Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork Boards Spin.Sunday 16th May.Just do it ye langers.

• 10-05-2010 1:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭

Ok. Lots of interest in Cork Spins. Last one was good-if small due to short notice.We could talk about it forever or just do it.

I propose 9 o clock- Grand Parade. All abilities. Route to be decided as wind/ weather become apparent.
    Beginners can do a shorter route and we can all meet on the way back.

Any takers/other ideas.????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

I should be good with this:) Boards Kit will finally fly the flag for the rebel county. Count me in unless I post up other wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

langers.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Dubba

I should be up for this as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭2 Wheels Good

Should be up for it too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭murf85

The last one was good infairness...Count me in..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭jdt101

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭thehangtenguy

I'm up for this.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

Likewise, will try and get in for this with two others hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

Should be fit in a couple of weeks so will join yis then. Ps - Cork Boards spins were soooo 2009...;)

Good idea deciding on the route on Sunday but any thoughts on distance? Just wondering about return time, I have to let shorty know what time (approx) I'll be back, I'm good for anything over an hour but would like to be back by 1 or 2, any more time will take some more cajoling :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭papac

thoughts on distance?

My plan for next weekend was for a shortish long spin if you know what I mean.

Three hours ish would suit me - don't know what anyone else thinks.

What would you do in 3h - I'd probably be anywhere between 70-80k depending on the route/weather etc.

Well if there will be as many going on sunday as seem to be interested, then maybe it would be a good idea to stick to main roads this time around..

Just to throw out a few suggestions...

This is a fantastic spin, 80km Cork-Macroom out by the Lee back main Killarney road (or turn at macroom and return the same road)

This comes in at 64km and is a Cork -Kinsale loop via Innishshannon involving the airport hill out and back:D

This is much shorter at 37km goes Cork follows the harbour along the old railway line to the ferry across to Cobh and back the old Cork-Midleton road. (N.B.!!! I have no idea what times the ferries are on at)

These are only to get the ball rolling and see where people are re hills/distance etc...

70-80k depending on the route/weather etc

Sounds about right.
    main roads this time

I think earlyish on a Sunday small roads are ok as there isn't a lot of traffic. Later on (on way back??) maybe main roads an idea.

@thebouldwhacker. I like all those routes. The Macroom back road is a favourtite of mine and where we went last time. Like you say-see who's coming and what everyone is into.
    Ballyhooley via Carrignavar is a lovely (less well known) spin.Good if the wind is in the North. About 70k hilly.(My mouse is banjaxed so cant do Mapmyride.)

I think if you have differing abilities an out and back route is good as some people can push further faster and everyone can meet up on way back for a cup of tea.

Done this route, well, a bit longer a few weeks ago but if we have a few newcomers i said id shorten it a bit, and also take out the hill going from crookstown to coachford..

http://www.mapmyride.com/route/ie/Cork/157127360582376860

All good routes... anyone else wanna post up? longer/shorter/more hills/less hills? Its all about getting bums on saddles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Jethro127

[
    QUOTE=thebouldwhacker;65836627]Just to throw out a few suggestions...

This is a fantastic spin, 80km Cork-Macroom out by the Lee back main Killarney road (or turn at macroom and return the same road)

This comes in at 64km and is a Cork -Kinsale loop via Innishshannon involving the airport hill out and back:D

This is much shorter at 37km goes Cork follows the harbour along the old railway line to the ferry across to Cobh and back the old Cork-Midleton road. (N.B.!!! I have no idea what times the ferries are on at)

These are only to get the ball rolling and see where people are re hills/distance etc...[/QUOTE]

I think the 64 & 37 are too short personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭crashoveroid

If you want a good spin here is one my club normally take head from the bandon RB to Inishshannon after you go over the bridge swing left it will bring you to Ballinadee and from there to ballinspittle from there The old Head then Kinsale time for a Coffee and cake then take the road from kinsale to the halfway RB and then up over the Viduct and back to the City good spin nice hills but noting too hard.

Great idea, but I can't go on Sunday as I've been roped into helping at the Finbarrs race. Anyone free for similar on Saturday morning? Where in Grand Parade by the way?
    No stress if it doesn't suit I can hook up with the group the following week.
    papac wrote: »
    Ok. Lots of interest in Cork Spins. Last one was good-if small due to short notice.We could talk about it forever or just do it.

I propose 9 o clock- Grand Parade. All abilities. Route to be decided as wind/ weather become apparent.
    Beginners can do a shorter route and we can all meet on the way back.

Any takers/other ideas.????

Jethro127 wrote: »
    Where in Grand Parade by the way?

The same place as all the people wearing lycra and standing beside bikes... not going into the church for mass.:rolleyes:

Only messing:pac:, dont know, by the park gates or some where around there?? either way be hard to miss.

I for one cant do sat i'm afraid, hope the race day goes well for ye.

Right lads...who is in for sunday morning so?

I know I started this thread but it looks like I can't make it now:o.

Just carry on without me.:)

That sucks... but I'm in.
    Just found out I lost a shoe cover so have to dig to find an old set:mad: god damn it I really liked them

Anyway I'll be down before 9 ready to rock.

So what happened guys.... As much as I enjoy Sunday cycling solo a tad disappointing when no one else showed:( A bit like showing upfor a game of footie and ending up with a 10 minute tip around.

