Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did I cross the line?

• 02-05-2010 8:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭

Hey all,

Would love some input on this. Yesterday I watched the new MIA music video[Graphic: www.miauk.com ] and TBH I found it hilarious. It's so over the top its funny, like stupid horror movies like Black Sheep. Myself and a mate watched it in Eddie Rockets and were in fits for parts of it.

Anyways, this morning I updated my Facebook profile image to this: B]Click at own discretion[/B http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e120/lethal_bullet/ginger.jpg?t=1272831213

Well, the reaction was quite something. Everyone knew what it was from but they weren't happy at all. Interesting not one was ginger either.
    a ****ing nob
    twat
    ****ing creep
    ****tard

They're just some examples. IMO ginger genocide is clearly a fictional idea. They may get a bit of stick, but so do every other social group out there.

The two questions I have though are:
    Did I go too far(wasnt aware such a thing existed on the internet)?
    Is it reasonable to go on the internet and expect it to be restricted down to a level as to cause no offence?

Thanks for your time,
    Lethal.

Select most appropriate: 28 votes

Too far; People can expect the internet to be PC
    0% 0 votes
    Too far; But people can't expect the internet to be PC
    7% 2 votes
    OK; But people can expect the internet to be PC
    39% 11 votes
    OK; People can't expect the internet to be PC
    3% 1 vote
    Atari Jaguar?
    50% 14 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Why was it on in Eddie Rockets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Firstly, gingers aren't a social group.

Secondly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

The video is supposed to highlight how wrong any form of racial profiling/stereotyping is, using gingers as an extreme example as everyone can clearly understand discrimination against gingers is ridiculous. Anyone taking offence to the video is missing the point imo so I don't think you've crossed the line in that regard. That said, ginger or no ginger you've got a picture of a seven or eight year old child getting executed as your profile picture...
    Edit::Fitting picture for your username though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭big_show

Leave it at 4Chan i say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Simona1986 wrote: »
    The video is supposed to highlight how wrong any form of racial profiling/stereotyping is, using gingers as an extreme example as everyone can clearly understand discrimination against gingers is ridiculous. Anyone taking offence to the video is missing the point imo so I don't think you've crossed the line in that regard. That said, ginger or no ginger you've got a picture of a seven or eight year old child getting executed as your profile picture...
    Edit::Fitting picture for your username though.

But they're ginger. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

In fairness i did laugh when i saw that picture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Compared to such classics as Goatse, eelgirl and the rest, its so mild as to be unremarkable.

(O, and tub girl...almost forgot. Can't really though, it's burnt there with the others).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

It's a picture of a child being murdered. I can see why people got offended.
    There are plenty of horrible sick things I'll laugh at, but there's a place for them. Facebook is not that place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

What the FUCK is wrong with you OP????!!!! :mad:

That's a picture of a child being shot! You're a sick puppy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Is that a water gun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Get new friends op!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

A little bit ott, but there's definately worse out there. Some people just can't take a joke, but it would be funnier if you were ginger op ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

you're all a bunch of sad f*cks!

It's not REALLY a child getting shot. It's an image from a music video that is TRYING to say something, even though it's not being allowed to in some places!

Apart from that, it's pretty hilarious! If you're offended by that picture then the internet isn't the place for you!

bluto63 wrote: »
    It's a picture of a child being murdered. I can see why people got offended.
    There are plenty of horrible sick things I'll laugh at, but there's a place for them. Facebook is not that place

What? If something's funny, I'll laugh at it wherever. OPs pic would neither make me laugh nor offend me, but I'm not a whingebag vagina tbh.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,615 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Kold wrote: »
    Why was it on in Eddie Rockets?

i've got a feeling they were watching it on a phone/portable dvd player while annoying the feck out of everyone around them, but thinking they were 'cool'. pity no-one shot them for being annoying fuckwits, then we could have all been laughing at the irony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

copacetic wrote: »
    i've got a feeling they were watching it on a phone/portable dvd player while annoying the feck out of everyone around them, but thinking they were 'cool'. pity no-one shot them for being annoying fuckwits, then we could have all been laughing at the irony.

:p Yeah, we were watching it on a touch. We were having a debate about something and I took it out to get an answer and somehow ended up on MIAs page:rolleyes:

• Subscribers Posts: 16,615 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

:p Yeah, we were watching it on a touch. We were having a debate about something and I took it out to get an answer and somehow ended up on MIAs page:rolleyes:

see, someone should have definitely shot ye. or at least thrown a few chips, one of those glass milkshake containers. etc.

Wait, were ye both in the same site of the booth so? cosy. People were prob concerned about it being a hate crime so left ye at it..

