Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you talk about in the pub?

• 02-05-2010 1:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭

what kinda of things go down in your convos?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Last nights topics included Iron Man 2, new Bulmers and hot women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

Oxegen, women, snooker...whatever is topical I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

I honestly couldnt tell you.. its always entertaining at the time though!:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

The advantages of having the Empire run things instead of the government

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

we sit in a big circle and complain about the price of drink, the price of women, the price of sky, the price of food, the price of petrol.

Then we tell jokes about how tight Cavan people are and go home complaining about the price of the cab

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Women, cars, life, my plans for the future, what happened in recent times etc etc. Lastnight we discussed a business plan :cool:

No politics, no religion...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Internet forums and that they talk about on them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Basically the same as what everyone discusses in After Hours, hence the ...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

General crap really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

politics and religion.... our conversations do be quite stormy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Women and the effects of jack daniels on body but ultimately always ends up the world cup.

Some muppet lastnight was talking about how humans are seperate from nature and that we have nothing to do with nature, we shouldn't kill animals or eat meat, then went on to discuss how disgusting it is to buy ivory and then claiming she had lots of ivory peices at home. Nobody can be that fcuking stupid and still have the ability to breath... If only ye could have been there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Some muppet lastnight was talking about how humans are seperate from nature and that we have nothing to do with nature, we shouldn't kill animals or eat meat, then went on to discuss how disgusting it is to buy ivory and then claiming she had lots of ivory peices at home. Nobody can be that fcuking stupid and still have the ability to breath... If only ye could have been there...

Yeah yeah .. but did you shag her? ;)

OutlawPete wrote: »

I wish... what she lacked in brains she more than made up for in looks... A sight for sore eyes, but better suited for somebody hard of hearing, or completely deaf. :P

OutlawPete wrote: »

LOL :D

Ear plugs and I'm sure you could find something to put her tongue better use to? ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

Surprisingly depressing thread.

Thats reminds me, we talk about drugs too.
    Valium, etc. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Men,work, sport, sex. Can't remember most of it the next morning usually, so things that aren't too interesting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

Basically any **** just so people have enough material to make jokes out of just like after hours.

Conversation isn't a good medium for interesting things. If you want insight then read a book.

Even encounters between Proust and Joyce were boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Last two times I was in the pub we either bitched about everyone in school or discussed who was the hottest girl in school :p...I love being a teenager hah :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yesterday, how religion started and whether rainbows would have helped initiate it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

A short list of topics that were discussed in the pub last night:
    • The Headshop program that's going to be on RTE tonight.
    • Gerry Ryan's death.
    • Work
    • Gay marriage and Family Law in Ireland
    • CIA experiments with LSD and sensory deprivation
    • Red Dead Redemption and other Xbox games
    • Mumblin' Deaf Ro
    • Italian beer
    • Roman Polanski's new film and Whoopi Goldberg's "it's not rape, rape" comment

SugarHigh wrote: »
    Conversation isn't a good medium for interesting things. If you want insight then read a book.

Even encounters between Proust and Joyce were boring.

William F. Buckley and Gore Vidal had interesting conversations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

-Football (soccer)
    -Gaelic Football/Hurling
    -Rugby
    -Women
    -Poker
    -Drink
    -Snooker/Darts/Miscellaneous activities such as the aforementioned
    -The livin' end...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

Here's one night I had recently... In order, kinda...

How are y'as, etc.
    Work, holidays (and lack of)

*pint ordered*
    Upcoming concerts
    Festivals

*pint*

BBC Coverage of Glastonbury last year
    How we want to go to Glasto, but haven't got the cash, or holidays

*another pint*

Chat about the lounge-girl who brought our pint
    How's the missus', etc. (And, lack thereof)
    Best looking ladies' in movies

*pint*

Who's sexier in the movie world
    Was Zooey Deschanel (from 500 Days of Summer) separated at birth from Katy Perry

* another round *

Slagging a mate who got shot down when he was chatting to the lounge girl
    The UK Election

* refused to purchase raffle tickets for local football team *

The s'thate of the Government

* pint, and a shot, for the craic, bought my a friend who joined us *
    * another pint to wash it down *

And then general shite and ramblings from there on.

William F. Buckley and Gore Vidal had interesting conversations.
    That wasn't really a casual conversation down the pub.

