Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

a young fella smokin a pipe?

• 10-05-2010 5:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭

Have you ever seen any young lads smokin a Pipe? ( no not the funky kind )

and if you saw a young fella lets say between the ages of 18-30 smoking one would you think of him as a rather strange character and feel the need to tell him HEY THOSE ARE FOR OLD PEOPLE ?

I quite like the smell of the tobacco that comes from a Pipe dont you?

Thoughts anyone?

The role of the Pipe within Society is? 32 votes

Get that pipe out of your mouth its for those who have retired
    0% 0 votes
    ahhh Pipes are for everyone I couldnt care less if I saw a young fella puff one
    100% 32 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

I do love pipes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭chprt

was thinking of getting a pipe myself, Im 33 dont care what people say, love the smell of it as well

paddy

www.onlinemathsgrinds.ie

crack pipes ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Onesimus

was thinking of getting a pipe myself, Im 33 dont care what people say, love the smell of it as well

paddy

I had one bought for me a long time ago, was in Dublin the other day, and came across a tobacco shop and I smelled the most beautiful delux mixture of Pipe tobacco ever and I had to buy it.

its like berrys and honey and really aromatic stuff, I hear you can get orange tobacco too and I also hear the Pipe is a great way to get off the fags, and then eventually you wont smoke the pipe as much either, do you think thats true?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

Next you'll be giving out about snuff!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Snuff

rarnes1 wrote: »
    crack pipes ftw

Looks like someone has just finished doing their homework, stuck on some Dr.Dre and hooked up to boards.ie :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Have seen a few people around college smoking pipes. Looks a bit odd, but if they like it then fair enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭fizzynicenice

Onesimus wrote: »
    stuck on some Dr.Dre and hooked up to boards.ie

Dr. Dre, Crack pipe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Smoking kills, end of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

I wouldnt think he was weird...

...if I had travelled back in time to 1890

Smoking kills, end of.

The risk of crashin in a car and dying is also extremely high yet its something we do every day. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,264 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

The risk of crashin in a car and dying is also extremely high yet its something we do every day. :confused:

Sensationalist much? There is a risk , no doubt but its hardly "extremely high"? Well... maybe if your a female

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Beanstalk

Smoking kills, end of.

Pigeons kill too, or so you would have us believe. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Any person under the age of 30 that I've seen smoking a pipe has done so in such a way that screams "Look at me, I'm smoking a pipe, how unusual and cool must I be? ... Oh, by the way, did you notice the fact that I'm smoking a PIPE? ... What are you smoking there, cigarettes? I smoke a pipe", and so on.
    These people I would catalogue under 'Twat'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I also hear the Pipe is a great way to get off the fags, and then eventually you wont smoke the pipe as much either, do you think thats true?

No but you would be less likely to get lung cancer....

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Have you ever seen any young lads smokin a Pipe? ( no not the funky kind )

and if you saw a young fella lets say between the ages of 18-30 smoking one would you think of him as a rather strange character and feel the need to tell him HEY THOSE ARE FOR OLD PEOPLE ?

I quite like the smell of the tobacco that comes from a Pipe dont you?

Thoughts anyone?

Yes, and he is the creepiest person i have ever met. And that was decided before he discovered the pipe!

The smell of it is awful too! Gives me a headache whenever he starts smoking it! I think he's using cigarette tobacco which I've been told he's not meant to?!

He's also started smoking rollies but without a filter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

If you would be willing to believe the doctor in this article then your less likely to get lung cancer because you smoke less on the ol' pipe.

http://graemets.tripod.com/Safer_Smoking.htm

Less Likely, it's no guarantee.

What you can get ready to welcome is some fun lip cancer!

Or Throat, Gum or mouth cancer too! Woohoo!!!

Beanstalk wrote: »
    Pigeons kill too, or so you would have us believe. :pac:

... I am the Killer Pigeon.

Well the world's going to end in 2012 anyway so I guess yiz can all go off and have yizzer smokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

I dont see a problem with it ive a friend who at 26 regualry smokes a pipe after a few drinks when hes having a few at home.

Ive tried it myself a few times some of it can be quite nice and leave a nice aroma in the room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Sinfonia wrote: »
    Any person under the age of 30 that I've seen smoking a pipe has done so in such a way that screams "Look at me, I'm smoking a pipe, how unusual and cool must I be? ... Oh, by the way, did you notice the fact that I'm smoking a PIPE? ... What are you smoking there, cigarettes? I smoke a pipe", and so on.

yeah i agree with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

If I saw someone very young, like mid-20s or younger, doing it I would probably think they were an attention-seeking w*nker.

