Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random Sales Callers to your phone

• 02-05-2010 11:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭

Hi, I seem to get a lot of unsolicited callers to my home phone, sales etc, Ive asked them time and time again to take me off their list. Oh we only call random numbers they say, Only today I got another one and in some cases there coming from outside Ireland. Most of them don't show a calling number, so it's impossible to know it's these sales people calling. It always seems to be just as you sit down to have a meal when they call.

I also get a lot on my mobile phone, and I've kept their numbers and just ad a name as no? so I don't reply as in answering when [no] pops up. Do you get many of these callers, and if so how do you handle them? there really a pain in the ass. Any advice suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Change your number

And in the mean time call them every horrible name under the sun when they call!

It's an unsolicited call, f*ck them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I don't answer private or strange numbers.
    So i don't get any crap calls like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

alwaysadub wrote: »
    I don't answer privatenumbers.

I never understand why people do this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

Hi, I seem to get a lot of unsolicited callers to my home phone, sales etc, Ive asked them time and time again to take me off their list. Oh we only call random numbers they say, Only today I got another one and in some cases there coming from outside Ireland. Most of them don't show a calling number, so it's impossible to know it's these sales people calling. It always seems to be just as you sit down to have a meal when they call.

I also get a lot on my mobile phone, and I've kept their numbers and just ad a name as no? so I don't reply as in answering when [no] pops up. Do you get many of these callers, and if so how do you handle them? there really a pain in the ass. Any advice suggestions?

Your contact details must have been harvested from somewhere and sold on to marketing companies.

Did you try ringing 1800 200 665? That's eircom's number for requesting inclusion in the National Directory Database (NDD) to opt-out of getting cold calls.

If you're on another network try ringing your service provider.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

Very true, the Gardaí, Banks and some Hospitals use private numbers for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

just tell them you want to **** them and they hang up fairly sharpish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Cos every single one i've ever answered has been a sales call or something.
    I have an answering machine,if it's that important they can leave a message!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

I don't answer them either. If it's somebody that wants to talk to me then why would they hide their number? What are they going to gain by hiding it?

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    What are they going to gain by hiding it?

the element of surprise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Absurdum wrote: »
    the element of surprise

Not that surprised when I reject it and put it back in my pocket.

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    Not that surprised when I reject it and put it back in my pocket.

the jokes write themselves here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Freyja

The options are:

1. Can you hang on please......while putting the phone down and walking away for as long as it takes them to hang up.

2. Asking them who they calling for and telling them that they have just rung in the middle of that persons funeral.

3. Start asking them advice for some serious mental problem...

4. Telling them that you were just about to kill yourself when they called and that they are a sign from god that life is worth living....and that you need to meet up with the actual person that rang you.

apart from that at this hour I can't think of anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Hi, I seem to get a lot of unsolicited callers to my home phone

Any advice suggestions?

Under the law, companies are prohibited from contacting consumers by telephone unless prior permission has been given by consumers to receive
    direct marketing calls.

According to the Commission for Communications Regulations, "If you have a fixed-line (landline) phone and you do not want direct marketing companies to call you, you should contact the company from which you rent the line.

If you get a sales call more than 28 days after your details have been recorded in the opt-out register of the NDD, or after you have told the company in question not to contact you again, you may wish to complain to the Data Protection Commissioner (ODPC). They can investigate and prosecute the company if necessary".

More details, here... http://www.askcomreg.ie/home_phone/How_do_I_prevent_unwanted_calls_from_direct_marketing_companies_-_cold_calls.213.LE.asp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Denners

I'm used to the bs openings and know straight away when its one of these companies via the "hello is this Mr.*, im calling in relation to etc..

I have got to the stage where I just say "I don't care, not interested".

Unfortunately I'm so used to doing it that last week I did it and it wasn't until I hung up did I realise it was Concern who had called me :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I've always wanted to do this when one rings, keep on forgetting though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

I was about to say the Seinfeld thing alright. I have to remember.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Despite being registered with the TPS the majority of calls to my landline (which I really only have in order to get broadband) are either unsolicited sales/scam calls (insofar as I can determine many of them originate overseas to get around the legislation) silent calls or debt collecters looking for the people who had my number before me (Ive only like had it for four years now :rolleyes:)

For some reason I could never figure out I cant get caller ID to work (my phone is supposed to have it but I could never get it to work) :confused:

Ideally I would like a phone with an option to put all calls from witheld numbers (or bettter still all numbers which arent in my favorites list/addressbook) straight to voicemail/answering machine. Is there a landline phone out there which does such a thing ?

I could pay (more) money to BT to get anonymous calls blocked but dont see why I should have to. In any case caller ID doesnt always work properly on crossborder/International calls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Under the law, companies are prohibited from contacting consumers by telephone unless prior permission has been given by consumers to receive
    direct marketing calls.

If you get a sales call more than 28 days after your details have been recorded in the opt-out register of the NDD, or after you have told the company in question not to contact you again, you may wish to complain to the Data Protection Commissioner (ODPC). They can investigate and prosecute the company if necessary".

