Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

shot out?

• 16-05-2010 4:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭

Is it possible for a gun to become 'shot out'. A friend of mine has a brno.22 for almost 12 years now and has tried to zero it with 2 dif sets of scopes. the bullets are going everywhere. Is it possible that so many rounds has gone through this gun that its( for the want of a beter word) SHOT OUT. Both scopes and mounts are perfect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

shank1 wrote: »
    Is it possible for a gun to become 'shot out'. A friend of mine has a brno.22 for almost 12 years now and has tried to zero it with 2 dif sets of scopes. the bullets are going everywhere. Is it possible that so many rounds has gone through this gun that its( for the want of a beter word) SHOT OUT. Both scopes and mounts are perfect.

possibly not shot out shank ,it might not have been cleaned for 12 years or the barrel was wet when it was put away and has pitted or rusted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

jwshooter wrote: »
    possibly not shot out shank ,it might not have been cleaned for 12 years or the barrel was wet when it was put away and has pitted or rusted

Take off bolt and look through barrel to see if there is pitting etc

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Give the barrel/action a deep cleaning.

Check that the barrel is fully floated.

Check the mounts and rings are correct/suit.

Strip the bolt and clean thoroughly.

Try as many different bullets as possible. (Bruno's usually like Lapua, so try either super club or Centre-X. Just for grouping).

If none of these things work get to a gunsmith (Fergal White) and ask him to stick a bore scope up it and check things neither you nor i would think of.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

ezridax wrote: »

Check the mounts and rings are correct/suit. and screws are tight

Strip the bolt and clean thoroughly.And carefully! and check bolt face

Try as many different bullets as possible. (Bruno's usually like Lapua, so try either super club or Centre-X. Just for grouping).Could be bad ammo

If none of these things work get to a gunsmith (Fergal White) and ask him to stick a bore scope up it and check things neither you nor i would think of.
    A round with a piece of grit in it can play havoc on a barrel.
    Rust can have the same effect
    Hoppes benchrest will take out any gunk if there.

,22lr normally are good for 20000 rounds due to low velocity, however if the barrel had dirt in it when fired their could be a pitt in it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

I would:

(a) inspect the bore and clean thoroughly
    (b) take the scope off for now (if the rifle has iron sights)
    (c) try as many different brands and types of ammo, from sub sonic, std velocity, high velocity and hyper velocity.

I have a Brno .22 that is from 1969, and it still shoots fine. It loves Eley subsonics and CCI subsonics.
    However, at the range recently I tried some old hi vel stuff I had lying around. 6" groups at 50 yards - atrocious!! Switched back to my subsonics, and everything reutrned to normal.

Unless the bore is damaged it is hard to see a .22 wearing out. The bullets are usually soft and going relatively slow.

I would double check the scope mounts too. An improperly mounted sope could cause the problems you mention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

A .22 isn't going to get shot out within twelve years anyway, and certainly not with normal use. We've got some Anschutz rifles with the guts of forty years under them in the club and they still shoot far, far better than anyone currently using them. You won't see pitting with the naked eye or the effects of a shot out barrel, so might be worth getting a decent gunsmith to look at it first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭cbrjohnthou

well to be honest he hasn,t washed himself in about 12 years either so I'd doubt he worried about his gun, I know us bikers are somewhat scruffy but he takes the biscuit.:D:D:D:D.

I'll tell him to put some Hoppes through it and see how it goes, but he reckons it always fired perfect up until about a year ago.

Pkiernan wrote: »
    I would:

(a) inspect the bore and clean thoroughly 1941_VKT_M91.jpg
    (b) take the scope off for now (if the rifle has iron sights)
    (c) try as many different brands and types of ammo, from sub sonic, std velocity, high velocity and hyper velocity.
    Is the Rifle a .22lr or a .22SLLR?

I have a Brno .22 that is from 1969, and it still shoots fine. It loves Eley subsonics and CCI subsonics.
    However, at the range recently I tried some old hi vel stuff I had lying around. 6" groups at 50 yards - atrocious!! Switched back to my subsonics, and everything reutrned to normal.

Unless the bore is damaged it is hard to see a .22 wearing out. The bullets are usually soft and going relatively slow.

I would double check the scope mounts too. An improperly mounted sope could cause the problems you mention.

Try looking down barrel with bolt removed

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Originally Posted by ezridax viewpost.gif

Check the mounts and rings are correct/suit. and screws are tight

Strip the bolt and clean thoroughly.And carefully! and check bolt face

Try as many different bullets as possible. (Bruno's usually like Lapua, so try either super club or Centre-X. Just for grouping).Could be bad ammo

A round with a piece of grit in it can play havoc on a barrel.
    Rust can have the same effect
    Hoppes benchrest will take out any gunk if there.

,22lr normally are good for 20000 rounds due to low velocity, however if the barrel had dirt in it when fired their could be a pitt in it,

Ah, good man TB. Better than spellcheck.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Normally the barrels is the last part to go. It could be the bolt face not flush letting out gas.

However I have seen a lot of rifles that rounds with grit were put into and seen the scoring/pitting.