So pretty much what Sinfonia said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭brianrcarney

Immediate thought - satchel! After thought satchelistic w**ker! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭ROTTING CHRIST

I'm in my 20's and smoke cigars, am I a w**ker ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...Thoughts anyone?
    Aye, Sherlock Holmes impersonator?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'm in my 20's and smoke cigars, am I a w**ker ?

You're havana laugh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

If they're old enough to grow mutton chops then they're old enough to smoke a pipe

If I ever see a teen with a pipe I'd probably be too disabled by laughter to care one way or another! Hilarious thought! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

stovelid wrote: »
    You're havana laugh?

oh ho hohh, the puns are beginning to pipe up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

stovelid wrote: »
    You're havana laugh?

Leaf him alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

If they're old enough to grow mutton chops then they're old enough to smoke a pipe

If I ever see a teen with a pipe I'd probably be too disabled by laughter to care one way or another! Hilarious thought! :pac:

I remember a guy on the secondary school bus, smoked a cig with those long cigarette holders...and had a satchel....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Bull!

My grandad died at 92 years of age he smoked all his life he also smoked 80 jon player blacks a day but my mam made him cut down to 40,

He died of old age..

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Bull!

My grandad died at 92 years of age he smoked all his life he also smoked 80 jon player blacks a day but my mam made him cut down to 40,

He died of old age..

So what you're saying is that because one man was lucky all the science that links smoking to lung cancer is bull as you put it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Bull!

He died of old age..

Imagine if he hadnt cut down by half, he could have lived to 184!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

I was so bored studying for my finals that I made a pipe out of a pen, tinfoil, a hair band and a wax plug, I welded it with a lighter. It worked like a charm except for the taste of plastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭MarkN

Anyone can get cancer but he does sound like a lucky one to get to 92 smoking that much.

Saw a young guy smoking a pipe about a month ago and I certainly thought it was weird that it stuck in my head.. just looked a bit odd but yes some of them smell lovely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Bull!

He died of old age..

You won't get too far in life if you make all your decisions based on one story...

Smoking kills, fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Bull!

He died of old age..
    That's it then, science is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

That's it then, science is wrong.

Science damn you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Sinfonia wrote: »

I read that whole post with an English accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭aido179

I own a pipe. My brother bought it for me as a funny christmas present. I've never had Proper pipe (plug?) tobacco for it so I have never smoked it properly but i did try rolling tobacco in it once for the laugh...and yeah it was obviously ****e.

I don't smoke, but for the odd cigar, but I'd like to give the pipe a proper smoke sometime, just to say I have.

does anyone want to get rid of some pipe tobacco?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭MarkN

dsmythy wrote: »

Stewy from Family Guy FTW!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Smoking kills, fact.

Thought that was Domestos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

A 19 year old boy at my university smokes pipes. He also wears old man's hunting clothes, and has pictures of the queen and Margaret Thatcher on his wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Bull!

He died of old age..

http://pix.motivatedphotos.com/2009/1/15/633676176353458617-CoolStoryBro.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

dsmythy wrote: »

Well then I must be the pretentious twat! Oh damn and blast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

Ayoung guy smoking i pipe generally means:

1/ He's a creep.

2/ He's seeking attention.

3/ Both of the above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

1/ He's a creep.

3/ He's ghey.

FYP

1/ He's a creep.

3/ Both of the above.

I generally believe that people who call him an attention seeker are usually assuming it and its all in their heads, we tend to make up stuff in our heads and come to conclusions about a person before we even know anything about them.

There are things loads of people do to get attention, but we miss all that because society accepts it as the norm, but a young lad smoking the pipe is ( to soceity ) not the norm and then they come to the conclusion that the reason why he is doing it is because he doesnt want to actually smoke the Pipe but wants to do it because he wants to go against the norm and seek attention and annoy people.

I want to smoke a Pipe but not to seek attention, I wish to do so because I feel drawn to it, I'm not a maggie thatcher fan, nor am I king Edward but just a workin class fella who has an interest in it. *shrug*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Beanstalk

... I am the Killer Pigeon.

Oh yeah....i was uhh, looking at the screen upside down...:o