Hey really sorry that no one turned up . . . as I said I couldn't go as I'd to help out with Finbarrs. Can't believe all those who raved on about 40k runs being too short and reommending 70k+ spins didn't show . .
    So what happened guys.... As much as I enjoy Sunday cycling solo a tad disappointing when no one else showed:( A bit like showing upfor a game of footie and ending up with a 10 minute tip around.

Apologies from this side, I was all set to go on Saturday night, bike and gear cleaned ready to go early Sunday am but unfortunately, as is the case sometimes, real life got in the way. Only got a chance to get on the net now :(

Can't believe all those who raved on about 40k runs being too short and reommending 70k+ spins didn't show . .

+1.
    Poor form -just needed a quick post saying you couldn't make it.

@Bouldwhacker - give me 2/3 weeks and I'll be fit enough to join yis - Will pm a couple of the boards lads I cycled with last year too.

Dont worry about it, it was just one of those days where it didnt come together. The only thing that bothered me was the looks I was getting while waiting in my lycra, I think some people wanted to throw me money while others saw me as a threat to their early sunday morning way of life. Maybe organising 9am cycles near churches with 9 am mass may not be such a good idea... those people are on high alert as is, wearing brightly coloured skin tight clothing around there may not be such a good idea:o

Well is anyone around this Saturday or Sunday morning for a spin if it's nice weather? Same place either 9.00 or 9.30? Route and length to be decided upon when we meet.

Dont worry about it, it was just one of those days where it didnt come together. The only thing that bothered me was the looks I was getting while waiting in my lycra, I think some people wanted to throw me money while others saw me as a threat to their early sunday morning way of life. Maybe organising 9am cycles near churches with 9 am mass may not be such a good idea... those people are on high alert as is, wearing brightly coloured skin tight clothing around there may not be such a good idea:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭corblimey

Picked up my new bike on Monday, so am a few weeks away from going on a spin (i know i'll be knackered after about 200 yards, and will bring shame upon my family) but I'd be up for this in a few weeks if it's still going.

Im not around this weekend unfortunately but am hoping to get out in this savage weather tomorrow if anyone is about?

murf85 wrote: »
    Im not around this weekend unfortunately but am hoping to get out in this savage weather tomorrow if anyone is about?

Where you based Murf?

Funkyzeit wrote: »
    Where you based Murf?

Glanmire but can meet up somewhere if it suits?

murf85 wrote: »
    Glanmire but can meet up somewhere if it suits?

Can only spend about an 2 hours out tomorrow and I'm out other side of City so prob not a goer sorry!

No worries at all. Il definitely be around sunday week for a spin.if not most evenings before it.just let me know

Tentitively in for a Sunday morning spin but I'll confirm when I get the chance - probably tomorrow at some point. I've a feeling I'm going to be GP bound in the morning. ugh.

Great does this mean that there will b a few lycra clad people ready for spin at 9 tomorroow?

QUOTE=Plastik;65998631]Tentitively in for a Sunday morning spin but I'll confirm when I get the chance - probably tomorrow at some point. I've a feeling I'm going to be GP bound in the morning. ugh.[/QUOTE]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭alanucc

I'll be passing Grand Parade around 9 on my way out in the morning, i'll keep an eye out!

Yep, planning on being there in the morning +1 more. Not sure of my/our standard. I recently did the 160k Tour de Cure in 7h pedaling time (7 30 inc stops), avg 24.1kmph ...

Uuugh, not sure of my ability but will give it a go . . haven't been out in a while but think that the pace noted below should be fine . . hope to see you 9-ish tho don't wait in case I bottle it !
    Plastik wrote: »
    Yep, planning on being there in the morning +1 more. Not sure of my/our standard. I recently did the 160k Tour de Cure in 7h pedaling time (7 30 inc stops), avg 24.1kmph ...

What a day for cycling, stunning weather! Add some good company and great scenery to the mix and you're on to a definite winner! Good to meet ye Alan and Jethro!

Ye really did get an unrealy day for it infairness..

Was sorry I missed this but wll definitely be around next sunday morning for a repeat, and make this a regular occurance so hopefully the weather will last till then..

Yes it was really great to finally get out . . . . . sorry about the speed - hoping I'll get faster as weeks progress. Thanks for good spin and your patience :)

Plastik wrote: »
    What a day for cycling, stunning weather! Add some good company and great scenery to the mix and you're on to a definite winner! Good to meet ye Alan and Jethro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭alanucc

Yes it was really great to finally get out . . . . . sorry about the speed - hoping I'll get faster as weeks progress. Thanks for good spin and your patience :)

Really enjoyed it, good to meet all of you. Hope to head out with ye again in a few weeks!

Anyone around this sunday for a spin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭ajk24

hi lads. i'll join ye later in the summer. i had surgery on my hip monday and it will be 6 weeks before i'm out on the road. recovery includes 3 x 10 minute sessions daily on the turbo at the moment.

i'm currently cranking out a massive 30watts :D.

@funkyzeit - i'm living down in carrigaline now so will be available for spins kinsale direction etc.

ajk24 wrote: »
    hi lads. i'll join ye later in the summer. i had surgery on my hip monday and it will be 6 weeks before i'm out on the road. recovery includes 3 x 10 minute sessions daily on the turbo at the moment.

i'm currently cranking out a massive 30watts :D.

@funkyzeit - i'm living down in carrigaline now so will be available for spins kinsale direction etc.

Thats a balls....Best of luck with the recovery!!!