I see debates as being separate from conversation even if they happen during them.

That wasn't really a casual conversation down the pub.

I see debates as being separate from conversation even if they happen during them.

The only real differences between a debate and a conversation is the presence of a moderator and the formal structure, if the people involved in the conversation are mature enough neither is necessary. The point being that if a debate can provide insight, so too can a conversation. I have learned more through interesting discourse with intelligent people than I have anywhere else.

Nonsense. Everything about the written word is better. More thought goes into it and it's usually verified. Our written vocabulary is also a lot bigger than our spoken vocabulary so we are better at expressing ideas. Most conversations and debate is full of one-upmanship and trying to impress people.

Vocabulary is instrumental, you may not express yourself with the eloquence of your written words when you speak freely (not a rule by any means), but that doesn't mean you can't explain your ideas clearly. Conversations can be full of insight, provided the right people are involved and the setting is appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Tail Wagger

Here's one night I had recently... In order, kinda...

How are y'as, etc.
    Work, holidays (and lack of)

*pint ordered*
    Upcoming concerts
    Festivals

*pint*

BBC Coverage of Glastonbury last year
    How we want to go to Glasto, but haven't got the cash, or holidays

*another pint*

Chat about the lounge-girl who brought our pint
    How's the missus', etc. (And, lack thereof)
    Best looking ladies' in movies

*pint*

Who's sexier in the movie world
    Was Zooey Deschanel (from 500 Days of Summer) separated at birth from Katy Perry

* another round *

Slagging a mate who got shot down when he was chatting to the lounge girl
    The UK Election

* refused to purchase raffle tickets for local football team *

The s'thate of the Government

* pint, and a shot, for the craic, bought my a friend who joined us *
    * another pint to wash it down *

And then general shite and ramblings from there on.[/QUOTE

the only reason I actually read all that was, I thought you were going to tell us you got the leg's....../

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I talk about my posts on boards. Then come back here and write about how I was chatting bout them in the pub. It's a vicious circle really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

We often converse about topics such as existentialism, religions influence on 17th century art, the cultural impact of the French revolution, the finer points of Trotskyism............

.............................and TITS!!! Big lovely tits!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Some written debates also include one-upmanship, often started by telling the other person that their statements are "nonsense".

Vocabulary is instrumental, you may not express yourself with the eloquence of your written words when you speak freely (not a rule by any means)
    Your vocabulary is split into 4 types.

Going from the largest to the smallest.
    Reading vocabulary
    Writing vocabulary
    listening vocabulary
    Speaking vocabulary

The frequency of errors is in the reverse order with speaking vocabulary being the most prone to errors.

Your vocabulary is split into 4 types.

Going from the largest to the smallest.
    Reading vocabulary
    Writing vocabulary
    listening vocabulary
    Speaking vocabulary

The frequency of errors is in the reverse order with speaking vocabulary being the most prone to errors.

Very intersting, hadn't laid it out in my mind like that before but it makes perfect sense that it would be as above.

Nevertheless, it doesn't take from the fact that conversations can provide a great deal of insight. Philosophical texts have emerged from conversations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

Oh I have a few conversation starters..

The spit or swallow conversation is a good one.

Or the have you tried Anal? Is good for a laugh...

Dont forget about the "she treats her fella like crap" conversation

Very intersting, hadn't laid it out in my mind like that before but it makes perfect sense that it would be as above.

Nevertheless, it doesn't take from the fact that conversations can provide a great deal of insight. Philosophical texts have emerged from conversations.
    Yea fair enough. Maybe I'm just making conversation with the wrong people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭gonnaplayrugby

losers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Tonights conversation consisted of boobs, pokemon, smokes, horrible internet video's and Frankie Boyle. Some veery good conversations were had!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Nuggles

The orange highlighter spots that appear on my hands when I'm cold.

The men and women who pass,that my friends and I objectify.

How crap teenagers are.

How we wish we were teenagers again.

Pathological liars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭suitseir

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Last nights topics included Iron Man 2, new Bulmers and hot women.

No women in your company, then!!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

Last night, the FACT that gerrard is a filthy scouse scumbag who needs his legs broken, torn off and shoved up his rectum. and how the higgings fella is a thick for getting caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

REVOLUTION!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd