Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eurosport commentators ugh..one bad the other worse!

• 28-04-2010 4:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭

I honestly dont know which is worse, Duffield, Harmon, or Carlton smile.gif
    they are soo bad its painfull, Im considering finding french audio feeds just to get some exciting sounding enthusuastic commentary tongue.gif, its a shame because the ex pros they have are a great.

what about Versus? isn't Ligget on that? - I think I would get it just for that! anyone have/had it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

me@ucd wrote: »
    I honestly dont know which is worse, Duffield, Harmon, or Carlton smile.gif
    they are soo bad its painfull, Im considering finding french audio feeds just to get some exciting sounding enthusuastic commentary tongue.gif, its a shame because the ex pros they have are a great.

what about Versus? isn't Ligget on that? - I think I would get it just for that! anyone have/had it?

You'd pay to listen to Ligget???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

You'd pay to listen to Ligget???

yeah, Ligget has energy and enthusiasiam and makes it possible to watch an otherwise uneventfull race, the eurosport guys sound like they are translating the race, rather than actually commentating on it. The real test for a commentator is to hold interest in a relatively boring race, anyone can hold interest in an exciting action filled race. Its like they are on a time delay with the video or something. REALLy bad.

Ligget is awesome, having said that I like Harmon too, he really knows the sport and could give you a bio on any rider in the peleton, as opposed to Duffield who has to look at their numbers to even figure out who they are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

me@ucd wrote: »
    ....Im considering finding french audio feeds just to get some exciting sounding enthusuastic commentary
    Believe me the French feed for Eurosport is worse! and the terrestrial stations are not much better (Laurent Jalabert from the back of a motorbike!)

sy wrote: »
    Believe me the French feed for Eurosport is worse! and the terrestrial stations are not much better (Laurent Jalabert from the back of a motorbike!)

which is why Im thinking of Ligget and Versus, just for the commentary :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I really like Ligget personally.

I've had bad experiences with some of Versus' American commentators but with Ligget they would be grand. I think I saw something on Versus once that had Ligget on it.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Not a fan of Ligget at all. Much prefer Harmon with either Kelly or Backstedt. Both of the latter are good analysts, whilst Harmon gets my vote by virtue of not being an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭drogdub

el tonto wrote: »
    Not a fan of Ligget at all. Much prefer Harmon with either Kelly or Backstedt. Both of the latter are good analysts, whilst Harmon gets my vote by virtue of not being an idiot.

As someone new to the sport I think Harmon, is very good at getting the expertise out of Kelly or Backstedt. The scottish lad (smith I think) is also good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

I'd agree - Harmon is grand alongside a good analyst. Harmon/Kelly is definitely my favourite commentary team.

I did like Ligget when I first started to watch cycling, but I find he tends to over-explain things. Great for someone that doesn't know the sport, but it gets annoying after a while.

Also:

lancephil.jpg

blorg wrote: »
    I really like Ligget personally.

I've had bad experiences with some of Versus' American commentators but with Ligget they would be grand. I think I saw something on Versus once that had Ligget on it.

yeah on his Wiki it says he is their commentator alright, but does he do most/all of it? was it yourself who had versus for a while, I remember a thread in the last couple of months where I thought you mentioned something like that?

Also the main point for me with Harmon is he is dead pan, reminds me of peter collins of RTE [shudder] Ligget and Sherwin flow, Harmon sounds like he doesn't know what to say, a bit like the guys on TG4 for the TDF, when you watched it live it was one thing, when you saw it that evening with Ligget and Sherwin commentating it was like a different race, the guy is a gem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

During today’s coverage by Eurosport of the Tour of Poland the co-commentator referred to the profile of tomorrow’s stage containing a “chink” presumably meaning it isn’t pan flat. Duffield responsed “what part of China does he come from”- Honestly I’m not making it up. That man needs to be put down.
    Memories (painful ones I must add!)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,489 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

I'm always surprised when there are threads about commentators that Harmon gets any praise at all. His inability to identify riders is second to none and his commentary is rather dull and bland. Also his knowledge of the cycling is nothing special. He seems much more at home talking about motorbikes.

But then I like Duffiled so what do I know!

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

Ligget is a idiot and never mentions when doping occurs. Some classics over the years are when a huge group of riders suspended and not a mention the next morning.

Refuses to accept the sport is riddled even at this stage.

I don't think I've ever heard a commentator speak his mind on the drugs issue during a race. They all seem to give it a wide birth if they can.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

They should just get two ex-pros to commentate like in the snooker. I think the snooker commentary is the best of any sport, as in most other sports they talk far too much. Backstedt and Kelly could do the job.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Hermy wrote: »
    I'm always surprised when there are threads about commentators that Harmon gets any praise at all. His inability to identify riders is second to none and his commentary is rather dull and bland. Also his knowledge of the cycling is nothing special. He seems much more at home talking about motorbikes.

But then I like Duffiled so what do I know!

At least when Harmon gets names wrong, it's usually riders who are in the race. Duffield meanwhile will tell you someone who isn't even racing is in the break.

Hermy wrote: »
    I don't think I've ever heard a commentator speak his mind on the drugs issue during a race. They all seem to give it a wide birth if they can.

Harmon seemed to hint at that for todays winner, or thats how I took it actually, then again Im starting to think the same about 'that guy' :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Pishogue

Ligget may avoid drug talk, but he does know his cycling and has enthusiasm when he's commentating.

