Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Idiot factory workers

• 06-05-2010 12:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭

My job brings me into all sectors of industry in Ireland, from the most state of the art laboratories to the funkiest meat plants and everything in between.
    I have to be honest , we have a manufacturing workforce that in my opinion are absolute wasters. In my job I come across factories that are closing down and going on short weeks etc. , and whenever I hear any announcements in the media , I am never suprised when they are in manufacturing plants I have bad experiences of.
    Please believe me I don't want to tar everyone with the same brush , but I am talking of an overall view that we are very immature , ineffecient, and just dossers.
    As I type this , I am working in a Pharmacuetical Manufacturing plant in the south east and there is 5 lads/adults and they are standing around , laughing , joking , messfighting, arm wrestling and shouting sexist comments at a few girls that work near the area. I see this everywhere.
    I'm cringeing here with the carry on. Before anybody gives me the 'oul report them for the actions lark, I am a contractor and it really is not my place to do anything but bitch about this on the internets.
    Please , Please tell me this is not only an Irish thing.

*** I am working too , I know what your thinking , I am waiting for a process to run.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

kwalshe wrote: »
    Please believe me I don't want to tar everyone with the same brush

Delete your post, so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

And you think you're so clever and classless and free,
    But you're still fcuking peasents as far as he can see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

we have a manufacturing workforce that in my opinion are absolute wasters.
    As I type this , I am working in a Pharmacuetical Manufacturing plant in the south east
    Oh dear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I worked in a factory in another country when I was getting money together for travelling.
    It seems a lot of the people there (mainly the old ones that had been there 10-15 years) was just doing their bit and not an iota more.
    Guess factory work will do that to you after a while; clock in, do what you're supposed to, clock out, go home for dinner. Repeat every day until you croak/pension.
    There were a few guys there that probably would never have been able to get an office job, being a bit slow. They seemed quite content in a repetitive job.

"We have a manufacturing workforce that in my opinion are absolute wasters" ≠ "I don't want to tar everyone with the same brush"

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

*** I am working too , I know what your thinking , I am waiting for a process to run.;)

Maybe they're waiting for a programme to run aswel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

My job brings me into all sectors of industry in Ireland, from the most state of the art laboratories to the funkiest meat plants and everything in between.
    I have to be honest , we have a manufacturing workforce that in my opinion are absolute wasters. In my job I come across factories that are closing down and going on short weeks etc. , and whenever I hear any announcements in the media , I am never suprised when they are in manufacturing plants I have bad experiences of.
    Please believe me I don't want to tar everyone with the same brush , but I am talking of an overall view that we are very immature , ineffecient, and just dossers.
    As I type this , I am working in a Pharmacuetical Manufacturing plant in the south east and there is 5 lads/adults and they are standing around , laughing , joking , messfighting, arm wrestling and shouting sexist comments at a few girls that work near the area. I see this everywhere.
    I'm cringeing here with the carry on. Before anybody gives me the 'oul report them for the actions lark, I am a contractor and it really is not my place to do anything but bitch about this on the internets.

Perhaps you should stop posting on boards and get back to work, Fucking Wasters! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Irish manufacturing is really good, we have good processes so there's no need to be breaking our balls working non stop every hour. All that matter is you meet demand unless your going for some almighty bulk sale. As long as the works done everybodys happy. Chinese work their fingers to the bone and still can't make good products, the stuff they've sent to us just wouldn't leave a factory in Europe.

At the same time I've been ignored by Irish insulation companies who have thrown away very big monthly sales because they simply couldn't answer an email. Maybe they're over worked at the moment but our company is going to have to go overseas just to get someone to answer a phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭freelancerTax

i worked in a few factories before i had a career -

seveal times i got given out to by other people on the line because i was working faster then them (wasnt hard) they said i was making them look bad. it was like a go slow :)

i think many people get comfortable when they have been there a long time and feel that they dont have to pull their weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

Sounds like you're a dosser as well posting while at work. But I see your point. These kind of people couldn't get a job anywhere else. A bunch of mickeymen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

I agree totally with the OP. Worked in a factory for 2 years in total and it's all about how little you can do. Operators and techicians alike are mostly waster. There's the odd gem but most are wasters.

