Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another example of Fianna Fail cronyism!

• 08-05-2010 3:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭

Today’s Irish Independent carries a story (page 10) of former EU Commissioner Padraig Flynn being presented with a 'lifetime service award' by Michael Martin on behalf of Fianna Fail. The presentation was not publicised by the party's headquarters. Again another example of Fianna Fail rewarding wrongdoers. Nothing has changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Just seen them on the news - a bunch of waffling gombeens!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Lifetime Self Service Award shirley?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

juuge wrote: »
    Today’s Irish Independent carries a story (page 10) of former EU Commissioner Padraig Flynn being presented with a 'lifetime service award' by Michael Martin on behalf of Fianna Fail. The presentation was not publicised by the party's headquarters. Again another example of Fianna Fail rewarding wrongdoers. Nothing has changed.

That isn't cronyism, its the FF party giving a FF member an award for lifetime service to the party. It would be odd if it wasn't given to a FF member would it not?

Personally, I don't think Pee Flynn should be getting any awards for what hes done or been involved with, but don't exaggerate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Doob in the seam of the plums is what I'd give him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭juuge

...... but don't exaggerate.
    Fianna Fáil chose to keep this event low key knowing that it would cause public outcry to see someone of the calibre of Pee Flynn being awarded anything.
    Yet they went ahead and did it. To me that’s cronyism

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Micheál Martin.

Fianna Fáil chose to keep this event low key knowing that it would cause public outcry to see someone of the calibre of Pee Flynn being awarded anything.
    Yet they went ahead and did it. To me that’s cronyism

That still doesn't make it cronyism. FF are allowed to reward FF members how they wish when they use their own funds. How is say FF awarding a lifetime achievement award to Jack Lynch any different from awarding Pee Flynn? They are both FF men. It would be cronyism if public funds were used, but they weren't.

I don't agree with the award and think Pee Flynn is too tainted to be given anything, however what FF do is their business. Yes to the general public giving this man anything looks bad, but to call it cronyism (unless you are a FF member) is wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

Why shouldn't he get the award.

To FF members his sleaze, arrogance and corruption is something to look up to.

His appearence on the Late Late was worth the award alone. The slimey git.

His whole family are of the same standard.

The wife who told a tribunal of enquiry she couldn't remember how she came to open bogus offshore accounts and buy a farm in North Mayo.

His daughter Beverly's unsuccessful libel action against RTÉ for bringing to light tax evasion and personal enrichment from a huge political donation.

Another daughter,Audrey, was accused by a judge of "breathtaking arrogance" in her attitude to the laws of the land.

FF giving him and award says it all about the qualities that they aspire to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

To give him the award speaks to the character of the organization, and the individuals within it, and what ideals they hold close to themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

That still doesn't make it cronyism. FF are allowed to reward FF members how they wish when they use their own funds. How is say FF awarding a lifetime achievement award to Jack Lynch any different from awarding Pee Flynn? They are both FF men. It would be cronyism if public funds were used, but they weren't.

I don't agree with the award and think Pee Flynn is too tainted to be given anything, however what FF do is their business. Yes to the general public giving this man anything looks bad, but to call it cronyism (unless you are a FF member) is wrong.
    Nothing wrong with giving out the award but why did they keep it quiet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

The perpetual "trying to run 3 houses on just €150k" trophy, in fairness he derserves it.

There are three answers to that question

1) They didn't keep it quiet, aren't we talking about it?
    2) Perhaps FF never publish details about the people it honours?
    3) Maybe they felt that the public wouldn't understand their motives for honouring the man.

