Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PrizeFighter - Wayne McCullogh

• 01-05-2010 5:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭

Now i don't know what this show is about as i've never watched it, but Wayne McCullough has signed up to take part in the 2010 edition and will be flying into the UK soon to film.

After a bit of googling it seems there's 8 fighters, 4 quarter finals of 3x3 minute rounds and the winners move on.

Maybe if Naseem loses 12 stone he could be a candidate :rolleyes::rolleyes::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Ugh, why Wayne?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

dlofnep wrote: »
    Ugh, why Wayne?

now was that..

Why Wayne?

or

Why the feck Wayne?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Vintagekits

why Wayne?

Thats what I asked him and there will be an article on irish-boxing.com as soon as he replies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭keane=cock

why Wayne?

Thats what I asked him and there will be an article on irish-boxing.com as soon as he replies!
    he may think if its good enough for herbie hide why would it not be good enough for him! maybe?

i personally thought the first prizefighter was a type of spring board for relativly unheard of fighters to get them selves a shot at a national/european title and i really agreed with the idea. but now it seems every "known" fighter is getting in on the action. (audley harrisson, danny williams, herbie hide, tony oakey and im sure there is more). this i dont agree with but i suppose its better than no boxing at all on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

Im thinking this is all wrong...... just like everyone else is.... it would make car crash TV and would fet good ratings. I doubt it will ever happen, didnt wayne have problems getting sanctioned by the BBBC due to his brain scans????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

i wonder would he able to recognise if another fighter was well past his best and think to himself that man should retire.

well if himself, Esham Pickering and Michael Hunter are all going to be in it then we could see the end of a few careers.

Boxing at the lighter weights is a young mans game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Prizefighter is just so unpredictable. Seems like an odd decision especially as he hasnt fough in 2 years. Did anyone ever come across footage of his fight in the cayman islands a few years back?

joepenguin wrote: »
    Prizefighter is just so unpredictable. Seems like an odd decision especially as he hasnt fough in 2 years. Did anyone ever come across footage of his fight in the cayman islands a few years back?

never seen if Kev but I heard he was well ahead and just quit on his stool.

But 3x3 might suit him!!

never seen if Kev but I heard he was well ahead and just quit on his stool.

But 3x3 might suit him!!

Heard that as well, hope the format suits him cause he will likey have to do the full 9 if he is successfull... could see some class fights in this one. Pity its on in london, think theres a hatton card on the same night though.

yeah Scott Quigg in Bury - with Maher on the card.

Fancy it?

yeah Scott Quigg in Bury - with Maher on the card.

Fancy it?

If im still here that weekend i'll definitely go. Serious amount of cards coming up in May! :D Let me know if you heading to any of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

alanceltic wrote: »
    Im thinking this is all wrong...... just like everyone else is.... it would make car crash TV and would fet good ratings. I doubt it will ever happen, didnt wayne have problems getting sanctioned by the BBBC due to his brain scans????

The brain scan issue has been sorted now. A UK doctor found a cyst on one of his scans while he was doing his medical for a British license(after he had fought Morales). This cyst wasn't on the brain directly and had been there in all his previous scans(and was most likely there since birth). American doctors had noticed it, they just felt it was a non issue as Wayne was under no more risk compared to normal fighters without such a cyst.

After many other doctors opinions in the UK and loads of American doctors opinions the BBBofC changed their mind about refusing Wayne a license(which they had done for medical reasons due to him failing the scan), and he's fought there 3 times since, including a bout with Scott Harrison.

I love Wayne, he's a hero of mine but I'm really hoping he loses in the 1st round. It's the only thing which may get him to retire. Even one win against a poor opponent may give him the encouragement to continue, and I just don't want that.

Prizefighter return for Wayne McCullough

2 May 2010 - By Leonard Gunning

There is an old saying in boxing that a fighter is the first person to know when he should retire but the last one to admit it.

With those words resonating we now consider the anticipated return to the ring of one of Ireland’s favourite fighters as Wayne McCullough has decided to return to the ring and participate in the super bantamweight edition of Barry Hearn’s exciting and unpredictable Prizefighter Series on May 29 at the York Hall in London.