My girlfriend worked in a semiconductor environment as well and also agrees with me. My brother worked in a mine/factory and he also agrees. They were paid too much to do too little. Thankfully things are changing.

They wouldn't have lasted 2 minutes in Israel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭ocokev

When time is lean its time to clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

biko wrote: »

There were a few guys there that probably would never have been able to get an office job, being a bit slow.

But office jobs are perfect for people who are a bit slow.

i worked in a few factories before i had a career -

seveal times i got given out to by other people on the line because i was working faster then them (wasnt hard) they said i was making them look bad.
    There's a bit of that sure but one person can't be moving faster than everybody else or it causes problems on the line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Chuileog wrote: »

Many office jobs aren't much different to factory jobs. Paperwork sent through on a conveyer belt that is your inbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭freelancerTax

There's a bit of that sure but one person can't be moving faster than everybody else or it causes problems on the line.
    its not because i was going exceptionally fast , it was because they were all chatting and dossing and going as slow as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

sink wrote: »
    Perhaps you should stop posting on boards and get back to work, Fucking Wasters! :rolleyes:

I work for myself so if I dont work hard, I don't get paid, I am in a totally different situation than these morons. I revert on my OP, it was unfair of me to give my opinion on all sectors of manufacturing. There is a lot of amazing companies , both multi and national that are totally clued in and are a pleasure to work for.
    But some of the old money, manufacturing jobs is what I am talking about, I am embarrased with the carry on. There is 2 lads in their booths working away though. I have been talking to them, they are dead sound , and 1 polish and 1 brazilian.

Still waiting for my process cycle to finish , only 10 mins left then back to work..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

I love how you come on saying theyre wasting their time, yet your wasting your time on boards complaining about them!

Classy

timmywex wrote: »
    I love how you come on saying theyre wasting their time, yet your wasting your time on boards complaining about them!

Classy

Well unless they own the company I'm in, they are wasting somebody elses time.
    touché

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

There are dossers in every job, every sector (and in my experience, other countries). Some of the worst dossers are people able to crawl their way up the ladder by kissing the right a*se. I'm all for having a bit of a laugh in work but if things aren't getting done, it's the people at the top who are to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

Well unless they own the company I'm in, they are wasting somebody elses time.
    touché

As are you.

At least they're not so crippled by their own insecurities and social ineptitude that they can't pass a day doing a drudgeruous repetitive job by having the 'banter', while you peer at them through your two-inch-thick spectacles from around your oversized computer monitor, bemoaning their lack of intellectual development as you stare into the cold, dark abyss that is your lonely extistence where envy is your only constant companion.

Smart Bug wrote: »
    As are you.

At least they're not so crippled by their own insecurities and social ineptitude that they can't pass a day doing a drudgeruous repetitive job by having the 'banter', while you peer at them through your two-inch-thick spectacles from around your oversized computer monitor, bemoaning their lack of intellectual development as you stare into the cold, dark abyss that is your lonely extistence where envy is your only constant companion.

You got it in one...... now get back to work......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭Greyfox

we have a manufacturing workforce that in my opinion are absolute wasters...we are very immature , ineffecient, and just dossers...there is 5 lads/adults and they are standing around , laughing , joking , messfighting, arm wrestling and shouting sexist comments at a few girls that work near the area.

That's not the fault of the the factory workers, it's a fault with managment for letting people have the time to be dossing, their the idiots! I worked in a factory years ago and my only aim like most factory workers was to do as little as possible between when I clocked in and when I clocked out as their was no incentive for doing a good job. Also I reckon the "dossing" is the only way to take your mind off how sh**e your job actually is

I work for myself so if I dont work hard, I don't get paid, I am in a totally different situation than these morons. I revert on my OP, it was unfair of me to give my opinion on all sectors of manufacturing. There is a lot of amazing companies , both multi and national that are totally clued in and are a pleasure to work for.
    But some of the old money, manufacturing jobs is what I am talking about, I am embarrased with the carry on. There is 2 lads in their booths working away though. I have been talking to them, they are dead sound , and 1 polish and 1 brazilian.

