House, they can sneak away more quietly away from cameras and public gaze of hatred!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Build the tunnel, and load it with explosives.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

They're already in a hole, they should stop digging.

Literally!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

I've never heard of any government to have a need to build a tunnel to save a 100 yard walk. Ever. It's stories like this which make people look at Ireland and laugh. It's the same thick retards which screw us all over. I don't get angry any more. I just get depressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

No chance. That'd be like turkeys voting for an election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

It was in another paper a few weeks ago.

The construction costs will be made up in less than 2 years on the rent saving of not needing somewhere because of it so makes sense

too lazy to look for the details

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Overheal wrote: »

Hope that helps.

And it takes Americans 4 hours to get up and down a football pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Biggins wrote: »
    Isn't it obvious why they are doing it?
    They don't want to show their faces in public whenever possible (such is the shame of some!) - and when it's not convenient to their benefit only!
    ...that and if they fall out of one of the two bars and restaurants at the Leinster House, they can sneak away more quietly away from cameras and public gaze of hatred!

....and snipers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Hope that helps.

not really, you need to convert that to proper Irish measurements.

What is it in GAA pitches?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Maybe we could herd them all in to this tunnel and seal it up.

Seems to be the only way of getting rid of the sh1te that runs this country. What with them failing to bow to the will of the people and let us decide who we want running up and down the tunnel busily getting on with the daily grind of running this fine country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭StudentDad

Kasabian wrote: »
    Maybe we could herd them all in to this tunnel and seal it up.

Seems to be the only way of getting rid of the sh1te that runs this country. What with them failing to bow to the will of the people and let us decide who we want running up and down the tunnel busily getting on with the daily grind of running this fine country.

Ah now can't be letting the plebs vote - they'd be sure to make the wrong decision - can't let that happen! FF will only let go of the national tit when there isn't a single drop of milk to be had and their friends are looked after.

SD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Sensationalist rubbish from the Tribune.
    Creating this link will involve minor structural adjustments to existing rooms and corridors at basement level in the two buildings and will not involve any major construction work.

/Non Story.

Other top non-stories include this :

http://www.tribune.ie/news/article/2010/may/16/bookies-wont-pay-bet-win/

Guy puts a bet on after event and expects it to be honoured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

not really, you need to convert that to proper Irish measurements.

What is it in GAA pitches?

A GAA pitch (Croker being the benchmark) is 130m - 145m.

There is 91.44m in 100yds.

So run from one end of the pitch to the 40m line (mean = 137.5), and that's how long the tunnel will be, more or less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

They should, but knowing anything about stuff built with taxpayers money, it would probably take 25 years longer than scheduled & then bankrupt the country completely.
    Sure, maybe that wouldn't be a bad thing, maybe we could get a rich country to adopt us.

I'd like to be adopted by France. I don't like the people much, but the weather's nice there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

They should have their own tunnel, but only if it follows the same design as one of those Indiana Jones type tunnels, booby-trapped from one to the the other, complete with random huge stone ball. A handy number of bye-elections would be created if some of the lard-arse didn't quite make it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

This may be as far as the proposed Dublin metro will ever get. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Menengroth™

*mental image of politicians scuttling through the tunnel like the rats they are*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

ejmaztec wrote: »
    They should have their own tunnel, but only if it follows the same design as one of those Indiana Jones type tunnels, booby-trapped from one to the the other, complete with random huge stone ball. A handy number of bye-elections would be created if some of the lard-arse didn't quite make it.

i'd like to see biffo outrun that! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

i'd like to see biffo outrun that! :D
    He'd be the boulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

it would want to be like the Port Tunnel for Harney and her fat ar$e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭whosedaddy?

looking at the size of some TDs , no surprise.

They should lengthen the walk to lose some weight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Someone send them a West Wing boxset so they can see its possible to walk and work at the same time.

Ya kidding!
    Some can barely walk and talk at the same time without getting out of breath!

...Isn't that right Jackie Rea! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,369 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Well go educate yourself. I personally rather the old Imperial system of weights and measures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

walshb wrote: »
    Well go educate yourself. I personally rather the old Imperial system of weights and measures
    Even I can't agree with you there.

Why??

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

According to that article it's not just the government who wish to have the tunnel built with FG/Lab involved :rolleyes:

All as bad as each other.

According to that article it's not just the government who wish to have the tunnel built with FG/Lab involved :rolleyes:

Indeed, there are many faces all around in the Dail that would shy away from the spotlight for the self-interest deeds they commit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

I say we should let them have the tunnel, in fact we should build it for them ourselves for free.

Then we should fill the chamber with Lions

Then we should kit ouselves out with tridents, nets, helmets and shields

Then we should elect someone to be Maximus Decimus Meridius

Then we should let them in ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

They actually control the group who decide if it goes ahead or not.

From what I understand this isn't that big a deal, and could save money in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭simonw

Is it a tunnel or a bunker they want to build?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Lemegeton

if this goes through there is going to ****ing war. you think the protests going on at the moment are bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

What a waste of money.

A tunnel to walk just under half a furlong, bastards.

Hope that helps. Probably not. Heehee

Probably not absolutly , adding anything American into this mix is not going to help. As for a pint, it's more of a saying that anything else.

They actually control the group who decide if it goes ahead or not.

From what I understand this isn't that big a deal, and could save money in the long run.

not being pedantic or anything, i'm actually curious...how does the construction of an underground tunnel to save ministers a 100 yard walk outside save money?

walshb wrote: »

Why should I have to educate myself, for a system that should be legally used and it was brought in the 1970 FFS. And this was the system I got educate in school threw, so the Imperial system has no meaning to me what so ever.

I personally rather, the Metric system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

not being pedantic or anything, i'm actually curious...how does the construction of an underground tunnel to save ministers a 100 yard walk outside save money?

Stop them using a chauffeur and state car to make the same journey.. *cough*

Why should I have to educate myself, for a system that should be legally used and it was brought in the 1970 FFS. And this was the system I got educate in school threw, so the Imperial system has no meaning to me what so ever.

I personally rather, the Metric system.

I will pledge to use the metric system if you pledge to type in english.

Amalgam wrote: »
    Stop them using a chauffeur and state car to make the same journey.. *cough*

a chauffeur that is on the state payroll anyway and who's job wouldn't be made redundant by ministers walking an extra 180 meters there and back, you mean?

EDIT: also, the metric system rocks!

I will pledge to use the metric system if you pledge to type in english.

Really cannot promise that my dearest friend, and for a smart arse you forgot to put a capital on English I think hahaha, mate it's been said before your about 1,545th person to say it. I'll say again, I DON'T GIVE A ****. :)

Really cannot promise that my dearest friend, and for a smart arse you forgot to put a capital on English I think hahaha, mate it's been said before your about 1,545th person to say it. I'll say again, I DON'T GIVE A
    rood and 32 perches
    . :)

excellent.