Hm. I hate Eddie Rockets. Never understood why a ****ing hamburger would cost so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

MrStuffins wrote: »
    If you're offended by that picture then the internet isn't the place for you!

The internet is a place :confused:

Far out, man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

i find the video offensive, would the video be funny if it was a bunch of black people being shot no there'd be uproar, if it a group of jew's uproar etc Im just glad i am not in secondery school at this stage it was bad enough growing up being ginger when i was younger never mind the **** that goes on in the media these day's id be on the verge of suicide.

copacetic wrote: »
    see, someone should have definitely shot ye. or at least thrown a few chips, one of those glass milkshake containers. etc.

Wait, were ye both in the same site of the booth so? cosy. People were prob concerned about it being a hate crime so left ye at it..

Funny you say that, when I asked for a spoon one narrowly missed my nose.

There were 15 of us at the two tables:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

It's not REALLY a child getting shot. It's an image from a music video that is TRYING to say something,
    How are people to know? I am not surprised at the reaction at all.
    Everyone knew what it was from but they weren't happy at all. Interesting not one was ginger either.
    How do you know they all knew what it was from? the replies looked quite short, I never heard of the video before. I could see people thinking it is quite sick, it could have been real for all I knew, I didn't pay any attention to the fact the kid had red hair, looked sort of brown to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

rubadub wrote: »

How do you know they all knew what it was from? the replies looked quite short, I never heard of the video before. I could see people thinking it is quite sick, it could have been real for all I knew, I didn't pay any attention to the fact the kid had red hair, looked sort of brown to me.

the video its from has ginger people being rounded up and killed

They were just extracts, the source was clearly explained below the image but for the people who took it badly the fact that it was from a music video was irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

It's not REALLY a child getting shot. It's an image from a music video that is TRYING to say something, even though it's not being allowed to in some places!

Apart from that, it's pretty hilarious! If you're offended by that picture then the internet isn't the place for you!

I assume that if you've watched the entire video and understand the context, the image is understandable.
    Obviously, if all you hit upon when OP's facebook status appears in your feed is a picture of a person being killed, the best you're going to think is that he has a v weird sense of humour and hit the Hide hammer.

I assume that if you've watched the entire video and understand the context, the image is understandable.
    Obviously, if all you hit upon when OP's facebook status appears in your feed is a picture of a person being killed, the best you're going to think is that he has a v weird sense of humour and hit the Hide hammer.

Thats the thing, they prefer to bitch than hit hide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Are these real friends or random facebook friends? I find it odd that real friends would react like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Brilliant marketing to be honest, its a **** song which everybody is now talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

Lone Stone wrote: »
    i find the video offensive, would the video be funny if it was a bunch of black people being shot no there'd be uproar, if it a group of jew's uproar etc Im just glad i am not in secondery school at this stage it was bad enough growing up being ginger when i was younger never mind the **** that goes on in the media these day's id be on the verge of suicide.
    But that's the point in the video, showing how wrong any such thing is using gingers as a far-fetched example.

Have you seen the picture? It's hardly realistic looking!

You don't watch enough CGI Summer Blockbuster Extravagansas!

Indeed. In this case the Op says "Lads, its a still from a music video. No gingers or other sub-species were harmed in the updating of this Facebook status"

At this point his Facebook "friends" apologise unreservedly and go to the sense of humour store to browse their wide range of offerings, before going to the Cop-On shop!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

About time someone took a stand against gingers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Whenever you read about someone going 'crazy nutso' and going on a killing rampage the article usually includes a bit about how "friends were recently concerned about the killer after he posted disturbing pictures on his Facebook account"

You are now one of those people OP

Actually, im off to stick that on my Facebook status to see how whinging my "Friends" are!

brb :P

k_mac wrote: »
    Are these real friends or random facebook friends? I find it odd that real friends would react like that.

Real friends, I see them on a daily basis. Several were sitting on the other side of the table. That said, one chap has just sent me a message de-friending me, but he's just a friends older brother and social advice from him is very rich:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Simona1986 wrote: »
    The video is supposed to highlight how wrong any form of racial profiling/stereotyping is, using gingers as an extreme example as everyone can clearly understand discrimination against gingers is ridiculous.

I seem to remember a bit of a bruhaha when Randy Newman sang about "Short people" having no reason to live

Are we talking about something similar here ?

Real friends, I see them on a daily basis. Several were sitting on the other side of the table. That said, one chap has just sent me a message de-friending me, but he's just a friends older brother and social advice from him is very rich:rolleyes:

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

Clown!