Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much exercise do you get?

• 12-05-2010 12:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pighead was lying in bed last night minding his own business trying to think of something to think about to pass the time until he fell asleep. Couldn't think of anything so decided to sing songs. Picked "Tears in Heaven" by Eric Clapton because it's a nice soft song which meant there was less danger of waking up Miss Piggy.

Anyway was just about to get to the lovely
    "Time can bring you down
    Time can bend your knee" bit of the song when AAARRRRGGGGHH. Out of nowhere a piercing thundering pain went flashing down the left hand side of Pighead's firm hairy chest. The pain was incredible. Seriously thought the game was up and this was how it was all going to end. Tried to say a tearful goodbye to Miss Piggy but the voice was weak and she was snoring quite loudly.

Thankfully after about 45 seconds of sheer hell the pain abided and Pighead was able to finish singing his song, but to be honest the whole experience has left an impression on this poster. Woke up this morning and decided to address what had happened earlier on that morning. The pain was obviously a message from God. A message which stated "You need to start doing some star-jumps Pighead."

So as of today, Pighead has decided to initiate his exercise routine. 10 starjumps first thing in the morning and 15 press ups last thing at night. It's time to treat this beautiful body with the respect it deserves.

So how much exercise if any do you partake in?

How much exercise do you get? 206 votes

I exercise regularly and feel all the better for it
    0%
    I don't have a planned exercise regime but I do walk quite a lot.
    51%
    Ping Chow ChientropiRuu_OldDamienHLafortezzarubadubSuprSirainbow kirbydaymobrewCanis LupusGlowingCorkfeenHail 2 Da ChimpDudessbillymitchellmloc123[Deleted User]Lux23FizmanDr. Feelgood 107 votes
    Exercise in fits and starts. Whenever I'm arsed basically.
    14%
    DocThE_IVIAcIVIAIVsyklopsKierabluto63Captain Slow IRLNapoleonInRagsDordmercuroman[Deleted User]epgc3fyqirnbsxmoonflowerPigwidgeonWhisperedJev/NDeliriumDazMarzgobo99Briendaysleeper 29 votes
    I'm a virgin so I'm going to pretend I'm not by saying I get loads of sex.
    29%
    --Kaiser--445279.ieTar.AldarionKnifeWRENCHEinsteinSomnusKablamo!Mars BarchickenchaserGreyfoxDermot2468hobochrisgubbiephlegmsM5Par72HogzyEvil_ClownGunmonkeyrgt320q 61 votes
    I never exercise as I don't want to risk losing my beautiful flab.
    4%
    WibbsweederRacoonQueenOutlawPete[Deleted User]mickosEffluoGirlOfGlassCarlos_Ray 9 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Walking to and from work. Thats all. Really need to do some more!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

I run quite a bit. Maybe 10-15 miles per week.

Those could have been muscle spasms Pighead.

Link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

A 1k jog each week day evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Never exercise, but I am also 185cm and 68kg so go figure.
    I wanna get exercising though, good for ye and all.

Need more pole options ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Dr. Feelgood

Play 5 a side twice a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

1 Hour of five a side football, twice a week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Pighead wrote: »
    It's time to treat this beautiful body with the respect it deserves.

Do you eat well Pighead?

A good diet is far more important than an serious exercise regime, in fact - exercising on a bad diet might even do more harm.

Excessive blood sugar spikes, unhealthy Trans fats and overly relying on grain based carbs (rather than healthier carb options such as those from fruits and vegetables) are the biggest threats to Cardiovascular health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

1 Hour of five a side football, twice a week

Hey, I do 5 hours of one-a-side ball, no times a week! Score!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Do you eat well Pighead?

I think a good diet is far more important than an serious exercise regime, in fact - exercising on a bad diet might even do more harm.

Excessive blood sugar spikes, unhealthy Trans fats and overly relying on grain based carbs (rather than healthier carb options such as those from fruits and vegetables) are the biggest threats to Cardiovascular health.
    Pighead eats pretty well although he's a hoor for the salt laden cup-a-soups. Can't get enough of those bad boys.

Make homemade soup every second Tuesday of every third month which is full of nutritious goodness. Recipe is as follows: Water (3 pints of), Garlic (3 cloves finely chopped), chilli (1 red chilli pepper) finely chopped, 3 spring onions, a dash of ginger, sweetcorn, two stock cubes and a wad of spinach leaves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Capoeira twice a week, gym whenever I can be arsed and I was in and out to work every day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I go to the gym four or five times a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭friendface

Exercise programme:

Take one Weetabix.
    Take an Aero chocolate bar.
    Crumble the Aero over the Weetabix.
    Voila. Aerobix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

Love exercising, seriously cant get enough of it. Only problem is I'm injured so cant exercise as much as I'd like but still do something as often as I can. In full flow I would be doing something at least 5 times a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭drunkymonkey

Used to go to the gym 4/5 times a week, and on the off days used do stuff at home, situps/pushups...... was a bit addicted!

But since i started working more and more i got lazy and i find it hard to go once a week! I really do miss it though because i used to love exercising!

Used to swim too after the gym quite a bit!

Do a bit of Thai boxing now but its a struggle!

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    I go to the gym four or five times a week.
    Pretty impressive Minstrel. There's no fat dogs in your house by the sounds of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I have seven exercise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

'Business time' twice a day keeps me fit;) Sometimes I have to move slow though in case the hairy husband on the bed next to us stops singing and cops on ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I fast-walk up the very steep St Patrick's Hill in Cork every day. At the top, I take a right and walk up another hill (not as steep). It's nothing spectacular but it's a bit of a workout and keeps me fit and feeling energised.

