Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recessionary times and holidays!

• 03-05-2010 9:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭

Like a lot of people we are cutting our cloth according to our measure this year and will holiday in a family owned holiday home this year. No talk of going abroad this year!

Having said that a lot of people my own age are more or less doing the same thing. But what amazes me where I live, the only people I know going on holidays this year are those of pension age, be it state or private!!! These are the people you see at AGM's giving out about the drop in share prices and how their "savings" are wiped out! One such person lives right beside me and is flying out to the US today for 5 weeks! Going to Florida for the sun! How about that? Another PENSIONER is off to Boston in August for a month! Both are on state pensions....I know for fact!

So I am wondering how BADLY affected are these MOANERS while the rest of the working population are gnawing at the bone to try and save their houses! Makes you think!!!!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Your family own a holiday home?

Jaysus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

suitseir wrote: »
    Like a lot of people we are cutting our cloth according to our measure this year and will holiday in a family owned holiday home this year. No talk of going abroad this year!

Having said that a lot of people my own age are more or less doing the same thing. But what amazes me where I live, the only people I know going on holidays this year are those of pension age, be it state or private!!! These are the people you see at AGM's giving out about the drop in share prices and how their "savings" are wiped out! One such person lives right beside me and is flying out to the US today for 5 weeks! Going to Florida for the sun! How about that? Another PENSIONER is off to Boston in August for a month! Both are on state pensions....I know for fact!

So I am wondering how BADLY affected are these MOANERS while the rest of the working population are gnawing at the bone to try and save their houses! Makes you think!!!!:rolleyes:

Maybe they have managed to save a bit of money after their long years of working and tax paying and now deserve to enjoy themselves a bit?

Are you saying that people who get pensions shouldn't be allowed take holidays?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭suitseir

phasers wrote: »
    Your family own a holiday home?

Jaysus

Extended family, as in in-laws, mind you, generous ones!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭ArseBurger

Fair play to them for managing their income stream so that they have enough disposable income to afford a holiday.

Maybe they have managed to save a bit of money after their long years of working and tax paying and now deserve to enjoy themselves a bit?

Are you saying that people who get pensions shouldn't be allowed take holidays?

No I am NOT saying that, but by and large, they seem to be doing most of the MOANING of how affected their savings have become.....remember the big hooha about the medical cards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭ArseBurger

No I am NOT saying that, but by and large, they seem to be doing most of the MOANING of how affected their savings have become.....remember the big hooha about the medical cards?

Wouldn't you kick up a fuss in the same situation?

ArseBurger wrote: »
    Wouldn't you kick up a fuss in the same situation?

Well, for every freebie in this country some poor sod of a tax payer is paying for it......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Well, for every freebie in this country some poor sod of a tax payer is paying for it......

And these pensioners never paid tax, did they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Most of these people paid taxes in the 40s 50s and so on when this country was a hole to live in. They certainly were not going abroad on hols then, so if they are in a place to do so now, I hope they enjoy it.

And these pensioners never paid tax, did they?

Of course, not all of them paid tax.......I know of two couples, one couple worked abroad (England) all of their working life, came back to this country to retire and have pensions from both countries AND medical cards!I think you can qualify for non-contributory/contributory in both countries if you even worked for a short time in both counttries and have a social insurance number!No doubt they have to pay tax on these pensions? I know another couple where the the hubby only worked periodically, by and large was on the dole for most of his life and has all the benefits! I am sure there are other such cases but I could quote a few more.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Odysseus wrote: »
    Most of these people paid taxes in the 40s 50s and so on when this country was a hole to live in. They certainly were not going abroad on hols then, so if they are in a place to do so now, I hope they enjoy it.

And in the 60s and 70s when tax was paid at an extortionate amount (65p in the £ at one stage). And holidays abroad was something only the mega-rich could afford. So I don't begrudge them their luxuries.
    Of course, not all of them paid tax.......I know of two couples, one couple worked abroad (England) all of their working life, came back to this country to retire and have pensions from both countries AND medical cards!.

I can't understand how that is allowed, even though I know of a few British couples that retired here and claimed both pensions - legally! If you have never contributed to the Irish economy, how can you be entitled to it's pension? Does that mean I can retire to the UK and claim a pension there too?