Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Class dance/electro mix

• 28-04-2010 2:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 31

Found this brilliant dance mix on youtube by DJ <SNIP>e - seems to be an up and coming DJ. He has a website... Defo worth a listen... <SNIP>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

Hi Alan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

You're getting there anyway, need to do a bit of work on your beatmatching - also, nothing wrong with a "quick mix" but just hammering a tune in and pulling the other one out and raping the mixer effects isn't normally what we mean when we talk about "creative mixing"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Two things I don't like

- people with 'DJ' in their names
    - mixes uploaded to youtube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

2 things I don't like:

1. People who are involved in any way with pr/communications/marketing. As a general rule, they tend to just be thick.

2. Pathetic marketing/pr exercises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

I had that playing in the background as the first song was that Garner and Klosman tune which I've been belting out a bit recently. Two things that immediately came to mind from the duration and style of the songs

1. This is probably a radio DJ
    2. Definitely from outside of Dublin

and lo and behold, I find you're on Galwaybay FM or somesuch. I don't mean that in a bad way at all, just that you're playing for a particular niche and its self-evident.

Nothing too terribly wrong with it technically but it'd be nice to hear a few transitions longer than 8 bars, a little more subtlety with the effects and some thought as to how the set should start, where the bridges and big drops are going to be, and how its going to finish. As it stands, you seem to be hammering in and out the xfader for belter after belter while smearing it with effects. While fine for radioplay, this makes your transitions quite jarring on a dancefloor and there's no stability of rhythmn outside of the tempos matching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Shello-Jello

Hey! Didn't realise this mix would cause such a stir! Totally see what ye mean re constructive criticism, always a good thing. Thats the class thing about music though, there's always space for something new and different and everyone has different tastes. It's something that I thought was really good so thought I'd share it! :)

Also, whats the comment re pr / marketing / communications people?! Kinda random like!! haha

Ehm, because you've a masters in PR and are quite clearly shilling?
    <SNIP>

You may not be Alan himself but you're at the least a friend/sister/girlfriend; lets not play silly buggers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

Hey! Didn't realise this mix would cause such a stir! Totally see what ye mean re constructive criticism, always a good thing. Thats the class thing about music though, there's always space for something new and different and everyone has different tastes. It's something that I thought was really good so thought I'd share it! :)

<SNIP> ffs billy...

Hahaha hate to disappoint you guys but I'm not called Alan and am not any associate of this dude!! I just found the mix.

And jimi - good stalking!!! What I have a masters in has nothing to do with a youtube video! I'm a regular poster to boards on a variety of topics as you'll have seen!!! I thought this was a board to talk about music - but unfortunately it seems to be getting a bit personal!!

Can we get back to talking about music people and not me!!

Hahaha hate to disappoint you guys but I'm not called Alan and am not any associate of this dude!! I just found the mix.

And jimi - good stalking!!! What I have a masters in has nothing to do with a youtube video! I'm a regular poster to boards on a variety of topics as you'll have seen!!! I thought this was a board to talk about music - but unfortunately it seems to be getting a bit personal!!

Can we get back to talking about music people and not me!!
    A regular poster? One post a month is not regular Alan, or Alan's girlfriend.

Haha this is getting very childish now so I shall leave you "music experts" be! Happy listening to those who enjoy the mix like I do! :D

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Best bet is to take it on the chin and keep posting!

ok answer me this....what's your MA in?

Almost 95% sure it's in pr/marketing.

Haha regular poster on boards. Signed up a month and has 17 posts.

jtsuited wrote: »
    ok answer me this....what's your MA in?

Almost 95% sure it's in pr/marketing.

Haha regular poster on boards. Signed up a month and has 17 posts.

As I said, in PR
    <SNIP>

not to mention that she's also shilling him in the 'pimp my band' forum.

@Shello-Jello - If you've no connection to Alan then my apologies, but clicking ''find posts from this user'' to check if you were just a troll doesn't constitute stalking.

Like I said, when the comments start to get personal - a forum on music becomes pointless. I am flattered that ye are so interested in me though!! hahaha

Thanks for the advice Scubadevils - I shall keep posting! :)

and they say it's only idiots who go into marketing/pr/advertising.

wait hold on......

You love me jtsuited, I get it!!!

Do you really expect people to trust the opinon of somebody that spends €50 on a psychic?

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Move away from the computers boys - ye are getting a little bit obsessed with me!!! Relax...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

wait hold on......

Hey hold on there I work in advertising. You hurt my feelings.:(

Just to clear things up here.
    This person (working on a name) is working for <SNIP>, unemployed of course on a Fas WPP course. <SNIP> is one of those guys that sees himself as a brand, pays money for a .ie domain and has hired this fairly amateur PR company to promote/shill for him. Along comes are unfortunate OP with her woeful attempt at PR. You can see why she is still unemployed, sorry, working full time for her dole money.
    Ps. Ger and Louise? Maybe you might think about paying your staff in future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

Just to clear things up here.

Some research gone into that post:D

Fcukin nailed. Good work Gunz.

Funniest thing is, I suspected this was exactly the situation when i saw the OP. Didn't think someone would be meticulous and savvy enough to get the cold hard evidence. Nice one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Chloroplast

What a chancer, you just, you just ,you just """found"" this mix on the net.