.......... but to call it cronyism (unless you are a FF member) is wrong.
    If you take the time to check you'll find the definition of cronyism as being....'special treatment and preference given to friends or colleagues, especially in politics'

1) They didn't keep it quiet....
    Oh yes they did! From the national media that is.
    The Independent goes on to say ' Beverley Flynn's press adviser organised a local photographer to take pictures of Minister Martin presenting the award. These pictures were sent to the local 'Connaught Telegraph' newspaper but not to the national media.' This by the way took place in Castlebar on Friday April 23rd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

I often wonder how many local newspaper editors and more senior newspeople are 'advised' by FFers in respective areas!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

im with oppenheimer here, big fcuking deal. they aren't wasting any taxpayers money they can do what they like and tell whoever they want. they dont have a duty in this instance to anyone, except FF members. its pathetic how the rabble brigade will latch onto absolutely anything, truly pathetic. at least give out about something worth giving out about

plus these buzzwords are extremely annoying at this stage - cronyism :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭trapsagenius

They probably feared the expected backlash on boards.ie.

aDeener wrote: »
    . its pathetic how the rabble brigade will latch onto absolutely anything, truly pathetic. at least give out about something worth giving out about
    OK! - Let's all sit back and let you decide the agenda!
    I hate those buzz words 'rabble brigade' - Jayzus lighten up will ya?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭trapsagenius

I hate those buzz words 'rabble brigade' - Jayzus lighten up will ya?;)

What-and "cronyism" isn't a buzz word at all?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Cronyism / Phoneyism who cares ?

The bit that I got from this peice of news is that FF still believe that Gombeenism/Cute Hoorism / Nod amd Wink Ism / Golden Circle and Galway tentism culture is still alive and well and nurtured within the party.

How else could they give Pee and his obnoxous family any sort of "award".

They need to be told....

Cronyism / Phoneyism who cares ?

The bit that I got from this peice of news is that FF still believe that Gombeenism/Cute Hoorism / Nod amd Wink Ism / Golden Circle and Galway tentism culture is still alive and well and nurtured within the party.

They need to be told....

probably for his services to the mayo west constituency

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

probably for his services to the mayo west constituency

Yea right :D:D:D

well what else would FF be rewarding him for? if they were asked why that would have to be their reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I don't believe his "obnoxious family" got any award.
    Yes to the general public giving this man anything looks bad, but to call it cronyism (unless you are a FF member) is wrong.
    I'm not going to call it cronyism, but I don't like it and I will be raising it at the next meeting I attend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

ninty9er wrote: »
    I don't like it and I will be raising it at the next meeting I attend.

Do let us know what response you get.

Of course, I'd suspect it'll be like the sickening bankers' bonuses and pay rises.

I don't believe his "obnoxious family" got any award.

Ok pal if you want to get picky - the family did not get any award.

But I'm sure the whole tribe of longnecked chancers were at the function basking in the reflected glory of the "Big man's" award.

The fact that this event has taken place at all tells me that the FF golden circle culture is still alive and well and that they are prepared to look after their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Ok pal if you want to get picky - the family did not get any award.

But I'm sure the whole tribe of longnecked chancers were at the function basking in the reflected glory of the "Big man's" award.

The fact that this event has taken place at all tells me that the FF golden circle culture is still alive and well and that they are prepared to look after their own.
    Get over it. In fact, it's not state business, is unrelated to his public office as far as I'm concerned as is a matter for the Fianna Fáil party to do what it wishes. It doesn't affect you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Call it whatever you like but it's not something that gives off the best vibe about FF and whether they value things like openness, honesty and accountability. Maybe they do and I'd like to think that the up and comings do but this makes it look like FF doesn't. It may or may not be the same old same old but unfortunately for FF, it looks like either the same old same old or someone entered into idiot mode when they made the decision to do this. I'd rather the latter but I can't blame anyone for thinking the former.

Given that Pee Flynn held three bogus non-residential accounts during his time as a government minister, the dispute between Flynn and Tom Gilmartin about who the £50,000 donation was intended for (FF or Flynn, Gilmartin said his cheque was intended for FF, Flynn says Gilmartin's cheque was intended for Flynn) and the lodging of that cheque to a bank account by Flynn using a London address that didn't exist, while it is certainly a private decision for FF as to the destination of FF awards, as an indicator of what FF currently appears to value, it's rather poor PR on their behalf as a public matter of interest of what FF currently appears to value. I'd be hoping for better than this from a party that needs to shake off the mere notion that corruption is OK, let alone rewarding those that participated in and benefited from it. People like Padraig Flynn.