Kelly is so far ahead of all others in the quality of his analysis - pity his English is not great ;)

Duffield annoys me. I love it when Kelly corrects him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭drogdub

Its true Harmon can sometimes get the names wrong, but corrects himself fast or has it done for him. But I have to say what I really like about watching cycling is that the coverage goes on for so long the commentators can talk about the sport i.e tactics, history, equipment etc for as long as they want and not have get there points across in a short amount of time, before having to move on to the next point. Harmon is excellent at starting these conversations and letting the ex pros show there expertise. I have learnt a huge amount about the sport from the way he manages the commentary. He can also be quite funny (intentionally).

He does talk about doping especially when he is with Backstedt. An hour after L-B-L he tweeted "Bollox" and I don't think he is refering to Eurosport not showing the podium.

I wouldn't mind if it was now and again but it's ridiculous how often Harmon gets it wrong. And never mind that his co-commentator has already correctly identified the rider - Harmon ploughs on regardless.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭aidanbike

David Duffield is sadly missed from the commentry,
    Yes he missed the odd detail but that just encouraged you to pay attention yourself :)
    I remember lines like
    " Well Sean, Is he off the front, off the back or off the wall"
    He brought a genuine interest in the sport to his commentry infused with a sadly missed eccentricity.
    Here is a page with his quotes http://www.retrocyclingvintage.com/category/davidduffield
    He was an acomplished cyclist himself holding lands end to John O'Groats regords on his tricycle.
    David Harmon is ok mostly but can come across as a bit of a fan boy at times and i agree that comentators often try to ignore doping issues which i think detracts from the whole experience as i think alltold its best to be honest. Less people get hurt in the long run.
    I also agree that comentators often focus on the, new to cycling, viewer.
    During the tour David Harmon reads out questions which often get no further than, How many gears are on a bike or something.
    I have posted some very interesting questions and they are always ignored in favor of the simplistic alternative. Particurlarly questions on doping are avoided, I have asked that Sean Kelly would publicly address the facts (or not) on doping in his career.
    I believe the senior cyclists need to show an example to the younger lot and the forced apologies out of Riis and others are somewhat hollow. I would respect an honest approch more and if someone did wrong and is sorry i think we should not throw them under the bus. I just find it hard to listen to people denouncing doping when they never seem to really confront their own realities publicly.
    I think Sean Kelly is a good edition to the team so don't think i am snti-kelly or anything.
    I even have a Sean Kelly board game (yes such a thing exists) which we found new in a second hand shop.

+1 for Brian Smith too --- very good.
    End of missive :)

duffieldcyclingmag.jpg
    DuffieldJan91965.jpg
    records1961.jpg
    records61zoom.jpg

And also ____ :) for those tired with tiddly winks

001.jpg
    007.jpg
    009.jpg
    DSCF2464.jpg

I can just imagine Sean, Stephen Roche etc rolling the dice seeing who will win the worlds :-p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

Photos above show what a clown Duffield was / is !

Harmon really hypes things up and makes any sort of attack sound epic with his raised tones etc.

So I guess thats why Europsport employ him.

Bit like Shane O'Donoghue in golf - I can't stand him but for the paymasters i guess they think he makes boring things sound exciting

I also detest the way Liggett and Sherwin brush over doping because I suspect they don't want to harm their careers - so much for journalistic integrity - we'll be waiting!

Also, on Eurosport - it seems when whenever Kelly is on, whichever mouthpiece is with him will not bring up doping because they know they will get silence from SK

Whooa Horsey,
    Whats with the insults, Just cos you dont like someone's commentry does not mean you call them a clown. Its real easy to make little of people but its not so mature.
    Oh yeah, the clown had 6 distance records on a trike. Not bad for someone wearing a red wig, face paint, a funny suit and super sized shoes. LOL grow up

I agree with you somewhat on your SK point though,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Personally I like David Harmon's commentary. As regards his attitude towards doping, the last race I heard him commentate on was Liege-Bastogne-Liege and I heard him make several references to Vinokourov's past during the last few kilometres including saying "let's hope he is winning within the rules" either as Vinokourov crossed the line or immediately afterwards (can't quite remember which). To me at least that seems a pretty strong statement to make as I can't imagine that Eurosport encourage their employees to bite the hand that feeds them by arguably casting scorn over aspects of a sport that earns Eurosport a lot of money and a sport in which the powers-that-be can be extremely sensitive to what they see as bad press. First and foremost Eurosport is a business and there is no profit, only grief, to be made from poking at the scabs of the sports that it covers. So I say fair play to Harmon for speaking his mind on air - I'm not sure I'd be so willing to risk my job in his shoes.

As regards Kelly providing commentary himself, I can't imagine how that would involve anything other than ridiculously long spells of silence. There is no doubting his knowledge of the sport or his skill in reading a race, etc., but much of that seems to go on inside his head and never makes it to his mouth. As a commentator he seems to be as good at conserving energy as when he competed, and talking uses energy! I suspect that Kelly commentates while lying down. Harmon really has to earn his pay when he is paired up with Kelly as much of the time he has to work like a dog to elicit even a few words from Kelly. I like them as a pairing, but feel for Harmon at times.

Backstedt is great. In my view he talks with the confidence and knowledge of Kelly but with even more energy and enthusiasm. I've heard him complete entire sentences, and even string a few of them together into a conversation, presumably while Kelly looked on in disbelief that a pro could so willingly show his form from the outset of the race.

I used to like Duffield but his ramblings got longer and even more off topic down through the years and I can't listen to him now. I've never been a fan of Liggett, but when paired up with Sherwin you end up with a painful parrot-like shambles that is impossible to listen to - each one of them begins a sentence by repeating the previous sentence of the other, back and forth, back and forth. It's like Tweededum and Tweedledee but without any sense of humour whatsoever. As a commentary pairing their sole purpose is to justify the existence of the mute button the TV remote, and they fulfil that purpose spectacularly well.