With the Belfast boxer fast approaching 40, news of his imminent return was greeted with collective heads shaking and eyes rolling with many feeling that he should preserve his health and hang the gloves up once and for all but McCullough still believes that he has plenty left in the tank to offer the fight game.

Wayne captured the imagination of the Irish public in 1992 when he and fellow amateur boxer Michael Carruth returned from the Barcelona Olympics with Ireland’s only medals. He went on to cement his position in Irish sporting folklore in 1995 when as professional he made the lonely journey to the backyard of Japanese WBC Bantamweight champion Yasuei Yakushiji and ripped the title away from the Nagoya native in a titanic tussle over twelve rounds that saw his name catapulted onto the world stage.

McCullough went on to successfully defend his title in Dublin and Belfast and face some of the biggest names in the super bantamweight and featherweight divisions including Eric Morales, Scott Harrison and Prince Naseem Hamed in a glittering career that has earned him a reputation as one of the most exciting fighters on the circuit.

However since those heady days the Las Vegas based boxer hasn’t fought in almost two years, has lost his last three bouts, two of those ending inside the distance and is without a win in over five years.

On the face of it those statistics are somewhat alarming. However Wayne believes this isn’t necessarily all negative and points to the quality of opposition he faced and explained that “considering I've only fought three times in six years, twice for the WBC belt and once for the NABF belt, that's not too bad! Many people, commentators included, thought I won the first Oscar Larios fight and I was ahead on the cards in my last fight but had to pull out on my stool due to a prior injury.”

The Prizefighter Series format sees eight fighters compete over the course of a single night in four quarter-finals of 3 x 3 minute rounds followed by two semi-finals and a final with the winner taking away a prize of £32,000 – not bad for a single night’s work. In general the competition is seen in the trade as a chance for fading stars to climb back into contention or for relative novices to boost their profile - however Wayne’s appearance would be a major coup for the series that propelled fellow Belfast fighter Martin Rogan into the heavyweight spotlight following the inaugural Prizefighter in 2008.

The rest of the article is here ......................... http://www.irish-boxing.com/stories/may10/may10_mccullough_prizefighter.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Raedwald

Should be a good tournament, with some decent fighters taking part.

Wayne should of gone years ago, cant see him doing anything in this really. Lack of activity being the main reason. Hopefully he will have some sense however unlike alot of boxers he seems to think that he can go on forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Benny Lava

He really won't give it up will he? There he was calling out Bernard Dunne, and now he's going to be in Prizefighter.

I don't see any good coming out of it for him. Either he will be beaten by one of the journeymen they always get to fight in these yokes or he will win it and start looking for big fights that he can't win at his age!

Be intersting to see who else gets added to this:

Could look something along the lines of:

Wayne McCullough
    Esham Pickering
    Michael Hunter
    Sean Hughes
    Marc Callaghan
    Michael Maguire
    Craig Lyon
    Eugene Heagney

with Rocky Dean and Mo Kahled on the bench.

Be class to see Frampton involved but id say he's too much of a potential star to risk a loss in prize fighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

The lineup below looks quite interesting, as standalone fights they dont add up to much but in the Prizefighter setup I think it really suits most of the boxers listed. Personally I dont see any of the names being any problems for McCullough and the 3 round format would suit any concerns over his fitness etc. One name I would like to see added is Kiko and I wouldnt be that surprised to see it added as his career is pretty much over.

Let the car crash begin....... Mabey it would be more entertaining to see Cheryl in the ring :)

Be intersting to see who else gets added to this:

Could look something along the lines of:

Wayne McCullough
    Esham Pickering
    Michael Hunter
    Sean Hughes
    Marc Callaghan
    Michael Maguire
    Craig Lyon
    Eugene Heagney

with Rocky Dean and Mo Kahled on the bench.

Be class to see Frampton involved but id say he's too much of a potential star to risk a loss in prize fighter.

Frampton wont be in it but Kris Hughes, Gavid Reid and Josh wale will be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

alanceltic wrote: »
    The lineup below looks quite interesting, as standalone fights they dont add up to much but in the Prizefighter setup I think it really suits most of the boxers listed. Personally I dont see any of the names being any problems for McCullough and the 3 round format would suit any concerns over his fitness etc. One name I would like to see added is Kiko and I wouldnt be that surprised to see it added as his career is pretty much over.

Let the car crash begin....... Mabey it would be more entertaining to see Cheryl in the ring :)
    Get Kiko in against McCullough for first bout. It would make up for their cancelled fight when Martinez failed (didn't even try:mad:) to make weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭fernandovargas

im delighted to see wayne in it from a selfish point of view, is michael hunter in it aswell?? id have him fav if he was

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Antrim Hotels

I think he should go for it!
    The prizefighter series and the other super 6 classic was started to get more people interested in boxing instead of the UFC.
    but they really need bigger fighters in it
    imagine this, manny pacman, floyd maywethr, amir khan, miguel cotto.
    what a draw this would bring with such high class fighters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

I think he should go for it!
    The prizefighter series and the other super 6 classic was started to get more people interested in boxing instead of the UFC.
    but they really need bigger fighters in it
    imagine this, manny pacman, floyd maywethr, amir khan, miguel cotto.
    what a draw this would bring with such high class fighters

yeah and a bankrupt company too..

prizefighter is suited to journey men or has beens as its a way of getting your name out there..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,370 ✭✭✭✭walshb

The guy is a human punch bag who needs to be forcibly retired!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

The biggest problem with this debacle is that Wayne could actually do well in this tournament and if that happened he would move on to bigger and more dangerous opponents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

I'll be really torn between loyalties here. Part of me wants McCullough to succeed, he is a great lad and gave us so many great memories, but I know if he does well in the competition he'll start getting notions he can make a proper comeback and nobody wants to see it. At least if he got brutally beaten he may finally realise he isn't cut out for the game any more. He hasn't had any business putting on the gloves several years now. :(

this is the full line up lads,,,Wayne McCullough (27-7, 18 KOs), Esham Pickering (34-9, 13 KOs), Craig Lyon (10-0, 3 KOs), Mark Moran (11-1-1, 3 KOs), Ricky Owen (11-0, 4 KOs), Gavin Reid (6-5-1, 3 KOs), Chris Riley (2-2-2, 0 KOs), Josh Wale (9-2, 5 KOs). , ,

Wow, this has to be PPV:)

walshb wrote: »
    Wow, this has to be PPV:)

tongue in cheek me thinks:D even so it should be a good watch, id have mark moran fav though

