Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not liking someone when everyone else does like them...

• 04-05-2010 4:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15 fluffyotaters

Have you ever disliked someone for whatever reason in your circle of friends/at work etc when everyone else does like them?

The reason I ask is a good friend of mine started giving out about another girl in our, quite big, circle of friends today, it took me by surprise as my good friend is not normally prone to bitching and this other girl is lovely also...I know everyone likes both of them but my friend said she is finding it very difficult to be around her....nothing happened between them as far as I know and I don't think it's jealousy etc just a clash of personalities perhaps....

So have you ever disliked someone when nobody else does, someone you have to see on a regular basis? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

Yep. I just ignored the biatch as much as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

What's wrong with disliking someone. It doesn't matter what everyone thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Nah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

In real life, no.

On boards, theres the ignore list . . . .:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭gagiteebo

orourkeda wrote: »
    What's wrong with disliking someone. It doesn't matter what everyone thinks.

Very true...I just imagine it's difficult when they are in the same circle of friends :( You can't leave people out when doing things etc but you're right you can't like everyone and vice versa :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

gagiteebo wrote: »
    Very true...I just imagine it's difficult when they are in the same circle of friends :( You can't leave people out when doing things etc but you're right you can't like everyone and vice versa :)

It can be difficult alright but what can you do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

Have you ever disliked someone for whatever reason in your circle of friends/at work etc when everyone else does like them?

The reason I ask is a good friend of mine started giving out about another girl in our, quite big, circle of friends today, it took me by surprise as my good friend is not normally prone to bitching and this other girl is lovely also...I know everyone likes both of them but my friend said she is finding it very difficult to be around her....nothing happened between them as far as I know and I don't think it's jealousy etc just a clash of personalities perhaps....

So have you ever disliked someone when nobody else does, someone you have to see on a regular basis? :)

I'd be concerned if a group of female friends didn't bitch about eachother. Must be something wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭UpCork

This has happened to me in our extended circle of friends.

Two of my close circle of friends became friendly with this other girl though a club they had joined. They kept telling me how fantastic this girl was, how funny she was, friendly etc.

Then one evening when my group of friends were going out for a meal, they brought her along. We didn't gel at all. I didn't really like her at all and I suspect she didn't like me either.

Luckily we don't have to be in each other's company that often, but I find the bes tthing to do is just to be civil and pass pleasantries. She is never someone that I'm going to have a 'deep and meaningful' with but I don't wan to be rude either.

It's a very awkward situation by the way, especially when your friends are extolling the virtues of the other person.

I'd never tell them that I didn't like this person though, because I don't think that would be good either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

segaBOY wrote: »
    I'd be concerned if a group of female friends didn't bitch about eachother. Must be something wrong.

They bitched about the OP.

• Happens all the time. People saying 'you must meet Niamh (they all seemed to be called Niamh), she's lovely and so funny' and then I meet her and she just seems fake and horrible and I sit there thinking 'is it just me?' I never usually say it to the friend but it is so awkward when they start going on about how nice she is and I'm like 'mmm yea...subject change' :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

The girl that's doing the bitching is dog ugly and the other girl is hot, am I right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

The girl that's doing the bitching is dog ugly and the other girl is hot, am I right?
    You're a man, arent you? So no, you're not right. EVER :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

I find that if a girl is hot she gets the ol' "Look at how skinny she is, think she'd eat something??" off her uglier and probably chubbier friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

gagiteebo wrote: »

Yeah you can, I am in the circle of friends with this guy and I haven't spoke to him in about 4 years bar the odd "Hello" My mates know I can't stand him so just don't talk to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

Happened me a few years ago with two of my friends I introduced to each other, and then the newer one started hanging around more in a group with us.
    They both have very 'loud', leader like traits and absolutely could not stand each other at first. I spoke to them both separately saying that they they were both actually very alike, and to just take the time to listen each other and give each other "turns" at speaking-basically to stop speaking over each other.
    They got on like a house on fire from then on.

I don't really hang around with either of them now though,
    Two attention seeking gobshites was more than I could handle..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Did they tell you to make like a tree, and leaf?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Kiera wrote: »
    You're a man, arent you? So no, you're not right. EVER :P

at least he asked...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

at least he asked...
    Asking is only rubbing in the fact that he is wrong ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Did they tell you to make like a tree, and leaf?

Very good.:pac:

No, I moved away,and like most of our group of friends just didn't really keep in touch with them. Pretty sure they are still great friends though!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Eldel

Janey, I'm freaked now. What if I was the person in the gang that wasn't liked? I know for a fact I've had job/college/school mates that, for whatever reason, just grated on my nerves. These people are a notch lower on my list than those people in the gang, that you don't hate as such, but can't for the life of you strike up a conversation. Anyway, I've met a few gob****es in my time and try to out do them at every opportunity;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Onesimus

I'm amazed at how many people actually are bothered whether people like them or not. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭vonnie10

Yeah this has happened to me where some of my friends love a particular person that i've not been too fond of but its ok they are allowed to like people i dont and vice versa . Like for instance there is one person that hangs out with us from time to time that my friends think is mad craic but personally i just find her too in my face but i don't bitch about her to my friends cos i know they won't see my point and they don't have to either so i just smile and nod when they say she's hilarious. Some people might call it two faced but my philosophy is if ya can't say anything nice, don't say anything at all..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

Its actually vice versa with us. one of the lads thinks this girl is sound but literally everyone else in a group of about 20 of us thinks she's a stupid annoying f**khead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Yes, in the clear case of some girls going out with my friends. 1 of them has just gotten pregnant with his kid, so now I gotta grind my teeth and congratulate him while wishing I could punch her. (Not in the stomach, obviously :pac:)

Or the case where everyone loves this certain type of character while I just can't understand the fascination. Fortunately though there's usually at least one other friend who agrees with me.

It's never a case of just who they are but that can I trust them and are they the bitchy type that would spread rumours about anyone, regardless how well they know or get on with them.