Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Google search

• 06-05-2010 7:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭

what just happened the format,its all changed.

I dont like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

I agree. Make it go away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

It's fine, makes it easier to narrow your search, I kinda like it.

Some people panic at the first sign of a website changing slightly..

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭snow ghost

The Greeks did it! :eek: I mean Geeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Don't like it, fear change. Hitler wanted change and look what happened.

-Funk

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Ah they changed something!
    ****!
    That's it. I'm going to the next best search engi....
    Ah no. Actually I'm used to it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

I don't like it either but then I find a lot of things hard to understand!!:D

Why do things keep changing just when I'm comfortable with them??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

It's Dogpile's time to shine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

This is like that time in high infants when teacher used colour chalke for no reason and everyone started crying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 nike319

I don't like it either. It all looks a bit square.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I don't like that toolbar at the side, my lappy is small enough :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I don't like how 40% of my life is now dependent on it being there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Peferred the old way too, shakes fist at neighbourhood kids:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭celsy

It just looks wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭snow ghost

I googled and found this - those who don't like the new sidebar may find it helpful:

"If you prefer a more minimalistic presentation, - you can always use the Google Mobile WebSearch interface. Yes, you can use the Google Mobile interface from your regular browser, you don't need a cell phone or a PDA.

Google WebSearch Mobile: http://www.google.com/m "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

Why do things keep changing just when I'm comfortable with them??

Did you try googling it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

Handy alternative:
    http://www.doogle.org/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Embrace change. I have for years now.

Why I remember back to when Google search used to be called Yahoo search.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

It's homosexual it is.

I want the old one back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Googles forums are alive with people complaining about that left-hand sidebar. An addon has already been made to get rid of it :D

http://www.seotools.com/hide-google-options/index.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Tis the work of the devil himself, so it is. But I suppose we'll get used to it and wonder what all the fuss was about.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

It's almost as much of a ridiculus letdown as google buzz. I think google have jumped the shark tbh. It was their aquisition of youtube that did it for me. Like your google login is your passport to the most popular sites on the web now and they're all bloody integrated in the most annoying way possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

I dont see a change:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Pollyo

Hi
    Ye about an hour ago I noticed something was differnt with google left hand side and there is a options i thought it was computer and maybe someone had hacked the font is changed
    regards
    pollyo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Gang of Gin

Your posts used to be far more insightful.

adamski8 wrote: »
    I dont see a change:confused:

you won't see it till you search for something!

The new font is clunky.

mars bar wrote: »
    It's homosexual it is.

I want the old one back!

What kind of sexual is that?

And google will normally let it be known that there will be slight changes to its search engine don't like I'm abit warey - has something gone wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

It's fine, makes it easier to narrow your search, I kinda like it.

Some people panic at the first sign of a website changing slightly..

Well the options were always available! They just weren't shown as default.

I don't particularly like it... it looks too much like Bing now. I guess just too many people weren't aware of the options of filtering results on Google (only discovered it recently myself).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

It's crap - You used to be able to go to google.ie and tick a box for showing results only from Irish websites. Now you have to search the entire web first and only then get the option to search by country.

Genuine fail for me. :(

God help them they are in a right state well we could be follwing them things are soooooooooooooooo bad

google are on twitter will go check
    for update

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Didnt notice it till you pointed it out.

Grand...its still the best search engine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

--LOS-- wrote: »
    you won't see it till you search for something!
    was hoping somebody would post http://lmgtfy.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

This is like that time in high infants when teacher used colour chalke for no reason and everyone started crying

LOL...Reminds me when i used to drive the 120 bus from Cabra,I was so bored driving the same route all day (it only took 20 mins)I would take a right turn instead of a left turn into town and everyone on the bus would scream and shout in tandem "Ahhh ...your going the wrong way"!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

mine looks identical.

like, no change - even when I search...

can choose ireland if i want too...

S'ppose I did warn them not to change it on me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

At least this hasn't changed . . .:rolleyes: :D

adamski8 wrote: »
    was hoping somebody would post http://lmgtfy.com/

that would have been so funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Mrmoe wrote: »
    Peferred the old way too, shakes fist at neighbourhood kids:mad:

Google would have gotten away too....if it weren't for those pesky kids!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

What kind of sexual is that?

Homo.

I thought I said that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭OxfordComma

First Facebook, then Youtube, now Google :( Goddammit, why can't they just leave these things alone?

I like it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

Google's the exact same here in Spain.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

iAy ay ay! I did hear a Spanish person call it Kho-ogg-lay though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

I read that post in the pub. Laughed. Passed it around and everybody laughed before somebody questioned your spelling of chalk. Perfect post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

eightyfish wrote: »
    I read that post in the bar. Laughed. Passed it around and everybody laughed before somebody questioned your spelling of chalk. Perfect post.

Ah, I have a mate called Chalke, went and got my chalk and Chalke messed up like an eejit