Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

A/R/T swim, cycle, run challenge 2010 April summary

• 05-05-2010 12:11PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

Here is an update of on the challenge so far. Thank you to Conor20, Griffin100 and kennyb3 for joining the challenge this month and its nice to have you on board :) Of course we welcome any new challengers in May, the more the merrior.

No gold targets hit in April
    interested is still the lone gold standard bearer!
    I'd imagine that this will change in May as the cycling duo of cunavalos and showry will undoubtedly hit this mark.

Green targets hit in April

As expected the IM lads started to show by putting in the bike miles
    cycling - Conor20, tridying, Izoard and shotgunmcos too just to mix it up a bit
    swimming - Nomadic

Likely to hit green in May? well n-dawg has already got it in cycling and I'm sure to be followed by the next 5 on the cycling table now that the evenings are long and HIMs approach.

Indeed MrCreosote could knock off 2 green targets this month by achieving the swim milestone also. Likely to join him Izoard, Griffin100 and a big swim month from Catweazle?

The running targets are turning out to be the toughie. No problem to TFBubendorfer who is just about dusting off the 1,000mile challenge though but for the rest of us its looking like its DustyBin who will give us some faith by going green in May. Perhaps the HIM duo of RedB fresh from a happy sub 4 at the GLR and Catweazle after conquering joey, can add more green here!

The Stats

Swimming
    Total by all challengers 1,646,550mts
    Average total swimming per challenger 48,400mts (48.4% of green target) (24.2% of gold target)
    Jan avg: 13,748mts
    Feb avg: 7,720mts
    Mar avg: 16,608mts
    Apr avg: 10,324mts

Cycling
    Total by all challengers 36,764kms
    Average total cycling per challenger 967.5km (48.4% of green target) (24.2% of gold target)
    Jan avg: 185km
    Feb avg: 254km
    Mar avg: 213.9km
    Apr avg: 314.6km

Running
    Total by all challengers kms 13,877km
    Average total running per challenger 346.9km (34.7% of green target) (17.4% of gold target)
    Jan avg: 103km
    Feb avg: 69.7km
    Mar avg: 98.9km
    Apr avg: 75.3km

It seems the swimming and run targets are evenly weighted and the running target is the tough one. Even with people running Marathons it is still elusive!

The discipline leaders
    Swimming - yes still interested and unless he takes a 3 month hiatus from the water its looking like this is the status quo for the year. Nomadic is really making dents on the gap to 2nd spot though with Izoard not far off either.

Cycling - The lead swapped hand a couple of times in April with showry really giving cunavalos a scare. April finished with just 10km separating the 2!!!

Running - This is more about 2nd spot now as TFBubendorfer has vurtually run down all of the cyclists as well! DustyBin is alone in 2nd spot and deservedly so. Go Dusty!

April mini challenge.
    In April there were some battles set out and I have to say that it really tightened up the whole challenge. It was a month where there were 3 new entries and 2 of them high up the table so you would have been doing very well to hold your own position. With so few climbers on the challenge in April it just goes to show how much work those guys must have been putting in!!

So, mini challenge battle results.

Redgraffle vs johnnyfingers - Both AWOL
    Causeway vs makker - Causway!
    dare2be vs EC1000 - EC1000!
    Mainah vs Macrani - Macrani!
    Dusty vs needstraining vs toomuchdetail - the 3 way won by DustyBin :D
    El Director vs Raging Hull - Raging Hull with ease!
    Cunavalos vs showry - Dead heat, nothing separating them both!
    RedB vs Kevin7 - RedB by the tiniest margin!
    Mr Creosote vs pgibbo - Kerry convincingly!
    interested vs tridying - Interested made up a huge gap to take this!
    Bambaata vs TFBubendorfer - The Triathlete triumphs!
    Catweazle vs Nomadic - Nomadic, but just about!
    Izoard vs N-Dawg - Izoard lived up to it and pulled away!

Well done all! I am open to any ideas you may have for a mini challenge in May?

How is the overall standing for the challenge?
    3 new entries, about 10 AWOL

April|Since March|Name|overall points
    1|no move|shotgunmcos(OLY)|13
    2|up 1|Izoard(IM)|16 main challenger
    3|down 1|n-dawg(HIM)|22
    4|up 3|Bambaata(OLY)|28 biggest climber again!
    4|new entry|Griffin100(IM)|28 high entry!
    6|up 3|MrCreosote(OLY)|30 biggest climber
    7|down 3|nomadic(HIM)|32
    8|down 3|Catweazle(HIM)|33
    9|down 2|TFBubendorfer(SP)|34
    10|no move|interested(X)(IM)|38
    11|down 6|tridying(IM)|40 biggest drop
    12|new entry|Conor20(IM)|42 high entry!
    12|down 1|pgibbo(OLY)|42
    14|down 2|RedB (HIM)|49
    14|no move|Raging_Hull(OLY)|49
    16|down 3|kevin7(OLY)|50
    17|down 2|cunavalos(X)(SP)|51
    17|down 2|showry(X)|51
    19|down 2|DustyBin(SP)|54
    19|down 2|Macanri(OLY)|54
    21|down 5|El Director(HIM)|55
    22|down 3|NeedsTraining(SP)|57
    23|down 3|toomuchdetail (SP)|60
    23|down 1|EC1000 (OLY)|60
    25|down 2|dare2be(SP)|67
    26|new entry|kennyb3(X)|74
    27|down 6|Mainah(X)|75
    28|down 5|DAVE_K(IM)|77
    29|down 4|RacoonQueen(X)|79
    30|down 2|Causeway(AR)|87
    31|down 5|Tagoona(OLY)|88 AWOL
    31|down 4|makker(OLY)|88 AWOL
    33|down 4|tunney (X)|95 AWOL
    34|down 4|Ladytri (OLY)|100 AWOL
    35|down 5|bagus(OLY)|101 AWOL
    35|down 5|jonnyfingers(SP)|101 AWOL
    37|down 4|barongreen(SP)|102 AWOL
    38|down 4|Redgraffle (X)(OLY)|107 AWOL
    39|down 4|Delboyfagan(IM)|109 AWOL
    40|down 2|theo4130(OLY)|110 AWOL
    41|down 2|Airscotty(OLY)|111 AWOL
    42|down 4|Jasonbourme.cs(X)|113 AWOL