PRIZEFIGHTER SUPER-BANTAMWEIGHTS LINE-UP ANNOUNCED MATCHROOM Sport can announce the line-up for the latest Prizefighter event. Barry Hearn’s next eight-man, one-night tournament - Prizefighter Super-Bantamweights - will take place at the York Hall, Bethnal Green, east London on Saturday, May 29. Boxing legend Wayne McCullough, a former WBC world champion at bantamweight who also fought for world titles at two other weights, will be the bookmakers’ favourite to win it. However, favourites do not always win Prizefighter, as former WBO Heavyweight Champion Herbie Hide found out when he had to withdraw at the semi-final stage in Prizefighter Cruiserweights II last month. "I jumped at the chance to box in Prizefighter knowing the exposure and opportunity it has given the fighters who have taken part in the past,” said 39-year-old McCullough. "A lot of people think I'm done, so I don't think there is any pressure on me. "I'm sure there'll be some ring rust but I can't think about that. I'm just going to come out with all guns blazing.”Once again, the rest of the entrants include a mix of seasoned veterans and talented prospects looking for a career-changing night. Nottinghamshire-based Esham Pickering has previously held the European, British and Commonwealth belts, while Liverpool ’s Mark Moran fought for the British title. There are two undefeated fighters among the eight. Welshman Ricky Owen has fought 11 times, while St Helens ’ Craig Lyon had boxed ten times as a professional. Aberdeen-born Gavin Reid has fought for the Scottish title, Josh Wale of Barnsley has challenged for the English crown and Middlesbrough’s Chris Riley is a former England junior international. Tickets for the event cost £35 (unreserved), £60 (ringside) and £100 (VIP) and are available from Matchroom Sport on 01277 359900. Once again the whole show will be broadcast live and in high definition on Sky Sports. Prizefighter Super-BantamweightsName: Craig Lyon.Age: 28.Home town: St Helens , Merseyside.Professional record: Won 10 (3 by KO), Lost 0, Drawn 0. Total 10 fights.Achievement: Undefeated. Name: Wayne McCulloughAge: 39Home town: Belfast / Las Vegas .Professional record: Won 27 (18 by KO), Lost 7, Drawn 0. Total 35 fights.Achievement: Ex WBC bantamweight champion. Name: Mark MoranAge: 28Home town: Liverpool .Professional record: Won 11 (3 by KO), Lost 1, Drawn 1. Total 13 fights.Achievement: Fought for British title. Name: Ricky OwenAge: 24Home town: SwanseaProfessional record: Won 11 (4 by KO), Lost 0, Drawn 0. Total 11 fights.Achievement: Undefeated. Name: Esham PickeringAge: 33Home town: Newark , NottsProfessional record: Won 34 (13 by KO), Lost 9, Drawn 0. Total 43 fights.Achievement: Has held the European, British and Commonwealth titles. Name: Gavin ReidAge: 31Home town: Redcar, YorkshireProfessional record: Won 6 (3 by KO), Lost 5, Drawn 1. Total 12 fights.Achievement: Fought for Scottish title. Name: Chris RileyAge: 22Home town: MiddlesbroughProfessional record: Won 2 (0 by KO), Lost 2, Drawn 2. Total 6 fights.Achievement: Ex England Junior international. Name: Josh WaleAge: 22Home town: BarnsleyProfessional record: Won 9 (5 by KO), Lost 2, Drawn 0. Total 11 fights.Achievement: Fought for English title.

Go on McCullough!!! He may be favourite to win but he'll have to fight real hard to do so. Hopefully those rounds of sparring with Frampton will shake off all of the ring rust :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Great news. McCullough has dropped out of the competition with a hand injury. Limerick man Willie "Big Bang" Casey has be brought in so there is still and Irish interest in the competition for us. :)

He is just off the back of a very impressive victory against unbeaten Canadian prospect Tyson Cave who he beat in Canada. Let's get behind him lads, he has KO power and could win this.

So happy I don't have to watch McCullough in this. It was wrong on so many levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭duagre

I havent seen much of Casey. Does he have a good amateur background?