Still waiting for my process cycle to finish , only 10 mins left then back to work..:D
    Have you worked in any other countries? I could accept the Germans, Nordic countries and Japanese would have a better work ethic than us but the Italians? While they make great machines there as slow as Christmas. The Chinese as I've already said on many occasions don't give a damn what leaves their factories as long as it's paid for. The English are so tied up in bureaucracy and health and safety the have to send a plank of wood out of the country to have a nail put in it.

Overall I think we have a decent enough attitude, we get the job done. We won't work out of our skin for no good reason. As someone else once told me "the Germans live to work while the Irish work to live". I wouldn't want it any other way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Oh look, another thread about "idiot factory workers"! :mad:

How come we never get a thread about the "genius factory workers"? Huh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Wow, I don't know that Ireland actually made stuff and exported it.

If they are doing enough to meet what ever target is set for them who cares. Why would they do more than they have to.

Sometimes I would love to be in a job where I just have enough work to keep me ticking over and then feck off as soon as I have my hours done. Home in the evening without a thought about work until the next day. Although I also know this would get very boring after a while and has very little promotional prospects so you can hardly expect them to bother working hard for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭smokin ace

biko wrote: »
    I worked in a factory in another country when I was getting money together for travelling.
    It seems a lot of the people there (mainly the old ones that had been there 10-15 years) was just doing their bit and not an iota more.
    Guess factory work will do that to you after a while; clock in, do what you're supposed to, clock out, go home for dinner. Repeat every day until you croak/pension.
    There were a few guys there that probably would never have been able to get an office job, being a bit slow. They seemed quite content in a repetitive job.

"We have a manufacturing workforce that in my opinion are absolute wasters" ≠ "I don't want to tar everyone with the same brush"

i work in a sheep factory in the south east and i am working there 7 year and my job is just a repetitive job like you said and i have working my fingers to the bone and worked that hard all i wanted to do when i got home was sleep and i got no extra pay for it no thanks and was only told could i go a bit quicker and do more and while doing this management asked me to take a cut in wages now i only do bearly what i have to and i seem to get more respect for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

smokin ace wrote: »
    i work in a sheep factory in the south east and i am working there 7 year and my job is just a repetitive job like you said and i have working my fingers to the bone and worked that hard all i wanted to do when i got home was sleep and i got no extra pay for it no thanks and was only told could i go a bit quicker and do more and while doing this management asked me to take a cut in wages now i only do bearly what i have to and i seem to get more respect for it

I don't get what you're trying to say, you get more respect for being a slow idiot factory worker than a hard working one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Not confined to manufacturing. And it sounds like a laugh - I'd much prefer it to a stuffy place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

As I type this , I am working in a Pharmacuetical Manufacturing plant in the south east and there is 5 lads/adults and they are standing around , laughing , joking , messfighting, arm wrestling and shouting sexist comments at a few girls that work near the area.

Pot...kettle...black.

You're posting on boards when you should be working. Just because you are sitting at a computer....
    You aren't too different from them, it's just that there are a group of them dossing and they aren't at computers.

People doss sometimes in work, it's just the way it is.
    If it wasn't, boards would be almost empty during the day.

Dean820 wrote: »
    I don't get what you're trying to say, you get more respect for being a slow idiot factory worker than a hard working one?

ok i will explain it to you 1 year ago i was worked my balls off i was told to work harder got no thanks for working harder and was helping other lads that was falling behind and was told to take a 20% pay cut and management told me if was not happy i knew where the gate was and they could have a polish chap doing my job first thing in the morning

now after the pay cut and the attitude of management i really dont care any more about my job i have realised i am only a number i only do what i barely have to do and i seem to get more respect for doing that so why should horse myself in work