My Da's rifle is a 1964 Anschutz SLLR and it prefers low velocity ammo.
    Twist rates may be different etc.

I have not time to check just on a study break at the mo :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭patsat

What light source did you use to light up the barrell that well Tack?

Normally the barrels is the last part to go. It could be the bolt face not flush letting out gas.

However I have seen a lot of rifles that rounds with grit were put into and seen the scoring/pitting.

My Da's rifle is a 1964 Anschutz SLLR and it prefers low velocity ammo.
    Twist rates may be different etc.

I have not time to check just on a study break at the mo :D

seriously man you should be workin for a gunsmith:D, how in the name of Jaysus do you know so much about guns n stuff.

well to be honest he hasn,t washed himself in about 12 years either so I'd doubt he worried about his gun, I know us bikers are somewhat scruffy but he takes the biscuit.:D:D:D:D.

I'll tell him to put some Hoppes through it and see how it goes, but he reckons it always fired perfect up until about a year ago.

severs u right for moving to a 3 world county

seriously man you should be workin for a gunsmith:D, how in the name of Jaysus do you know so much about guns n stuff.

google :D

patsat wrote: »
    What light source did you use to light up the barrell that well Tack?

Day light if you are in darkness, or i have a little GERBER LED torch that does the trick. LED works well as it is brighter.

If you try and look at the barrel at an angle. You can use a mirror also to refract the light and a mirror and magnifying glass led combo either.

Roughness or pits cast shadows and change the light beam.
    i hope I am explaining myself well, its trial and error with angles etc to get best view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭patsat

i usually just take the bolt out and look down the barrel at a lightbulb, may try it wit an Led my brother has a .22 lever action that we cant get to group atal!

Far from JW, I'm decended from engineers who all loved firearms

If I knew half what my granddad did I'd be doing well.
    Plus I have been into Rifles all my life, if you knew how much time I spend on them you would put me on a par with a geek!

And I am an engineer by profession might have something to do with it too
    And I have a great memory

I can not play football (useless) nor am I any good at cryptic stuff.
    I'm just into guns and ammo
    Why do you think I was christened tackleberry??:D

OUCH!:D

Plus I have been into Rifles all my life, if you knew how much time I spend on them you would put me on a par with a geek!

fair play to ya mate, great to get info from someone like yourself.

I figured you were called tackleberry cause you looked like the ugly c**t from Police Academy:D:D:D (jokin)

take a chill tac , your not German by any chance , iv delt with engineers all my working life ,if its not in black and white there fuxxxd .

Well I am currently studying outside the box thinking in engineering.

I'm not German, born and bred on these sweet shores, but I can see you are sniffin JW to see who I am, it's no big secret but i do not discuss mine or anybodies nom de plume online

I just love guns,motorbikes, engines, and military stuff.

i have not a clue on soccer gaa golf or any of that craic, nor want to know.
    If something interests me I always ask questions, in college I used to wreck some of the lecturers heads as I'd ask questions on accuracy, metallurgy and thermodynamics but i was only interested from a shooting or motorbike perspective.

I have to make sense of things in my head, just the way I am.
    I love learning, still studying. Everyday is a school day; Most brilliant mind i know thought me that!;)

fair play to ya mate, great to get info from someone like yourself.

I figured you were called tackleberry cause you looked like the ugly c**t from Police Academy:D:D:D (jokin)

I'm no pretty boy Shank. I'm just your average joe bloggs

Well if its any consolation I'm an ugly f****r too, I just hide it with my beard:D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

..........Why do you think I was christened tackleberry??:D

Bet that got a laugh at the christening font :P
    fair play to ya mate, great to get info from someone like yourself..........

Should check some of the older threads......you'd be amazed how little he actually knows ;)

Tac hope you don't mind me decloaking you :pac:

warrior888888.jpg

Bet that got a laugh at the christening font :P

Should check some of the older threads......you'd be amazed how little he actually knows ;)

Tac hope you don't mind me decloaking you :pac:

warrior888888.jpg

Dr Bunny shooter PhD at your service......:p

T.H.308 wrote: »
    might be worth checking the rifle barrel's crown, if its damaged it would cause wide, irregular groups. The smalest things often cause the biggest problems;).
    Re-crown could be the way forward.
    Dial it in on a lathe and check the two angles to see if they are concentric

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

Well I am currently studying outside the box thinking in engineering.

I'm not German, born and bred on these sweet shores, but I can see you are sniffin JW to see who I am, it's no big secret but i do not discuss mine or anybodies nom de plume online

I just love guns,motorbikes, engines, and military stuff.

i have not a clue on soccer gaa golf or any of that craic, nor want to know.
    If something interests me I always ask questions, in college I used to wreck some of the lecturers heads as I'd ask questions on accuracy, metallurgy and thermodynamics but i was only interested from a shooting or motorbike perspective.

I have to make sense of things in my head, just the way I am.
    I love learning, still studying. Everyday is a school day; Most brilliant mind i know thought me that!;)

You and I have a lot in common tac, nice to see theres other guns \ military \ motorbike mad lads out there !!!!!