Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The biggest con the country has ever seen!

• 10-05-2010 2:49am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭

People of Ireland we need to take our lead from Greese and stand up now. With all due respects and I don’t care what this sounds like but we need to unite with one voice that we will not be healed responsible for what is at the very least the governments gross criminal negligence and their widespread corruption. Colluding with banks and multi millionaire property developers to convince the young working families of this country that buying one of these poorly serviced, poorly planned, poorly built, massively over price sh*t boxes was without no shadow of a doubt the best thing that anyone could do. With a blatant disregard for the socio economic impact that it would cause, the government encouraged us to barrow to the very limit of what we could afford for the rest of our working life and beyond. Even when the government was in no doubt themselves that things were headed for a massive crash they continued to reassure us that everything was ok, in fact it could not be better and was not going to end. When leading economists tried to warn the public as to what was going to happen our wonderful saint of a Taoiseach Bertie Ahern told them to commit suicide. To say that he failed to act in the best interest of the people of this country is somewhat of an understatement. Well Mr Ahern by encouraging the young families of Ireland to commit economic suicide there can be no doubt who you were acting in the best interest of.
    So now that half the country is up sh*t creek owing a fortune for an overpriced sh*t box in a half finished estate and with no work to pay for it whets the government’s solution to get us out of this mess? Oh aye, we by the rest of these sh*t boxes of the banks so we can knock them down. Am I the only person that thinks this is insane? And the best thing of all is they have us all fighting with each other!!
    What do we do?
    Stand up say no, join our Greek brothers and force a just, fare and social solution to a problem that was in no way our fault.
    Or
    Say nothing, Do nothing and shackle ourselves, our children and our children’s children with this never ending economic burden the government would have us face as they celebrate with the banks for having gotten away with The biggest con the country has ever seen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭cm2000

duffflash wrote: »
    People of Ireland we need to take our lead from grease and stand up now. With all due respects and I don’t care what this sounds like but we need to unite with one voice that we will not be healed responsible for what is at the very least the governments gross criminal negligence and their widespread corruption. Colluding with banks and multi millionaire property developers to convince the young working families of this country that buying one of these poorly serviced, poorly planned, poorly built, massively over price sh*t boxes was without no shadow of a doubt the best thing that anyone could do. With a blatant disregard for the socio economic impact that it would cause, the government encouraged us to barrow to the very limit of what we could afford for the rest of our working life and beyond. Even when the government was in no doubt themselves that things were headed for a massive crash they continued to reassure us that everything was ok, in fact it could not be better and was not going to end. When leading economists tried to warn the public as to what was going to happen our wonderful saint of a Taoiseach Bertie Ahern told them to commit suicide. To say that he failed to act in the best interest of the people of this country is somewhat of an understatement. Well Mr Ahern by encouraging the young families of Ireland to commit economic suicide there can be no doubt who you were acting in the best interest of.
    So now that half the country is up sh*t creek owing a fortune for an overpriced sh*t box in a half finished estate and with no work to pay for it whets the government’s solution to get us out of this mess? Oh aye, we by the rest of these sh*t boxes of the banks so we can knock them down. Am I the only person that thinks this is insane? And the best thing of all is they have us all fighting with each other!!
    What do we do?
    Stand up say no, join our Greek brothers and force a just, fare and social solution to a problem that was in no way our fault.
    Or
    Say nothing, Do nothing and shackle ourselves, our children and our children’s children with this never ending economic burden the government would have us face as they celebrate with the banks for having gotten away with The biggest con the country has ever seen!

Spelling, grammar and general sentence construction aside, you make some reasonable points. Yes Government encouraged us to borrow. The main method of doing this was by joining the EMU in 2002 thus giving us artificially low interest rates for a prolonged period of time which encouraged borrowing by both banks and consumers. Savings, with the exception of a short lived SSIA scheme was very much discouraged. The effect of this would have been less cataclysmic if the government called a halt to public spending and hoarded money, but as we know, they did not.