As a decision that has been revealed in the media, someone in the FF organisation who approved this has quite a bit to learn about negative PR. It looks bad. It smells bad. Let's face it, it's pretty bad. Personally, I think it ranks at best of rampant idiocy. Given ten years of tribunals, including Padraig Flynn's involvement, I'd have hoped for better.

sceptre wrote: »
    Call it whatever you like but it's not something that gives off the best vibe about FF and whether they value things like openness, honesty and accountability. Maybe they do and I'd like to think that the up and comings do but this makes it look like FF doesn't. It may or may not be the same old same old but unfortunately for FF, it looks like either the same old same old or someone entered into idiot mode when they made the decision to do this. I'd rather the latter but I can't blame anyone for thinking the former.

Given that Pee Flynn held three bogus non-residential accounts during his time as a government minister, the dispute between Flynn and Tom Gilmartin about who the £50,000 donation was intended for (FF or Flynn, Gilmartin said his cheque was intended for FF, Flynn says Gilmartin's cheque was intended for Flynn) and the lodging of that cheque to a bank account by Flynn using a London address that didn't exist, while it is certainly a private decision for FF as to the destination of FF awards, as an indicator of what FF currently appears to value, it's rather poor PR on their behalf as a public matter of interest of what FF currently appears to value. I'd be hoping for better than this from a party that needs to shake off the mere notion that corruption is OK, let alone rewarding those that participated in and benefited from it. People like Padraig Flynn.

As a decision that has been revealed in the media, someone in the FF organisation who approved this has quite a bit to learn about negative PR. It looks bad. It smells bad. Let's face it, it's pretty bad. Personally, I think it ranks at best of rampant idiocy. Given ten years of tribunals, including Padraig Flynn's involvement, I'd have hoped for better.

He was never convicted of any wrongdoing though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

It was proved that he had illegal off shore accounts. He admitted taking cheques for his own personal benefit, disguised as FF donations.

Bertie and Haughey were never convicted either but the dogs in the street know they are/were guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

....they aren't wasting any taxpayers money....

What! Only every fcuking day they are!:eek:

Yeah, only because they fcuking own the judiciary and because it's only the proles who get convicted of anything round these here parts.

Apologists, the two of yiz :mad:

The only time I ever agreed with anything anyone from fine gael said was when leo vardakar said that FF should be treated like the Nazis or the Ba'athists.

They have ruined this fine land and hopefully they will get their comeuppence, though sometimes I wonder if we just love taking this sh1t.

Pete M. wrote: »

The award was paid for by the FF party, not the state. So it didn't cost you or I anything seeing as I assume neither of us are FF members.

Yeah, only because they fcuking own the judiciary and because it's only the proles who get convicted of anything round these here parts.

The only time I ever agreed with anything anyone from fine gael said was when leo vardakar said that FF should be treated like the Nazis or the Ba'athists.

They have ruined this fine land and hopefully they will get their comeuppence, though sometimes I wonder if we just love taking this sh1t.

Are you saying the Judiciary is corrupt? Please provide some evidence.

im fairly certain taking quotes out of context like that is against the charter. it was clear what i was saying and you completely twisted it.

i also see that you are not big on the idea of innocent until proven guilty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

Typical:rolleyes:

Roll out the old technical defenses.

How much of 'their own money' did they take from property developers & bankers who have been bailed out by the taxpayer?

Judge Mary Devins hasn't exactly been that even handed with regard to her treatment of protesters from Shell2Sea now has she? And who is she married to again? Oh yeah, it's FF TD Jimmy Devins. And who is it who sold off our resources for some pieces of silver, ah yes, FF again.