The last time I got an unsolicited marketing call I stopped the caller and asked for the company name. Then the registered VAT number of the company. Then I asked for his supervisor. When he asked why, I pointed out that he was commiting a crime under Irish law which is punishable by a fine. I've never had someone hang up on me so fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Ive noticed a scam with my mobile where the phone rings once and cuts off showing as a missed call from a 0871 (UK) number.

The idea being that Im supposed to assume that it was a dropped call and call them back not realising its premium rate (and would be probably be kept on hold if I did).

Not sure if such attempts at fraud are actually legal ?

Thoie wrote: »
    The last time I got an unsolicited marketing call I stopped the caller and asked for the company name. Then the registered VAT number of the company. Then I asked for his supervisor. When he asked why, I pointed out that he was commiting a crime under Irish law which is punishable by a fine. I've never had someone hang up on me so fast.

Haha! Fair play to ya!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I tell them my son deals with these kind of queries and pass them to him. He's 2. A lot of telemarketers are not allowed to hang up before the client does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

I make them hang up first, by saying yes Im interested and then refusing to give them any of the personal information they ask for as its private:D

feckers, they're paying for the call so why not waste their time and enjoy yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

just watched the seinfield clip - brilliant

now i almost want one to ring so i can use that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Brilliant this one. It gets better near the end.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

Expedia use a number that is impossible to call back when it shows up as a missed call. +442890166000. Norn Iron number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

k-9 that is inspired

absolutely hilarious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

lots of important callers can be caller id withheld

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭johnny_adidas

best way to deal with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭neoB

My sister just keeps pushing any button on the phone to where it beeps. haha, and continues to do so until they hang up. Usually can tell when its a telemarketer. Have to say hello three times before someone says hi, mispronounces my name and continue to say no thanks. Eventually I just started answering the phone in a different language or putting the kiddies onto the phone and or ask for their name and number so I can report for harassment. I don't get nasty unless they give me an attitude, and then its on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Under the law, companies are prohibited from contacting consumers by telephone unless prior permission has been given by consumers to receive direct marketing calls.

This is not strictly true.

Companies are prohibited from contacting customers who have opted not to receive direct marketing calls by inclusion the in aforementioned NDD.

i.e. unless you have explicitly requested not to be annoyed by these sales pests, then they have the right to abuse your number and interrupt your day.

I'd prefer if it were opt-in, instead of the current opt-out system, but I guess big business would freak if the law were 100% consumer-oriented.

And I'd say we can expect more of the same once the postcode system is in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭byrner88

heard of someone ringing someones house and the wife answered and they asked to speak with her husband . she said oh sure he's in prison . they havent really got any more calls about sales or surveys anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

The US FTC (or was it the FCC) They made it a federal offence to make solicitation calls to non-business phones. Certain exceptions for banks and anyone you have an account with, but that cuts out 99% of the calls you'd normally have gotten a few years ago.
    And I'd say we can expect more of the same once the postcode system is in place.
    Huh??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Liam Byrne wrote: »

Companies are prohibited from contacting customers who have opted not to receive direct marketing calls by inclusion the in aforementioned NDD.

i.e. unless you have explicitly requested not to be annoyed by these sales pests, then they have the right to abuse your number and interrupt your day.

I'd prefer if it were opt-in, instead of the current opt-out system, but I guess big business would freak if the law were 100% consumer-oriented.

It always only applies to companies trying to sell you something. Charities and market research companies are not effected in any way.

Liam Byrne wrote: »

I see - I lifted the text in my quote from Com Reg. Cheers for the clarification.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I see - I lifted the text in my quote from Com Reg. Cheers for the clarification.

The devil is in the detail :
    If you get a sales call more than 28 days after your details have been recorded in the opt-out register of the NDD, or after you have told the company in question not to contact you again

i.e. in both cases (unfortunately) the onus is on you to say that you don't want the nuisance calls.

Otherwise it is (ridiculously) assumed that you do.
    Overheal wrote: »
    Huh??

At the moment, we get SOME junk mail; once the postcodes are in place I can see this increasing exponentially, and unfortunately - again - it will probably be a requirement for us to act in order to stop it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭Voluptas

If I have the time then I'll just put the reciever on the side and walk away. Often they are talking so quickly they don't even realise you're not there - they're paying for the call so let them talk themselves out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I dont get any junkmail, because I dont do stupid things. My dad however, gave to a few charities, and now he gets junk from every charity under the sun. Our recycling bin is sumthin else.

Admittedly zips help advertising localize, but you can always RTS anything you really dont want. Well, that works great in the US with mailboxes I guess. In ireland it represents an interesting problem.

If you do get a bunch of junk mail, forward it to your local TDs :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Groucho10

There is a good website called whocallsme.com. If you have the number of a nuisance caller you can very often get some info on them. One crowd ringing from 019476632176 are using a scam trying to get access to your computer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭4davis7

when the call answer and wait to see what they say then say...hemmm wwe are selling very fastt broadband for 1€ a minute ccan i innterestt you in takingg this offer, all wee need iss your bank account detailss to set upp your accountt.:D
    "Phonejack"
    S/He will be quite confused