'Business time' twice a day keeps me fit;) Sometimes I have to move slow though in case the hairy husband on the bed next to us stops singing and cops on ...
    If your implying that you make love with Pighead's lady whilst he's singing you should immediately prepare your face for a workout. With Pighead's fist.:cool:

I wouldn't call it making love dear pighead, we just fcuk;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,692 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

At the moment,can vary between 1 hour of football to 4,5,6 hours.

In 2 weeks, it'll be about 200k of cycling per week along with weights in the gym and prob 2-4 hours of football per week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I run two to three marathons a year.

And by run I mean organise.

And by organise I mean sponsor other people to run in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I walk about 2k a day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I cycle an hour a day Monday-Friday, and I walk at least an hour every day. I'm feeling much better for it, and lost a grand total of 4 stone in about 18 months (I don't know exactly how long it took, I never weigh myself).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

I play a bit of sport but generally in work i'm on my feet walking all day so I guess that keeps me healthy (enough)

as for "buisness time", safe to say i'm pretty, pretty healthy

I wouldn't call it making love dear pighead, we just fcuk;)
    That's it slimebag. You've pushed Pighead too far this time. You obviously didn't read the bit in the original post where Pighead clearly stated that he has started a rigorous fitness regime which is designed to give him the body of a well oiled robot.

You will be found Fitz and you will receive an almighty session of horrible name calling. There will be tears. And you can take this for starters: (fcuk the threat of getting banned, too angry to think of that right now) You're a horrible potty mouthed ninkempoop.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I run 4-5 times a week, distances ranging from 5-12 miles at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭GirlOfGlass

I do fcuk all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Trolling keeps me in shape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I've been thinking about doing some excercise a lot lately. So much so, that I am too tired now to do anything. Phew, hard work this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Football 2-4 times a week depending how busy I am but always at least two. Also running with the dogs in the evenings and weekends and I do weight on a saturday/sunday morning. So yeah I reckon I'm fairly in shape other than the smoking, have to nip that out soon enough.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

I go to the gym 2/3 times a week,thats it really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

If this poll is accurate, who is obesity in Ireland on the up?

Has everyone been honest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

syklops wrote: »
    If this poll is accurate, who is obesity in Ireland on the up?

Has everyone been honest?

Why would anyone lie on an internet forum?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I'm afraid if Iexcercise that I'll waste away. Walk a mile for the post every day though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Irishcrx wrote: »
    Why would anyone lie on an internet forum?:rolleyes:

Yes I am sure no-one has ever lied on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

I started bootcamp ireland 3 weeks ago. i go tue, thur and saturdays.......

http://www.bootcampireland.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Pfft, exercise is a dirty 8 letter word.

In fact, for the remainder of this post, it shall be written as ********.

I went to the pool last night for the first time in, oh, 2 years. Did 2 half lengths, and decided that was enough, and went and sat in the Jacuzzi and Steam rooms until herself was finished.

I'm blessed with good genetics. I smoke, I eat whatever I want, and I'm still underweight. I'm 5'7" (ish) and I'm less than 9 stone. Haven't gone over it since I was 16.

Could do with actually putting on a few pounds, and being able to run the length of myself, but meh, effort.

Gimme them crisps, and screw you ********!

Pfft, exercise is a dirty 8 letter word.

In fact, for the remainder of this post, it shall be written as ********.

I went to the pool last night for the first time in, oh, 2 years. Did 2 half lengths, and decided that was enough, and went and sat in the Jacuzzi and Steam rooms until herself was finished.

I'm blessed with good genetics. I smoke, I eat whatever I want, and I'm still underweight. I'm 5'7" (ish) and I'm less than 9 stone. Haven't gone over it since I was 16.

Could do with actually putting on a few pounds, and being able to run the length of myself, but meh, effort.

Gimme them crisps, and screw you ********!

Tapeworm;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Used to be in a gym and did a lot of running. Must get back into it soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

I run about 70k a week. If I am training for an upcoming race then I will put in some proper distances and hit well over 100k a week.

I also play sport on my rest days. Recently got into playing frisbee ( I refuse to call it ultimate frisbee cos it's not ultimate unless the frisbee is a blade or on fire) The sport is great for sprinting and out here in the hot weather is really nice to play it in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭friendface

cloneslad wrote: »
    I run about 70k a week. If I am training for an upcoming race then I will put in some proper distances and hit well over 100k a week.

I also play sport on my rest days. Recently got into playing frisbee ( I refuse to call it ultimate frisbee cos it's not ultimate unless the frisbee is a blade or on fire) The sport is great for sprinting and out here in the hot weather is really nice to play it in

You must have more mileage on you than my old VW Golf!! Holy locomotion, Batman! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭RocketFalls

Thirty-ish push-ups every two days or so, 40-ish star-jumps whenever I remember and brisk walking every day, because I like to walk fast.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Strenuous workouts daily, or I just don't feel right. Either in a class, or something fun like swimming, surfing, or dancing.

I'm doing c25k and sometimes I walk to work also, it's 4.5k each way so it's good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Walk about 3km a day and started back at the gym this week and will prob go at least two or three times a week....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I have become a compulsive exerciser over the last few years! 3 mile run every second day along with an hour to two hours of strength training and a bit of yoga. I walk about 2-3 miles to and from work, depends if I stop off somewhere or go wandering which happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I walk about 6km a day (to&from work). I should really do more exercise but I'm a lazy bastage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Hurling training twice a week at 90 mins each session, usually a match every 2nd Sunday and I also run twice a week, minimum of 7-8 miles each run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

cycle 10km everyday