As for taking a quote out of context, I don't reckon that I did. You said that they weren't wasting taxpayers money in giving Pee his award, when I think most right minded people would see it as a waste of anyone's money giving that man anything, nevermind an award.
    Outstanding service my orse. To himself and his cronies perhaps (there I used it again;))

WRT to your use of the phrase 'innocent until proven guilty' in relation to Pee, you got to be kidding :rolleyes:

FF embody all that is wrong with this country and FG ain't far behind.

Makes one think that maybe we deserve it :(

How much of 'their own money' did they take from property developers & bankers who have been bailed out by the taxpayer?

Judge Mary Devins hasn't exactly been that even handed with regard to her treatment of protesters from Shell2Sea now has she? And who is she married to again? Oh yeah, it's FF TD Jimmy Devins. And who is it who sold off our resources for some pieces of silver, ah yes, FF again.

As for taking a quote out of context, I don't reckon that I did. You said that they weren't wasting taxpayers money in giving Pee his award, when I think most right minded people would see it as a waste of anyone's money giving that man anything, nevermind an award.
    Outstanding service my orse. To himself and his cronies perhaps (there I used it again;))

WRT to your use of the phrase 'innocent until proven guilty' in relation to Pee, you got to be kidding :rolleyes:

Thats a pretty big allegation, I assume you're able to prove it. Otherwise it would be libel, would it not?

yes you bloody well did. and you basically admit it there by saying its a "waste of anyone's money" because it was not a waste of taxpayers money.
    and there was nothing technical about it, you claimed i said something which i did not say.

i got to be kidding? sorry for believing in that old saying then. clearly you don't but everyone is entitled to their own beliefs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Three things folks:

1. On-topic please, this space-age tangent on the judiciary isn't. And no, trying to draw a connecting line in pencil or crayon between a judge's decisions and FF behaviour isn't on-topic. Flinging "wah" allegations around as part of that out-there tangent isn't worthwhile either.

2. Reasonable politeness towards fellow members is expected, as mandated by the charter. Please read the charter.

3. Personalising the discussion (aka playing the man, not the ball) isn't permitted. Knock it off.

With the above three points at the front of your heads, you may carry on on-topic, with reasonable politeness and without personalising the discussion. All three or not at all. I shouldn't have to point any of this out as the charter contents and politeness are simple concepts.

/mod

Get over it. In fact, it's not state business, is unrelated to his public office as far as I'm concerned as is a matter for the Fianna Fáil party to do what it wishes. It doesn't affect you.

Slightly warped reasoning there pal ?

Of course it's a matter for the Fianna fail party to do as it wishes..haven't they been doing that for the past thirty yrs !

Of course it dosn't affect me - but I have a right to comment on it.... hmm ?

Sounds as you would like to deny me that ?

Let me make things a little clearer ...my comment was on what this grubby little award tells us about the FF party - rather than the award itself.

You don't necessarily have to be convicted in a court of law of any wrong doing to be unfit for public office.

We have plenty of examples of that !

Slightly warped reasoning there pal ?

Of course it's a matter for the Fianna fail party to do as it wishes..haven't they been doing that for the past thirty yrs !

Of course it dosn't affect me - but I have a right to comment on it.... hmm ?

Sounds as you would like to deny me that ?

Let me make things a little clearer ...my comment was on what this grubby little award tells us about the FF party - rather than the award itself.

You don't necessarily have to be convicted in a court of law of any wrong doing to be unfit for public office.

We have plenty of examples of that !

Has anyone ever got a fair trial by the media?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭dunleakelleher

Thats only according to the FF book of ethics. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

At the very least, this shows the types of people that FF choose to celebrate and reward.

Regardless of who footed the bill, that's enough of an indictment for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I'm with you on that Liam.

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    At the very least, this shows the types of people that FF choose to celebrate and reward.

Exactly! Even at a time when Fianna Fáil are at an historic low in the polls they still rub our noses in it. Such arrogance cannot be tolerated any longer –roll on the election.