Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Socialising?

• 01-05-2010 12:38am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭

How often do you socialise and what does it intail?
    Typically like people of my age group I go out every weekend
    clubbing etc. Does the importance of this change as you get older
    or just types of places to go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

We go out every weekend or second weekend, out to town, to the cinemas, to someone's house for a piss-up or out for a curry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭whiteboy

anything that involves drinking and I'm there, house parties or even social gatherings are better than nights out but going to a club or chilling in a beer garden is cool as well, why does it seem people want to socialize less and less as time goes on esp when you really wanna do something and nobody else does!
    fuuu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

miss5 wrote: »
    Typicaly like people of my age group I go out every weekend
    clubbing etc. Dos the importance of this change as you get older

I socialise very very rarely. I don't socialise much to meet new people, although I love that. It's hard with little or no money ;)

I find that you tend to grow out of the clubbing scene, but it depends from person to person. I mean, I went nuts in college, always out, loved it and had a great time. There's only so much of that I can take though. As you mature, you begin to realise that clubbing isn't as great as it seems. I never ever liked the amount of people in clubs, pubs, I hated the really loud music and the constant bumping into people, I loved going out in groups and having the laugh.

The importance of clubs and socialising changed for me, as you get more mates and they mature too, I think you tend to settle down a little. I rather go for a few pints in the local than any club, so do most of my mates. The places you go definately change too. Then again not everyone is the same. Some of my mates from 10 years ago are still the same drunk club goers, and it doesn't look like that is going to change any time soon. Funny thing is, sunday morning facebook = "Omg, never drinking again" etc etc, and I tend to laugh at them, because next sunday it will be a similar comment "OMG what happend last night, I woke up with no clothes in a park, lol great night"... how that's a great night, considering they don't know wtf happened is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭force majeure

Well the only time I get to soc these days is when I go for petrol for the car dls for the van or a paper to pass lunch so no point in asking me about this kind off thing, unless you ever arrange a poker club then I'm all yours.
    PS The petrol station in BallB started a pre pay system this week just thought to mention it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Oh . . I was a bit of a piss head when I was younger . . I remember going to Tomangoes one week on Thurs, fri, sat and Sunday night . . Was one of those weeks where the craic was awesome.

Funny thing is that I was never mad about clubbing . . I loved going out with the lads and saw clubbing as a late bar with loud music . . Funny, I was never into chasing the chicks, but givin the charming personality I have, I didnt have a problem ! ! :rolleyes:

Incidentally, one of my favourate stories (which I can tell as I am married and comfi with my sexuality!) is when I was on a lads night out and we were going to the red box (or the pod, cant remember which one!). .

Anyways, in the que I was dieing for a slash so ran off to a lane. When I got back I couldnt find my mates. . So I just jumped in the que and went in. .

Walking around the club I just couldnt find them so I did what I always did and went to the bar for a drink. You know when you just feel something is up but you cannot quite put your finger on it ? Well, I was a bit drunk and still sensed something was a bit off . .

So I go up to the bar and get in line for a pint . . In the que I start talking to this guy . . we have a laugh about some things and then when the bartender comes over he serves your man first . . He says to me "what are you having?" . .I was thinking, awesome, what a nice guy "Mines a bud " (back then I liked fizzy piss). . So he buys me a drink and we have a laugh and share some stories while we enjoying our tastey beverages.

After I polish off that golden nectare I say "thanks alot mate, I gotta go find my mates, was good talking to you" and I goto the jacks. When I come out of the jacks I begin to look around again for my mates . . Then I noticed some girls Kissing . . "Oh look at that, isnt that sexy" I thought . . Then I saw two guys kissing . . "Now theres something I dont see that often" I thought . .

Then, even in my drunken state it dawned on me . . Yes . . It was gaynight in the club and I had gotten into the wrong que! your man was obviously chatting me up !

Thats one of my most printable "club nights out" . . I could tell you some stories . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

No dont worry about conformity once your happy in yourself and what you do. IF you wanna sit at home on a friday night reading or playing the wii or watchign tv well so be it dont worry about the 'hype' its just a machine.

I personally head out every wednesday then usually either fri or sat nite but not always. Plans change, could head to the cinema with a mate or drop over to a relative for a cup of tea or a mate for cans and fifa or another mate for a jamming session. Doesnt always have to involve drink or heading out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Never really been into night clubs that much. Think they're annoying what with the overcharging, loud music and constant fights etc... I do like late bars a lot more though.

Since I went eighteen and got a job I've stared to socialise a lot more. Maybe three to four times a week. Normally myself and the lads will head round to the pub midweek for two or three pints (love Guinness myself. Get a bit of stick for it though!!). Then whn Friday comes along it off to the match which will invariably involve one or two in the pub beside the ground (richmnd Park) with my brother and the other fellas we know down there.

Depnding if I'm in work at awkward times over the weekend myslf and th lads will normally head to the pub once for a piper session into the wee hours. Also, at least once a week I'll probably chill with some chickita I like or be headng into Temple bar for a gig or just chill with another mate in the part or somehing kinda random...

Dp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Socialising's not a problem in college cos we're always around each other anyway, we hang out and have the bants between lectures or in the library. It's socialising with my non-college friends is the problem, I only really get to see them when we go out to a club, though with the nice weather we've been able to meet up in a local park and just lie around a fair bit, I like that. I miss my friends :(

Chill about with the housemates or go for pints with friends once or twice during the week.. At the weekends, piss about town a bit and head out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭akamossy

I see my friends in college all the time, and we get to chat between classes and the like! I very rarely see my friends from home because when I do come home at the weekends I am working on my college stuff and actually working as well so I don't get the chance to see them.

I would say I socialise with them maybe every 2 months at best and this could involve just going for a few drinks in the pub. Haven't been clubbing in ages, kinda prefer now to just go to a pub for a few drinks instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

I'd say I socialise about 3 times a week. Could vary between going out clubbing or just chilling in someones flat watching a film. Depends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Goldenquick

Drumpot you post made me laugh lol.

Oh to be young and single again, (well no, maybe not).

My youthful socialising was spent mainly at a beach in Donegal, used to hitch there after work every evening at 6pm. Sometimes we'd head to a neighbouring town where there was always a marquee in the summer and a dance. Stay there 'till late, get back home whatever way we could, there was always someone about who was travelling our way. No booze involved, we were good. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Xluna

Going to the pond to feed the ducks once a week,and trolling you lot every second day.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

If I'm bored and there's nothing on I'll head over to an over-16's nightclub(:rolleyes:), but I hate the place. That'd involve drink, usually vodka.

I'd much rather have a few cans and smoke down at the river or in a mates house and then wander up to the pub when we've none left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Going clubbing at 40 would be a good way to feel 60 in a hurry. That being said, I always hated the whole "dance" thing, and despise pubs that belted out music at the same volume. If I wanted to be deafened, I'd go to a gig.

Ideally, there'd be a sound proof room, where lads could watch the wimmin dancin.....with comfy chairs, for the dirty oul fellahs.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

do i need torepeat this again?:(

people dont socialize here, they just drink!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Xluna

I'd socialise more if I did'nt live in a country where socialising is just another term for binge drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

On weekdays I go out in Cork with the people I live with/people in my course etc..usually quite unexciting. Not into the whole student nightclub scene. But whatever. At home at the weekend/holidays I go to the pub some nights. Never really go to a nightclub at home. We also hang out in the park during the day. If there is no rain. But there usually is.