Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ear rings on toddlers :/

• 05-05-2010 4:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭

Seen a kid outside today, neighbours actually with gold stud in one of his ears, hes only 3..

That cant be right? Or am i just getting old fashioned?

For the record, its the child of the parents that thought "the big switch" meant cheaper electricity but you needed to have a switch the size of a car on the gable of your house.. theres a thread there somewhere..

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

No your not old fashioned, anyone who does that is a **** straight up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Contessa Raven

I've seen girl babies with pierced ears aged just 6 months. It's pretty common although I personally don't agree with doing that to a child who hasn't got the ability to decide for itself whether it wants it or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Parents tattooing their babies is all the rage http://www.writingcave.com/images/baby_tattoo.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Hazys wrote: »
    Parents tattooing their babies is all the rage http://www.writingcave.com/images/baby_tattoo.jpg

I hope that's a piss take, because if it's not I may just give up on humanity (slightly more)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Personally think its disgusting to see them on a child so young.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I think it's alright to do it to girl toddlers/babies, but not lads because it could lad to bullying from lads their own age who don't know anything about anything and think earrings are only for girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭shivvyban

I think they look horrible on kids...

Sadly my mother thought otherwise and had gotten my ears pierced by the time I was 5 months old!!!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

When will people realise that a child isn't a fashion accessory.

That's what tiny dogs are for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Fallen Buckshot

Its a good way to identify Skanger's offspring :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭wing52

Baaaaaaaaaaaaad idea.
    Just my tuppence worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Paddysnapper

It should be considered an assault! The tattooed baby is gross:eek: How could anybody do that? I doubt it's legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

thats not real!!!!! right!!!!!!!! this is so wrong on so many levels. im stunned here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Some parents are knobs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

As they say, you need a licence for a dog, for a TV, for a car but for raising something as more important like a human life - its a free for all!

Sometimes I wonder if we have it the right way around!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Biggins wrote: »
    As they say, you need a licence for a dog, for a TV, for a car but for raising something as more important like a human life - its a free for all!

Sometimes I wonder if we have it the right way around!
    Yeah I think we do have it the right way round TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

i think its disgusting and cruel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Pointless. Hate seeing it.

Anything like piercing should be elective: at least leave it until the child can make an informed choice themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Most likely to see this with..............
    mother with greasy hair, big hoop earrings, track suit, loads of sovereign rings, chewing chaw gum, smoking a fag, white runners, scumbag boyfriend in soccer jersey, bad tattoos, ugly greasy spotty face, track suit, white runners.
    http://www.cossie.biz/Funny%20pics/baby%20chav.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

MJ23 wrote: »
    Most likely to see this with..............
    mother with greasy hair, big hoop earrings, track suit, loads of sovereign rings, chewing chaw gum, smoking a fag, white runners, scumbag boyfriend in soccer jersey, bad tattoos, ugly greasy spotty face, track suit, white runners.
    http://www.cossie.biz/Funny%20pics/baby%20chav.jpg

Get it all out of you.

It's just like bursting a big blackhead isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

wing52 wrote: »
    Baaaaaaaaaaaaad idea.
    Just my tuppence worth.
    Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

stovelid wrote: »
    Get it all out of you.

It's just like bursting a big blackhead isn't it?
    Racist...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Racist...

Shocking really :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭GirlOfGlass

That has to be a photoshop job! There's no way that's legal.
    My mam got my ears pierced at the age of 4 and even though I could talk and say whether I wanted it done or not, I still think it's too young.
    I was no skanger kid though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Parents who do this lack taste amoung other things, grey matter being one of them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭perri winkles

My friends mum pierced her ears becuase apparently everyone kept thinking she was a boy :P :pac:

I don't like it though, especially on boy toddlers with a diamond hanging out of their ear. Ick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

If they think she is a boy, then put pink on her, you wouldn't tattoo it to her would you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭MardiB

thats not real!!!!! right!!!!!!!! this is so wrong on so many levels. im stunned here.

NO NO NO NO, it is so wrong, but it is actually quite common on babies, not just toddlers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

When will people realise that a child isn't a fashion accessory.

They aren't??? :eek:

*Fills out abortion application form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

MardiB wrote: »
    NO NO NO NO, it is so wrong, but it is actually quite common on babies, not just toddlers

i really wanted to punch somebody when i seen that pic, sickning :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Baby's first words:
    mama

Aye Bhoss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

I think parents who do this are scum, plain and simple.

They are degrading their child when they are at their most beautiful and innocent IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭vicecreamsundae

my ex's mother was filipino and all the little nieces and girl cousins got their ears pierced with little gold studs when they were babies - to annoy me he often joked that if we had a little girl, his mom would take her to get her ears pierced.

i don't like the idea of it myself, but i wouldn't go as far as calling it cruel, or scummy. i'd rather see a two year old with it's ear pierced than wearing a pair of nikes or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

They look ridiculous . . .but they might be magnetic . . .:rolleyes: