Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Real Butter

• 03-05-2010 11:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭

You can't beat it. Nothing tastes quite like it, or even half as good, yet in the supermarket, the shelves are full of sh*tey substitutes - Dairy "spreads", Low-fat "spreads", Utterly not Buttery, stuff that claims to lower your cholesteral etc etc.

What the hell is wrong with people. Real butter is savage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

Its actually better for you than all that crap too.

Honest to god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

I can't believe it's not butter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Hell, they sell Kerry Gold down here. Irish butter is the sh!t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

This thread has been brought to you by the Irish Dairy Board

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Nope - just a silly moo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

No butter is the best butter!

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Dairy Gold is your only man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

peanuthead wrote: »
    Its actually better for you than all that crap too.

Honest to god.

It contains essential fats that are healthy for you. People think butter makes you fat, well too much does, but in the right amount it helps you burn fat.

Nicest butter is "country" butter. Proper salty, churned butter. Nyom nyom.

Cannot stand any of the spreadable crap they try to pass off as butter. Dairygold spreadable is ok though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭susanroth

definitely can't beat kerrygold have a hard time in foreign countries without the irish butter:p

x PyRo wrote: »
    Dairy Gold is your only man.
    I say Kerry Gold!

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Overheal wrote: »
    I say Kerry Gold!

Blasphemy!

x PyRo wrote: »
    Blasphemy!
    Is a river in Egypt!! - wait, no its not...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

I esp hate when people offer you butter and you're really looking forward to it but they end up giving you some sort of Flora thing instead. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Having tried Kerrygold in other countries I remember being back home and putting it on some bread and being shocked at how nice it actually was. So yeah, Kerry gold is nyom.

Kerrygold vs Dairygold?

F*ck that - Connaught Gold is the King of Kings in the butter world.

simu wrote: »
    I esp hate when people offer you butter and you're really looking forward to it but they end up giving you some sort of Flora thing instead. :mad:
    We need to find a new catchy slur for fake butter. Like Moose Piss or something, but more creative and to the point.

Cow Puss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Soda bread toasted, lashings of butter so that it melts right the way through it.
    Magic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

I get the aul Kerrygold here in Sainsburys. I swear it tastes even nicer in London! :pac:

bronte wrote: »
    I get the aul Kerrygold here in Sainsburys. I swear it tastes even nicer in London! :pac:

Probably cheaper too!

Splutter?

Gobsheen's flutter?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I rather the butter be brought by an Irish Dairy broad! :D

I'm going to make some tea & toast. Back in 5. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Cannabutter FTW.

mikom wrote: »
    Cannabutter FTW.

It's very moreish. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Who's bringing the horse to France?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Who's bringing the horse to France?

Ronald McDonald from what I've heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

yeah you cant beat a bita butter betty :D

all the fake butter wannabees can go and sh1te :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭0verblood

I was in Queen Elizabeth National Park in the wild wesht of Uganda. I went to a lodge and ordered some bread which came with... fcukin Kerry Gold butther! I couldn't believe it. I miss real butter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Betty bought a bit of butter,
    But the bit of butter Betty bought was bitter.
    So Betty bought a better bit of butter,
    To make the bitter butter better

Used to love going to my grannys when I was a kid cos we'd go out and pick mushrooms in the fields then just cook them on the range with a good smattering of real butter. Yum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

I never understood this ad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

0verblood wrote: »
    I was in Queen Elizabeth National Park in the wild wesht of Uganda. I went to a lodge and ordered some bread which came with... fcukin Kerry Gold butther! I couldn't believe it. I miss real butter.

Its everywhere, think most of the foreign Kerry Gold is made in Germany though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

just add some rennet........ i love the way rennet ws first discovered... fcuked up!!... cheesy!!

FearDark wrote: »
    Its everywhere, think most of the foreign Kerry Gold is made in Germany though.

Whaaaaaaaaaaaaat? That's scandalous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭FarmerGreen

You are forgetting Van den Burg and Jurgens bubbling hydrogen through vegetable oil with chrome filings to make margarine
    Cant get much healthier than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

soya butter mmmmm it's so creamy, far nicer than real butter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Cow Puss.

Fcuking disgusting but worthy name :P

Used to love going to my grannys when I was a kid cos we'd go out and pick mushrooms in the fields then just cook them on the range with a good smattering of real butter. Yum

that sounds like me, did you collect hazelnuts too?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

I've come up with a name for that fake butter.

Spurious + Butter = Scutter.

SCUTTER:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

yes, real butter is divine, BUT! trying to spread it, straight from the fridge on really fresh bread.. :mad: feckin holes everywhere, so, so annoying, drives me feckin mad :mad:

so dairygold is the spread of choice in this household :)

yes, real butter is divine, BUT! trying to spread it, straight from the fridge on really fresh bread.. :mad: feckin holes everywhere, so, so annoying, drives me feckin mad :mad:

so dairygold is the spread of choice in this household :)

quit keeping it in the fridge, just keep it in the press!

--LOS-- wrote: »
    quit keeping it in the fridge, just keep it in the press!

ew! it goes off, it has to be kept in the fridge!

It does not, not real butter, sure there's that much salt in it, you could always put it in the fridge every so often to keep it from going too melty.

well.. my butter goes bad when i leave it out. it turns dark yellow and smells funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭FarmerGreen

that sounds like me, did you collect hazelnuts too?
    End of summer when they still had the green bits on.
    Wonderful taste. Sod the squirrels.

I usually leave the butter out a few minutes before I use it, but if I forget, I just put a lump of it on me toast & nuke it.

End of summer when they still had the green bits on.
    Wonderful taste. Sod the squirrels.

ahh indeed, and dip them in salt.
    and blackberries? well that's just a given!

we may have had the same granny so, best I keep me distance now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Butter is divine, a thing of the of the Gods. One of the reasons we live on this Earth.

Just leave it out for an hour or 2, let it go soft. Put in back in the fridge after, you'll be grand. Despite what the Mail types tell you, you'll be grand.

Seriously, putting a Tiger loaf in the oven and spreading Connacht Golld on top is worth dying for anyway. You haven't lived otherwise.

PS. H&S Guide. Advise taking the Tiger Loaf out of the oven first.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Barbequed steak, seasoned with salt, pepper & olive oil.. done on a real BBQ, none of those gas burning yokes, 4 mins each side tops, lovely chargrilled marks on it. Off the grill. Big slab of butter on top. Leave to rest, allow butter to melt. Eat.

The best non-sexual oral pleasure a man can get.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

All this talk of butter is reminding me of "The Last Tango In Paris"
    The actress in that film still can't eat butter to this day! LOL