Prizefighter: Unbeaten Big Bang Casey gets dream chance to replaceinjured heroPlease find below a press release from Matchroom Sport aboutLimerick's Willie Casey getting a late call up to replace formerWorld Champ, Wayne McCulough for the Super Bantamweight Prizefighterevent in London on May 29th. A hand injury has forced Wayne McCullough to withdraw fromPrizefighter Super-Bantamweights at York Hall, Bethnal Green onSaturday May 29.Former WBC world champion McCullough had been training hard to makehis comeback in Barry Hearns latest eight-man, one night tournamentbut the 39 year-old has been advised that he will be unable to fightfor at least two months.I am really devastated to be missing out on Prizefighter but thehand injury is pretty bad, said McCullough. My Doctor has advisedme not to use the hand at all for training or fighting for the next6-8 weeks. We are all packed and ready to go and we really wanted tobe there but this is boxing and these things happen.McCulloughs misfortune has thrown a golden opportunity to youngIrish fighter Willie Big Bang Casey to take his heros place andbattle for the Prizefighter crown. The big punching Casey, who hasfour knockout victories in his unbeaten five fight career, is sure tobe a danger man on an explosive night.He was an idol to me and I really looked up to him when I wasstarting out, said Casey. I followed his career from after the 1992Olympics, he fought some great Mexicans and took on Naseem Hamed and Iremember watching those fights.I don't feel under pressure as his replacement though, its moreexcitement - although it would've been so great to fight him and Iknow his style would suit me. But I'm just delighted to be inPrizefighter and it's my chance to prove that I can make it to thetop.The 28 year-old from Limerick comes into the fight after animpressive victory over previously undefeated CanadianSuper-Bantamweight champion Tyson Cave, flooring him four timesen-route to his fourth KO victory Casey promises Prizefighter fansthat his style of fighting is made for the format.They don't call me Big Bang for nothing - I like a good scrap, saidCasey. I like to get in there and I like boxers who like to getinvolved as it makes the fights more exciting. Cave was 10-0 beforehe faced me and I went over to Canada and beat him so my confidenceis sky high going into this.With less than a fortnight before York Hall opens its doors to theeight contenders, Casey dismissed any suggestions that he would beunder-cooked going into Prizefighter as a late replacement.I train for every type of fight and every type of scenario and Iprepare for everything - last minute replacements, change offighters, anything, said Casey. You have to prepare for everythingin this game as anything can happen at the last minute - mentally andphysically you have to be ready for that and I am.I'm an exciting fighter and the last thing people want to do with meis take me lightly. Don't look at my record and think "he's onlyfought five times" - you don't want to take any chances with BigBang.Tickets for Prizefighter Super-Bantamweights are available now at £35(unreserved), £60 (ringside) and £100 (VIP) call Matchroom Sport on01277 359900.

“Devastated” McCullough in Prizefighter KOUnbeaten “Big Bang” Casey gets dream chance to replace injured heroA hand injury has forced Wayne McCullough to withdraw from Prizefighter Super-Bantamweights at York Hall, Bethnal Green on Saturday May 29.Former WBC world champion McCullough had been training hard to make his comeback in Barry Hearn’s latest eight-man, one night tournament but the 39 year-old has been advised that he will be unable to fight for at least two months.“I am really devastated to be missing out on Prizefighter but the hand injury is pretty bad,” said McCullough. “My Doctor has advised me not to use the hand at all for training or fighting for the next 6-8 weeks. We are all packed and ready to go and we really wanted to be there but this is boxing and these things happen.”McCullough’s misfortune has thrown a golden opportunity to young Irish fighter Willie “Big Bang” Casey to take his hero’s place and battle for the Prizefighter crown. The big punching Casey, who has four knockout victories in his unbeaten five fight career, is sure to be a danger man on an explosive night.“He was an idol to me and I really looked up to him when I was starting out,” said Casey. “I followed his career from after the 1992 Olympics, he fought some great Mexicans and took on Naseem Hamed and I remember watching those fights.“I don't feel under pressure as his replacement though, it’s more excitement - although it would've been so great to fight him and I know his style would suit me. But I'm just delighted to be in Prizefighter and it's my chance to prove that I can make it to the top.”The 28 year-old from Limerick comes into the fight after an impressive victory over previously undefeated Canadian Super-Bantamweight champion Tyson Cave, flooring him four times en-route to his fourth KO victory – Casey promises Prizefighter fans that his style of fighting is made for the format.“They don't call me Big Bang for nothing - I like a good scrap,” said Casey. “I like to get in there and I like boxers who like to get involved as it makes the fights more exciting. Cave was 10-0 before he faced me and I went over to Canada and beat him so my confidence is sky high going into this.”With less than a fortnight before York Hall opens its doors to the eight contenders, Casey dismissed any suggestions that he would be under-cooked going into Prizefighter as a late replacement.“I train for every type of fight and every type of scenario and I prepare for everything - last minute replacements, change of fighters, anything,” said Casey. “You have to prepare for everything in this game as anything can happen at the last minute - mentally and physically you have to be ready for that and I am.“I'm an exciting fighter and the last thing people want to do with me is take me lightly. Don't look at my record and think "he's only fought five times" - you don't want to take any chances with Big Bang.”Tickets for Prizefighter Super-Bantamweights are available now at £35 (unreserved), £60 (ringside) and £100 (VIP) – call Matchroom Sport on 01277 359900.

