Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Acting the maggot (Longford - Mullingar yesterday)

• 10-05-2010 11:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭

I couldn't believe my eyes yesterday was driving from Sligo to Dublin and around Longford I noticed an E class (I think) Merc in my rear view mirror he would come close and then back off.

So I was keeping an eye on him in the rear view mirror, next thing I notice the car behind, (not sure the make could have being an Audi TT was mostly behind the Merc) over take him, then next thing I look back the the Merc is undertaking him in the hard shoulder, but not quickly and occupied the hard should for a long time. If someone had being out walking they were done for. Once he had overtaken him (or undertaken him) the passangers in the car proceed to open the windows and hang out fully out of the window.

Then if this wasn't bad enough a few K's before Mullingar the Merc started indicating right this went on for a few minutes and the indicated left for a while then hazzards on for a while. Before he got to the dual carraige way the Guards passed and the lights went off only to appear again. I was going to ring the garda line but they pulled off on the Tullamore exit and it was too late.

I wish I pulled in early to make the call but I it was safer not to as I didn't know if the other car was going to pull off another undertaking manouver or not and my wife and kid in the back.

What goes through these peoples mind? Do they not watch the News? Probably have loaded from night before at a stag or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,157 ✭✭✭✭Berty

It is legal to speak on the phone whilst driving so long as you are speaking to a Garda Station.

Whether you are comfortable doing that or safe to do that is another question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Berty wrote: »
    It is legal to speak on the phone whilst driving so long as you are speaking to a Garda Station.

Whether you are comfortable doing that or safe to do that is another question.

You sure about that...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,157 ✭✭✭✭Berty

djimi wrote: »
    You sure about that...?

I'll let somebody else confirm it, hopefully one of the GTC people are in who will know for sure.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Yes you can hold and speak on your phone while driving if you are contacting the emergency services.

(7) It is a defence for a person charged with an offence under subsection (3), in relation to holding a mobile phone while driving a mechanically propelled vehicle, or under subsection (6), in relation to the use of a mobile phone or an in-vehicle communication device, to show that he or she was—

(a) using it to call the Garda Síochána, an ambulance, fire or other emergency service on numbers prescribed for such service, or

(b) involved in or acting in response to a genuine emergency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Sounds like a perfect job for these:
    Dash mounted Cameras
    In car camera?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Rovi wrote: »
    Sounds like a perfect job for these:
    Dash mounted Cameras
    In car camera?
    I presume you mean that the OP could install one of those?

It would be no harm is ALL garda cars (not just traffic corps) had something similar in order to provide evidence when confronted with bad driving, tailgating etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

If you gave me a few mins in a room with the driver of the Merc. I would have given him some justice. I should have rang the Guards so but chances are they wouldn't have been caught in the act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭MMD

Was this lunatic driving a black Mercedes by any chance?

A couple of weeks back, heading back to Dublin with the better half, a lunatic in a black Merc going Dublin direction started overtaking at least 6 cars in a row with oncoming traffic...cars were having to pull into the hard shoulder just to avoid him, and I swear he was so close to a motorcyclist I was sure he'd be a goner.

He was way to quick to get a plate number.

Sounds too coincidental in circumstances that it may be the same driver.

Lunatics like this should notbe the road...this is just the type of d*ckhead that would cause an accident, kill someone and walk out of it.