Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

deadmau5? love em or hate em

• 03-05-2010 7:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭

why do people detest the poor chap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭R.Shackleford

DoubleFacePalm.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭LYDIABANK

:D im going to see him friday......:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

I dont see what the whole cringe factor with the Mau5 is.

This is me:
    deadmau5-1.jpg

Kinda says it all.

He gets similar stigma to DJ Ti-Testicles-esto but I'm not sure why. Maybe its cause he's a little more mainstream but hey, so is FBS!

I dont see what the whole cringe factor with the Mau5 is.

This is me:
    deadmau5-1.jpg

Kinda says it all.

He gets similar stigma to DJ Ti-Testicles-esto but I'm not sure why. Maybe its cause he's a little more mainstream but hey, so is FBS!

:D people seem to love dressing up as the mau5! good for a halloween costume if your really stuck for ideas, i love strobe! ill post up a video after friday, better be a good show :P

The Burrrrds love it. But you sweat like a b1tch.

the birds love it until you take it off..and then they are met by a sweaty pig! love strobe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Chloroplast

well putting a big stupid mouse costume on your head at gigs in order to entertain people just goes to show what his music does for people... :rolleyes:

its probably not even half the time :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Chloroplast

yup,

i was gonna say hes a mockery to electro house...but then again electro house is a mockery to electronic dance music itself :P

im gonna get me head kicked in now for saying that, :D

i think you should leave now. thank you......;) haha, theres an irish clubbing forum thats a bit better than this forum..??

http://www.irishclubbing.ie/vbforum/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

yup,

i was gonna say hes a mockery to electro house...but then again electro house is a mockery to electronic dance music itself :P

He's progressive house, not electro-house.

People don't like him because he has one of the worst personalities in the DJing world, and because his music is repetitive, commercial and uncreative. So basically, the same reasons why people hate Tiesto.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Funny actually, don't think I've ever heard one of his tracks... I assume I'm not missing anything though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

ah to be honest his music isnt terrible.its proggy electro house stuff and its no different to all the other proggy elecrohouse artists out there.

hes not the best at it by a long shot,id rate dabruck and klein way above him but he's accessable.

if you ask the average person who listens to dance music but doesnt follow dance music if they know him and they probably would.

hes the gateway into that genre.

hes the equivalent to david guetta really.

hes fun to bash because he thinks hes ridiculously talented when hes just average compared to the others out there

Funny actually, don't think I've ever heard one of his tracks... I assume I'm not missing anything though.

That'd be very unusual....

People complain about the mask but I think its like any other piece of visual kit. Its novelty yes, but so what. TBH orbital look far worse in those yokes they wear.

I concede the attitude bit though. The video of him at some award ceremony where he comes for his third award and is completely plastered is just cringe.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

People complain about the mask but I think its like any other piece of visual kit. Its novelty yes, but so what. TBH orbital look far worse in those yokes they wear.

I concede the attitude bit though. The video of him at some award ceremony where he comes for his third award and is completely plastered is just cringe.

Well maybe I've heard him without knowing it was him but that's unlikely as I don't really go clubbing, never listen to the radio and have no mates who are into dance music - only electronic music I hear is pretty much chosen by me!

I think the mask looks stupid BUT in fairness Redshape also wears a mask when performing but I don't let that put me off his music.

daft_punk.jpg
    bloody-beetroots5.jpg
    MSTRKRFT.jpg

There are probably more, but you get the idea.

Question, if I mentioned the hairy french guy what would the reaction be?

hairy french guy

sabastien-chabal.jpg

Him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

not this liverat ****e debate again.

used to like him when he first came out, now i cant stand him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭burkey85

How do flashlight glasses look worse than a stupid mouse head.
    And most people took a disliking to him when he came with this ****:

http://trainspottr.com/djproducer-deadmau5-public-statement-about-djs-theyre-fcking-cts/1452

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

DrLektroluv-05-big.jpg

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭jumbone

yup,

At the present moment are you not recording, not on tour and have you never had a song go to number one on Beatport? Have you never been featured on Juno Download or Track it Down, have you never released twice, but what you do know is that you've been listening to electronic(a) for many years and you have every right to speak your mind against the fabricated music that is being released on a daily basis. It's absolutely appalling! Do all these people think that if you're on the Beatport Top Ten that you're making something out of yourself, well they're making a mockery out of electronic music. Are you a producer and do you come from the underground? and are you ... Quite frankly, sick and tired? Are you here to go on these rants on message boards because you know you ill never amount to anything and you need to make yourselfself feel better. So when you're not high on cocaine will you sit in front of this computer 'till the cows come home and continue ranting and raving about artists that are actually living out their dream 'cause you never wïll
    :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

jumbone wrote: »
    At the present moment are you not recording, not on tour and have you never had a song go to number one on Beatport? Have you never been featured on Juno Download or Track it Down, have you never released twice, but what you do know is that you've been listening to electronic(a) for many years and you have every right to speak your mind against the fabricated music that is being released on a daily basis. It's absolutely appalling! Do all these people think that if you're on the Beatport Top Ten that you're making something out of yourself, well they're making a mockery out of electronic music. Are you a producer and do you come from the underground? and are you ... Quite frankly, sick and tired? Are you here to go on these rants on message boards because you know you ill never amount to anything and you need to make yourselfself feel better. So when you're not high on cocaine will you sit in front of this computer 'till the cows come home and continue ranting and raving about artists that are actually living out their dream 'cause you never wïll
    :D:D

wat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭jumbone

Thought I'd turn this into 'suggest more music like deadmau5' thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

burkey85 wrote: »
    How do flashlight glasses look worse than a stupid mouse head.
    And most people took a disliking to him when he came with this ****:

http://trainspottr.com/djproducer-deadmau5-public-statement-about-djs-theyre-fcking-cts/1452

Yep... I lost what little respect I had for him when I read that.

To me, he just seems to be the posterboy of a musical trend. The dust settled and people moved on to the next big thing (dubstep?), and all we're left with is some Canadian with a stupid mouse hat

tman wrote: »
    The dust settled and people moved on to the next big thing (dubstep?), and all we're left with is some Canadian with a stupid mouse hat

Hmm, I don't think many people who liked Deadmau5 now like dubstep, in my experience a lot of people have gotten into dubstep from outside dance music, and the people who liked Deadmau5 have now moved onto Dubfire, Umek etc.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 3,793 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeloe

I actually really like Deadmau5, think some of his tracks are great, some of them, i wouldn't be in to so much, but sure i don't like all of Nirvana's tracks either, but i'd still rate them in one of my top ten bands!:)

He's great at what he does, he's earning a very good living from it, and he'll continue to do so for some years, more power to him!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

I'm talking about people who listen to the current in thing... Chances are they only listened to maus because he was the cool thing to be seen listening to, and they've now moved on to dubstep (the tepid shíte end of the genre, of course...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

tman wrote: »
    I'm talking about people who listen to the current in thing... Chances are they only listened to maus because he was the cool thing to be seen listening to, and they've now moved on to dubstep (the tepid shíte end of the genre, of course...)

hes actually making dubstep now
    http://soundcloud.com/****mylife/dub5tepthingie4

and all the kiddies love it and apparantly anyone who doesnt is a hater

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I liked him when he first came on to the scene before every nacker in the country had heard about him. In fairness his stuff then was pretty good I had a lot of it - but after a year or so just as he started getting big, everything else he put out was very 'samey' and I stopped listening to him after that. I have nothing against him really, I say fair play for using the mouse head to gain exposure and turn himself into a product that can be easily marketed - I think he did too much too soon though. He sold out to the masses and is making a fcuking fortune - might not be everyone's choice or taste but he's very successful.

How did i miss that interview.

New trqc out today BTW.

Hmm, I don't think many people who liked Deadmau5 now like dubstep, in my experience a lot of people have gotten into dubstep from outside dance music, and the people who liked Deadmau5 have now moved onto Dubfire, Umek etc.

I can see his fans moving onto Umek as he's doin the electro sound right now,
    But couldnt see them moving onto Dubfire who is more towards the minimal sound and not commercial at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

dubfire was a far cry from commercial in timewarp

copeyhagen wrote: »
    dubfire was a far cry from commercial in timewarp

In my experience most people who start with commercial dance, be it from the Deadmau5 end, or the Justice end, or any commercial side of dance, will grow out of commercial and get into proper music. So the old Deamau5 fans are now into minimal or tech-house, and the old Justice fans are into proper electro-house and house. That's what happened to me anyway! I used to only know Justice, Daft Punk, Boys Noize etc, and now hate that sound, and spend hours every day searching for the newest house releases!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VxD_7S7bl8kCompletely off the subject.....someone suggested this to me. personally i thought they were mad..but now i think its so catchy!

:D:p:o:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭SteveDon

LYDIABANK wrote: »
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VxD_7S7bl8kCompletely off the subject.....someone suggested this to me. personally i thought they were mad..but now i think its so catchy!

Ouch my eardrums hurt.

Deadmau5 went from making some alright kinda average productions to making below average commercial productions. In short he blows.

Try something with a little more artistic merit maybe?

Been listenin to a lot of Yura Moorush again lately, lots of my friends that arent into dance music really seem to appreciate his music.

Im not sure what sort of genre of music i like anymore :D

My brother is a dj and plays some weird stuff, great when im getting ready to go out!

love this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DeHo2QVc2LQ/YOUTUBE]

how do i put youtube vids up properly.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

That is terrible Trance.

Youtube Video embed, put the bit after the equals i.e byaLDqiWTpM into the youtube tags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

Zascar wrote: »
    I liked him when he first came on to the scene before every nacker in the country had heard about him.

He has always made ****. Sounds like you jumped ship when you saw his popularity rising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Have to say I do like him. But I'd be pretty selective about his tracks. I'd agree a lot of his stuff is the same even at a core level. Plus he has one HUGE ego. Ever read his FaceBook / Twitter ramblings? :rolleyes:

But I suppose he gets some Kudo's as he plays live from Ableton and the likes.

What does he get from Kudo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭francois

who is this late mister mouse everyone is on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

What does he get from Kudo?

I meant kudo's as in the definition: "Praise; accolades"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭c_o_ck p_i_ss chillage

ironclaw wrote: »
    I meant kudo's as in the definition: "Praise; accolades"

You've done it again! :-)

Have to laugh at all the "proper" music references in this thread as if liking "proper" music, whatever that is, makes you better in some way.

Is there intellectual merit in liking certain genres of music? If there is, I'd love to see your scientific proof.

Or are you basing your argument on heresay?

You've done it again! :-)

Have to laugh at all the "proper" music references in this thread as if liking "proper" music, whatever that is, makes you better in some way.

Is there intellectual merit in liking certain genres of music? If there is, I'd love to see your scientific proof.

Or are you basing your argument on heresay?
    you said that beautifully!...different tastes :)

Im not sure what sort of genre of music i like anymore :D

My brother is a dj and plays some weird stuff, great when im getting ready to go out!

love this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DeHo2QVc2LQ/YOUTUBE]

how do i put youtube vids up properly.....

Damn, that is just terrible, not even music :D

burkey85 wrote: »
    Damn, that is just terrible, not even music :D

what do you suggest ! :rolleyes: :D:)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Hi Lydia, Check out some of the video threads in the sticky and you'll see what type of tunes people here are into

Oh....oh i see...i guess ill just leave then shall i :eek:

You might be best posting in the shít music section on Boards.