Hey, I know I am pushing for Wayne not to continue, but I won't bother watching this now seeing as he is not in it. Weird!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

I think that Boxing (and boxing fans) have to wake up to the fact we're being taking for mugs every promotion.

Here's what happens;

Frank warren announces Muhammed Ali, Mike tyson, Frank bruno and larry holmes on a great fight night.

Fast forward to 2 weeks before the fight when all tickets are bought.

Frank warren regrets to inform all you suckers that everyone has pulled out with injuries.

Before anyone says anything, I know warren is not behind the prozefighter, but its endemic in the sport, especially recently.
    GRRR

F**********ck!!!! Was even tempted to make the trip down to see him fight in the flesh. I'd imagine for many people its still as interesting but whether or not u think mccullough should continue it sparked interest of some sort. Whether you were rooting him to win or retire.

Davestator you are 100% right on that one. Of course there are genuine injuries and id imagine McCullough is 100% genuine but Warren is notorious for this and he is not alone in doing so.

Feel bad for McCullough... was meant to fight on a dunne undercard when he made his first defence. I bought tickets based on seeing McCullough compete even against the mexican journeyman they were bringing in. Think yer man couldnt fly over for some reason.

The Kiko fight where "il terrible" failed to make weight and drank a bottle of water after been given an hour to make it. (although i reckon lack of interest sparked this more than anything else, duddy was fighting the week before or after in the same city. December 07 against eastman i think)

Now this. Is he just unlucky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭duagre

To be fair, Big Frank has had by far the most stacked cards out of any promoter lately.

duagre wrote: »
    I havent seen much of Casey. Does he have a good amateur background?

Casey won the Intermediate nationals, although he beat me by 1 point in the semi final in a fight i clearly won and that was the belief of all in attendance! i actually have the score sheet and 4-5 judges clearly gave me 3-4 rounds and 1 -5 gave complete opposite scores, basically he was getting scored by 5 judges and me by 4, i've whinged about it before!!

He won the final fairly easily and he is a hard hitter and if i remember correctly he is a south paw. he is about 5,4" or 5,5" at the most-he has an aggressive attacking style and will be looking for quick ko's, i feel he will struggle against a decent technical boxer but i dont really know who he will face in the prize fighter, fingers crossed he does well and gives his carreer a serious boost, i for 1 will watch this with interest and wish him the best..

cowzerp wrote: »
    Casey won the Intermediate nationals, although he beat me by 1 point in the semi final in a fight i clearly won and that was the belief of all in attendance! i actually have the score sheet and 4-5 judges clearly gave me 3-4 rounds and 1 -5 gave complete opposite scores, basically he was getting scored by 5 judges and me by 4, i've whinged about it before!!

He won the final fairly easily and he is a hard hitter and if i remember correctly he is a south paw. he is about 5,4" or 5,5" at the most-he has an aggressive attacking style and will be looking for quick ko's, i feel he will struggle against a decent technical boxer but i dont really know who he will face in the prize fighter, fingers crossed he does well and gives his carreer a serious boost, i for 1 will watch this with interest and wish him the best..

Is this another story about an Irish title you 'should' have won Paul? How many you got mate? ;)

Same story, its actually a deep wound!!

i actually cried like a baby after it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Ha ha - Busted Paul!

cowzerp wrote: »
    Same story, its actually a deep wound!!

i actually cried like a baby after it.

I thought you got beat in the final and kept the score sheet as "proof that the Irish title was really yours" - only bustin yer chops (as someone that never made a county final as a 13 year old never mind a national intermediate semi final then I have nothing but admiration hombre!)

Sorry dude, your right-it was the semi's and i mixed it up with the final the following year which i lost fair and square..

I did keep the score card as you say, and the final was a much easier match in fairness so i do claim it as mine, especially as i should have beat the winner..

Anyway, back on topic, best of luck to Willie.