1st, wow good find, you must of had a team of chinese teenagers with microscopes helping you look because that mix is dire to say the least. for starters it doesn't even warrant its own thread, what's wrong with the stickys for posting your stuff ? you higher than that ?

2nd, you have absolutely no substance at all, and your trying to hit big by just being a dj. there is producers out there today and they have many tunes and years of dj experience behind them and even they are finding it hard to get out there an be heard.

3rd, who wants to look at a youtube video of you pressing buttons,it doesn't make me go ""yeah look at the way he flipped that switch and turned that eq, im really feeling that""

oh and as the rest said, you really are lame at promotion, there's your constructive feedback, in a none trolling manner ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

Everyone's trying their hand at the "underground" thing these days since the arse fell out of the "pay €15 into our club for the privilege of paying €5 a drink" market.

We now have a glut of people who were bad at their job in that market trying to be viral in the underground music market.

Shello-Jello, go back to your boss and tell them "I need an actual product I can sell: the customers in this market know the difference"

there's at least 3 polysyllabic words in that. No chance.

You seem to be sorely overestimating the electronic music scene in the West of Ireland. Yer man has been on radio, can just about beatmatch and has his own car. He's practically Hawtin in promoters' eyes.
    ...and has hired this fairly amateur PR company to promote/shill for him.

My favourite bit is when you go to the site, to the bottom left of the homepage you see a link for their 'Musicians' with thumbnails of albums underneath. I saw a Snow Patrol album immediately and I was like 'Well in fairness they're obviously well-established', then I see MGMT and Radiohead albums and had to call shenanigans. The biggest band they promote are the Coronas :rolleyes:

there's at least 3 polysyllabic words in that. No chance.

Blatant I'm more intelligent than people who work in advertising post.

MikeHoncho wrote: »
    Blatant I'm more intelligent than people who work in advertising post.

didn't think i'd need to express that tbh!

We're talking generally here Mike so apologies if I've offended.

You're all wrong billybigunz and fellow posters, I don't work for <SNIP> or any PR / Marketing company what so ever. If I did, do you really think I'd continue to post replies on here with all the abuse I'm getting?!

I am an ordinary person who likes music and wants to discuss it on a forum. And it was my impression that this was a forum to discuss music.

This thread however has turned into a competition of "who can be the nastiest" by so called experts. Being called an idiot is bad enough but then to be accused of something I have no part it and making slanderous remarks towards individuals and companies, well thats not acceptable. Its pathetic guys, absolutely pathetic. You should be ashamed of yourself. Lets get back to talking about music.

ok the music is sh1te.

You are a parasite and nobody believes you. Is this what you envisaged doing when you were in college.

Shilling useless djs on messageboards for no wage and not even getting that right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 fielding

I did some googling - they are all in cahoots.... Not going to give you any names or links but it's all there just join the dots.....

S**t Shello - you follow Alan - Alan follows you... going around in circles - without anything to show for it. Wasting people's time with amateur PR exercises....

You are probably nice people just trying to pass your days. Seek enlightenment in something else.... you may not be up to the task allocated to you both.

XXX PR however
    your business plan will fail.

didn't think i'd need to express that tbh!

We're talking generally here Mike so apologies if I've offended.

Not offended at all just having a laugh. I agree with you 95% of people who work in the marketing professions are idiots.

phew. cheers mike!

...and making slanderous remarks towards individuals and companies, well thats not acceptable.

Why would you care if you're not connected with xxx?

Oh wait, right... :rolleyes:

I was about to post the same thing Jimi.

Slander? Yeah some random punter is going to bring that up.

I reckon I could do a decent job shilling. It amazes me how many companies **** it up and any reputation they had for decency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 fielding

"I don't work for ... any PR / Marketing company what so ever."

You do..... I have seen the evidence

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

This has pretty much lost all relevance here and at this stage is nothing short of a witch hunt...

jimi_t2 wrote: »
    Why would you care if you're not connected with Alan or XXX?

Oh wait, right... :rolleyes:

I care cause its my personal reputation and character that you are knocking!! Or can't you see that?!

Your reputation and character? But nobody knows who you are. You are a stranger talkiing mostly to other strangers.

hahahahahahahahaha........hahahahaha.....

i think my point here is.....you're having a laugh!!!!!!

you've done plenty to ruin your own reputation and character on here.

threatening legal action alan??????

siteban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Please, you were asked to delete this thread. I don't want to make this a legal issue.
    If you're so popular, why haven't I heard you in any of the clubs in this part of the country ?? Seems to be all i102-104 DJ's...

can somebody copy all this and send it to galway bay fm?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

All names etc removed as a just in case.

Glad to see most of the names have been removed from this thread. A witch hunt is not the word for this! Everything that was thrown at me was totally unnecessary and cruel. Thanks to the moderators for your help throughout all of this.

But least the problem has been sorted now (as you can see from the other boards created about this thread!). Lets just get back talking about the subject of music and cut out the bullying! A forum is for everyone :)

Why are you glad to see names removed if you have no connection?
    Nobodies name has been cleared as far as I'm concerned.

Why are you glad to see names removed if you have no connection?
    Nobodies name has been cleared as far as I'm concerned.

Like I said to you on the other thread Billy, I'm done! Not justifying myself anymore! Now, lets me friends :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Lets just get back talking about the subject of music and cut out the bullying! A forum is for everyone :)
    That's something you keep on saying throughout the thread but it's also something you haven't done either.

What exactly do you want to talk about that's music related?