Train happy y'all :D[/QUOTE]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

I am pleasantly surprised didnt bother doing the maths but I thought I would have been beaten further by Nomadic as he seems to be putting in the running miles now. I suppose I climbed back up the swimming table a bit with the lack of running. No doubt I will probably maybe get the green targets in Swimming and Running this month but the most badly needed k's in cycling will as per usual be hard to come by.

Fair play Shotgun I am sure that comprehensive report above takes a lot of time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Bambaata vs TFBubendorfer - The Triathlete triumphs!

Fix! Fix! Fix! :mad:
    You picked the one month where the ultra runner destroyed himself by, er, running an ultra! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Mr Creosote vs pgibbo - Kerry convincingly!

Quite fitting now that Championship season is officially under way! :D

Great work on the analysis above MCOS. Fair play to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Mainah

Oh man! If I'd known I was part of a mini-challenge I would have kept posting though April! Oh well, my own fault for slacking off on marking my swimming distances on the chart. Hoping to make green in swimming next week. From now on I'll be more dilligent - I wouldn't want to lose another mini-challenge! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Thanks for the easy victory so Mainah. I'm away over to see the table now. If updated I am up for reapraising the April result. Do you have alog int he traing log section?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Mainah

Macanri wrote: »
    Thanks for the easy victory so Mainah. I'm away over to see the table now. If updated I am up for reapraising the April result. Do you have alog int he traing log section?

Glad I could oblige! :D

No log yet - have been thinking about it but I've had some ups and downs in my training (was planning on doing an Olympic tri this year). However, I hurt my back in March and the physio said "NO RUNNING!!!!!" and hasn't cleared me yet. So at this stage I don't think I'll be doing any running until January because I'm 12 weeks pregnant. Would have loved to have done some running through the pregnancy as long as possible but don't really feel up for starting virtually from scratch even if I get the go-ahead now. Plus I can't take any risks with my back now.

May start a preggo-swim log though - I've been swimming about 4 times a week about 2500-3000 a go for the last month, so it might be a good idea to keep better track of things, especially if there are mini-challenges on the line! :D

(I come from a competitive swimming background and I've been cleared by my GP to keep up this level of activity - mini-challenge or no...:))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Suggestions for a May mini challenge?? pm me if need be otherwise I'll rack my imagination when I get a chance ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Congratulations Mainah....dont know if I would enjoy a preggo swim log though. Potential morning sickness in the pool, was that a kick or a fish hitting my belly, hormones going wild as someone joins your swim lane.

Actually count me in as a subscriber sounds like it could be an exciting read

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

Suggestions for a May mini challenge?? pm me if need be otherwise I'll rack my imagination when I get a chance ;)

Maybe individuals sign up for % increases in each discipline?

i.e. 50k (100%) swimming done by May 1st - commit to 62.5k (125%) by May 31st.

Alternatively, we could submit helpful suggestions....

MCOS- blanket 175% increase across all disciplines!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

How about something to encourage people to balance up their training. You could rank people on how far apart their percentages are.
    ie a person with 100% of swim swim target, 40% of run target and 150% of cycle target. Take the highest away from the lowest to get the score. It would be harder for the leaders because the've higher percentages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

interesting ideas guys.

Izoard I just put in a heavy enough month, I'll be doing well to even hit 100% in May.

Nomadic, so how would that work? Would we just add up at the end of the month?

I was thinking while on the turbo earlier too. Like maybe you can pick someone to challenge for the month and the battle commences only if they accept. Possible to be involved in several battle depending on how many battle invites you get.

If a battle agreed then the 2 people start on 0 for each discipline on May 1. The score in each battle is the difference in distances in each discipline.

For example lets say I challenge Bambaata and he accepts.

Lets say on May 5 I have swim 5k and Bambaata has 4k, I have bike 50k Bambaata has 80k, I have run 12k Bambaata has 20k

Post title would be
    Battle status of shotgunmcos vs Bambaata

Post would be
    S: shotgunmcos +2k
    B: Bambaata +30k
    R: Bambaata +8k

Live Score: shotgunmcos 1 - 2 Bambaata

The aim is to just win , in the event it finished dead level at the end of May, the person lower in the end of April ranking wins :)

Of course people like TFBubendorfer would easily get the running score but he may be easy pickings for the likes of interested in the swim and bike... etc...

I propose the first battle aught to be showry vs cunavalos as they were virtually neck in neck the whole way through April. Perhaps a sneaky splash in a pool on May 31st could be the clincher in that one.

It might be an exciting way to do it as you could log onto boards open this thread and see that you are suddenly down 3-0 prompting you to do a majore unplanned brick session late at night :D

Thoughts?

A bit long winded.. sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

It might be an exciting way to do it as you could log onto boards open this thread and see that you are suddenly down 3-0 prompting you to do a majore unplanned brick session late at night :D

Thoughts?

Logs in at 11:30pm...
    Damn, nomadic has just done a 15k pool session...where's open?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

Izoard wrote: »
    Logs in at 11:30pm...
    Damn, nomadic has just done a 15k pool session...where's open?:)
    I might need to start doing 15k swims with the speed your catching me.