Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

04 Seat Toledo, yes or no?

• 10-05-2010 10:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭

I need to get a car for my wife and I've been looking for a few weeks now. We've about 6k saved and we're thhinking of getting this.

http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=220755&cat=46

We went to see the car and it seems perfect. The guy that showed us the car seemed realy genuine. I was going to give a deposit on the day but I said I'd do some research with you guys first. I checked with other cars for sale and the price seems good considering the extras. So what do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Nooooooooooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Gymsey

E39MSport wrote: »
    Nooooooooooo

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Gymsey wrote: »
    Why?

Was just answering your question. Personally, I wouldn't.

However, it gets a good review and is deemed the better alternative to the Bora.

From a purely financial perspective its possibly a sensible buy. Doesn't mention service history or # owners though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

That is a nice car but here's my experience with a Toledo:
    2007 - Seat Toledo 1.6L (2000) - ...after a year this car gave me awful trouble...some of it was amusing though (such as an indoor swimming pool in the rear footwell).

2009 - Mazda 6 1.8L (2004) - I'm happy as a pig in sh**e. I have everything I want in a car so this should do me for a good few years.

This is a quote of myself from another thread about some of my car history. I had to replace the gearbox, the clutch was going but there are things that tend to be exclusively in SEAT's (Audi's and VW's as well), such as...

The water in the footwell is a common problem.

The drivers side door lock was a problem, the remote stopped opening and closing the drivers door but worked on all others.

One time the key got stuck in the lock in the car park at work, I was in a hurry so I just had to leave it there. Eventually I couldn't lock it at all but no thieves ever noticed.

The boot usually wouldn't lock either and when it did, it wouldn't unlock, had to get things out through the back seats and then get someone to break into it. And I know someone with 01 Leon whose lock is becoming a problem too and also another friend had a similar situation with a 00 Polo.

Having said that, I did like my Toledo and it was a bit older than the one you're looking at but I prefer the Mazda 6 I have now. Maybe you could consider one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,312 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Fine car. I worked in Seat for three years anad apart from standard servicing, and occasional radio units need replacing they are a good reliable car.

With the milage thats on it though I'd make sure the timing belt has been recently done otherwise you have a pricey service coming up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Looks wise, it does nothing for me.

I'd also look at any service history, anyone car write on the T-Belt cover with tip-ex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,312 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Topper you had the petrol which always gives problems. Tdi's are better. Much better.

The boot lock is a common problem that most garages will do under warranty at any time. Even if they don't its a €20 clip and a ten minute job for a mechanic.

Water in the rear foot-well isn't that common and you might have just been unlucky. The same with the locks I think, although they are temperamental at times, and are pretty awkward to fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

with 6k there are a pile of better cars available eg a nice 04 highline passat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Gymsey

Thanks for all the replies lads.

Would you get a diesel passat for that?

Herself seems to like the Toledo, mainly because of the sunroof I think :rolleyes:. She doesnt want something too big either, she has a nasty habbit of hitting things when parking! She does a lot of driving so the high mpg is a factor aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Gymsey wrote: »
    She doesnt want something too big either, she has a nasty habbit of hitting things when parking!

So buy her a POS punto for next to nothing, keep saving and get yourself something decent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 milkybar kid wk

i have a 1.8 20v se toledo and its a great car iv nuttin bad to say about it i have it two years now and have had no problem, its good on fuel comfortable, has good space inside and is quick too i think its a great choice of car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

seems very dear for a 110 bhp. do it dose have all the toys!!
    i on my second leon and had a bora inbetween. never had any trouble with any of them. nice car to drive. parts are easy got and not very expencive..

have a look at this one http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1624639
    its the 150 tdi which would be the newer type engine with six speed box. you should have heated folding mirrors too. do it lack the cruise control and sunroof from the one in the op. dont mind the ''every extra'' in the add. its far from it..
    they can give bother with leaks but its an easy fix if your anyway handy with a few tools.
    mush the same as a mk4 golf/bora but usually better spec

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

"Condition: Excellent

Make/Model:Seat Toledo 1.9 TDI
    Year:2004
    Mileage:75k
    Colour: Grey
    Extras: full spec, all electrics, cruise control, aircon, climate control, trip computer, nokia bluetooth handsfree car kit.
    Tax: June 10
    NCT: until feb 2012, just passed last monday
    Any Other Relevant Info: just had it fully valeted and car is in very good condition. currently getting 55mpg, over 60mpg on the motorway. timing belt done at 67k, had an oil ,oil and air filters changed last February."

How long is it for sale? (tax 5 months out of date - I know it's not your responsibility, but you might ask why was it off the road)

They took it for NCT 9 months late - again I'd be asking why the NCT was delayed and why was the car off the road.

Was it crashed, did they put in a replacement engine, what happened?

It's a bit on the expensive side - I'd say between 500/750 too dear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

just noticed thread is over 5 months old hense the tax and nct...