This ^^^^ attitude is very common in my industry (not a factory environment) also and its not confined to Ireland. I have worked in probably 20 or so countries and its the same everywhere I have been.
    Some people work hard, some don't. I have often found that the folk who bimble along just putting in their shift feel they have at some stage been shafted by management, maybe several times.
    Amongst my own colleagues and they are fairly well paid professionals there is an attitude that how hard they work depends on how well they are being paid and treated.
    Its just human nature.
    I have also seen places that are ruled with an iron fist, this gets results and will get a hard days work out of most people.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Have you worked in any other countries? I could accept the Germans, Nordic countries and Japanese would have a better work ethic than us but the Italians? While they make great machines there as slow as Christmas. The Chinese as I've already said on many occasions don't give a damn what leaves their factories as long as it's paid for. The English are so tied up in bureaucracy and health and safety the have to send a plank of wood out of the country to have a nail put in it.

Overall I think we have a decent enough attitude, we get the job done. We won't work out of our skin for no good reason. As someone else once told me "the Germans live to work while the Irish work to live". I wouldn't want it any other way.

I have worked in Scandinavia, Germany, Italy, England and Ireland and I disagree.
    You have good and bad workers in all those countries, varies from company to company and team to team much more than from country to country.

Some of the best teams I have worked with were Italian, speed, efficiency, quality, team spirit, the lot. Irish and British would be highly rated in my experience once they know hangovers are not tolerated at work;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 nike319

The OP is right about this. I'm not blaming the factory workers but a lot lads in these factory jobs have been there for years. So they just go through the motions on a day to day basis. They can be very stuck in their ways and won't do any extra work or change how they do their work. Then the new guys learn from the old lads so in essence they just become copies of their predecessors (as regards work ethic) and so on. And if they have a strong union, good luck cause they won't lift a finger more then they have too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

I agree totally.

Sure only today, myself and 4 other lads were waiting for a process to finish so we spent a bit of time catching up and talking about boobs and what not, when we spotted this contractor lad on his laptop. Browsing boards.ie of all things. Kinda looked like he was touching himself too.

Is it just me or are all contractors in the country today absolute numpties?

Oh and he smelled a bit funny too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

Smart Bug wrote: »
    As are you.

ooooohhhhh yyyyeeeesssss! well said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Am I missing something? I thought that all people who worked in factories were idiots. ;)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

It's a moot point really as our economy has become too expensive for manufacturing to thrive here. Work your fingers to the bone, do **** all, regardless we'll all be in the same queue in a year.

nike319 wrote: »
    The OP is right about this. I'm not blaming the factory workers but a lot lads in these factory jobs have been there for years. So they just go through the motions on a day to day basis. They can be very stuck in their ways and won't do any extra work or change how they do their work. Then the new guys learn from the old lads so in essence they just become copies of their predecessors (as regards work ethic) and so on. And if they have a strong union, good luck cause they won't lift a finger more then they have too.

did everyone think that maybe all some companys want to do is give workers greef and tell them that if there not happy that the gate is open and that we can be replaced within an hour with polish guys (i have no problem with polish workers by the way)so why should the workers work themselves to the bone when there told this
    like i said before i worked myself to the bone in my job for a long time and when i asked for a raise they said they wanted a wage drop of 20% when i asked for a promotion they told me no and that i wont get one either i have been in my job 7 years and no one has got a promotion so why should we work hard to get on where

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 nike319

Am I missing something? I thought that all people who worked in factories were idiots. ;)

Dodgey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I am talking of an overall view that we are very immature , ineffecient, and just dossers.

They are immature, inefficient dossers, when viewed through the prism of YOUR job. Maybe your job requires political correctness, maturity, a manicial work ethic but these guys jobs obviously doesnt, so what harm. If they meet the managements output targets, they're fine. If they dont, they get in the ****. If they exceed those targets they may get a raise. (Not anymore though!) Factory work is a simple affair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Goldenquick

Sounds to me like you are just showing off, that you think you are superior to factory workers, when you should be saying, "there but for the grace of God go I". :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Chuileog wrote: »

Yep, half the effort involved in a low scale civil service job is the art of pretending to be working, I don't understand the superiority that comes with sitting behind a computer at a desk.