Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help in looking older

• 11-05-2010 4:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭

Hey all, I was wondering has anyone got tips on how to appear older? I plan to go to an over 18s event (Leftfield in the Tripod), but I'm only 16. Any help and advice would be appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

Pipe and slippers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

Are you male or female?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Pot Noodle =

Paint on a Ronnie thats what i used to do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Are you male or female?

Male.

Pot wrote:
    Paint on a Ronnie thats what i used to do

A what?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

If you hang around with a bunch of messers, don't walk in with them.

You could dye the bumfluff on your face black?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭friendface

Abrasax wrote: »
    Pipe and slippers.

Pubes and Glue

:o

Can you grow a bit of stubble, wear a jumper with a shirt underneath that has the collar coming out over the jumper, and don't wear 8 tons of aftershave like most young boys do. Don't try too hard. Hire a mature escort to pretend she's your girlfriend. Flick through a book on existentialist philosophy while you wait in the queue. Casually discuss how your stocks and shares are getting on, and what a tiring day you had at the office. Say that little baby Jimmy is due in September, and this is your last chance to party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

If a boucner asks you a question - any question - always answer with "Yore Ma". Always works. Even if it doesn't make sense, just do it.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Dangerdunf

Try walking in with a girl. Worked for me back in the day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

The trick is to get a combine a brown hat and sunglasses with a really big overcoat and have two of your friends underneath on each other's shoulders. Sure you'll be wobbling and flailing around in the queue but once the bouncers see how tall you are you're golden

No need I'm 6"3 haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭questioner

joe duffy t shirt

ff /fg rosette

comb in back pocket

black dress shoes and jeans

ford cortina

one or all of the above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Onesimus

Stay at home kid, the over 18 life aint all what its hyped up to be.

get out your playstation 3 and enjoy your teenage years before it ends. :D

Onesimus wrote: »
    Stay at home kid, the over 18 life aint all what its hyped up to be.

get out your playstation 3 and enjoy your teenage years before it ends. :D

It's not the 'over 18 life' that I'm trying to experience exactly, I'm trying to get to the Leftfield gig.

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    It's not the 'over 18 life' that I'm trying to experience exactly, I'm trying to get to the Leftfield gig.

Well in THAT case why dont you get yourself a lady friend who is well over 18 lets say 22 23 that usually works, also do your best not to look 18 by peeing your pants in front of the doorman, they can tell by your reactions and your nervousness, and its usually the big reason people underage never get in.

holy jeebus an under 18 year old whose into leftfield. theres hope for the world

questioner wrote: »
    holy jeebus an under 18 year old whose into leftfield. theres hope for the world

Leftfield are class, Leftism is one of my favourite albums ever.

Don't look the doorman in the eye and just stride in as if you own the place. They're like pack animals, trained to smell the fear.
    And a beard or moustache'll help. None of that downy stuff, mind.

or when the bouncer asks you how old you are, dont say 18 say 24 and learn the corresponding dob

But what if they ask for ID? They won't believe he "forgot it". OP take some money with you and if the bouncer's questioning gets too intense, roll out a 50, put it in his pocket, pat his bum and say, "There you are pretty, buy yourself something nice."

But what if they ask for ID? They won't believe he "forgot it".

Therein lies the problem my friend.

But what if they ask for ID? They won't believe he "forgot it". OP take some money with you and if the bouncer's questioning gets too intense, roll out a 50, put it in his pocket, pat his bum and say, "There you are pretty, buy yourself something nice."

HAHAHAHAHA AH that post had me in stitches

THAT's why you need to look and act so much older than 18 that they won't even think to question you.

just say, ''Didnt think I'd need it mate''

A parrot on your shoulder and an eye patch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

I reckon tripod would ask anyone who looked 18-23 for ID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Pot Noodle =

A what?:confused:

Moustache

rhythm and stealth ftw.

and where perchance did one come across arcane and mighty leftfield?

id go for the bum pat suggestion. its the sensible option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Scribble a few marks on your chest for the hair effect, works in cartoons so it should work in real life.

Op are you going alone or with any mates? usually having a crowd of mates over the 20 - 25 mark should be really helpful in getting you in.

rarnes1 wrote: »
    A parrot on your shoulder and an eye patch.

"here for leftfield"?

"yarrrr"

"id?"

"naarrr"...

"here for leftfield"?

"yarrrr"

"id?"

"naarrr"...

'yarp'' reminded me of Hot Fuzz

Do you know any young women wth kids? Get one to come in the queue with you and have a mild argument with you. Then she storms off wth the kid. Roll your eyes and say to the bouncer, "Women! If I hadn't knocked her up I wouldn't be married now!"

obvs get a fake wedding ring to wear.....

Can you tech-savvy kids not knock up a snide drivers licence or Garda I.D.?

Op are you going alone or with any mates? usually having a crowd of mates over the 20 - 25 mark should be really helpful in getting you in.

With mates, roughly the same age as me.

Can you tech-savvy kids not knock up a drivers licence or Garda I.D.?

That is an idea, don't know anyone who does them though.

With mates, roughly the same age as me.

then you may say goodbye to your gig

Can you tech-savvy kids not knock up a snide drivers licence or Garda I.D.?

ah here now thats over the top, Op avoid doing anything as durastic as that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

joe duffy t shirt

ff /fg rosette

comb in back pocket

black dress shoes and jeans

ford cortina

one or all of the above
    Dude, it's Leftfield in 2010, not Big Country in 1987! :pac:

Are these I.D's accepted?

ah here now thats over the top, Op avoid doing anything as durastic as that.

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Are these I.D's accepted?

hell no.

Ireland doesn't have driving licenses printed on cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

No need I'm 6"3 haha.
    Nice. Used to goto a local "over 21's" pub when I was 17, and due to my height, got no hassle.

Just don't look into the bouncers eyes: it's a n00b mistake, and gets most people, as bouncers can spot unease very easily this way. If you look at the bouncer, they'll ask for ID.

As for ID, just say you don't carry it, as you're 22. Wear shoes, jeans or slacks, and a shirt of some type. No tracksuits. Don't give them any reason fro them to deny you entrance. If going with a group of lads, ensure you split up well before the venue, and go with groups of older people. Converse with them about Leftfield, so the bouncers see you as part of the group.

He can pretend he's from the UK, over in Ireland visiting mates for a boozy weekend.

Why?

because its a criminal offence to duplicate an ID, at least when the bouncer turns you away for whatever reason you can walk away freely, but the last thing you want is it to go further than that and get into some real trouble.

Will they not just take it off you?

If your lucky I guess :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

when u approach he door look behind you then at the bouncer and say " pfft.. kids.."