All this aside, GREECE!! are not an example to follow. They are bankrupt and every day of street protest pushes up the cost of borrowing even more. Sadly it has also lead to the murder of three innocent civilians. Austerity is the only way forward for both our governments and our people.

• Registered Users Posts: 253 ✭✭Moro Man

cm2000 wrote: »

All this aside, GREECE!! are not an example to follow. They are bankrupt and every day of street protest pushes up the cost of borrowing even more. Sadly it has also lead to the murder of three innocent civilians. Austerity is the only way forward for both our governments and our people.

Wait til the Government announce the halving of all civil service salaries / social welfare payments and widescale redundancies and the doubling of all taxes ....... with immediate effect :eek::eek:

The Gardai are already looking to be allowed moonlight, the normal starting point if you want to see a banana republic.

Wait about 6 months and replace Greece with Ireland in the following

http://www.examiner.ie/world/people-will-not-be-able-to-bear-cuts-119390.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭duffflash

cm2000 wrote: »
    Spelling, grammar and general sentence construction aside, you make some reasonable points. Yes Government encouraged us to borrow. The main method of doing this was by joining the EMU in 2002 thus giving us artificially low interest rates for a prolonged period of time which encouraged borrowing by both banks and consumers. Savings, with the exception of a short lived SSIA scheme was very much discouraged. The effect of this would have been less cataclysmic if the government called a halt to public spending and hoarded money, but as we know, they did not.

Ta for the comment.
    Ok for one I do not condone violence of any kind!
    I just think crippling a country that is already on its knees with pay cuts job cuts and tax increases all to pay the banks for a load of half finished houses in Leitrim will never repair our economy.
    Look it’s going to happen, we are going to go bankrupt and any fool can see it (me included). So let’s rush things along so we can fix it properly`.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭duffflash

Moro Man wrote: »
    Wait til the Government announce the halving of all civil service salaries / social welfare payments and widescale redundancies and the doubling of all taxes ....... with immediate effect :eek::eek:

The Gardai are already looking to be allowed moonlight, the normal starting point if you want to see a banana republic.

Wait about 6 months and replace Greece with Ireland in the following

http://www.examiner.ie/world/people-will-not-be-able-to-bear-cuts-119390.html

Ah yes globalization, the world run by Tesco and coca cola!
    What is the point of having china and India selling goods and services to the west when no one here has the fecking money to buy any of it?
    :mad: It’s the bill Cullen school of economics!! Work for nothing bill? Work for nothing? Who the fu*k is going to buy your cars if we’re all working for nothing!!? This is the kind of moron we have advising the government!:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭stoneill

The original poster has a very valid point, what exactly have the Irish people done to show their opposition to the way the current government have handled the economic crises, the banks, the developers, NAMA, unemployment, school crises, health, social walfer, tax dodgers, emigration and the million other issues that have befallen Ireland in the last few years?
    Nothing.
    We sit on our hands and now we have handed a bankers rescue package that out kids and their kids will still be paying for - if they don't flee to other countries, people from all over Europe collecting social welfare, the sick and elderly not being cared for.... and so on.
    It troubles me that we still haven't heard the worst news yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

I agree that I don't know why people here don't protest much. If you're so angry then why don't you make a placard and go to Leinster House? It's not difficult.

If you're angry at least focus it in the right directions. You should be angry that a bailout of the banking system needed to happen, not that it is happening now.

You should be angry that in a year when the new budget will need to cut 3 billion more in spending, a deal is on the table which promises a revision of previous public-sector pay cuts AND the important issue of public-sector pension reform has been taken off the table. (http://www.finfacts.ie/irishfinancenews/article_1019631.shtml)

As a result, the cuts will now probably concentrate on the State's capital expenditure, the one area of government spending that would help the economy, improve our productivity and deliver real benefits to the country.

Have you seen the deficit? If you're this angry now, just wait for what's coming.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

A discussion forum is not a blog. The place for impassioned pleas to your audience is your blog.

moderately,
    Scofflaw